This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 11/21/2024.
Claims 1-25 are pending and presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/21/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Several claims in the present application recite limitations in the format “ A and/or B”. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting these claims as a single element selection from a closed group of elements consisting of A, B or A&B.
Claims 2, 7 & 12 recite “wherein a number of configurations of the SRs of the second priority is M, and M is a positive integer; and an information bit length of the SRs of the second priority multiplexed and transmitted on the PUCCH resource of the CSI is log2 (1+M) bits”. The log2 (1+M) is not always an integer value for all positive integers M (e.g. when M=5, log2(6) is approximately 2.58496). Since a number of bits must be an integer number, and it requires at least 3 bits (i.e. the ceiling of log2(1+M)) to identify 5 different SR configurations, examiner is interpreting log2 (1+M) bits as ceil(log2 (1+M)) bits, where ceil(X) represents the ceiling function of X, in these claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yin et al. (US 2022/0264623)(herein after “Yin”).
Regarding claim 1, Yin discloses an uplink control information transmission method, applied to a terminal device ([0006] discloses a method by a UE (i.e. a terminal device) for transmission of one or more PUCCHs (i.e. uplink control information transmissions).), and comprising:
in a case that a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource carrying channel state information (CSI) and a PUCCH resource corresponding to a scheduling request (SR) overlap in time domain, determining a state of the SR ([0043] disclose a case where PUCCH resources carrying SRs overlap with a PUCCH resource for CSI and a UE determines if an SR is positive (i.e. determines a state of the SR) in order to determine if the PUCCH for the CSI may be dropped.);
wherein SRs have priorities, the priorities comprise a first priority and a second priority, and the first priority is higher than the second priority ([0043] discloses that SRs have high priority (i.e. first priority) and low priority (i.e. second priority).); and
in a case that at least one SR of the first priority is in a positive state, skipping transmitting the CSI, and transmitting the SR of the first priority in the positive state on a PUCCH resource corresponding to the SR of the first priority in the positive state ([0043] discloses a case wherein a positive SR has high priority, and a PUCCH for CSI is dropped and the positive SR with high priority is transmitted on the PUCCH corresponding to the positive SR with high priority that overlaps with the PUCCH for CSI.);
in a case that all SRs of the first priority are in a negative state, and SRs of the second priority exist, multiplexing and transmitting the SRs of the second priority and the CSI on the PUCCH resource of the CSI ([0043] discloses that SRs with all priority configurations (i.e. high and low priority) whose PUCCH resources overlap with the PUCCH resource for CSI append SR information bits to CSI information bits and transmit the combined uplink control information (UCI) bits in the PUCCH for CSI. Thus, in a case where all SRs of high priority are in a negative state and SRs of low priority exist, SR information bits of low priority SRs would be appended (i.e. multiplexed) with CSI information bits and transmitting on the PUCCH for CSI.);
wherein the priorities of the SRs are configured by an radio resource control (RRC) (0066] disclose that SR priority may be determined based on a number of symbols compared to a threshold configured by RRC signaling.).
Regarding claim 2, Yin discloses wherein a number of configurations of the SRs of the second priority is M, and M is a positive integer ([0042] discloses a number of low priority configurations of SRs is K2, a positive integer representing the number of low priority configurations of SR.); and
an information bit length of the SRs of the second priority multiplexed and transmitted on the PUCCH resource of the CSI is log2 (1+M) bits ([0042] discloses a number of SR information bits (i.e. an information bit length of the SR) of low priority, appended (i.e. multiplexed) with CSI information bits and transmitted on the PUCCH resource of the CSI, of ceil(log2(k2+1)).).
Regarding claim 3, Yin discloses wherein a period of the SR of the first priority is less than a period threshold ([0070]-[0071] discloses a threshold value of a time duration (i.e. a period threshold) and if an SR PUCCH duration is less than the threshold value (e.g. 0.5 ms), then the SR may be considered as an SR with high priority (i.e. first priority).); and/or
a symbol length of a PUCCH of the SR of the first priority is less than a length threshold ([0066]-[0067] discloses an SRperiodicity in symbols for PUCCH transmission conveying SR (i.e. a symbol length of a PUCCH of the SR) and if SRperiodicity is smaller than a threshold (e.g. one slot), then the SR in an SR with high priority (i.e. first priority).).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 & 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al. (US 2022/0264623)(herein after “Yin”), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Yin et al. (US 2022/0255669)(herein after “Yin2”).
Regarding claim 4, Yin discloses the method according to claim 1.
