2. This communication is responsive to Application No. 18/955,375 and the claims filed on 11/21/2024.
3. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1, 2, 10, 11, 12, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett et al. (US 12325324 B1 hereinafter Bennett) in view of Holeton et al. (US 20240157847 A1 hereinafter Holeton).
Regarding Claim 1, Bennett teaches a method for conditioning a battery of a mobility apparatus including a plurality of wheels (Col. 5 lines 34-43, where “FIG. 1 depicts an example cross-sectional view 100 of an electric vehicle 105 installed with at least one battery pack 110. Electric vehicles 105 can include electric trucks, electric sport utility vehicles (SUVs), …, among other possibilities.”), (Note: See Figure 1 of Bennett wherein vehicle 105 has a plurality of wheels.), a power system including a first battery for supplying power (Col. 5 lines 50-53, where “Electric vehicles 105 such as electric trucks or automobiles can include on-board battery packs 110, battery modules 115, or battery cells 120 to power the electric vehicles.”), and a controller for controlling the power system (Col. 13 lines 48-50, where “Thermal manager 410 can include any combination of hardware and software for managing or controlling heat at the EV battery 110.”), the method comprising:
determining, by the controller, whether the first battery and a second battery (Col. 5 lines 34-36, where “FIG. 1 depicts an example cross-sectional view 100 of an electric vehicle
105 installed with at least one battery pack 110.”) electrically connected to the power system (Col. 12 lines 50-58, where “A charging station 155 can include any combination of hardware and software for providing electricity or otherwise electrically charging one or more batteries of an EVs 105. CS 155 can include a directional or a bidirectional charging station, including for example, any combination of hardware and software for providing and drawing power or energy (e.g., charging and discharging) one or more batteries of the EV 105, including any combination of one or more battery packs 110, battery modules 115 or battery cells 120.”) require conditioning (Col. 10 lines 48-60, where “As EV battery temperature 444 and EV gradient temperature 446 can increase during a DCFC charging, DPS 402 can utilize measurements 442 from sensors 440 to keep track of the battery temperature 444 with respect to the temperature thresholds 422 and of the gradient temperature 446 with respect to the gradient thresholds 424 of the EV battery 110. DPS 402 can use an EV cooler 406 to cool the EV battery 110 with a coolant 408, using the initial SOC 426 and the target SOC 428
to determine the coolant amount 430 and coolant temperature 432 to apply to maintain the battery temperature 444 below the temperature threshold 422 and the gradient temperature
446 below the gradient threshold 424.”), (Col. 24 lines 29-43, where “At ACT 910, the method can include determining amount of cooling using the SOC, the temperature threshold and the gradient threshold. … The amount of cooling can be determined based at least on the target SOC input into the model, a temperature value input into a model, temperature setpoint input into the model, or a coolant data input into the model.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets manipulating the temperature of the battery by an additional device, such as heating or cooling the battery, as the conditioning, as the condition is described in paragraphs [0133] – [0135] of the specification of the instant application.);
determining, by the controller, one or more conditioning time points of the first battery and/or the second battery based on a determination of whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning (Col. 10 lines 54-64, where “DPS 402 can use an EV cooler 406 to cool the EV battery 110 with a coolant 408, using the initial SOC 426 and the target SOC 428 to determine the coolant amount 430 and coolant temperature 432 to apply to maintain the battery temperature 444 below the temperature threshold 422 and the gradient temperature 446 below the gradient threshold 424. Battery cooling model 420 can determine the amount of cooling to provide to the battery during the battery charge by determining the coolant amount 430 and the coolant temperature 432 to apply, as well as the timing at which to apply the cooling.”); and
performing, by the controller, the conditioning of the first battery and/or the second battery (Col. 25 lines 12-13, where “At ACT 915, the method can include providing the amount of cooling to a battery during the EV charge.”), wherein performing the conditioning of the first battery and/or the second battery includes transmitting a control signal to a first conditioning device and/or a second conditioning device (Col. 12 lines 4-10, where “EV cooler 406 can include any combination of hardware and software for cooling an EV battery 110. … EV cooler 406 can be configured to provide cooling either to the EV's cabin or its battery 110, such as when subjected to heating during DCFC (DC Fast Charging) sessions.”), (Col. 13 lines 50-54, where “Thermal manager 410 can include any functionality for controlling or activating EV cooler 406 and using battery cooling model 420 to determine the amount of coolant and timing of the coolant provided to the EV battery 110.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the EV cooler 406 of Bennett as the conditioning device.).
Bennett is silent on at least one driving motor for providing a driving force to the plurality of wheels, wherein the power system supplies power to the at least one driving motor, wherein the controller controls the at least one driving motor; and wherein the second battery is detachably connected to the power system.
