DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 4-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,179,231. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-9 of ‘231 teach all of the claimed limitations including a planarization method comprising all the steps of arranging a liquid curable composition onto a solid substrate having unevenness by dropping droplets and allowing the composition to spread; followed by contacting with a mold, curing the composition, and releasing, wherein the composition contains at least a polymerizable compound (see, for example, claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiba et al US 2017/0285466 in view of Panga et al US 2010/0012622.
Per claims 4 and 8, Chiba teaches a nanoimprint method of producing a circuit board or electronic component [0001], comprising arranging a liquid film made of a first liquid curable composition containing at least a polymerizable compound and dropping droplets of the first liquid curable composition discretely (abstract), allowing the droplets to spread (combine with other droplets) to cover the solid surface (completely, e.g., more than 99%, see Fig. 2C and 2D, [0008], [0012]). Chiba further teaches bringing a mold which has a smooth surface into contact with the liquid curable composition (abstract, [0004], [0137]), curing (abstract, [0139]), and releasing the mold [0139]. Chiba is silent regarding a planarization method. Panga teaches a planarization method which can be performed using a nanoimprint lithography method [0003], [0006], [0040]. Planarization methods include arranging liquid onto a substrate having unevenness and allowing the liquid to become smooth before forming the layer [0007]-[0008]. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have performed the nanoimprint method of Chiba with a planarization method such as disclosed by Panga with a reasonable expectation for success and predictable results because Shiba teaches that planarization of substrates can be performed with nanoimprint methods.
Per claims 5, Chiba teaches a pattern height of 4nm to 200nm [0138], and the film thickness is between 0.1 nm to 10,000 nm [0132], which overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected a value within the disclosed workable range of the prior art to arrive at the desired result with a reasonable expectation for success. Chiba is silent regarding the claimed volume of the droplets. However, the volume of the droplet would affect both the spread area and the height of the layer (also based on surface tension [0014]) and as such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have controlled and optimized the droplet size and volume with a reasonable expectation for success and predictable results to arrive at the claimed range via routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05).
Per claim 6, Chiba is silent regarding the differential in height during the flowing. However, Chiba teaches a film thickness of 0.1nm [0132], which would necessitate that the height difference is les than 4nm. Furthermore, as time passes, the height differential during the waiting and flowing would become zero in order to form a flat and even surface. As such, as described above, Chiba teaches forming a smooth and even surface, and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have allowed for time to pass to form a more even and smooth surface.
Per claim 7, Chiba teaches controlling the ambient temperature [0148]-[0149].
Conclusion
/NATHAN T LEONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718