DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: The recitation “the male connector member” lacks antecedent basis or the claim should depend from claim 9 which introduces the male member. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 13-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Muntz et al., U.S. 12,247,609.
Regarding claim 1, Muntz et al. discloses in figure 18 a connector pin (bolt member 120; col. 11, lines 60-63) having a first end having a head portion (torque feature 136; col. 13, lines 4-16); a second end having a pin fastener element (threaded portion 124; col. 12, lines 4-9); and a shank portion (shank portion 126) extending between the head portion (136) and the pin fastener element (124), the shank portion including a first tapered surface (col. 12, lines 9-15); wherein the first tapered surface is detachably engageable with a second tapered surface (col. 12, lines 15-26) of a connector member (104; col. 11, line 60 – col. 12, line 6) to form a stable connection.
As to claim 2, Muntz et al. discloses the pin fastener element (threaded portion 124) further comprises a threaded element.
As to claim 3, Muntz et al. discloses the head portion (136) comprise a pin drive feature (hex key torquing tool drive; col. 13, lines 4-16).
As to claim 4, Muntz et al. discloses the drive feature comprises a socket (col. 13, lines 10-16) to drive rotation of the connector pin.
Regarding claim 5, Muntz et al. discloses in figure 18 a connector system (100) having a connector pin (bolt 120) with a first end having a head portion (136); a second end having a pin fastener (threaded portion 124) element; and a shank portion (126) extending between the head portion and the pin fastener element, the shank portion including a first tapered surface (col. 12, lines 1-26); and a plurality of connector members (104, 102, 128; col. 11, line 60 – col. 12, line 6), each connector member (104) having a second tapered surface at least partially defining a connector opening (col. 12, lines 27-35); wherein the first tapered surface of the connector pin is detachably engageable with a second tapered surface of at least one connector member of the plurality of connector members to form a connection.
As to claim 6, Muntz et al. discloses the connection between the connector pin (120) and the plurality of connector members (104, 102, 128) is further secured through engagement between the pin fastener element (124) of the connector pin (120) and a connector fastener element (nut member 110) positioned on at least one connector member of the plurality of connector members.
As to claim 7, Muntz et al. discloses the pin fastener element (124) includes threads for engaging the connector fastener element (nut 110).
As to claim 13, Muntz et al. discloses the head portion (136) includes a socket (col. 13, lines 10-16) to drive rotation of the connector pin.
As to claim 14, Muntz et al. discloses the connector system (fastener system 100 is not disclosed as having a weld, metallic or otherwise) is weld-free.
Regarding claim 15, Muntz et al. discloses a method of connecting workpieces (with a connector system comprising: providing a connector pin comprising: a first end having a head portion; a second end having a pin fastener element; and a shank portion extending between the head portion and the pin fastener element, the shank portion including a first tapered surface; providing a plurality of connector members, each connector member having a second tapered surface at least partially defining a connector opening; positioning and orienting the connector members to align the connector openings of the at least two connector members; and directing the connector pin into the connector openings of the at least two connector members to engage the first tapered surface with the second tapered surface to form a stable connection.
As to claim 16, Muntz et al. discloses the pin fastener element (threaded portion 124) includes threads to engage corresponding threads of the connector fastener element (nut 110).
As to claim 17, Muntz et al. discloses the directing of the connector pin (120) includes inserting the connector pin by rotating the connector pin by engaging and rotating the drive feature (col. 13, lines 4-16) of the connector pin.
As to claim 18, Muntz et al. discloses the head portion (136) includes a socket (col. 13, lines 10-16) for driving the rotation of the connector pin.
As to claim 20, Muntz et al. does not disclose the connector system (fastener system 100) having welds, metallic or otherwise.
Claims 1, 5, 6, 8-12, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rhodes, U.S. 4,932,807.
Regarding claims 1, 5 and 15, Rhodes discloses a connector system (pin clevis joint 8) having a connector pin (fig 3, pin 10; col. 2, lines 60-68) having a first end having a head portion (head end 18; col. 3, lines 14-15); a second end having a pin fastener element (threaded end 20); and a shank portion (22) extending between the head portion (18) and the pin fastener element (20), the shank portion including a first tapered surface (col. 3, lines 1-10); wherein the first tapered surface is detachably engageable, positioned and aligned with second tapered surfaces (12a, 17a, 15a) of connector members (end fittings 30, 32; col. 4, lines 17-26) to form a stable connection.
Re. claim 6, Rhodes discloses the connection between the connector pin (10) and the plurality of connector members (30, 32) is further secured through engagement between the pin fastener element (threaded end 20) of the connector pin (10) and a connector fastener element (nut 24) positioned on a connector member (32) of the plurality of connector members.
Re. claim 8, Rhodes discloses the connector fastener element (nut 24) is further secured to the connector member (32) with one or more fasteners (spring 26; col. 3, lines 39-56).
Re. claim 9, Rhodes discloses the connector members (30, 32) include a male connector member (fig 3 30) and a female connector member (32) arranged and disposed to permit engagement of the second tapered surface with the first tapered surface (col. 3, lines 14-29).
Re. claim 10, Rhodes discloses the male connector member (30) and the female connector member (32) permit alignment of the connector openings of the male connector (surface 12a) member and the female connector (surfaces 15a, 17a) member.
Re. claim 11, Rhodes discloses a positioning member (spring 28; col. 4, lines 1-7) to guide the positioning (spring 28 centers to the pin in surface 12a) of the male connector member (30).
Re. claims 12 and 19, Rhodes discloses at least one of the connector members (30, 32) is secured to a workpiece (truss tubes 4, 6; col. 2, lines 60-64) by a pinned connection (col. 4, lines 17-26; the tube to end fitting is commensurate with a pin connection as claimed).
Conclusion
8 July 2026
/KENNETH L THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676