Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 depending from claim 8 recites the limitation "manual operation of the second adjustment mechanism " in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 8 recites “a manually operable unlocking arrangement for unlocking the motor vehicle lock.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim(s) that depend(s) from the rejected claim(s), that is, claim(s) 17 is/are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Baukholt (US Pub. App. 2003-0074935).
For claim 1, Baukholt discloses a motor vehicle lock, in Figures 1-12, for a closing element (Figure 1) of a motor vehicle (Para. [0001]),
the motor vehicle lock comprising a locking mechanism (abstract, catch, para. [0041]) and a release lever (2) for triggering the locking mechanism (Para. [0041]), the motor vehicle lock comprising at least two actuating sections (outside handle and inside handle, para. [0039, 0040]) for actuating the release lever,
a first actuating section (inside handle) comprising a first clutch, a first adjustment mechanism and a first actuating lever (18), the first clutch being adjustable via the first adjustment mechanism into a decoupled state and into a coupled state, the first clutch decoupling the first actuating lever (18) and the release lever (2) from each other in the decoupled state and coupling them to each other in the coupled state (18 is a two arm lever, of which lever 21 can be pivoted by indoor handle. Coupling 3 defines the first adjustment mechanism and its mechanism defines the first clutch. In the coupled state the catch can be actuated by 18. Abstract. Para. [0020, 0042, and 0044-0046]),
a second actuating section (outside handle) comprising a second clutch, a second adjustment mechanism and a second actuating lever (1), the second clutch being adjustable via the second adjustment mechanism into a decoupled state and into a coupled state, the second clutch decoupling the second actuating lever (1) and the release lever (2) from each other in the decoupled state and coupling them to each other in the coupled state (1 is a two arm lever, of which lever 19 can be actuated by outside handle. Uncoupling element defines the second adjustment and its mechanism defines the second clutch. The uncoupling lever 4 is a two-arm lever and the coupling slide 16 has an uncoupling stop 31. When outside handle is actuated, the movement is transmitted to release lever 2, and the catch of the door lock is forced in the open direction. Abstract. Para. [0015, 0037-0038, and 0046-0049),
wherein
the motor vehicle lock comprises a mechanical clutch locking device (19), via which the adjustment of the second clutch from the decoupled state into the coupled state can be permanently coupled to the adjustment of the first clutch from the decoupled state into the coupled state (Since the slide 16 of 3 has an uncoupling stop 31, and the displacement stop 32 of uncoupling lever 4 engages beneath it, slide 16 can be manipulated. Figures 1-2. Para. [0047].)
For claim 2, Baukholt discloses the motor vehicle lock as claimed in claim 1, wherein, the second adjustment mechanism and the second clutch can be coupled to each other and can be decoupled from each other, and wherein the adjustment of the second coupling can be permanently coupled, to the adjustment of the first clutch by decoupling the second clutch from the second adjustment mechanism in the course of a securing movement and coupling it to the first clutch via the clutch locking device (Figures 1-3.)
For claim 3, Baukholt discloses the motor vehicle lock as claimed in claim 2, wherein the securing movement is effected by adjusting the first clutch from the coupled state into the decoupled state (In the coupled state the catch can be actuated by 18. Abstract. Para. [0020, 0042, and 0044-0046])
For claim 4, Baukholt discloses the motor vehicle lock as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first clutch comprises a movable first clutch element (35), which is moved in the course of adjusting the first clutch from the coupled state into the decoupled state, and/or wherein the second clutch comprises a movable second clutch element (34), which is moved in the course of adjusting the second clutch from the coupled state into the decoupled state in a decoupling direction (Figures 2-3.)
For claim 5, Baukholt discloses the motor vehicle lock as claimed in claim 1, wherein the clutch locking device and the first clutch are coupled to each other, and wherein, in the course of the securing movement, the second clutch is coupled to the first clutch via the clutch locking device by a positively locking connection being established between the second clutch, and the clutch locking device (The catch can be actuated by first actuating [inside lever] 18. Abstract. Para. [0020, 0042, and 0044-0046] When second lever 1 (outside handle) is actuated, the movement is transmitted to release lever 2, and the catch of the door lock is forced in the open direction. Abstract. Para. [0015, 0037-0038, and 0046-0049.)
For claim 6, Baukholt discloses the motor vehicle lock as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first adjustment mechanism and the second adjustment mechanism (16) can be coupled or are coupled to each other via a freewheel (When the first actuating lever 18 or the second actuating lever 1 is actuated, the catch can be moved to open position. Abstract.)
For claim 7, Baukholt discloses the motor vehicle lock as claimed in claim 1wherein the first adjustment mechanism comprises a first adjusting lever (34) which is, pivotable, and wherein the second adjustment mechanism (35) comprises a second adjusting lever (18) which is, pivotable (Figures 2-3.)
For claim 9, Baukholt discloses the motor vehicle lock as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first actuating section (inside handle) is configured as an internal actuating section, and wherein the second actuating section (outside handle) is configured as an external actuating section (Abstract.)
For claim 10, Baukholt discloses the motor vehicle lock as claimed in claim 1 wherein the motor vehicle lock comprises an actuating drive for motorized actuation of the release lever (Lever arm 35 is connected to motor. Para. [0049]. Figure 1.)