Yin discloses wherein the method further comprising: in a case that a PUCCH resource carrying a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) and a PUCCH resource corresponding to a SR overlap in time domain, determining a state of the SR ([0052]-[0053] discloses a case where a PUCCH resource with HARQ-ACK information bits overlaps with SR PUCCH transmission occasions, and a UE determines bits representing a negative SR or a positive SR.);
wherein SRs have priorities, the priorities comprise a first priority and a second priority, and the first priority is higher than the second priority ([0043] discloses that SRs have high priority (i.e. first priority) and low priority (i.e. second priority).);
Yin fails to disclose but Yin2 teaches in a case that at least one SR of the first priority is in a positive state, skipping transmitting the HARQ-ACK, and transmitting the SR of the first priority in the positive state on a PUCCH resource corresponding to the SR of the first priority in the positive state ([0108] discloses a case wherein a positive SR with high priority, and transmitting the PUCCH for the positive SR with high priority on the PUCCH resource corresponding to the positive SR with high priority, and not transmit (i.e. skip) the PUCCH for the HARQ-ACK.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprising: in a case that a PUCCH resource carrying a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) and a PUCCH resource corresponding to a SR overlap in time domain, determining a state of the SR; wherein SRs have priorities, the priorities comprise a first priority and a second priority, and the first priority is higher than the second priority, as disclosed by Yin, and in a case that at least one SR of the first priority is in a positive state, skipping transmitting the HARQ-ACK, and transmitting the SR of the first priority in the positive state on a PUCCH resource corresponding to the SR of the first priority in the positive state, as taught by Yin2. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a UE to determine that a PUCCH for transmission of an SR in a positive state and of high priority overlaps with an PUCCH transmission for an HARQ-ACK, and the UE transmits the PUCCH with positive SR of high priority and drops the transmission of the PUCCH with HARQ-ACK in order to minimize delay in sending PUCCHs carrying high priority, delay sensitive SR traffic.
Regarding claim 5, Yin in view of Yin2 discloses the method according to claim 4.
Yin fails to disclose but Yin2 teaches disclose wherein the method further comprising: in a case that all SRs of the first priority are in a negative state, and SRs of the second priority exist, multiplexing and transmitting the SRs of the second priority and the HARQ-ACK on the PUCCH resource of the HARQ-ACK ([0034] discloses that SRs with all priority configurations (i.e. high and low priority) whose PUCCH resources overlap with the PUCCH resource for HARQ-ACK, append SR information bits to HARQ-ACK information bits and transmit the combined uplink control information (UCI) bits in the PUCCH for HARQ-ACK. Thus, in a case where all SRs of high priority are in a negative state and SRs of low priority exist, SR information bits of low priority SRs would be appended (i.e. multiplexed) with HARQ-ACK information bits and transmitting on the PUCCH for HARQ-ACK.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 4, as disclosed by Yin in view of Yin2, wherein the method further comprising: in a case that all SRs of the first priority are in a negative state, and SRs of the second priority exist, multiplexing and transmitting the SRs of the second priority and the HARQ-ACK on the PUCCH resource of the HARQ-ACK, as taught by Yin2. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a UE to determine that a PUCCH for transmission of low priority SRs exist and all PUCCHs for high priority SRs are I the negative state and the PUCCH for the low priority SRs overlaps with an PUCCH transmission for an HARQ-ACK, and the UE transmits the PUCCH with low priority SRs by appending the information bits of the low priory SRs to the HARQ-ACK information bits and transmitting the combined low priority SR information bits and HARQ-ACK information bits on the PUCCH for the HARQ-ACK in order to send lower priority, more delay tolerant SR traffic during times when high priority SR traffic does not need to be sent and without impacting HARQ-ACK transmissions or affecting HARQ-ACK performance.
Claims 6-8 & 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al. (US 2022/0264623)(herein after “Yin”) in view of Islam et al. (US 2020/0228248)(herein after “Islam”).
