DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roncato (US 20130306421 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Roncato teaches a luggage case (1) comprising: at least one shell (2) defining a rim (3); a zipper strip (13); an engagement structure (52) selectively coupling the zipper strip (13) and the at least one shell (2), the engagement structure (52) including: an integrally formed track (52) defining a gap (as seen in Figure 2), and a retention feature (9) selectively received in the gap (52 as seen in Figure 2) and extending from the gap (52) in a direction transverse to the track (52); and wherein: one of the at least one shell (2) or the zipper strip (13) includes the track (52); and another of the at least one shell (2) or the zipper strip (13) includes the retention feature (11). (Figs. 1-6; [0015]-[0016])
Regarding Claim 2, Roncato further teaches the retention feature (52) is integrally formed on a portion of the rim (3) of the at least one shell (2); and the track (52) is integrally formed on a portion of an edge (11) of the zipper strip (13). (Figs. 1-6; [0015]-[0016])
Regarding Claim 3, Roncato further teaches the track (52) is integrally formed on a portion of the rim (3) of the at least one shell (2); and the retention feature (9) is formed on a portion of an edge (11) of the zipper strip (6). (Figs. 1-6; [0015]-[0016])
Regarding Claim 4, Roncato further teaches wherein the track (52) comprises: a first flange (25 in Annotated Figure 2 below) extending from the at least one shell (2); and a second flange (26 in Annotated Figure 2 below) extending from the shell (2) and spaced apart from the first flange (25 in Annotated Figure 2 below) to form the gap (27 in Annotated Figure 2 below). (Figs. 1-6; [0015]-[0016])
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 5, Roncato further teaches wherein the first flange (25 in Annotated Figure 2 above) and/or the second flange (26 in Annotated Figure 2 above) is continuous or discontinuous (as seen in Figure 1). (Figs. 1-6; [0016])
Regarding Claim 6, Roncato further teaches wherein the retention feature (52) comprises: a lobe (11) defined along a portion of an edge (9) of the zipper strip (6), the lobe (11) having a width dimension greater (as seen in Figure 2) than a width dimension of the gap (27 in Annotated Figure 2 above); a neck adjacent (28 in Annotated Figure 2 above) the lobe (11); and wherein the gap (27 in Annotated Figure 2 above) receives the neck (28 in Annotated Figure 2 above) with the lobe (11) engaging an inner surface (as seen in Figure 2) of the first flange (25 in Annotated Figure 2 above) or the second flange (26 in Annotated Figure 2 above) to retain the zipper strip (6) in the track (52). (Figs. 1-6; [0015]-[0016])
Regarding Claim 14, Roncato further teaches wherein the track (52) comprises: an access region (29 in Annotated Figure 1 below) to selectively insert (wherein Roncato teaches “Rigidity is fundamental because otherwise element 11 would not slide into raceway 52”) an end of the retention feature (11) of the zipper strip (6) to mount the zipper strip (6) to the respective shell (2). (Figs. 1-6; [0015]-[0016], [0018])
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 15, Roncato further teaches wherein the track (52) is continuous or discontinuous (as seen in Figure 1). (Figs. 1-3, 6; [0015]-[0016], [0018])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roncato (US 20130306421 A1), in view of McNichols (US 8016089 B1).
Regarding Claim 11, Roncato teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 1 above except; the at least one shell including a first shell and a second shell; and a hinge coupling the first shell and the second shell.
Wherein Roncato remains silent regarding a hinge or second shell.
McNichols further teaches at least one shell (10) including a first shell (20) and a second shell (50); and a hinge (30) coupling the first shell (20) and the second shell (50). (Figs. 2, 4; Col. 2, Lines 51-54; Col. 3, 32-35)
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the suitcase as taught by Roncato, and provide for a second shell coupled by a hinge as taught by McNichols. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for a second shell hingedly coupled to a first shell in order to provide for an enclosed clamshell suitcase.
Regarding Claim 12, Roncato, modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 11 above except; wherein the hinge includes at least two discrete hinges, at least one of said hinges attached to the first shell and the second shell and to respective ends of the zipper strip.
Wherein Roncato remains silent regarding a hinge or second shell.
McNichols further teaches wherein the hinge (30) includes at least two discrete hinges (30, 31), at least one of said hinges (30, 31) attached to the first shell (20) and the second shell (50) and to respective ends of a zipper strip (35). (Figs. 2, 4; Col. 2, Lines 51-54; Col. 3, 32-35)
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the suitcase as taught by Roncato, modified above, and provide for too discreet hinges as taught by McNichols. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for a first and second hinge for a suitcase, in order to provide the suitcase with a convenient means of rotating the connected shells about each other to access the suitcase cavity.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roncato (US 20130306421 A1), in view of Chan et al. (US 20060180487 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Roncato, modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 3 above except; wherein: an anchor couples at least one of the respective ends of the zipper strip to the at least one shell.
Chan et al. further teaches an anchor (30) coupling at least one respective end of a zipper strip (29) to at least one shell (10, 13). (Fig. 3A, 5; [0035], [0037])
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the suitcase as taught by Roncato, and provide for an anchor point for a zipper as taught by Chan et al. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for a first and second hinge for a suitcase, in order to provide the suitcase with a zipper anchor point in order to attach the zipper to the shell.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 7, Roncato (US 20130306421 A1), is considered the most relevant prior art of record. The prior art of record does not teach:
Wherein: the retention feature further comprises: a rib extending along a portion of a length of the zipper strip spaced from the lobe, the neck defined between the rib and the lobe; and wherein the gap receives the neck.
Since the prior art of record does not teach a rib extend along a portion of the length of the zipper strip and spaced from the lobe, the prior art does not anticipate the claimed subject matter. Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to a skilled artisan to have modified the prior art in order to arrive at the claimed invention without resorting to impermissible hindsight.
Regarding Claim 8, Roncato (US 20130306421 A1), is considered the most relevant prior art of record. The prior art of record does not teach:
Wherein the second flange is supported by at least one brace member extending from the at least one shell, the brace member defining a cutout to receive the lobe of the zipper strip.
Since the prior art of record does not teach a second flange extending from a brace member brace member extending from the shell, the prior art does not anticipate the claimed subject matter. Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to a skilled artisan to have modified the prior art in order to arrive at the claimed invention without resorting to impermissible hindsight.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Sijmons (EP 2710916 A1), teaches an expandable zipper structure for luggage.
Jiang (TW 201320919 A), teaches luggage with an anti-theft zipper.
Slan (US 3286800 A), teaches a suitcase with multiple hinges.
Liao (US 20160157574 A1), teaches luggage with a replaceable zipper.
Wilk (US 5396685 A), teaches a zipper with an anchor.
/JUSTIN CAUDILL/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/DON M ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733