However, Holeton teaches at least one driving motor for providing a driving force to the plurality of wheels ([0031] via “The drive motors 45 are supported by the frame 20, and are interconnected to the drive wheels 35 through a transmission or gear train to increase speed or torque delivered to the drive wheels 35.”),
wherein the power system supplies power to the at least one driving motor ([0032] via “Turning now to FIG. 4, the power source 50 in the illustrated embodiment is a bank (plurality) of battery packs 52, 54, 56, 58, as described in detail below.”), ([0033] via “The power source 50 is electrically coupled to the drive motors 45 and deck motors 40 to provide sufficient power for their operation.”),
wherein the controller controls the at least one driving motor ([0043] via “The mower
10 includes the vehicle control system 90 having at least one electronic controller such as a vehicle control module 140, motor controllers 145, and battery controllers 150.”); and
wherein the second battery is detachably connected to the power system ([0040] via “Referring now to FIGS. 5 and 6, an example battery interface 120 is mounted to the bottom wall 110 of the battery compartment 100. The battery interface 120 includes four docking stations 122, each including alignment structures 124 and electrical connectors 126.”), ([0042] via “The battery interface 120 is adapted to receive a plurality of battery packs 52, 54, 56, 58, which together are referred to as a bank of battery packs 50. In the illustrated embodiment, the bank of battery packs 50 includes four battery packs 52, 54, 56, 58 to match the four docking stations 122 of the battery interface 120.”), (Note: See Figures 4-6 of Holeton as well.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Holeton wherein the mobility apparatus includes at least one driving motor for providing a driving force to the plurality of wheels, wherein the power system supplies power to the at least one driving motor, wherein the controller controls the at least one driving motor; and wherein the second battery is detachably connected to the power system. As for the motor, doing so applies a torque to the wheels in order to drive the wheels, as stated above by Holeton in paragraph [0031]. Further, regarding the battery being detachable, doing so provides an interface to switch out and customize the number of batteries used, as stated above by Holeton in paragraphs [0040] and [0042].
Regarding Claim 2, modified reference Bennett teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning is performed based on at least one of charging due information of the first battery, charging due information of the second battery, state of charging (SoC) information of the first battery, SoC information of the second battery, or replacement due information of the second battery (Col. 23 lines 57-61, where “At ACT 905, the method can include identifying an SOC, a temperature threshold and a gradient threshold. The method can include the one or more processors coupled with memory identifying a state of charge (SOC) of a battery of an EV.”), (Col. 24 lines 29-35, where “At ACT 910, the method can include determining amount of cooling using the SOC, the temperature threshold and the gradient threshold. The method can include the one or more processors determining an amount of cooling to apply during a charge of the battery (e.g., DCFC event) based at least on the SOC (e.g., initial SOC), the temperature of the battery and the difference in temperature input into a model.”).
Regarding Claim 10, modified reference Bennett teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, but is silent on wherein the second battery is detachably and electrically connected to the first battery through a DC/DC converter.
However, Holeton teaches wherein the second battery is detachably and electrically connected to the first battery through a DC/DC converter ([0060] via “In the illustrated embodiment, to initiate converter battery balancing, the control system 90 (e.g., the battery controller 150 of the battery pack 54) activates the DC-to-DC converter 220 of the battery pack 54. For example, the control system 90 sends an enable command to the DC-to-DC converter 220 of the battery pack 54 to begin converting voltage from the battery pack 52
received via the bus bar 131.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Holeton wherein the second battery is detachably and electrically connected to the first battery through a DC/DC converter. Doing so allows the first and second batteries to balance the charging current between the two batteries, which reduces the risk of damaging the batteries during charging, as stated by Holeton ([0061] via “The activated DC-to-DC converter 220 reduces or steps down the amount of voltage from the battery pack 52 to charge the battery pack 54. The use of the DC-to-DC converter 220 reduces the potential (voltage) difference between the charging source and the cells 190 of the to-be-charged battery pack 54. By reducing the potential difference, the DC-to-DC converter 220 reduces the charge current from the battery pack 52 to the battery pack
54 during the balancing. Without such reduction, the high potential difference between he battery pack 52 (charge source) and the battery pack 54 (to-be-charged battery) can result in excessive current, which can damage components of one or both of the battery pack 52 and
54.”).
Regarding Claim 11, Bennett teaches a mobility apparatus, comprising: a plurality of wheels (Col. 5 lines 34-43, where “FIG. 1 depicts an example cross-sectional view 100 of an electric vehicle 105 installed with at least one battery pack 110. Electric vehicles 105 can include electric trucks, electric sport utility vehicles (SUVs), …, among other possibilities.”), (Note: See Figure 1 of Bennett wherein vehicle 105 has a plurality of wheels.);
a power system including a first battery for providing power (Col. 5 lines 50-53, where “Electric vehicles 105 such as electric trucks or automobiles can include on-board battery packs 110, battery modules 115, or battery cells 120 to power the electric vehicles.”); and
a controller configured to control the power system (Col. 13 lines 48-50, where “Thermal manager 410 can include any combination of hardware and software for managing or controlling heat at the EV battery 110.”),
wherein when a second battery (Col. 5 lines 34-36, where “FIG. 1 depicts an example cross-sectional view 100 of an electric vehicle 105 installed with at least one battery pack
110.”) is electrically connected to the power system (Col. 12 lines 50-58, where “A charging station 155 can include any combination of hardware and software for providing electricity or otherwise electrically charging one or more batteries of an EVs 105. CS 155 can include a directional or a bidirectional charging station, including for example, any combination of hardware and software for providing and drawing power or energy (e.g., charging and discharging) one or more batteries of the EV 105, including any combination of one or more battery packs 110, battery modules 115 or battery cells 120.”), the controller is configured to:
determine whether the first battery and the second battery require conditioning (Col. 10 lines 48-60, where “As EV battery temperature 444 and EV gradient temperature 446 can increase during a DCFC charging, DPS 402 can utilize measurements 442 from sensors 440 to keep track of the battery temperature 444 with respect to the temperature thresholds 422
and of the gradient temperature 446 with respect to the gradient thresholds 424 of the EV battery 110. DPS 402 can use an EV cooler 406 to cool the EV battery 110 with a coolant 408, using the initial SOC 426 and the target SOC 428 to determine the coolant amount 430 and coolant temperature 432 to apply to maintain the battery temperature 444 below the temperature threshold 422 and the gradient temperature 446 below the gradient threshold
424.”), (Col. 24 lines 29-43, where “At ACT 910, the method can include determining amount of cooling using the SOC, the temperature threshold and the gradient threshold. … The amount of cooling can be determined based at least on the target SOC input into the model, a temperature value input into a model, temperature setpoint input into the model, or a coolant data input into the model.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets manipulating the temperature of the battery by an additional device, such as heating or cooling the battery, as the conditioning, as the condition is described in paragraphs [0133] – [0135] of the specification of the instant application.),
determine one or more conditioning time points of the first battery and/or the second battery based on a determination of whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning (Col. 10 lines 54-64, where “DPS 402 can use an EV cooler 406 to cool the EV battery 110 with a coolant 408, using the initial SOC 426 and the target SOC 428 to determine the coolant amount 430 and coolant temperature 432 to apply to maintain the battery temperature 444 below the temperature threshold 422 and the gradient temperature 446
below the gradient threshold 424. Battery cooling model 420 can determine the amount of cooling to provide to the battery during the battery charge by determining the coolant amount 430 and the coolant temperature 432 to apply, as well as the timing at which to apply the cooling.”), and
perform the conditioning of the first battery and/or the second battery (Col. 25 lines 12-13, where “At ACT 915, the method can include providing the amount of cooling to a battery during the EV charge.”) by transmitting a control signal to a first conditioning device or a second conditioning device (Col. 12 lines 4-10, where “EV cooler 406 can include any combination of hardware and software for cooling an EV battery 110. … EV cooler 406 can be configured to provide cooling either to the EV's cabin or its battery 110, such as when subjected to heating during DCFC (DC Fast Charging) sessions.”), (Col. 13 lines 50-54, where “Thermal manager 410 can include any functionality for controlling or activating EV cooler 406 and using battery cooling model 420 to determine the amount of coolant and timing of the coolant provided to the EV battery 110.”), (Note: The Examiner interprets the EV cooler 406 of Bennett as the conditioning device.).
Bennett is silent on at least one driving motor configured to provide a driving force to the plurality of wheels; the power system providing power to the at least one driving motor; and the controller is configured to control the at least one driving motor; and wherein the second battery is detachably connected to the power system.
However, Holeton teaches at least one driving motor configured to provide a driving force to the plurality of wheels ([0031] via “The drive motors 45 are supported by the frame
20, and are interconnected to the drive wheels 35 through a transmission or gear train to increase speed or torque delivered to the drive wheels 35.”);
the power system providing power to the at least one driving motor ([0032] via “Turning now to FIG. 4, the power source 50 in the illustrated embodiment is a bank (plurality) of battery packs 52, 54, 56, 58, as described in detail below.”), ([0033] via “The power source 50 is electrically coupled to the drive motors 45 and deck motors 40 to provide sufficient power for their operation.”); and
the controller is configured to control the at least one driving motor ([0043] via “The mower 10 includes the vehicle control system 90 having at least one electronic controller such as a vehicle control module 140, motor controllers 145, and battery controllers 150.”); and
wherein the second battery is detachably connected to the power system ([0040] via “Referring now to FIGS. 5 and 6, an example battery interface 120 is mounted to the bottom wall 110 of the battery compartment 100. The battery interface 120 includes four docking stations 122, each including alignment structures 124 and electrical connectors 126.”), ([0042] via “The battery interface 120 is adapted to receive a plurality of battery packs 52, 54, 56, 58, which together are referred to as a bank of battery packs 50. In the illustrated embodiment, the bank of battery packs 50 includes four battery packs 52, 54, 56, 58 to match the four docking stations 122 of the battery interface 120.”), (Note: See Figures 4-6 of Holeton as well.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Holeton wherein the mobility apparatus comprises: at least one driving motor configured to provide a driving force to the plurality of wheels; the power system providing power to the at least one driving motor; and the controller is configured to control the at least one driving motor; and wherein the second battery is detachably connected to the power system. As for the motor, doing so applies a torque to the wheels in order to drive the wheels, as stated above by Holeton in paragraph [0031]. Further, regarding the battery being detachable, doing so provides an interface to switch out and customize the number of batteries used, as stated above by Holeton in paragraphs [0040] and [0042].
Regarding Claim 12, modified reference Bennett teaches the mobility apparatus as claimed in claim 11, wherein the controller is configured to determine whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning based on at least one of charging due information of the first battery, charging due information of the second battery, state of charging (SoC) information of the first battery, SoC information of the second battery, or replacement due information of the second battery (Col. 23 lines 57-61, where “At ACT 905, the method can include identifying an SOC, a temperature threshold and a gradient threshold. The method can include the one or more processors coupled with memory identifying a state of charge (SOC) of a battery of an EV.”), (Col. 24 lines 29-35, where “At ACT 910, the method can include determining amount of cooling using the SOC, the temperature threshold and the gradient threshold. The method can include the one or more processors determining an amount of cooling to apply during a charge of the battery (e.g., DCFC event) based at least on the SOC (e.g., initial SOC), the temperature of the battery and the difference in temperature input into a model.”).
Regarding Claim 20, modified reference Bennett teaches the mobility apparatus as claimed in claim 11, but is silent on wherein the second battery is detachably and electrically connected to the first battery through a DC/DC converter.
