DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 12/30/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the receptacle and entry area of claim 7 and the at least one undercut of claim 10 must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. If Applicant believes that these features already appear in the drawings, Applicant must provide reference characters in the drawings and corresponding descriptions of the reference characters in the specification. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description: 5a, 5b, 9, 10 and 15 in Fig. 2 and 6m in Fig. 6.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "8" and "30" have both been used to designate sensor modules. See paragraphs [00041], [00047] and [00054].
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 4, 7-9, 15 and 17-21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the third chamber" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the sensor module" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the passage" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the entry area" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the passage" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the passage" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the passage" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the block" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 has a typographical error in line 6. The examiner respectfully suggests replacing “leat” with -- least --.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the first chamber and second chambers" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 has a typographical error in line 8. The examiner respectfully suggests replacing “beimg” with -- being --.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the first module" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the second module" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the at least one connection path" in line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the internal connections" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the two chambers" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the first module" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the second module" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 has a typographical error in line 11. The examiner respectfully suggests replacing “havs” with -- has --.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the at least one of the first or second connections paths" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 has a typographical error in line 15. The examiner respectfully suggests replacing “bieng” with -- being --.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the internal connections" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the modules" in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if “the modules” refers to all or only some of the at least first and second modules.
Claims 2-17 depend on claim 1 and are rejected for inheriting the same problem.
Claim 3 recites that the housing has at least two passages. It is unclear whether or not these two passages are the same passages as the at least one passage recited in parent claim 1.
Claim 7 recites that the rigid sections of the electrical connecting element are arranged in a receptacle in an entry area of the passage and at least partially cover the passage. It is unclear if this means that all the rigid sections are in arranged in the same receptacle in the same entry area (which does not appear to be shown in the drawings), or if each of the rigid sections is arranged in a respective receptacle in a respective entry area (which appears to be shown in the drawings). The examiner has interpreted the claim to mean that each of the rigid sections is arranged in a respective receptacle in a respective entry area.
Claim 9 recites that “on an oppositely arranged opening in the passage, the at least one rigid section is at least partially covered by a further rigid section of the electrical connecting element” in lines 3-5. However, the specification and drawings disclose that on an oppositely arranged opening in the passage, the passage (rather than the rigid section) is at least partially covered by a further rigid section of the electrical connecting element (see Fig. 2 for example). Therefore, there is a conflict between the specification and the claim. It has been held that a claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty. See MPEP 2173.03 and In re Moore, 439 F.2d 1232, 1235-36, 169 USPQ 236, 239 (CCPA 1971); In re Cohn, 438 F.2d 989, 169 USPQ 95 (CCPA 1971); In re Hammack, 427 F.2d 1378, 166 USPQ 204 (CCPA 1970). The examiner has interpreted the claim to mean that on an oppositely arranged opening in the passage, the at least one passage is at least partially covered by a further rigid section of the electrical connecting element.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the modules" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if “the modules” refers to all or only some of the at least first and second modules.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the modules" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if “the modules” refers to all or only some of the at least first and second modules.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 13, 14 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 11,009,420 issued to Demuth et al. (“Demuth”).
As for claim 1, Demuth discloses a field device assembly (Fig. 1) for process and automation technology, the assembly comprising:
a housing (2);
at least one first chamber (30);
at least one second chamber (31), the at least one first chamber (30) and the at least one second chamber (31) being arranged in the housing (see Fig. 1);
at least one first module (3) arranged in the first chamber (30);
at least one second module (4) arranged in the second chamber (31);
at least one passage (at the location of reference number 38 in Fig. 1) connecting the at least one first (30) and at least one second (31) chamber; and
an electrical connecting element (8, 9, 32, 32) that is guided in the at least one passage, the electrical connecting element establishing an electrical connection between the first module and the second module (col. 10, lines 37-40),
wherein the electrical connecting element is made up, at least in part, of rigid sections (32, 32) and flexible sections (8, 9), and is provided with contact surfaces or contact elements for contacting the modules (col. 11, lines 11-15).
As for claim 2, Demuth discloses that the housing (2) has a third chamber (40) in which a sensor module (41) is arranged.
As for claim 3, Demuth discloses that the housing (2) has at least two passages, with a first passage (at the location of reference number 38 in Fig. 1) connecting the first chamber (30) to the second chamber (31) and a second passage (42) connecting the first chamber (30) to the third chamber (40).
