DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-6, filed May 4th, 2026, with respect to the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. §102 have been considered but are moot because the Applicant’s amendments don’t overcome the existing grounds of rejection, the instant Office action has been made final.
The applicant argues “The Office provides an annotated version of Roncato Fig. 2, reproduced below. As can be understood from the annotation, shell 2 and track 52 are not integrally formed nor are shell 2 and retention feature 9. Instead they are separate pieces. As such, Roncato fails to teach a shell with an integrally formed track or integrally formed retention feature.” The examiner disagrees, wherein Roncato teaches “A single line of stitching makes the internal portion 51, the body 2, the first portion 54 of external portion 53 and the external Zip 12 integral with one another.” The combined features become integrally formed through the stitching.
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendments and / or remarks filed on May 4th, 2026. Claims 1-18 remain pending and are currently being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roncato (US 20130306421 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Roncato teaches a luggage case (1) comprising: at least one shell (2) defining a rim (3); a zipper strip (6, 9); an engagement structure (52) selectively coupling the zipper strip (9) and the at least one shell (2), the engagement structure (52) including: an a track (52) defining a gap (50 in Annotated Figure 3 below), and a retention feature (11) selectively received in the gap (50 in Annotated Figure 3 below) and extending from the gap (52) in a direction transverse to the track (52), wherein the retention feature (11) has a greater width dimension (as seen in Figure 3) than the gap (50 in Annotated Figure 3 below) to prevent removal of the retention feature (11) from the gap (50 in Annotated Figure 3 below) in the direction transverse (wherein retention feature 11 is designed to fit in the gap (50 in Annotated Figure 2 below)) to the track (52); and wherein: the at least one shell (2) includes and is integrally formed with one of the track (52, wherein the shell is part of the track) or the retention feature (11); and the zipper strip (6, 9) includes the other of the track or the retention feature (11, wherein it includes the retention feature). (Figs. 1-6; [0015]-[0016])
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 2, Roncato further teaches the retention feature (52) is integrally formed on a portion of the rim (3) of the at least one shell (2); and the track (52) is integrally formed on a portion of an edge (11) of the zipper strip (9). (Figs. 1-6; [0015]-[0016])
Regarding Claim 3, Roncato further teaches the track (52) is integrally formed (wherein Roncato teaches “A single line of stitching makes the internal portion 51, the body 2, the first portion 54 of external portion 53 and the external Zip 12 integral with one another.”) on a portion of the rim (3) of the at least one shell (2); and the retention feature (11) is formed on a portion of an edge (as seen in Figure 3) of the zipper strip (6). (Figs. 1-6; [0015]-[0016])
Regarding Claim 4, Roncato further teaches wherein the track (52) comprises: a first flange (25 in Annotated Figure 2 below) extending from the at least one shell (2); and a second flange (26 in Annotated Figure 2 below) extending from the shell (2) and spaced apart from the first flange (25 in Annotated Figure 2 below) to form the gap (27 in Annotated Figure 2 below). (Figs. 1-6; [0015]-[0016])
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 5, Roncato further teaches wherein the first flange (25 in Annotated Figure 2 above) and/or the second flange (26 in Annotated Figure 2 above) is continuous or discontinuous (as seen in Figure 1). (Figs. 1-6; [0016])
Regarding Claim 6, Roncato further teaches wherein the retention feature (52) comprises: a lobe (11) defined along a portion of an edge (9) of the zipper strip (6,9 , the lobe (11) having a width dimension greater (as seen in Figure 2) than a width dimension of the gap (27 in Annotated Figure 2 above); a neck adjacent (28 in Annotated Figure 2 above) the lobe (11); and wherein the gap (27 in Annotated Figure 2 above) receives the neck (28 in Annotated Figure 2 above) with the lobe (11) engaging an inner surface (as seen in Figure 2) of the first flange (25 in Annotated Figure 2 above) or the second flange (26 in Annotated Figure 2 above) to retain the zipper strip (6, 9) in the track (52). (Figs. 1-6; [0015]-[0016])
Regarding Claim 14, Roncato further teaches wherein the track (52) comprises: an access region (29 in Annotated Figure 1 below) to selectively insert (wherein Roncato teaches “Rigidity is fundamental because otherwise element 11 would not slide into raceway 52”) an end of the retention feature (11) of the zipper strip (6, 9) to mount the zipper strip (6, 9) to the respective shell (2). (Figs. 1-6; [0015]-[0016], [0018])
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding Claim 15, Roncato further teaches wherein the track (52) is continuous or discontinuous (as seen in Figure 1). (Figs. 1-3, 6; [0015]-[0016], [0018])
Regarding Claim 17, Roncato teaches A luggage case (1) comprising: at least one shell (2) defining a rim (3); a zipper strip (6, 9); and an engagement structure (52) selectively coupling the zipper strip (6, 9 through 11) and at least one shell (2), the engagement structure including a track integrally formed (wherein Roncato teaches “A single line of stitching makes the internal portion 51, the body 2, the first portion 54 of external portion 53 and the external Zip 12 integral with one another”) on a portion of the rim (3) at the at least one shell (2). (Figs. 1-6; [0015]-[0016])
Regarding Claim 18, Roncato further teaches wherein the track (52) defines a gap (50 in Annotated Figure 3 above) and the gap (50 in Annotated Figure 3 above) opens towards the zipper strip (6, 9). (Figs. 1-6; [0015]-[0016])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roncato (US 20130306421 A1), in view of McNichols (US 8016089 B1).
