DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-6,9-10,14-15,18-19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev to (US20220039080) in view of Li to (US 20210219268 A1)
Regarding claims 1,10,19, Khoryaev teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), (V/V2X 602, 622, Para. 159, FIG. 6) comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to ([0086] processors 204A-204E and a memory 204G utilized by said processors. Each of the processors 204A-204E can include a memory interface, 304A-304E, respectively, to send/receive data to/from the memory 204G)
receive, via one or more first frequency ranges and one or more first time periods, one or more sidelink control blocks, wherein each of the one or more sidelink control blocks indicates a sidelink positioning reference signal burst pattern for one or more sidelink UEs; (i.e. PSSCH/PSSCH/PSDCH) within resources of transmission at 702 that can be used for sidelink ranging related measurements, Para. 152, FIGS. 7, 15. SR-RS can be transmitted inside a designated sidelink channel and with an associated resource pool—sidelink ranging resource pool, as in the DMRS/SR-RS transmission 1504, 1506 of FIG. 15, Para. 155, FIG. 15. A Sidelink Ranging-Reference Signal (SR-RS) that is a Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal, Para. 247)receive, within a second frequency range and during a second time period, one or more sidelink positioning reference signals from the one or more sidelink UEs in accordance with the sidelink positioning reference signal burst pattern, (FIG. 15 shows 4 separate DMRS/SR-RS signal resources within each of transmissions 1504 and 1506, Para. 155, FIG. 15 shows a separation of time between each of the 4 separate DMRS/SR-RS signal resources within each of transmissions 1504 and 1506, Para. 155)
determine a position of the UE based at least in part on the one or more sidelink positioning reference signals([0178] V2X positioning/ranging procedures rely on SR-RS transmission that is used for measurements of signal location parameters (ranging) and exchange of control information (e.g. set of signal location parameter measurements for nearby UEs to further estimate UE location). The control information can be carried through sidelink channels PSCCH/PSSCH/PSDCH)
Khoryaev does not explicitly teach wherein an initial symbol within the second frequency range and during the second time period is a gain control symbol associated with the one or more sidelink positioning reference signals
However, Li teaches wherein an initial symbol within the second frequency range and during the second time period is a gain control symbol associated with the one or more sidelink positioning reference signals([0388] discloses Slot “SL1_1” of BWP1 may optionally contain a first symbol (depending on the numerology, e.g. the symbol length, as well as the AGC settling time requirement) for a receiver's Automatic Gain Control (AGC) which may be sequence based or modulated data based design (e.g., using dummy data or randomly generated data or user data) for pre-condition the receiver's AGC setting)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Khoryaev include wherein an initial symbol within the second frequency range and during the second time period is a gain control symbol associated with the one or more sidelink positioning reference signals, as suggested by Li. This modification would benefit the system to efficiently reduce signal interference.
Regarding claims 5,14 Khoryaev teaches wherein receiving the plurality of sidelink control blocks further comprises: receiving the plurality of sidelink control blocks in different first slots, (a physical sidelink shared or control channel (i.e. PSSCH/PSSCH/PSDCH) within resources of transmission at 702, Para. 152, FIGS. 7, 15. Sensing based channel access procedure (resource selection) used for PSCCH/PSSCH, Para. 153, FIG. 15) wherein the first time periods are within the different first slots and wherein the second time period is a second slot subsequent to the different first slots (A partial bandwidth 1502, Para. 152, FIGS. 7, 15…an entire/full/complete bandwidth 1506, Para. 152, FIG. 15).
Regarding claims 6,15 Khoryaev teaches receive at least one of the one or more sidelink control blocks in a frequency range of the one or more first frequency ranges that overlaps in frequency with the second frequency range(a sidelink demodulation reference signals (DMRS) of a physical sidelink shared or control channel (i.e. PSSCH/PSSCH/PSDCH) within resources of transmission at 702 that can be used for sidelink ranging related measurements, Para. 152, FIGS. 7, 15. SR-RS can be transmitted inside a designated sidelink channel and with an associated resource pool—sidelink ranging resource pool, as in the DMRS/SR-RS transmission 1504, 1506 of FIG. 15, Para. 155, FIG. 15. A Sidelink Ranging-Reference Signal (SR-RS) that is a Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal, Para. 247).
Regarding claims 9,18, Khoryaev teaches wherein each sidelink control block comprises a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) sidelink control information-1 (SCI-1), a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) sidelink control information-2 (SCI-2), one or more demodulation reference signals (DMRSs), or a combination thereof(a sidelink demodulation reference signals (DMRS) of a physical sidelink shared or control channel (i.e. PSSCH/PSSCH/PSDCH) within resources of transmission at 702 that can be used for sidelink ranging related measurements, Para. 152, FIGS. 7, 15. SR-RS can be transmitted inside a designated sidelink channel and with an associated resource pool—sidelink ranging resource pool, as in the DMRS/SR-RS transmission 1504, 1506 of FIG. 15).