As for claim 4, Demuth discloses that the electrical connecting element (8, 9, 32, 32) establishes an electrical connection between the first module and the second module (col. 10, lines 37-40) and also between the first module and the sensor module (see Fig. 2).
As for claim 5, Demuth discloses that the first chamber (30) and the second chamber (31) are angled relative to one another (see Fig. 1).
As for claim 7, Demuth discloses that each of the rigid sections (32, 32) of the electrical connecting element are arranged in a respective receptacle in [[an]] a respective entry area of the passage and at least partially cover the passage (see Fig. 1).
As for claim 8, Demuth discloses that a sealing element (33) is arranged in the entry area (i.e. at 32) of the passage.
As for claim 9, Demuth discloses that at least one rigid section (32 on left to seal compartment 30 in Fig. 1) of the electrical connecting element is pressed into an entry area (at 32 on left) or a sealing element of the passage and supported there and seals off the passage, and wherein, on an oppositely arranged opening in the passage, the at least one passage is at least partially covered by a further rigid section (32 on right to seal compartment 31 in Fig. 1) of the electrical connecting element.
As for claim 10, Demuth discloses that the at least one passage has at least one undercut (e.g. where 32 is held by 2).
As for claim 13, Demuth discloses that the flexible sections (8, 9) of the electrical connecting element are arranged in the at least one passage (see Fig. 1).
As for claim 14, Demuth discloses that the first module (3) and/or the second module are configured such that a display module (3) is attachable (via 11).
As for claim 17, Demuth discloses that the modules (3, 4) are fixed and/or oriented to the block (see Fig. 1).
As for claim 18, Demuth discloses a field device assembly (Fig. 1) for process and automation technology, the assembly comprising:
a housing (2);
at least one first chamber (30) and at least one second chamber (31) arranged in the housing (see Fig. 1);
at least one first module (3) arranged in the at least one first chamber (30);
at least one second module (4) being arranged in the at least one second chamber (31), the first chamber and second chambers being connected via at least one passage (at the location of reference number 38 in Fig. 1);
an electrical connecting element (8, 9, 32, 32) that is guided in the at least one passage, the electrical connecting element being provided to establish an electrical connection between the first module and the second module (col. 10, lines 37-40),
wherein the electrical connecting element (8, 9, 32, 32) has at least different or separate conductor tracks (col. 11, lines 12-15) for communication between components in a secure area and an evaluation/display area inside the field device assembly, and/or
wherein the field device assembly has a first and a second connection path, the at least one connection path being used on the 4-20 mA standard or via APL to transmit primary signals.
As for claim 19, Demuth discloses that, via the communication of the internal connections regarding the "evaluation/display area" or via the second connection path, data are provided to the outside (via 3, 4, 7), for evaluation on an AI system, or processed data and information are provided by an AI system via this second connection device for functions in the field device assembly or for display for a user. The examiner notes that the recitation of an AI system describes the intended use of the data and does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art.
As for claim 20, Demuth discloses a field device assembly (Fig. 1) for process and automation technology, the assembly comprising:
a housing (2) having at least two chambers (30, 31) and at least one passage (at the location of reference number 38 in Fig. 1) that connects the two chambers, a first passage connecting a first (30) of the chambers and a second (31) of the chambers;
at least two modules (3, 4), a first (3) of the modules being arranged in the first chamber (30) and a second (4) of the modules being arranged in the second chamber (31); and
an electrical connecting element (8, 9, 32, 32) that is guided in the at least one passage, the electrical connecting element being provided to establish an electrical connection between the first module and the second module (col. 10, lines 37-40),
wherein the electrical connecting element (8, 9, 32, 32) has at least different or separate conductor tracks (col. 11, lines 12-15) for communication between components in a "secure area" and an "evaluation/display area" inside the field device assembly, and/or
wherein the field device assembly has a first and a second connection path, the at least one of the first or second connection paths being used on the 4-20 mA standard or via APL to transmit primary signals.
As for claim 21, Demuth discloses that, via the communication of the internal connections regarding the evaluation/display area or via the second connection path, data are provided to the outside (via 3, 4, 7) for evaluation on an AI system, or processed data and information are provided by an AI system via this second connection device for functions in the field device assembly or for display for a user. The examiner notes that the recitation of an AI system describes the intended use of the data and does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art.