However, Holeton teaches wherein the second battery is detachably and electrically connected to the first battery through a DC/DC converter ([0060] via “In the illustrated embodiment, to initiate converter battery balancing, the control system 90 (e.g., the battery controller 150 of the battery pack 54) activates the DC-to-DC converter 220 of the battery pack 54. For example, the control system 90 sends an enable command to the DC-to-DC converter 220 of the battery pack 54 to begin converting voltage from the battery pack 52
received via the bus bar 131.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Holeton wherein the second battery is detachably and electrically connected to the first battery through a DC/DC converter. Doing so allows the first and second batteries to balance the charging current between the two batteries, which reduces the risk of damaging the batteries during charging, as stated by Holeton ([0061] via “The activated DC-to-DC converter 220 reduces or steps down the amount of voltage from the battery pack 52 to charge the battery pack 54. The use of the DC-to-DC converter 220 reduces the potential (voltage) difference between the charging source and the cells 190 of the to-be-charged battery pack 54. By reducing the potential difference, the DC-to-DC converter 220 reduces the charge current from the battery pack 52 to the battery pack
54 during the balancing. Without such reduction, the high potential difference between he battery pack 52 (charge source) and the battery pack 54 (to-be-charged battery) can result in excessive current, which can damage components of one or both of the battery pack 52 and
54.”).
7. Claim(s) 3, 4, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett et al. (US 12325324 B1 hereinafter Bennett) in view of Holeton et al. (US 20240157847 A1 hereinafter Holeton), and further in view of Minamiura (US 20030087148 A1 hereinafter Minamiura).
Regarding Claim 3, modified reference Bennett teaches the method as claimed in claim 2, but is silent on wherein determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning comprises a first step of determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning based on a result of comparison between a SoC of the first battery and a SoC of the second battery.
However, Minamiura teaches wherein determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning comprises a first step of determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning based on a result of comparison between a SoC of the first battery and a SoC of the second battery ([0037] via “Firstly, in step #1, it is judged whether each capacity (SOC) difference between respective battery pack blocks 1a to 1d is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold `A`. If the difference is smaller than the threshold `A`, the process proceeds to step #3, which sets the cooling mode to mode 1. If the difference is equal to or greater than the threshold `A`, it is then judged in step #2 whether the battery temperature is lower than `T` degrees C. (e.g. 50 degrees C.). … If the battery temperature is equal to or higher than `T` degrees C., the process proceeds to step #3 and sets the cooling mode to mode 1. If the battery temperature is lower than `T` degrees C., the process proceeds to step #4 and sets the cooling mode to mode 2.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Minamiura wherein determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning comprises a first step of determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning based on a result of comparison between a SoC of the first battery and a SoC of the second battery. Potentially reducing the SoC differences between the first and second batteries improves the charging efficiency of the batteries, as stated by Minamiura ([0044] via “A method and an apparatus for controlling cooling in a battery pack system according to the present invention control the SOC differences between battery pack blocks so that the SOC differences are made equal to or smaller than a threshold, whereby variation in SOC between respective battery pack blocks is restrained to improve charging efficiency.”).
Regarding Claim 4, modified reference Bennett teaches the method as claimed in claim 3, but is silent on wherein determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning further comprises, a second step of determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning based on a result of comparison between the SoC of the second battery and a first preset SoC when the SoC of the first battery is equal to or less than the SoC of the second battery.
However, Holeton teaches wherein determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning further comprises, a second step of determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning based on a result of comparison between the SoC of the second battery and a first preset SoC ([0078] via “In block 480, the control system 90 determines whether the state of charge of each of the three or more battery packs 52, 54, 56, 58 are within the second threshold amount. It should be appreciated that since the state of charge of the first and second battery packs 52, 54 are within the second threshold amount, that the control system 90 may initiate converter balancing to discharge from one or both of the first or second battery pack 52, 54 to charge the remaining battery packs 56, 58 that have a state of charge that are not within the second threshold amount.”) when the SoC of the first battery is equal to or less than the SoC of the second battery ([0075] via “In block 460, the control system 90 determines whether the state of charge of the first battery pack 52 is more than a first threshold amount above the state of charge of the second battery pack 54.”), (Note: See Figure 11 of Holeton as well. Also, see Minamiyra above within claim 3, which teaches conditioning the batteries due to a SoC difference.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Holeton wherein determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning further comprises, a second step of determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning based on a result of comparison between the SoC of the second battery and a first preset SoC when the SoC of the first battery is equal to or less than the SoC of the second battery. Doing so balances the SoC of the batteries in such a way that prevents damage to the batteries when simultaneously using the batteries to power the mobility apparatus, as stated by Holeton ([0052] via “When one or more of the battery packs 52, 54, 56, 58 is out-of-balance with another of the battery packs 52, 54, 56, 58, the simultaneous discharge from one or more of the battery packs 52, 54, 56, 58 may be prevented to avoid damage that could otherwise result, for example, from reverse current to the battery pack(s) having a lower state of charge. For example, in some embodiments, during operation of the lawn mower 10, the state of charge of a lowest charged battery pack has to be less than an operational threshold amount below a highest charged battery pack for all of the battery packs 52, 54, 56,
58 to provide power simultaneously to the mower 10.”).
Regarding Claim 13, modified reference Bennett teaches the mobility apparatus as claimed in claim 12, but is silent on wherein in determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning, the controller is further configured to determine whether the first battery and the second battery require conditioning based on a result of comparison between a SoC of the first battery and a SoC of the second battery.