Claims 2-3,11-12,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev to (US20220039080) in view of Li to (US 20210219268 A1) further in view of Lee to (US20160330011)
Regarding claims 2,11,20 Khoryaev does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to: perform a gain control function during the gain control symbol, wherein at least one of the one or more sidelink positioning reference signals is received based at least in part on the gain control function
However, Lee teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to:perform a gain control function during the gain control symbol, wherein at least one of the one or more sidelink positioning reference signals is received based at least in part on the gain control function(Lee, High priority signals may include a Positioning RS (PRS), Para. 103. The group (e.g., each group) of REs may have a TPC command (e.g., their own TPC command) to update the power control, Para. 295. Different transmission power offsets may be used or applied for certain regions, for individual regions and/or for each region, Para. 296)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Khoryaev wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to:perform a gain control function during the gain control symbol, wherein at least one of the one or more sidelink positioning reference signals is received based at least in part on the gain control function, as suggested by Lee. This modification would benefit the system to permit certain control signals to indicate a power offset needed for determining a transmission power that is most appropriate for wireless conditions.
Regarding claims 3,12, the combination of Khoryaev and Li and Lee teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to: identify, based at least in part on the one or more sidelink control blocks, the gain control symbol associated with the one or more sidelink positioning reference signals; (Lee, an indication of the power offset (e.g., which may be used and/or required) may be provided, Para. 102. High priority signals may include a Positioning RS (PRS), Para. 103) and perform a gain control function based at least in part on the gain control symbol (Lee, High priority signals may include a Positioning RS (PRS), Para. 103. The group (e.g., each group) of REs may have a TPC command (e.g., their own TPC command) to update the power control, Para. 295. Different transmission power offsets may be used or applied for certain regions, for individual regions and/or for each region, Para. 296)..
Claim(s) 7,16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev to (US20220039080) in view of Li and further in view of Park to (US20180048444)
Regarding claims 7,16 Khoryaev does not explicitly teach receive at least one of the one or more sidelink control blocks in a frequency range of the one or more first frequency ranges that does not overlap in frequency with the second frequency range
However, Park teaches receiving at least one of the plurality of sidelink control blocks in a frequency range of the first frequency ranges that does not overlap in frequency with the second frequency range([0242] discloses the first and second PRSs may be transmitted in different time-frequency resources (i.e., not overlapping time-frequency resources). The UE may attempt to receive the first PRS and the second PRS based on the first and second PRS configuration information received in operation S2920)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Khoryaev include wherein receiving the plurality of sidelink control blocks further comprises: receiving at least one of the plurality of sidelink control blocks in a frequency range of the first frequency ranges that does not overlap in frequency with the second frequency range, as suggested by Park. This modification would benefit the system to efficiently reduce signal interference.
Claims 4,13,8,17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev to (US20220039080) in view of Li and further in view of Qi to (US20210298088)
Regarding claims 4,13, Khoryaev does not explicitly teach wherein, to receive the one or more sidelink control blocks, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to:receive the one or more sidelink control blocks during a first subset of symbols of a slot, wherein the one or more first time periods are each within the first subset of symbols of the slot and wherein the second time period is a second subset of symbols of the slot subsequent to the first subset of symbols of the slot
However, Qi teaches wherein, to receive the one or more sidelink control blocks, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to:receive the one or more sidelink control blocks during a first subset of symbols of a slot, wherein the one or more first time periods are each within the first subset of symbols of the slot and wherein the second time period is a second subset of symbols of the slot subsequent to the first subset of symbols of the slot(FIG. 16a shows PRS RBs multiplexing with DMRS (with PRS puncturing), Para. 23, FIG. 16a. It is possible to multiplex PRS with other reference signals, Para. 158, FIG. 16a. PRS pattern is designed to avoid the symbols where DMRS could potentially be configured as shown in FIG. 16a. For additional DMRS, PRS can be punctured. In this context, PRS is punctured where it would otherwise coincide with DMRS, Para. 159, FIG. 16a)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Khoryaev include wherein, to receive the one or more sidelink control blocks, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to:receive the one or more sidelink control blocks during a first subset of symbols of a slot, wherein the one or more first time periods are each within the first subset of symbols of the slot and wherein the second time period is a second subset of symbols of the slot subsequent to the first subset of symbols of the slot, as suggested by Qi. This modification would benefit the system to efficiently combining different types of signals with positioning reference signals in order to maximize the capacity and information conveyed with each transmission performed.
Regarding claims 8,17, Khoryaev does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to: receive the one or more sidelink positioning reference signals from the one or more sidelink UEs multiplexed on different tones within the second frequency range and during the second time period in accordance with the sidelink positioning reference signal burst pattern
However, Qi teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to: receive the one or more sidelink positioning reference signals from the one or more sidelink UEs multiplexed on different tones within the second frequency range and during the second time period in accordance with the sidelink positioning reference signal burst pattern ((FIG. 16b shows PRS RBs multiplexing with DMRS/PTRS (with PRS shifted), Para. 24, FIG. 16b. It is possible to multiplex PRS with other reference signals, Para. 158, FIG. 16a)PRS is shifted by one or multiple REs or symbols when colliding with DMRS. This is shown in FIG. 16b where PRS which would otherwise be punctured (as in FIG. 16a) is shifted to a neighbouring (or possibly other) RE so that the frequency of PRS transmission is maintained), Para. 161, FIG. 16b)
Therefore; it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to enable the system of Khoryaev include wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to: receive the one or more sidelink positioning reference signals from the one or more sidelink UEs multiplexed on different tones within the second frequency range and during the second time period in accordance with the sidelink positioning reference signal burst pattern, as suggested by Qi. This modification would benefit the system to efficiently combining different types of signals with positioning reference signals in order to maximize the capacity and information conveyed with each transmission performed.
Conclusion
/ZEWDU A BEYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461