Claims 1-5, 11-14 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 5,187,474 issued to Kielb et al. (“Kielb”).
As for claim 1, Kielb discloses a field device assembly (Fig. 2) for process and automation technology, the assembly comprising:
a housing (16);
at least one first chamber (22);
at least one second chamber (24), the at least one first chamber (22) and the at least one second chamber (24) being arranged in the housing (see Fig. 2);
at least one first module (52) arranged in the first chamber (22);
at least one second module (44) arranged in the second chamber (24);
at least one passage (central space surrounding 34, 38, 64) connecting the at least one first and at least one second chamber; and
an electrical connecting element (34, 38, 40, 64) that is guided in the at least one passage, the electrical connecting element establishing an electrical connection between the first module and the second module (see Fig. 2),
wherein the electrical connecting element is made up, at least in part, of rigid sections (38, 40, 64) and flexible sections (34 has multiple cables in Fig. 2), and is provided with contact surfaces (inherent to provide electrical contact) or contact elements for contacting the modules.
As for claim 2, Kielb discloses that the housing has a third chamber (18) in which a sensor module (26) is arranged.
As for claim 3, Kielb discloses that the housing has at least two passages, with a first passage (central space surrounding 34, 38, 64) connecting the first chamber to the second chamber and a second passage (through 36) connecting the first chamber to the third chamber.
As for claim 4, Kielb discloses that the electrical connecting element (34, 38, 40, 64) establishes an electrical connection between the first module and the second module and also between the first module and the sensor module (see Fig. 2).
As for claim 5, Kielb discloses that the first chamber and the second chamber are angled relative to one another (see Fig. 2).
As for claim 11, Kielb discloses that the rigid sections (38, 40, 64) of the electrical connecting element are formed of a plurality of layers (38, 40), and at least at a surface (on 38) facing the modules have contact surfaces (on 38) and/or plug connectors that establish the electrical connection to the modules.
As for claim 12, Kielb discloses that the rigid sections (38, 40, 64) of the electrical connecting element have electrical or electronic components (40).
As for claim 13, Kielb discloses that the flexible sections (34) of the electrical connecting element are arranged in the at least one passage (see Fig. 2).
As for claim 14, Kielb discloses that the first module and/or the second module (44) are configured such that a display module is attachable (i.e. a display can be attached to 44).
As for claim 18, Kielb discloses a field device assembly (Fig. 2) for process and automation technology, the assembly comprising:
a housing (16);
at least one first chamber (22) and at least one second chamber (24) arranged in the housing (see Fig. 2);
at least one first module (52) arranged in the at least one first chamber (22);
at least one second module (44) being arranged in the at least one second chamber (24), the first chamber and second chambers being connected via at least one passage (central space surrounding 34, 38, 64);
an electrical connecting element (34, 38, 40, 64) that is guided in the at least one passage, the electrical connecting element being provided to establish an electrical connection between the first module and the second module (see Fig. 2),
wherein the electrical connecting element has at least different or separate conductor tracks for communication between components in a secure area and an evaluation/display area inside the field device assembly, and/or
wherein the field device assembly has a first and a second connection path (14), the at least one connection path being used on the 4-20 mA standard (col. 2, lines 44-48 and col. 3, lines 40-45) or via APL to transmit primary signals.
As for claim 19, Kielb discloses that, via the communication of the internal connections regarding the "evaluation/display area" or via the second connection path (14), data are provided to the outside for evaluation on an AI system, or processed data and information are provided by an AI system via this second connection device for functions in the field device assembly or for display for a user. The examiner notes that the recitation of an AI system describes the intended use of the data and does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art.
As for claim 20, Kielb discloses a field device assembly (Fig. 2) for process and automation technology, the assembly comprising:
a housing (16) having at least two chambers (22, 24) and at least one passage (central space surrounding 34, 38, 64) that connects the two chambers, a first passage connecting a first (22) of the chambers and a second (24) of the chambers;
at least two modules (52, 44), a first (52) of the modules being arranged in the first chamber (22) and a second (44) of the modules being arranged in the second chamber (24); and
an electrical connecting element (34, 38, 40, 64) that is guided in the at least one passage, the electrical connecting element being provided to establish an electrical connection between the first module and the second module (see Fig. 2),
wherein the electrical connecting element has at least different or separate conductor tracks for communication between components in a "secure area" and an "evaluation/display area" inside the field device assembly, and/or
wherein the field device assembly has a first and a second connection path (14), the at least one of the first or second connection paths being used on the 4-20 mA standard (col. 2, lines 44-48 and col. 3, lines 40-45) or via APL to transmit primary signals.