However, Minamiura teaches wherein in determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning, the controller is further configured to determine whether the first battery and the second battery require conditioning based on a result of comparison between a SoC of the first battery and a SoC of the second battery ([0037] via “Firstly, in step #1, it is judged whether each capacity (SOC) difference between respective battery pack blocks 1a to 1d is equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold `A`. If the difference is smaller than the threshold `A`, the process proceeds to step #3, which sets the cooling mode to mode 1. If the difference is equal to or greater than the threshold `A`, it is then judged in step #2 whether the battery temperature is lower than `T` degrees C. (e.g. 50 degrees C.). … If the battery temperature is equal to or higher than `T` degrees C., the process proceeds to step #3 and sets the cooling mode to mode 1. If the battery temperature is lower than `T` degrees C., the process proceeds to step #4 and sets the cooling mode to mode 2.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Minamiura wherein in determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning, the controller is further configured to determine whether the first battery and the second battery require conditioning based on a result of comparison between a SoC of the first battery and a SoC of the second battery. Potentially reducing the SoC differences between the first and second batteries improves the charging efficiency of the batteries, as stated by Minamiura ([0044] via “A method and an apparatus for controlling cooling in a battery pack system according to the present invention control the SOC differences between battery pack blocks so that the SOC differences are made equal to or smaller than a threshold, whereby variation in SOC between respective battery pack blocks is restrained to improve charging efficiency.”).
Regarding Claim 14, modified reference Bennett teaches the mobility apparatus as claimed in 13, but is silent on wherein in determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning, the controller is further configured to determine whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning based on a result of comparison between the SoC of the second battery and a first preset SoC when the SoC of the first battery is equal to or less than the SoC of the second battery.
However, Holeton teaches wherein in determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning, the controller is further configured to determine whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning based on a result of comparison between the SoC of the second battery and a first preset SoC ([0078] via “In block 480, the control system 90 determines whether the state of charge of each of the three or more battery packs 52, 54, 56, 58 are within the second threshold amount. It should be appreciated that since the state of charge of the first and second battery packs 52, 54 are within the second threshold amount, that the control system 90 may initiate converter balancing to discharge from one or both of the first or second battery pack 52, 54 to charge the remaining battery packs 56, 58 that have a state of charge that are not within the second threshold amount.”) when the SoC of the first battery is equal to or less than the SoC of the second battery ([0075] via “In block 460, the control system 90 determines whether the state of charge of the first battery pack 52 is more than a first threshold amount above the state of charge of the second battery pack 54.”), (Note: See Figure 11 of Holeton as well. Also, see Minamiyra above within claim 3, which teaches conditioning the batteries due to a SoC difference.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Holeton wherein in determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning, the controller is further configured to determine whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning based on a result of comparison between the SoC of the second battery and a first preset SoC when the SoC of the first battery is equal to or less than the SoC of the second battery. Doing so balances the SoC of the batteries in such a way that prevents damage to the batteries when simultaneously using the batteries to power the mobility apparatus, as stated by Holeton ([0052] via “When one or more of the battery packs 52, 54, 56, 58 is out-of-balance with another of the battery packs 52, 54, 56, 58, the simultaneous discharge from one or more of the battery packs 52, 54, 56, 58 may be prevented to avoid damage that could otherwise result, for example, from reverse current to the battery pack(s) having a lower state of charge. For example, in some embodiments, during operation of the lawn mower 10, the state of charge of a lowest charged battery pack has to be less than an operational threshold amount below a highest charged battery pack for all of the battery packs 52, 54, 56,
58 to provide power simultaneously to the mower 10.”).
8. Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett et al. (US 12325324 B1 hereinafter Bennett) in view of Holeton et al. (US 20240157847 A1 hereinafter Holeton), further in view of Minamiura (US 20030087148 A1 hereinafter Minamiura), and further in view of Schardax et al. (US 20240399930 A1 hereinafter Schardax).
Regarding Claim 5, modified reference Bennett teaches the method as claimed in claim 4, but is silent on wherein determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning further comprises a third step of determining whether the second battery requires the conditioning based on the replacement due information of the second battery.
However, Schardax teaches wherein determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning further comprises a third step of determining whether the second battery requires the conditioning based on the replacement due information of the second battery ([0030] via “In the present exemplary embodiment, it is in particular shown that a respective storage module 14, 16 can have a multiplicity of battery cells 24. During the method for heating the electrical energy store 12, the electrical energy store 12, which has at least the first storage module 14 and the second storage module 16, is heated on the basis of a control signal 26 from the electronic computing device 22.”), ([0034] via “Furthermore, provision can in particular be made for the control signal 26 for heating the storage modules
14, 16 to be adjusted on the basis of a state of aging of the first storage module 14 and/or of the second storage module 16.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Schardax wherein determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning further comprises a third step of determining whether the second battery requires the conditioning based on the replacement due information of the second battery. By determining the replacement due information, doing so more efficiently conditions the battery by determining the most optimal amount of conditioning to apply at a certain battery age, as stated by Schardax ([0017] via “Moreover, it has proven to be advantageous if the control signal for heating the storage modules is adjusted on the basis of the state of aging of the first storage module and/or of the second storage module. For example, the electronic computing device can be designed to determine the state of aging. On the basis thereof, it is then in turn necessary for a corresponding heating to be adapted in accordance with the state of aging. The state of aging can thus be taken into consideration and more efficient heating of the storage modules can be carried out.”).
Regarding Claim 15, modified reference Bennett teaches the mobility apparatus as claimed in claim 14, but is silent on wherein in determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning, the controller is further configured to determine whether the second battery requires conditioning based on the replacement due information of the second battery.
