DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/20/2025 and 02/05/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
3. Claims 1-2, 7-12 and 17-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 7-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,190,634 B2 (herein referred to as Morrell). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Regarding claim 1, Morrell discloses “A method, comprising: identifying a set of images, from a plurality of images, that satisfy defined orientation criteria, comprising, for each respective image in the set of images (claim 1 – col. 34, lines 34-38), determining a respective orientation of a face of a user depicted in the respective image based on a respective set of coordinate locations for a set of facial landmarks, wherein at least one image of the plurality of images is discarded for failing to satisfy the defined orientation criteria (claim 1 – col. 34, lines 44-49;
estimating a reference distance on the face of the user based on a first image of the set of images, wherein the reference distance indicates a measurement of at least one of the set of facial landmarks (claim 1 – col. 34, lines 52-57);
estimating a nose depth of the user based on a second image of the set of images based at least in part on the reference distance (claim 1 – col. 34, lines 58-60); and
selecting a facial mask for the user based at least in part on the nose depth (claim 1 – col. 34, lines 63-64).
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 has been analyzed and rejected as per claim 2 of Morrell.
Regarding claim 7, claim 7 has been analyzed and rejected as per claim 7 of Morrell.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 has been analyzed and rejected as per claim 8 of Morrell.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 has been analyzed and rejected as per claim 9 of Morrell.
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 has been analyzed and rejected as per claim 10 of Morrell.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 has been analyzed and rejected as per claims 1 and 11 of Morrell.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 has been analyzed and rejected as per claim 2 of Morrell.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 has been analyzed and rejected as per claim 7 of Morrell.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 has been analyzed and rejected as per claim 8 of Morrell.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 has been analyzed and rejected as per claim 9 of Morrell.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bekhet, 2020, “A robust deep learning approach for glasses detection in non-standard facial images” (pp. 74-86), and further in view of Leung et al., WIPO Publication No. WO2010/102515 A1 (Publication Date - September 16, 2010).
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 recites generating/creating a labeled training image (a dataset image) and further refining/training a machine learning model based on the created labeled image.
With respect to preparing/creating a labeled training image (a dataset image), the claims recites the limitations “receiving a first exemplar image, wherein the first exemplar image depicts a face of a user; defining one or more regions of interest (ROIs) on the face; determining whether the user is wearing glasses in the first exemplar image by processing each of the one or more ROIs using one or more edge detection techniques; labeling the first exemplar image to indicate whether the user is wearing glasses”.
Bekhet teaches “the proposed glasses detection CNN architecture is designed based on the famous AlexNet structure. AlexNet is a CNN that was trained over more than million images from the ImageNet database. The original network has eight main layers (5 convolutions + 3 fully connected) and can classify images into 1000 different object categories, such as keyboard, mouse, pencil and many animals. As a result, the network has learned rich feature representations for a wide range of images which makes it a good standing point for the proposed glasses detection CNN” (page 77 – left column – last paragraph – page 78- left column – last paragraph); further teaches “In this paper we had used the first and only selfie images dataset. The selfie dataset is composed of 46,836 images annotated with 36 different attributes divided into several categories as follows: Accessories: glasses, sunglasses, lipstick, hap, earphone…The important attribute in this dataset for the proposed work is the glasses/sunglasses attribute, that is used for the network supervised learning phase (page 79 – left column – last para – page 80 – left column – first para). Bekhet as cited teaching using training (dataset) images with label glasses, which implies that Bekhet teaches that images with glasses label can be saved.
Bekhet discloses “receiving a first exemplar image, wherein the first exemplar image depicts a face of a user; defining one or more regions of interest (ROIs) on the face; determining whether the user is wearing glasses in the first exemplar image by processing each of the one or more ROIs using one or more edge detection techniques” (page 75 – see figure 1; right column – 1st para – eye-glasses detection was carried out using edge information within a small area defined between the eyes, that is nose-piece”; Bekhet teaches eye glasses detection in the image(s) by extracting facial characteristic but does not explicitly teach adding the label to characterization of the image.