Regarding claims 6 & 11, Yin discloses a terminal device to perform:
in a case that a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource carrying channel state information (CSI) and a PUCCH resource corresponding to a scheduling request (SR) overlap in time domain, determining a state of the SR ([0043] disclose a case where PUCCH resources carrying SRs overlap with a PUCCH resource for CSI and a UE determines if an SR is positive (i.e. determines a state of the SR) in order to determine if the PUCCH for the CSI may be dropped.);
wherein SRs have priorities, the priorities comprise a first priority and a second priority, and the first priority is higher than the second priority ([0043] discloses that SRs have high priority (i.e. first priority) and low priority (i.e. second priority).); and
in a case that at least one SR of the first priority is in a positive state, skipping transmitting the CSI, and transmitting the SR of the first priority in the positive state on a PUCCH resource corresponding to the SR of the first priority in the positive state ([0043] discloses a case wherein a positive SR has high priority, and a PUCCH for CSI is dropped and the positive SR with high priority is transmitted on the PUCCH corresponding to the positive SR with high priority that overlaps with the PUCCH for CSI.);
in a case that all SRs of the first priority are in a negative state, and SRs of the second priority exist, multiplexing and transmitting the SRs of the second priority and the CSI on the PUCCH resource of the CSI ([0043] discloses that SRs with all priority configurations (i.e. high and low priority) whose PUCCH resources overlap with the PUCCH resource for CSI append SR information bits to CSI information bits and transmit the combined uplink control information (UCI) bits in the PUCCH for CSI. Thus, in a case where all SRs of high priority are in a negative state and SRs of low priority exist, SR information bits of low priority SRs would be appended (i.e. multiplexed) with CSI information bits and transmitting on the PUCCH for CSI.);
wherein the priorities of the SRs are configured by an radio resource control (RRC) (0066] disclose that SR priority may be determined based on a number of symbols compared to a threshold configured by RRC signaling.).
Yin fails to disclose but Islam teaches wherein the terminal device is comprising: a processor, a memory, and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, (Figs 6 & 8, [0165] & [0191]-[0195] discloses a device 600 including processors 810, memory devices 820 and a instructions 850 comprising a program, residing in the memory devices 820, executable for causing one of processors 810 to perform methods.), and
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program (Fig 8, [0191] & [0208] disclose a non-transitory machine-readable storage medium that may store instructions (i.e. a computer program).),
wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal device perform methods (Fig 8 & [0195] discloses the instructions 850 comprising a program are executable for causing one of processors 810 to perform methods.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a terminal device to perform: in a case that a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resource carrying channel state information (CSI) and a PUCCH resource corresponding to a scheduling request (SR) overlap in time domain, determining a state of the SR; wherein SRs have priorities, the priorities comprise a first priority and a second priority, and the first priority is higher than the second priority; and in a case that at least one SR of the first priority is in a positive state, skipping transmitting the CSI, and transmitting the SR of the first priority in the positive state on a PUCCH resource corresponding to the SR of the first priority in the positive state; in a case that all SRs of the first priority are in a negative state, and SRs of the second priority exist, multiplexing and transmitting the SRs of the second priority and the CSI on the PUCCH resource of the CSI; wherein the priorities of the SRs are configured by an radio resource control (RRC), as disclosed by Yin, wherein the terminal device is comprising: a processor, a memory, and a computer program stored in the memory and executable on the processor, or a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium wherein the non-transitory computer readable storage medium stores a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal device to perform methods, as taught by Islam. The motivation to do so would have been to have a terminal device with processors, memory and instructions stored in the memory as a computer program, or a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium wherein the non-transitory computer readable storage medium stores a computer program, that when executed by the processors, performs the methods disclosed by Yin in order to implement a UE that can perform the uplink control information transmission methods disclosed by Yin.
Regarding claims 7 & 12, Yin in view of Islam disclose the terminal device according to claim 6, and the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 11.
Yin discloses wherein a number of configurations of the SRs of the second priority is M, and M is a positive integer ([0042] discloses a number of low priority configurations of SRs is K2, a positive integer representing the number of low priority configurations of SR.); and
an information bit length of the SRs of the second priority multiplexed and transmitted on the PUCCH resource of the CSI is log2 (1+M) bits ([0042] discloses a number of SR information bits (i.e. an information bit length of the SR) of low priority, appended (i.e. multiplexed) with CSI information bits and transmitted on the PUCCH resource of the CSI, of ceil(log2(k2+1)).).
Regarding claims 8 & 13, Yin in view of Islam disclose the terminal device according to claim 6, and the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 11.
Yin discloses wherein a period of the SR of the first priority is less than a period threshold ([0070]-[0071] discloses a threshold value of a time duration (i.e. a period threshold) and if an SR PUCCH duration is less than the threshold value (e.g. 0.5 ms), then the SR may be considered as an SR with high priority (i.e. first priority).); and/or
a symbol length of a PUCCH of the SR of the first priority is less than a length threshold ([0066]-[0067] discloses an SRperiodicity in symbols for PUCCH transmission conveying SR (i.e. a symbol length of a PUCCH of the SR) and if SRperiodicty is smaller than a threshold (e.g. one slot), then the SR in an SR with high priority (i.e. first priority).).