However, Schardax teaches wherein in determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning, the controller is further configured to determine whether the second battery requires conditioning based on the replacement due information of the second battery ([0030] via “In the present exemplary embodiment, it is in particular shown that a respective storage module 14, 16 can have a multiplicity of battery cells 24. During the method for heating the electrical energy store 12, the electrical energy store 12, which has at least the first storage module 14 and the second storage module 16, is heated on the basis of a control signal 26 from the electronic computing device 22.”), ([0034] via “Furthermore, provision can in particular be made for the control signal 26 for heating the storage modules 14, 16 to be adjusted on the basis of a state of aging of the first storage module 14 and/or of the second storage module 16.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Schardax wherein in determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning, the controller is further configured to determine whether the second battery requires conditioning based on the replacement due information of the second battery. By determining the replacement due information, doing so more efficiently conditions the battery by determining the most optimal amount of conditioning to apply at a certain battery age, as stated by Schardax ([0017] via “Moreover, it has proven to be advantageous if the control signal for heating the storage modules is adjusted on the basis of the state of aging of the first storage module and/or of the second storage module. For example, the electronic computing device can be designed to determine the state of aging. On the basis thereof, it is then in turn necessary for a corresponding heating to be adapted in accordance with the state of aging. The state of aging can thus be taken into consideration and more efficient heating of the storage modules can be carried out.”).
9. Claim(s) 6, 7, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett et al. (US 12325324 B1 hereinafter Bennett) in view of Holeton et al. (US 20240157847 A1 hereinafter Holeton), and further in view of Mazaira et al. (US 20240001805 A1 hereinafter Mazaira).
Regarding Claim 6, modified reference Bennett teaches the method as claimed in claim 2, but is silent on wherein determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning comprises obtaining the charging due information based on a navigation device or a user input.
However, Mazaira teaches wherein determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning comprises obtaining the charging due information based on a navigation device or a user input ([0024] via “The system 100 also includes a navigation system 146 that provides a location/destination of the vehicle 102. The navigation system 146 may provide an indication to the vehicle controller 130 that the vehicle 102 may be heading toward a battery charging station to provide an early indication that the battery
104 may undergo a charging operation in order to pre-heat the battery 104.”), ([0026] via “In operation 204, the vehicle controller 130 determines whether the vehicle 102 is on route to a DC fast charging station (e.g., a DC based charging station). In this case, the vehicle controller
130 receives destination information from the navigation system 146 which may indicate that the vehicle 102 is on route to the DC fast charging station. In one example, a driver of the vehicle may input the charger destination via a user interface (not shown) in the vehicle 102
or via a mobile device that is electrically coupled to the vehicle 102.”), ([0027] via “In operation 206, the vehicle controller 130 sets a first temperature threshold for the battery
104. In general, the first temperature threshold for the battery 104 generally corresponds to a desired temperature level for the battery 104 to prepare/prime the battery 104 for a DC charging operation.”), (Note: See Figure 2 of Mazaira as well.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Mazaira wherein determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning comprises obtaining the charging due information based on a navigation device or a user input. Doing so primes the battery of the vehicle ahead of charging when the vehicle receives knowledge that a charging operation will soon commence, as stated above by Mazaira in paragraph [0027].
Regarding Claim 7, modified reference Bennett teaches the method as claimed in claim 6, but is silent on wherein determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning further comprises determining that the first battery requires conditioning when the first battery is due for charging, and determining that the second battery requires the conditioning when the second battery is due for charging.
However, Mazaira teaches wherein determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning further comprises determining that the first battery requires conditioning when the first battery is due for charging, and determining that the second battery requires the conditioning when the second battery is due for charging ([0031] via “In operation 252, the vehicle controller 130 receives signals from any one or more of the first and second temperature sensors 132 and 136 to monitor the temperature of the battery 104. The vehicle controller 130 compares the measured temperature to either the first, second, or third temperature thresholds (or the heat recovery battery threshold) for the battery 104 as derived from the method 200. The vehicle controller 130 compares the measured temperature to the first, second or third predetermined thresholds based on whether the vehicle 102 is traveling to a DC fast charger, the vehicle 102 is undergoing AC charging, or the ignition of the vehicle 102 is detected to be in the “ON” position while the vehicle 102 is not on its way to the DC fast charger or undergoing AC charging.”), ([0033] via “In operation 258, the vehicle controller 130 determines whether the motor electronics coolant temperature is greater than the measured battery temperature plus an offset. The offset provides hysteresis to ensure that there is heating capability in the system to avoid dynamic switching on and off. If this condition is true, then the method 250 moves to operation 264.”), ([0035] via “In operation 264, the vehicle controller 130 may control the first valve 138 to enable coolant from the motor electronics coolant loop 122 to pass to the battery coolant loop 120 to heat the battery 104.”), (Note: See Figure 3 of Mazaira as well.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Mazaira wherein determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning further comprises determining that the first battery requires conditioning when the first battery is due for charging, and determining that the second battery requires the conditioning when the second battery is due for charging. Doing so primes the battery of the vehicle ahead of charging when the vehicle receives knowledge that a charging operation will soon commence, as stated by Mazaira ([0027] via “In operation 206, the vehicle controller 130 sets a first temperature threshold for the battery 104. In general, the first temperature threshold for the battery 104
generally corresponds to a desired temperature level for the battery 104 to prepare/prime the battery 104 for a DC charging operation.”).
Regarding Claim 16, modified reference Bennett teaches the mobility apparatus as claimed in claim 12, but is silent on wherein in determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning, the controller is further configured to obtain the charging due information based on a navigation device or a user input.