For claim 11, Baukholt discloses a method for operating a motor vehicle lock as claimed in claim 1 (Abstract. Figures 1-12.)
For claim 12, Baukholt discloses the motor vehicle lock as claimed in claim 3, wherein the adjustment of the second clutch from the coupled state into the decoupled state by the second adjustment mechanism is at least partially carried out in time before the securing movement (Actuation time is kept short, Para. [0010-0011, and 0056].)
For claim 13, Baukholt discloses the motor vehicle lock as claimed in claim 4, wherein the second clutch element experiences an overstroke in the decoupling direction by the clutch locking device during the securing movement (Coupling element moves radially beyond the coupled position. Para. [0023].)
For claim 14, Baukholt discloses the motor vehicle lock as claimed in claim 6, wherein the adjustment of the second clutch from the coupled state into the decoupled state can be effected by the second adjustment mechanism independently of the first adjustment mechanism of the first clutch, which is adjusted into the coupled state, and/or wherein the adjustment of the first clutch from the coupled state into the decoupled state can be effected by the first adjustment mechanism independently of the second adjustment mechanism of the second clutch, which is adjusted into the decoupled state (In the coupled state, the catch of the door lock is forced to open direction either by the inside handle or the outside handle. Abstract. Para. [0044 and 0046].)
For claim 15, Baukholt discloses the motor vehicle lock as claimed in claim 7, wherein the first adjusting lever and the second adjusting lever can be coupled or are coupled to each other via the freewheel in such a way that the first adjusting lever can be driven in an adjustment direction by the second adjusting lever (In the coupled open position, the coupling stop 28 is located in a gap formed between the stop surfaces 23 and 25 of the outside handle stop 22 and driver stop 24, but still radially outside the stop surface 27 of the inside handle stop 26. In this first coupled open position (Figures 4-5), the coupling, stop 28 produces a sufficiently reliable form-fitting connection between the outside handle lever 1 and the driver lever 2 and, when the outside handle lever 1 is pivoted in the opening direction 29, said connection results in this pivoting movement being transmitted to the driver lever 2. Para. [0044].)
For claim 18, Baukholt discloses the motor vehicle lock as claimed in claim 9, wherein the first actuating lever comprises a first connection point for connecting an internal actuator, and wherein the second actuating lever comprises a second connection point for connecting an external actuator (Lever 21 of the inside handle lever 18 is connected to inside door handle. Para. [0042]. Lever 19 of the outside handle lever is connected to the outside handle. Para. [0040].)
For claim 19, Baukholt discloses the motor vehicle lock as claimed in claim 10, wherein the first actuating section comprises a first adjusting drive for motorized adjustment of the first adjustment mechanism, and/or wherein the second actuating section comprises a second adjusting drive for motorized adjustment of the second adjustment mechanism (Lever arm 35 is connected to motor. Para. [0049]. Figure 1.)
For claim 20, Baukholt discloses the motor vehicle lock as claimed in claim 19, wherein the actuating drive and the second adjusting drive are configured as a common multi-function drive (Figures 1-7, and 12.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baukholt (US Pub. App. 2003-0074935) in view of Escamilla et al. (US Pub. App. 2022-0275668).
For claim 8, Baukholt discloses the motor vehicle lock as claimed in claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the motor vehicle lock comprises a manually operable unlocking arrangement for unlocking the motor vehicle lock.
Escamilla et al. teaches a vehicle door latch with key cylinder operably coupled to the door lock. The key cylinder provides a manual override system in the event of a power loss (Abstract. Para. [0002, 0041].) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Baukholt with a manually operable unlocking arrangement (key cylinder), as taught by Escamilla et al. with a reasonable expectation of success of providing a manual override system in case of emergency.
For claim 16, Baukholt modified with Escamilla et al. teaches the motor vehicle lock as claimed in claim 8, wherein manual operation of the second adjustment mechanism can be effected by the unlocking arrangement, further preferably by the second adjusting lever being moved, in particular pivoted, by the unlocking arrangement, which in turn causes the first adjusting lever to be driven, which in turn causes the first clutch to be adjusted into the coupled state and the second clutch into the coupled state (As in claim 8, when Baukholt modified with the manually operable unlocking feature of Escamilla et al., the combination teaches the claimed limitations.)
For claim 17, Baukholt modified with Escamilla et al. teaches the motor vehicle lock as claimed in claim 16, wherein by the second adjusting lever being moved by the unlocking arrangement, which in turn causes the first adjusting lever to be driven, which in turn causes the first clutch to be adjusted into the coupled state and the second clutch into the coupled state (When Baukholt modified with the manually operable unlocking feature of Escamilla et al., as detailed in claim 8, the combination teaches the claimed limitations.)
Conclusion
Prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provides examples of similar inventions. There are no suggestions in the prior art of record for combining any of the references to arrive at as claimed. A few of the prior art cited but not applied includes Rosales (US Pub. App. 2016-0258194); Kothe (US 11,643,851); and Graute (US 12,448,821).
/NATHAN CUMAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675