Regarding Claim 11, Roncato teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 1 above except; the at least one shell including a first shell and a second shell; and a hinge coupling the first shell and the second shell.
Wherein Roncato remains silent regarding a hinge or second shell.
McNichols further teaches at least one shell (10) including a first shell (20) and a second shell (50); and a hinge (30) coupling the first shell (20) and the second shell (50). (Figs. 2, 4; Col. 2, Lines 51-54; Col. 3, 32-35)
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the suitcase as taught by Roncato, and provide for a second shell coupled by a hinge as taught by McNichols. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for a second shell hingedly coupled to a first shell in order to provide for an enclosed clamshell suitcase.
Regarding Claim 12, Roncato, modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 11 above except; wherein the hinge includes at least two discrete hinges, at least one of said hinges attached to the first shell and the second shell and to respective ends of the zipper strip.
Wherein Roncato remains silent regarding a hinge or second shell.
McNichols further teaches wherein the hinge (30) includes at least two discrete hinges (30, 31), at least one of said hinges (30, 31) attached to the first shell (20) and the second shell (50) and to respective ends of a zipper strip (35). (Figs. 2, 4; Col. 2, Lines 51-54; Col. 3, 32-35)
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the suitcase as taught by Roncato, modified above, and provide for too discreet hinges as taught by McNichols. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for a first and second hinge for a suitcase, in order to provide the suitcase with a convenient means of rotating the connected shells about each other to access the suitcase cavity.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roncato (US 20130306421 A1), in view of Chan et al. (US 20060180487 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Roncato, modified above, teaches all of the elements of the invention described in claim 3 above except; wherein: an anchor couples at least one of the respective ends of the zipper strip to the at least one shell.
Chan et al. further teaches an anchor (30) coupling at least one respective end of a zipper strip (29) to at least one shell (10, 13). (Fig. 3A, 5; [0035], [0037])
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to take the suitcase as taught by Roncato, and provide for an anchor point for a zipper as taught by Chan et al. Wherein through use of a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; one would be motivated to provide for a first and second hinge for a suitcase, in order to provide the suitcase with a zipper anchor point in order to attach the zipper to the shell.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 7, Roncato (US 20130306421 A1), is considered the most relevant prior art of record. The prior art of record does not teach:
Wherein: the retention feature further comprises: a rib extending along a portion of a length of the zipper strip spaced from the lobe, the neck defined between the rib and the lobe; and wherein the gap receives the neck.
Since the prior art of record does not teach a rib extend along a portion of the length of the zipper strip and spaced from the lobe, the prior art does not anticipate the claimed subject matter. Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to a skilled artisan to have modified the prior art in order to arrive at the claimed invention without resorting to impermissible hindsight.
Regarding Claim 8, Roncato (US 20130306421 A1), is considered the most relevant prior art of record. The prior art of record does not teach:
Wherein the second flange is supported by at least one brace member extending from the at least one shell, the brace member defining a cutout to receive the lobe of the zipper strip.
Since the prior art of record does not teach a second flange extending from a brace member brace member extending from the shell, the prior art does not anticipate the claimed subject matter. Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to a skilled artisan to have modified the prior art in order to arrive at the claimed invention without resorting to impermissible hindsight.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Meersschaert (US 20240115023 A1), teaches a zipper assembly.
Santy (US 9155369 B2), teaches a luggage frame and zipper assembly.
Applicant's amendment didn’t overcome the existing grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN CAUDILL/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/NATHAN J JENNESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3733 17 July 2026