However, Mazaira teaches wherein in determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning, the controller is further configured to obtain the charging due information based on a navigation device or a user input ([0024] via “The system 100 also includes a navigation system 146 that provides a location/destination of the vehicle 102. The navigation system 146 may provide an indication to the vehicle controller 130 that the vehicle 102 may be heading toward a battery charging station to provide an early indication that the battery 104 may undergo a charging operation in order to pre-heat the battery 104.”), ([0026] via “In operation 204, the vehicle controller 130 determines whether the vehicle 102 is on route to a DC fast charging station (e.g., a DC based charging station). In this case, the vehicle controller 130 receives destination information from the navigation system 146 which may indicate that the vehicle 102 is on route to the DC fast charging station. In one example, a driver of the vehicle may input the charger destination via a user interface (not shown) in the vehicle 102 or via a mobile device that is electrically coupled to the vehicle 102.”), ([0027] via “In operation 206, the vehicle controller 130 sets a first temperature threshold for the battery 104. In general, the first temperature threshold for the battery 104 generally corresponds to a desired temperature level for the battery 104
to prepare/prime the battery 104 for a DC charging operation.”), (Note: See Figure 2 of Mazaira as well.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Mazaira wherein in determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning, the controller is further configured to obtain the charging due information based on a navigation device or a user input. Doing so primes the battery of the vehicle ahead of charging when the vehicle receives knowledge that a charging operation will soon commence, as stated above by Mazaira in paragraph [0027].
Regarding Claim 17, modified reference Bennett teaches the mobility apparatus as claimed in claim 16, but is silent on wherein in determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning, the controller is further configured to: determine that the first battery requires the conditioning when the first battery is due for charging; and determine that the second battery requires the conditioning when the second battery is due for charging.
However, Mazaira teaches wherein in determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning, the controller is further configured to: determine that the first battery requires the conditioning when the first battery is due for charging; and determine that the second battery requires the conditioning when the second battery is due for charging ([0031] via “In operation 252, the vehicle controller 130 receives signals from any one or more of the first and second temperature sensors 132 and 136 to monitor the temperature of the battery 104. The vehicle controller 130 compares the measured temperature to either the first, second, or third temperature thresholds (or the heat recovery battery threshold) for the battery 104 as derived from the method 200. The vehicle controller
130 compares the measured temperature to the first, second or third predetermined thresholds based on whether the vehicle 102 is traveling to a DC fast charger, the vehicle 102
is undergoing AC charging, or the ignition of the vehicle 102 is detected to be in the “ON” position while the vehicle 102 is not on its way to the DC fast charger or undergoing AC charging.”), ([0033] via “In operation 258, the vehicle controller 130 determines whether the motor electronics coolant temperature is greater than the measured battery temperature plus an offset. The offset provides hysteresis to ensure that there is heating capability in the system to avoid dynamic switching on and off. If this condition is true, then the method 250
moves to operation 264.”), ([0035] via “In operation 264, the vehicle controller 130 may control the first valve 138 to enable coolant from the motor electronics coolant loop 122 to pass to the battery coolant loop 120 to heat the battery 104.”), (Note: See Figure 3 of Mazaira as well.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Mazaira wherein in determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning, the controller is further configured to: determine that the first battery requires the conditioning when the first battery is due for charging; and determine that the second battery requires the conditioning when the second battery is due for charging. Doing so primes the battery of the vehicle ahead of charging when the vehicle receives knowledge that a charging operation will soon commence, as stated by Mazaira ([0027] via “In operation 206, the vehicle controller 130 sets a first temperature threshold for the battery 104. In general, the first temperature threshold for the battery 104 generally corresponds to a desired temperature level for the battery 104
to prepare/prime the battery 104 for a DC charging operation.”).
10. Claim(s) 8, 9, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett et al. (US 12325324 B1 hereinafter Bennett) in view of Holeton et al. (US 20240157847 A1 hereinafter Holeton), and further in view of Duan et al. (US 20230094070 A1 hereinafter Duan).
Regarding Claim 8, modified reference Bennett teaches the method as claimed in claim 2, wherein determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning comprises determining a first conditioning flag for the first battery and/or a second conditioning flag for the second battery differently based on the charging due information and the SoC information (Col. 10 lines 48-60, where “As EV battery temperature 444 and EV gradient temperature 446 can increase during a DCFC charging, DPS 402 can utilize measurements 442 from sensors 440 to keep track of the battery temperature 444 with respect to the temperature thresholds 422 and of the gradient temperature 446 with respect to the gradient thresholds 424 of the EV battery 110. DPS 402 can use an EV cooler 406 to cool the EV battery 110 with a coolant 408, using the initial SOC 426 and the target SOC 428 to determine the coolant amount 430 and coolant temperature 432 to apply to maintain the battery temperature 444 below the temperature threshold 422 and the gradient temperature 446 below the gradient threshold 424.”).
Bennett is silent on wherein determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning comprises determining a first conditioning flag for the first battery and/or a second conditioning flag for the second battery differently based on the replacement due information.
However, Duan teaches wherein determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning comprises determining a first conditioning flag for the first battery and/or a second conditioning flag for the second battery differently based on the replacement due information ([0052] via “In this disclosure, when the state of health of the battery pack 24 falls outside the predetermined range, the controller 30 is configured to adjust the temperature thresholds T.sub.0-T.sub.4. When the state of health of the battery pack 24 falls below the lower threshold curve 46, which may indicate the battery pack 24 is aging faster than expected, the controller 30 is configured to adjust the temperature thresholds T.sub.0-T.sub.4 to preserve the health of the battery pack 24 with a goal of returning the state of health of the battery pack 24 back to the predefined range. On the other hand, when the state of health of the battery pack 24 exceeds the upper threshold curve 44, which may indicate the battery pack 24 is aging better than expected, the controller 30 is configured to adjust the temperature thresholds T.sub.0-T.sub.4 to improve the efficiency of the electrified vehicle 12 and/or the battery pack 24 by reducing the energy otherwise allocated to cooling the battery pack 24, thereby taking advantage of the good state of health of the battery pack 24.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Duan wherein determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning comprises determining a first conditioning flag for the first battery and/or a second conditioning flag for the second battery differently based on the replacement due information. Doing so maximizes the efficiency of the batteries based on the battery properties that change due to the age of the batteries, as stated above by Duan.