Claim 9, 10, 14 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al. (US 2022/0264623)(herein after “Yin”) in view of Islam et al. (US 2020/0228248)(herein after “Islam”), as applied to claims 6 & 11, and further in view of Yin et al. (US 2022/0255669)(herein after “Yin2”).
Regarding claims 9 & 14, Yin in view of Islam disclose the terminal device according to claim 6, and the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 11, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal device to perform actions.
Yin discloses: in a case that a PUCCH resource carrying a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) and a PUCCH resource corresponding to a SR overlap in time domain, determining a state of the SR ([0052]-[0053] discloses a case where a PUCCH resource with HARQ-ACK information bits overlaps with SR PUCCH transmission occasions, and a UE determines bits representing a negative SR or a positive SR.);
wherein SRs have priorities, the priorities comprise a first priority and a second priority, and the first priority is higher than the second priority ([0043] discloses that SRs have high priority (i.e. first priority) and low priority (i.e. second priority).);
Yin fails to disclose but Yin2 further teaches in a case that at least one SR of the first priority is in a positive state, skipping transmitting the HARQ-ACK, and transmitting the SR of the first priority in the positive state on a PUCCH resource corresponding to the SR of the first priority in the positive state ([0108] discloses a case wherein a positive SR with high priority, and transmitting the PUCCH for the positive SR with high priority on the PUCCH resource corresponding to the positive SR with high priority, and not transmit (i.e. skip) the PUCCH for the HARQ-ACK.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the terminal device according to claim 6, or the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 11, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal device to perform actions wherein in a case that a PUCCH resource carrying a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) and a PUCCH resource corresponding to a SR overlap in time domain, determining a state of the SR; wherein SRs have priorities, the priorities comprise a first priority and a second priority, and the first priority is higher than the second priority, as disclosed by Yin in view of Islam, and in a case that at least one SR of the first priority is in a positive state, skipping transmitting the HARQ-ACK, and transmitting the SR of the first priority in the positive state on a PUCCH resource corresponding to the SR of the first priority in the positive state, as further taught by Yin2. The motivation to do so would have been to have a UE determine that a PUCCH for transmission of an SR in a positive state and of high priority overlaps with an PUCCH transmission for an HARQ-ACK, and the UE transmits the PUCCH with positive SR of high priority and drops the transmission of the PUCCH with HARQ-ACK in order to minimize delay in sending PUCCHs carrying high priority, delay sensitive SR traffic.
Regarding claim 10 & 15, Yin in view of Islam and Yin2 disclose the terminal device according to claim 9, and the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 14, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal device to perform methods.
Yin fails to disclose but Yin2 further teaches in a case that all SRs of the first priority are in a negative state, and SRs of the second priority exist, multiplexing and transmitting the SRs of the second priority and the HARQ-ACK on the PUCCH resource of the HARQ-ACK ([0034] discloses that SRs with all priority configurations (i.e. high and low priority) whose PUCCH resources overlap with the PUCCH resource for HARQ-ACK, append SR information bits to HARQ-ACK information bits and transmit the combined uplink control information (UCI) bits in the PUCCH for HARQ-ACK. Thus, in a case where all SRs of high priority are in a negative state and SRs of low priority exist, SR information bits of low priority SRs would be appended (i.e. multiplexed) with HARQ-ACK information bits and transmitting on the PUCCH for HARQ-ACK.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the terminal device according to claim 9, or the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 14, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal device to perform methods, as disclosed by Yin in view of Islam and Yin2, wherein in a case that all SRs of the first priority are in a negative state, and SRs of the second priority exist, multiplexing and transmitting the SRs of the second priority and the HARQ-ACK on the PUCCH resource of the HARQ-ACK, as further taught by Yin2. The motivation to do so would have been to have a UE determine that a PUCCH for transmission of low priority SRs exist and all PUCCHs for high priority SRs are I the negative state and the PUCCH for the low priority SRs overlaps with an PUCCH transmission for an HARQ-ACK, and the UE transmits the PUCCH with low priority SRs by appending the information bits of the low priory SRs to the HARQ-ACK information bits and transmitting the combined low priority SR information bits and HARQ-ACK information bits on the PUCCH for the HARQ-ACK in order to send lower priority, more delay tolerant SR traffic during times when high priority SR traffic does not need to be sent and without impacting HARQ-ACK transmissions or affecting HARQ-ACK performance.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Yang et al. (US 2020/0146028) discloses a Method and Apparatus for Transmitting/Receiving Wireless Signal in Wireless Communication System.
Yoshioka et al. (US 12108455) discloses a User Apparatus.
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419