DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15, 16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because “computer-readable medium” can be signals per se.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 9, 11-13, 15, 16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kluchnikov (pub # US 20160092367 A1) in view of Suarez Garcia (pub # US 20170060633 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kluchnikov discloses an apparatus (system shown in figure 1, details of multiple core version shown in figure 7), comprising: processing resources (processors shown in figure 8 comprised of multiple cores shown in figure 7, paragraph 21; paragraph 67) including a first processing resource and a second processing resource (any two of the multiple cores 702A-N), the processing circuitry to: move a data output from the one or more producer tasks executing on the first processing resource to a cache memory (memory system, including the shared cache units 706, shown in figure 7) communicatively coupled to the second processing resource the one or more processors to: map one or more tasks to one or more processing resources (coordinate and operate the cores, paragraph 70; two or more cores execute the same instruction set with data sharing of the two processors through the shared cache, paragraph 71).
Kluchnikov discloses data dependencies, does not disclose explicitly transmitting and receiving data dependencies. However, Garcia discloses receive data dependencies for one or more tasks comprising one or more producer tasks executing on the first processing resource and one or more consumer tasks executing on the second processing resource (dependent tasks, transfer data for use by a second task from different data buffers to different processors, paragraph 48, the tasks later in the chain of tasks depend on results of previous tasks, and would be consumer tasks). Furthermore, teachings of Kluchnikov and Garcia are both directed to processor design.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine teachings of Kluchnikov with Garcia by using information on data dependencies in the processor system of Kluchnikov for the benefit of correctly and efficiently pass data amongst tasks and processors that depend on each other.
Regarding claim 2, the above combination discloses the apparatus of claim 1, the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the one or more tasks are represented in a task graphs as tasks connected by an edge, wherein the one or more tasks map to the processing resources (task graphs with dependencies shown in figure 2A, task distribution to processing resources graph shown in figure 2B; paragraph 48, Garcia).
Regarding claim 4, the above combination discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the processing circuitry to enqueue a kernel for execution by one of the processing resources (queue storing instruction and information corresponding to instructions, paragraph 23).
Regarding claim 5, the above combination discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the processing circuitry to pass one or more destination identifiers for the one or more tasks to the processing resources (transfer heuristic data including destination identity, Garcia, paragraph 5, 34).
Regarding claim 6, the above combination discloses the apparatus of claim 21, wherein the cache memory comprises a first level cache (L1 cache, Kluchnikov, paragraph 21), and wherein the first level cache is shared between multiple processing resources (Kluchnikov, “data cache may be shared by multiple cores of a processor”, paragraph 21), wherein the processing circuitry includes one or more graphics processing circuitry or application processing circuitry (GPU, DSP, figure 2B, Garcia).
Claims 8, 9, 11-13, 15, 16, 18-20 are substantially similar to claims 1, 2, 4-6 above. The same grounds of rejection are applied.
Conclusion
/SCOTT C SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2181