Regarding Claim 9, modified reference Bennett teaches the method as claimed in claim 8, wherein performing the conditioning comprises transmitting the control signal including the first conditioning flag and/or the second conditioning flag (Col. 13 lines 48-62, where “Thermal manager 410 can include any combination of hardware and software for managing or controlling heat at the EV battery 110. Thermal manager 410 can include any functionality for controlling or activating EV cooler 406 and using battery cooling model 420 to determine the amount of coolant and timing of the coolant provided to the EV battery 110. Thermal manager 410 can include and apply derate functions 412 for maintaining temperature levels (e.g., battery temperature 444 and gradient temperature 446) below respective thermal thresholds (e.g., temperature threshold 422 or gradient threshold 424). Derate functions can include instructions, circuits or computer code for reducing operational capacity or performance of a battery charging (e.g., reducing charge current) in order to maintain a temperature of the battery below the given thresholds.”).
Regarding Claim 18, modified reference Bennett teaches the mobility apparatus as claimed in claim 12, wherein in determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning, the controller is further configured to determine a first conditioning flag for the first battery and/or a second conditioning flag for the second battery differently according to the charging due information and the SoC information (Col. 10 lines 48-60, where “As EV battery temperature 444 and EV gradient temperature 446 can increase during a DCFC charging, DPS 402 can utilize measurements 442 from sensors 440 to keep track of the battery temperature 444 with respect to the temperature thresholds 422 and of the gradient temperature 446 with respect to the gradient thresholds 424 of the EV battery 110. DPS 402
can use an EV cooler 406 to cool the EV battery 110 with a coolant 408, using the initial SOC
426 and the target SOC 428 to determine the coolant amount 430 and coolant temperature
432 to apply to maintain the battery temperature 444 below the temperature threshold 422
and the gradient temperature 446 below the gradient threshold 424.”).
Bennett is silent on wherein in determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning, the controller is further configured to determine a first conditioning flag for the first battery and/or a second conditioning flag for the second battery differently according to the replacement due information.
However, Duan teaches wherein in determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning, the controller is further configured to determine a first conditioning flag for the first battery and/or a second conditioning flag for the second battery differently according to the replacement due information ([0052] via “In this disclosure, when the state of health of the battery pack 24 falls outside the predetermined range, the controller 30 is configured to adjust the temperature thresholds T.sub.0-T.sub.4. When the state of health of the battery pack 24 falls below the lower threshold curve 46, which may indicate the battery pack 24 is aging faster than expected, the controller 30 is configured to adjust the temperature thresholds T.sub.0-T.sub.4 to preserve the health of the battery pack 24 with a goal of returning the state of health of the battery pack 24 back to the predefined range. On the other hand, when the state of health of the battery pack 24 exceeds the upper threshold curve 44, which may indicate the battery pack 24 is aging better than expected, the controller 30 is configured to adjust the temperature thresholds T.sub.0-T.sub.4 to improve the efficiency of the electrified vehicle 12 and/or the battery pack 24 by reducing the energy otherwise allocated to cooling the battery pack 24, thereby taking advantage of the good state of health of the battery pack 24.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Duan wherein in determining whether the first battery and the second battery require the conditioning, the controller is further configured to determine a first conditioning flag for the first battery and/or a second conditioning flag for the second battery differently according to the replacement due information. Doing so maximizes the efficiency of the batteries based on the battery properties that change due to the age of the batteries, as stated above by Duan.
Regarding Claim 19, modified reference Bennett teaches the mobility apparatus as claimed in claim 18, wherein in performing the conditioning, the controller is further configured to transmit a control signal including the first conditioning flag and/or the second conditioning flag (Col. 13 lines 48-62, where “Thermal manager 410 can include any combination of hardware and software for managing or controlling heat at the EV battery 110. Thermal manager 410 can include any functionality for controlling or activating EV cooler 406 and using battery cooling model 420 to determine the amount of coolant and timing of the coolant provided to the EV battery 110. Thermal manager 410 can include and apply derate functions 412 for maintaining temperature levels (e.g., battery temperature 444 and gradient temperature 446) below respective thermal thresholds (e.g., temperature threshold 422 or gradient threshold 424). Derate functions can include instructions, circuits or computer code for reducing operational capacity or performance of a battery charging (e.g., reducing charge current) in order to maintain a temperature of the battery below the given thresholds.”).
Examiner’s Note
11. The Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the
references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the
specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific
limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is
respectfully requested of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references
in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the
context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. See MPEP
2141.02 [R-07.2015] VI. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole,
including portions that would lead away from the claimed Invention. W.L. Gore & Associates,
Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 851
(1984). See also MPEP §2123.
Conclusion
examiner should be directed to BYRON X KASPER whose telephone number is (571)272-3895.
The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8 am - 5 pm EST.
using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is
encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
supervisor, Adam Mott can be reached on (571) 270-5376. The fax phone number for the
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available
to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit:
https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for
more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for
information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO
Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BYRON XAVIER KASPER/Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657