However, Leung teaches “The semantic characterization of images, which may include scene classification, annotation or tagging will follow (1003). This step (1003) will include the processing of the image acquisition parameters and metadata, the formulation and application of rules that link the image acquisition parameter values to the semantic attributes and contents of images. In addition, algorithmic and/or computational procedures may also be applied (1004). Such procedures will be able to further extract information about the image. These include, but are not limited to, Scale-invariant feature transformation (SIFT), edge detection, interest point detection, corner detection, blob detection, region of interest detection, ridge detection, feature extraction, feature detection, color extraction, color composition, color histograms construction, color detection, shape detection, boundary detection, face detection, and face recognition. Using these techniques, the presence of objects, scenes, buildings, people, etc. can be further ascertained and corroborated from the initial rule-based annotation. The resultant data, either in their unprocessed form or processed form, may be used as meaningful retrieval criteria. As an example, the characterization of image data may the form of rules, either deterministic or probabilistic or a combination, and/or other computational procedures and algorithms. The characterization may directly or indirectly lead to the classification, annotation, tagging, enrichment, indexing, searching, identification or retrieval of images. For instance, using a particular rule to characterize an image may lead to the automatic addition of annotation information to the image which will more easily facilitate semantic searching of that image (page 5 – last paragraph – page 6 – 2nd paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use Leung’s teachings of “characterize an image may lead to the automatic addition of annotation information to the image” in the invention of Bekhet. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Leung’s teachings of “characterize an image may lead to the automatic addition of annotation information to the image” in the invention of Bekhet, in order to prepare/create a labeled image on the fly, that can further be used in the dataset, as already taught by Bekhet.
With respect to refining/training a machine learning model based on the created labeled image, claim recites the limitation “refining a machine learning model based on the first exemplar image and label”. (see Bekhet – page 80 – left column – Topic 4.2 – “Network training phase” – last few lines – “the selfie dataset as cited before refines (fine-tunes) the network”; further see page 83 – left column – last line though right column – “the network has learnt a variety of useful features to identify glasses in such selfie images” – which is refining the ML model based on created label image ; further see page 84 – left column – “Topic 5 – Conclusion” – “after such extensive training the network had learnt a variety of different image components, that is, edges and colour blobs which are important in detecting the existence of glasses in the input image”… “there is still room to improve the achieved accuracy through ….combing the proposed CNN with a long-short term memory towards a better result”.
7. Claims 3-6 and 13-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 1 and 11, the closest prior art(s) of record as cited (e.g. Selvarajan et al., U.S. Patent Publication No. 2008/0060652; Liang et al., U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0114467 A1; and, Chernyak, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2003/0223037A1 ) when considered alone or in combination do not teach “wherein at least one image of the plurality of images is discarded for failing to satisfy the defined orientation criteria”, as recited in claims 1 and 11, in combination with other limitations of claims 1 and 11.
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Selvarajan et al., U.S. Patent Publication No. 2008/0060652, discloses a mask fitting system and method.
Liang et al., U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0114467 A1, discloses image based human face authentication.
Chernyak, U.S. Patent Publication No. 2003/0223037A1, discloses a method comprises selecting at least one marker on the iris of the eye in the first image. A corresponding marker is located on the iris in the second image. The first image of the eye and the second image of the eye are registered by substantially matching a common reference point in the first and second images and matching the marker on the iris of the image of the first eye and the marker on the iris of the image of the second eye.
Jing et al., 2000, “Glasses Detection and Extraction by Deformable Contour” (pp. 933-936.
Mohammad et al., 2017, “Eyeglasses Detection based on learning and non-learning based classification schemes” (pp. 1-5).
Shao et al., 2016, “Glasses detection using Convolutional Neural Networks” (pp. 711-719).
Fernandez et al., 2015, “Glasses detection on real images based on robust alignment” (pp. 1-13).
/Manav Seth/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2672
September 13, 2026