DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and claims depending therefrom have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Response to Amendment
The amendment to the claims filed on 05/12/2026 does not comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.121(c) because Applicant didn’t specify which paragraphs have been amended and what limitations have been added or omitted. Amendments to the claims filed on or after July 30, 2003 must comply with 37 CFR 1.121(c) which states:
(b) Specification. Amendments to the specification, other than the claims, “Large Tables” (§ 1.58(c)), a “Computer Program Listing Appendix” (§ 1.96(c)(5) and (7)), a “Sequence Listing” (§ 1.825), or a “Sequence Listing XML” (§ 1.835), must be made by adding, deleting, or replacing a paragraph; by replacing a section; or by providing a substitute specification, in the manner specified in this section.
(1) Amendment to delete, replace, or add a paragraph. Amendments to the specification, including amendment to a section heading or the title of the invention which are considered for amendment purposes to be an amendment of a paragraph, must be made by submitting:
(i) An instruction, which unambiguously identifies the location, to delete one or more paragraphs of the specification, replace a paragraph with one or more replacement paragraphs, or add one or more paragraphs;
(ii) The full text of any replacement paragraph with markings to show all the changes relative to the previous version of the paragraph. The text of any added subject matter must be shown by underlining the added text. The text of any deleted matter must be shown by strike-through except that double brackets placed before and after the deleted characters may be used to show deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters. The text of any deleted subject matter must be shown by being placed within double brackets if strike-through cannot be easily perceived;
(iii) The full text of any added paragraphs without any underlining; and
(iv) The text of a paragraph to be deleted must not be presented with strike-through or placed within double brackets. The instruction to delete may identify a paragraph by its paragraph number or include a few words from the beginning, and end, of the paragraph, if needed for paragraph identification purposes.
(2) Amendment by replacement section. If the sections of the specification contain section headings as provided in § 1.77(b), § 1.154(b), or § 1.163(c), amendments to the specification, other than the claims, may be made by submitting:
(i) A reference to the section heading along with an instruction, which unambiguously identifies the location, to delete that section of the specification and to replace such deleted section with a replacement section; and
(ii) A replacement section with markings to show all changes relative to the previous version of the section. The text of any added subject matter must be shown by underlining the added text. The text of any deleted matter must be shown by strike-through except that double brackets placed before and after the deleted characters may be used to show deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters. The text of any deleted subject matter must be shown by being placed within double brackets if strike-through cannot be easily perceived.
(3) Amendment by substitute specification. The specification, other than the claims, may also be amended by submitting:
(i) An instruction to replace the specification; and
(ii) A substitute specification in compliance with §§ 1.125(b) and (c).
(4) Reinstatement of previously deleted paragraph or section. A previously deleted paragraph or section may be reinstated only by a subsequent amendment adding the previously deleted paragraph or section.
(5) Presentation in subsequent amendment document. Once a paragraph or section is amended in a first amendment document, the paragraph or section shall not be represented in a subsequent amendment document unless it is amended again or a substitute specification is provided.
(6) Amendments to "Large Tables," a "Computer Program Listing Appendix," a "Sequence Listing", or a “Sequence Listing XML”. Changes to “Large Tables,” a “Computer Program Listing Appendix,” a “Sequence Listing,” or a “Sequence Listing XML” must be made in accordance with § 1.58(g) for "Large Tables," § 1.96(c)(5) for a "Computer Program Listing Appendix," § 1.825 for a "Sequence Listing," or § 1.835 for a “Sequence Listing XML.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In claim 1, the recitation of “upper clamp portion hingeably coupled to a lower portion” is found to have no support in the original disclosure. Applicant may provide support for such limitation or amend the claim omitting the newly introduced limitation to overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schipper et al. (US Pub. 2022/0331971 A1) in view of Pohl et al. (US Pat. 5454810).
Claims 1 and 4 – 5, Schipper discloses a tracking system for an offset reamer [abstract, Figs. 1 – 13], comprising:
a clamp [206] to couple with a reamer sleeve of the offset reamer [¶62];
a coupling [at least a portion of 220 coupled to at least a portion of 222, defines a coupling] coupled with the clamp via a shaft [at least a portion of 220 defines a shaft, Figs.2],
a tracking array [at least a portion of 222 and 224] coupled with the coupling [Figs.2], the tracking array comprising target mounts to couple targets with the tracking array [at least a portion of 222 defines target mount to couple targets 224], the shaft to fix a distance between the tracking array and an axis of rotation of a reamer element coupled with a driveshaft of the offset reamer; and the targets coupled with the tracking array via the target mounts [Figs.2].
Schipper does not disclose wherein the claim comprising an upper clamp portion hingeably coupled to a lower clamp portion to clamp a shaft of a reamer.
Pohl teaches an analogous surgical device [abstract, Figs. 1 – 3] comprising a clamp [15 or 16] intended to couple to a shaft portion [11], the clamp comprising upper and lower clamp portions [28 and 29] hingeable coupled to one another [col.7/II.55 – 58]; and a nut to fasten the upper and lower clamp portions to the shaft portion [defined by the threaded hole corresponding to clamping screw 33, col.6/II.39 – 53].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to combine the teachings of Schipper and Pohl, and construct the clamp of Schipper from upper and lower clamp portions hingeably coupled to one another and to be fastened to via a nut in view of Pohl. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide the system of Schipper with a functionally equivalent clamp that can make it easier for assembling to and disassembling from the reamer [Pohl, col.7/II.55 – 58].
The combination of Schipper and Pohl discloses the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further, Schipper discloses:
Claim 2, the offset reamer [Figs.2, ¶73 - ¶74].
Claim 3, wherein offset reamer comprises an off-the-shelf (OTS) offset reamer [since the reamer of Schipper exhibits substantially identical structure to that claimed, then can be referred to as OTS].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL S HANNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775