CTNF 18/955,478 CTNF 99012 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant' s communication filed November 21, 2024. In view of this communication, claims 1-6 are now pending in the application. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 21, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 27, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 6, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 21, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-4, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Anspann et al. (DE 102012022451 A1, hereafter referred to as Anspann) . Regarding Claim 1, Anspann discloses (see Figures 1 and 5-6) a motor unit (12, Page 7, ¶ 2), comprising: a motor (12, Page 7, ¶ 2); a housing (28, Page 7, ¶ 4) that houses the motor (12, Page 7, ¶ 2); and a coolant channel (50, Page 8, ¶ 1) that is provided in a wall face of the housing (28, Page 7, ¶ 4) and that is configured such that a coolant (60, Page 8, ¶ 2) flows through, wherein the coolant channel (50, Page 8, ¶ 1) includes an inlet passage (68, Page 8, ¶ 4) for receiving the coolant (60, Page 8, ¶ 2) from outside, a branching passage (92, Page 9, ¶ 4) that is connected to the inlet passage (68, Page 8, ¶ 4) and into which the coolant (60, Page 8, ¶ 2) flows from the inlet passage (68, Page 8, ¶ 4), a first channel (64b/e, Page 11, ¶ 2) that is connected to the branching passage (92, Page 9, ¶ 4) and into which the coolant flows (60, Page 8, ¶ 2) from the branching passage (92, Page 9, ¶ 4), a second channel (64a/c/d, Page 11, ¶ 2) that is connected to the branching passage (92, Page 9, ¶ 4), into which the coolant (60, Page 8, ¶ 2) flows from the branching passage (92, Page 9, ¶ 4), and also of which a path length is shorter than that of the first channel (64b/e, Page 11, ¶ 2), the first channel (64b/e, Page 11, ¶ 2) and the second channel (64a/c/d, Page 11, ¶ 2) are each structured such that a plurality of straight portions (Annotated Figures 5-6) is connected in series by a plurality of bent portions (Annotated Figures 5-6), and a cross-sectional area of the straight portions (Annotated Figures 5-6) of the first channel (64b/e, Page 11, ¶ 2) is larger than a cross-sectional area of the straight portions (Annotated Figures 5-6) of the second channel (64a/c/d, Page 11, ¶ 2) (see Figures 5-6, the first passages are longer than the second passages, and are substantially equal in width). PNG media_image1.png 394 530 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 608 458 media_image2.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 2/1, Anspann has been discussed above. Additionally, Anspann discloses (see Figure 5-6 above) that the straight portions (Annotated Figures 5-6) of the first channel (64b/e, Page 11, ¶ 2) and the straight portions (Annotated Figures 5-6) of the second channel (64a/c/d, Page 11, ¶ 2) extend in a direction parallel to a rotary shaft (44, Page 7, ¶ 9) of the motor (12, Page 7, ¶ 2) (see also 46, Page 7, ¶ 2). Regarding Claim 3/1, Anspann has been discussed above. Additionally, Anspann discloses (see Figures 5-6 above) wherein the coolant channel includes a discharge port (70, Page 8, ¶ 4) for discharging the coolant (60, Page 8, ¶ 2) from the first channel (64b/e, Page 11, ¶ 2) and the second channel (64a/c/d, Page 11, ¶ 2), when viewed from a direction of a rotary shaft (44, Page 7, ¶ 9) of the motor (12, Page 7, ¶ 2), a position of the inlet passage (68, Page 8, ¶ 4) and a position of the discharge port (70, Page 8, ¶ 4) are different in a circumferential direction of the housing (28, Page 7, ¶ 4), the first channel (64b/e, Page 11, ¶ 2) is provided in a first region in the circumferential direction of the housing (28, Page 7, ¶ 4), the first region extending from the inlet passage (68, Page 8, ¶ 4) toward one side in the circumferential direction to the discharge port (70, Page 8, ¶ 4), and the second channel (64a/c/d, Page 11, ¶ 2) is provided in a second region in the circumferential direction of the housing (28, Page 7, ¶ 4), the second region extending from the inlet passage (68, Page 8, ¶ 4) toward another side in the circumferential direction to the discharge port (70, Page 8, ¶ 4). Regarding Claim 4/1, Anspann has been discussed above. Additionally, Anspann discloses that the housing (28, Page 7, ¶ 4) includes a body portion (Annotated Figure 1) with a cylindrical shape about a rotary shaft (44, Page 7, ¶ 9) of the motor (12, Page 7, ¶ 2), a first cover (Annotated Figures 5-6) that closes off a first end face of the body portion (Annotated Figure 1) on one side of the rotary shaft (44, Page 7, ¶ 9), and a second cover (Annotated Figures 5-6) that closes off a second end face of the body portion (Annotated Figure 1) on another side of the rotary shaft (44, Page 7, ¶ 9), the straight portions (Annotated Figures 5-6) of the first channel (64b/e, Page 11, ¶ 2) and the straight portions (Annotated Figures 5-6) of the second channel (64a/c/d, Page 11, ¶ 2) are fashioned in the body portion (Annotated Figure 1), and the bent portions (Annotated Figures 5-6) of the first channel (64b/e, Page 11, ¶ 2) and the bent portions (Annotated Figures 5-6) of the second channel (64a/c/d, Page 11, ¶ 2) are fashioned in the first cover (Annotated Figures 5-6) and in the second cover (Annotated Figures 5-6). PNG media_image3.png 394 530 media_image3.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 6/1, Anspann has been discussed above. Additionally, the drawings of Anspann suggest that a cross-sectional area of the bent portions of the first channel (64b/e, Page 11, ¶ 2) is equal to a cross-sectional area of the bent portions of the second channel (64a/c/d, Page 11, ¶ 2) (see Figures 5-6, all bent portions are of substantially equal length and width) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-22-aia AIA Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anspann as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Cao et al. (CN 114696557 A, hereafter referred to as Cao) . Regarding Claim 5/4/1, Anspann has been discussed above. Anspann does not explicitly disclose that the body portion is a cast article. However, Cao, in the same field of technology, does disclose the body portion is a cast article (Page 6, ¶ 12: “on the basis of the technical solution, as shown in FIG. 2, the outer shell 101 is cast by casting process”). PNG media_image4.png 462 336 media_image4.png Greyscale It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the motor unit disclosed by Anspann such that the body portion is a cast article, as disclosed by Cao, in order to improve heat management in the motor (Abstract: “The invention improves the radiating of the permanent magnet, can select higher heat load, and can reduce the volume of the motor; the requirement of water tightness is low, it is not easy to leak, the main water channel and the auxiliary water channel respectively controlled, the heat management of the motor is more flexible”). Citation of Pertinent Prior Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Araki et al. (US 20230291271 A1) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 1-4. Kim et al. (US 20170302137 A1) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 1-5. Kirkley et al. (US 20110309698 A1) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 4-5, 10, and 27-28. Herb et al. (US 20190131851 A1) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 6-8. Zhou et al. (CN 114977620 A) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 1-8 . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHARLIE FRANK MANN whose telephone number is (703)756-1275. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 7:30AM - 4:30PM PST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Oluseye Iwarere can be reached at (571) 270-5112. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /C.F.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2834 /ALEXANDER A SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/955,478 Page 2 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/955,478 Page 3 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/955,478 Page 4 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/955,478 Page 5 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/955,478 Page 6 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/955,478 Page 7 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/955,478 Page 8 Art Unit: 2834