DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coon (Pub. No.: 2003/0141990 A1) in view of Alam (Pub. No.: 2014/0354449 A1).
1) In regard to claim 1, Coon discloses the claimed system for providing an emergency vehicle alert (figs. 1-5), comprising:
a first device installed as a part of an emergency vehicle (EV) or attached to the EV (fig. 3), comprising:
a first processor (fig. 3: 31) configured to generate a data signal comprising EV-related data (¶0033); and
a first transmitter (fig. 3: 37) configured to transmit the data signal to a management server (¶0034); and
the management server in communication with the EV (fig. 4a), comprising:
a second processor (fig. 4a: 42) configured to generate a safety warning signal (¶0043); and
a second transmitter (fig. 4a: 45) configured to transmit the safety warning signal to a second device (fig. 5) installed as a part of another vehicle (figs. 1 and 2: 14) near the EV or attached to the another vehicle (¶0043).
Coon does not explicitly disclose select a geofence function for the EV from a plurality of geofence functions provided in a mapping table, wherein the geofence function is selected based on a velocity of the EV provided in EV-related data, determine a geofence from the selected geofence function for the EV based on the received EV-related data of the data signal, and the selected geofence function varies a length and a width of the geofence.
However, Alam discloses it is known for a server to determine a geofence function for the EV from a plurality of geofence functions provided in a mapping table, the geofence function is selected based on a velocity of the EV provided in EV-related data, determine a geofence from the selected geofence function for the EV based on the received EV-related data of the data signal, and the selected geofence function varies a length and a width of the geofence (¶0078).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was filed to allow the server of Coon to determine a geofence and transmit the signal to devices within the geofenced area, as taught by Alam.
One skilled in the art would be motivated to modify Coon as described above in order to only alert vehicles in the path of the emergency vehicle.
2) In regard to claim 2 (dependent on claim 1), Coon and Alam further disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the geofence information comprises a set of location coordinates corresponding to a boundary of the geofence (Coon ¶0051).
3) In regard to claim 3 (dependent on claim 1), Coon and Alam further disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the geofence information comprises an indication that can be used by the second device to retrieve the geofence (Coon ¶0041).
4) In regard to claim 4 (dependent on claim 1), Coon and Alam further disclose the system of claim 1, further comprising the second device, the second device comprising: a third processor configured to: determine whether the another vehicle is located within the geofence based on the safety warning signal; control an alert-generation device to perform one or more alert actions when the another vehicle is located within the geofence; and control the alert-generation device to perform no alert action when the another vehicle is out of the geofence; and the alert-generation device configured to perform the alert actions (Coon ¶0051-¶0052).
5) In regard to claim 5 (dependent on claim 1), Coon and Alam further disclose the system of claim 1, wherein a size of the geofence decreases when the velocity of the EV decreases (Alam ¶0078).
6) In regard to claim 6 (dependent on claim 1), Coon and Alam further disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the geofence is defined to extend farther in a forward direction of the EV than any other directions (Alam fig. 1a: 125).
7) In regard to claim 7 (dependent on claim 1), Coon and Alam further disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the geofence is defined to exclude all locations in a rear direction of the EV (Alam fig. 1a: 125).
8) In regard to claim 8 (dependent on claim 1), Coon and Alam further disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the EV-related data further comprises a location of the EV (Coon ¶0023).
9) In regard to claim 9 (dependent on claim 4), Coon and Alam further disclose the system of claim 4, wherein the alert actions comprise at least one of an audible warning signal, a visual warning signal to an operator of the another vehicle (Coon ¶0028).
10) In regard to claim 10 (dependent on claim 1), Coon and Alam further disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the safety warning signal comprises at least one of an ID of the EV, geofence information, one or more alert actions, and a location of the EV (Coon ¶0024).
11) In regard to claim 11, claim 11 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 1 and the references applied.
12) In regard to claim 12 (dependent on claim 11), claim 12 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 1 and the references applied.
13) In regard to claim 13 (dependent on claim 11), claim 13 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 1 and the references applied.
14) In regard to claim 14 (dependent on claim 11), claim 14 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 2 and the references applied.
15) In regard to claim 15 (dependent on claim 11), claim 15 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 3 and the references applied.
16) In regard to claim 16 (dependent on claim 11), claim 16 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 5 and the references applied.
17) In regard to claim 17 (dependent on claim 11), claim 17 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 6 and the references applied.
18) In regard to claim 18 (dependent on claim 11), claim 18 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 7 and the references applied.
19) In regard to claim 19, claim 19 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 1 and the references applied.
20) In regard to claim 20 (dependent on claim 19), claim 20 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 1 and the references applied.
21) In regard to claim 21 (dependent on claim 19), claim 21 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 1 and the references applied.
22) In regard to claim 22 (dependent on claim 19), claim 22 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 2 and the references applied.
23) In regard to claim 23 (dependent on claim 19), claim 23 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 3 and the references applied.
24) In regard to claim 24 (dependent on claim 19), claim 24 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 5 and the references applied.
25) In regard to claim 25 (dependent on claim 19), claim 25 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 6 and the references applied.
26) In regard to claim 26 (dependent on claim 19), claim 26 is rejected and analyzed with respect to claim 7 and the references applied.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 12,177,734. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the Patent claims together met all of the claim subject matter of current claims. Furthermore, Patent is a sub-genus of the examined application and, therefore, a patent of the genus would, necessarily, extend the rights of the sub-genus should the genus be issued as a patent.
Conclusion
/CURTIS J KING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685