As for claim 21, Kielb discloses that, via the communication of the internal connections regarding the evaluation/display area or via the second connection path (14), data are provided to the outside for evaluation on an AI system, or processed data and information are provided by an AI system via this second connection device for functions in the field device assembly or for display for a user. The examiner notes that the recitation of an AI system describes the intended use of the data and does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 11,009,420 issued to Demuth et al. (Demuth”) in view of U.S. Patent 6,062,095 issued to Mulrooney et al. (“Mulrooney”).
As for claim 6, Demuth discloses the field device assembly according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Demuth does not disclose that at least one passage is cast with a casting material.
However, Mulrooney discloses at least one passage (58) that is cast with a casting material (110).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the at least one passage of Demuth to include the casting material as disclosed by Mulrooney in order to provide environmental and explosion proof protection for electronics in the field device assembly (Mulrooney: Abstract).
As for claim 16, Demuth discloses the field device assembly according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Demuth does not disclose that the electrical connecting element is cast in a block that is centrally supported in the housing.
However, Mulrooney discloses an electrical connecting element (wires inside 58) that is cast in a block (110) that is centrally supported in a housing (22).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the electrical connecting element of Demuth to be case inside a casting material as disclosed by Mulrooney in order to provide environmental and explosion proof protection for electronics in the field device assembly (Mulrooney: Abstract).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 11,009,420 issued to Demuth et al. (Demuth”) in view of U.S. Patent 6,546,805 issued to Fandrey et al. (“Fandrey”).
As for claim 15, Demuth discloses the field device assembly according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Demuth does not disclose that the housing is manufactured from sheet metal in a casting or hydroforming process, and wherein inner walls of the passage are unmachined.
However, Fandrey discloses a housing (102) is manufactured from sheet metal (col. 3, lines 4-7).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the housing of Demuth to be made of sheet metal as disclosed by Fandrey because it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07 and in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
The examiner notes that the recitation of manufacturing with a casting or hydroforming process, and that inner walls of the passage are unmachined describes the process of making the housing and does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 5,187,474 issued to Kielb et al. (Kielb”) in view of U.S. Patent 6,062,095 issued to Mulrooney et al. (“Mulrooney”).
As for claim 6, Kielb discloses the field device assembly according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Kielb does not disclose that at least one passage is cast with a casting material.
However, Mulrooney discloses at least one passage (58) that is cast with a casting material (110).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the at least one passage of Kielb to include the casting material as disclosed by Mulrooney in order to provide environmental and explosion proof protection for electronics in the field device assembly (Mulrooney: Abstract).
As for claim 16, Kielb discloses the field device assembly according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Kielb does not disclose that the electrical connecting element is cast in a block that is centrally supported in the housing.
However, Mulrooney discloses an electrical connecting element (wires inside 58) that is cast in a block (110) that is centrally supported in a housing (22).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the electrical connecting element of Kielb to be case inside a casting material as disclosed by Mulrooney in order to provide environmental and explosion proof protection for electronics in the field device assembly (Mulrooney: Abstract).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent 5,187,474 issued to Kielb et al. (Kielb”) in view of U.S. Patent 6,546,805 issued to Fandrey et al. (“Fandrey”).
As for claim 15, Kielb discloses the field device assembly according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
Kielb does not disclose that the housing is manufactured from sheet metal in a casting or hydroforming process, and wherein inner walls of the passage are unmachined.
However, Fandrey discloses a housing (102) is manufactured from sheet metal (col. 3, lines 4-7).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to modify the housing of Kielb to be made of sheet metal as disclosed by Fandrey because it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination. See MPEP 2144.07 and in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
The examiner notes that the recitation of manufacturing with a casting or hydroforming process, and that inner walls of the passage are unmachined describes the process of making the housing and does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent 8,852,775 issued to McGuire et al. (“McGuire”) is cited for all that it discloses including a field device assembly with a housing that includes two chambers.
/JUSTIN N OLAMIT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853