DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to communication filed on 12 August 2026, with
acknowledgement of an original application filed on 05 May 2025.
Terminal Disclaimer
2. The terminal disclaimer filed on 08/12/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of issued patent Numbers 11,734,427 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
3. Claims 1, 3-17, and 19 are currently pending. Claim 1 is in independent forms. Claims 1, 3-17, and 19 has been amended. Claims 2, 18, and 20-48 has been cancelled.
Response to Amendment
4. Applicant’s arguments filed 12 August 2026 have been fully considered however they are moot due to new grounds of rejection below initiated by applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levy et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0158737 (hereinafter Levy) in view of Fanning et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0249917 (hereinafter Fanning) in further view of Ismael U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0096025 (hereinafter Ismael).
Regarding claim 1, at least one processing device for aiding cyber intrusion investigations, the at least one processor configured to perform a method comprising:
“extracting data from a specified range of a volatile memory of a target processing device” (see Levy pars. 0022, 0029, 0036, 0047, extracting data from an indexing database stored in volatile memory by querying the database residing on a server (target processing device) to identify locations of data (specified range);
“reconstructing data structures and artifacts from the extracted data” (see Levy pars. 0038-0039, In block 201, the HTML layered reconstruction module 103 receives a request to reconstruct a web page from network packet data (structures) stored in the packet capture repository and/or previously reconstructed artifacts. At block 202, HTML layered reconstruction module 103 queries the indexing database 106 for locations of packet data stored in the packet capture repository and corresponding to the HTML file being reconstructed. The flow then proceeds to block 203 where the HTML layered reconstruction module reconstructs the HTML file from the packet data in the packet capture repository); and
“generating and presenting a visualization of the reconstructed data structures and the reconstructed artifacts, (see Levy pars. 0038-0039, 0061, the HTML layered reconstruction module may generate a snapshot of the reconstructed web page and provide it to a user via the user interface (presenting a visualization). The provided snapshot may be selectable by the user in order to view the full reconstructed web page. Such a snapshot may be provided, optionally along with snapshots of other reconstructed web pages, so that the user may select particular reconstructed web pages for viewing, the HTML layered reconstruction module 103 receives a request to reconstruct a web page from network packet data (structures) stored in the packet capture repository and/or previously reconstructed artifacts); but Levy does not explicitly discloses in the form of at least one of a table layout, a tree layout, a graph layout, and/or a cross-view layout, to assess the condition of the target processing device.
However, in analogues art, Fanning discloses in the form of at least one of a table layout, a tree layout, a graph layout, and/or a cross-view layout, to assess the condition of the target processing device (see Fanning par. 0055, FIG. 7 is an exemplary screenshot of a table visualization of profile data. More specifically, the screenshot depicts a detailed central processor unit (CPU) utilization breakdown by subsystem as defined by an organizational scheme. The table specifies groups and subgroups with respect to a plurality of rows and columns).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Fanning into the system of Levy to generate content in a display format, which can subsequently be presented on a physical display (e.g., LCD, touch screen . . . ) connected to a computer or other processor-based device. The visualization engine supports various types of visualizations, or visual content, including but not limited to numerous graphs (e.g., line, bar, pie . . . ), images, and textual content, among other things (see Fanning par. 0031).
Levy in view of Fanning does not explicitly discloses providing a plurality of analysis methods for evaluating a state of the target processing device, the plurality of analysis methods performing at least one of determining differences from a known good state, detecting indications of known attacker activity, detecting indications of malware being present, detecting heuristics associated with suspicious activity, detecting discrepancies in logical relationships among the reconstructed artifacts, and determining whether policies or standards have been violated.
However, in analogues art, Ismael discloses providing a plurality of analysis methods for evaluating a state of the target processing device, the plurality of analysis methods performing at least one of determining differences from a known good state, detecting indications of known attacker activity, detecting indications of malware being present, detecting heuristics associated with suspicious activity, detecting discrepancies in logical relationships among the reconstructed artifacts, and determining whether policies or standards have been violated (see Ismael pars. 0036-0039, the static analytical environment 191 comprises a first analysis engine 193 that is adapted to conduct static malware detection operations, such as comparisons between binary content from the network traffic and suspected malware identifiers (e.g. alphanumeric patterns associated with known or suspected malware, etc.) for example. The dynamic analytical environment 192 comprises a second analysis engine 194, which includes at least instrumentation control logic operating in concert with VM(s) as described herein. The second analysis engine 194 is adapted to detect whether the suspicious object may include malware by execution of one or more VMs that are configured to simulate the receipt and/or processing of the object under analysis ("analyzed object") targeted for the client device 150. The second analysis engine 194 analyzes the resultant behaviors monitored within the VM. These may include "expected" behaviors (e.g., those typically resulting from processing objects of the type being analyzed) and "unexpected" (or "anomalous") behaviors, and may represent those behaviors that would have occurred if the targeted client device 150 processed the object, and these behaviors are provided as malware analysis results to logic within replay analysis engine 190).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Ismael into the system of Levy and Fanning to include a first analysis engine and the second analysis engine may operate on the analyzed content concurrently or may operate on the analyzed content sequentially (see Ismael par. 0038).
Regarding claim 3, Levy in view of Fanning in further view of Ismael discloses the at least one processing device of claim 1,
Ismael further discloses wherein the plurality of analysis methods include one or more of scripts, database queries, byte sequence signatures, string matching, and comparison of registry key values (see Ismael par. 0054, a first VM disk file may include a first VM instrumentation directed to analysis of JavaScript.RTM. code in accordance with a first type of JavaScript.RTM. engine and a second VM disk file may include a second VM instrumentation directed to deeper-level analysis of JavaScript.RTM. code in accordance with a different type of JavaScript.RTM. engine).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Ismael into the system of Levy and Fanning to include a first analysis engine and the second analysis engine may operate on the analyzed content concurrently or may operate on the analyzed content sequentially (see Ismael par. 0038).
Regarding claim 4, Levy in view of Fanning in further view of Ismael discloses the at least one processing device of claim 1,
Ismael further discloses presenting indications of suspicious activity or indications of abnormal conditions to a user; and providing a facility for the user to bookmark and annotate artifacts (see Ismael par. 0034 discloses an object is identified as "suspicious" when it is assessed by a preliminary analysis engine 170, with a certain level of likelihood, that at least one characteristic identified during inspection of the object indicates the presence of malware); and providing a facility for the user to bookmark and annotate artifacts (see Ismael par. 0056, the replay analysis engine 190 may flag a suspicious object as malware according to the observed anomalous behavior detected by the VM. The reporting module 195 may issue alerts indicating the presence of malware, and using pointers and other reference information, identify what portion of the "suspicious" object may contain malware).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Ismael into the system of Levy and Fanning to include a first analysis engine and the second analysis engine may operate on the analyzed content concurrently or may operate on the analyzed content sequentially (see Ismael par. 0038).
Regarding claim 5, Levy in view of Fanning in further view of Ismael discloses the at least one processing device of claim 1,
Levy further discloses providing a user an ability to develop custom workflows (see Levy par. 0005, a user may be able to specify which external file types to include in reconstructing the web page and/or which external file types not to include, such as style sheets, script elements, image files, media content, etc. In such implementations, reconstruction of the web page may not be based on reconstruction one or more external files that the user specifies not to include).
Regarding claim 6, Levy in view of Fanning in further view of Ismael discloses the at least one processing device of claim 1,
Levy further discloses correlating information within the volatile memory with data stored in at least one other data source to determine an existence of at least one inconsistencies or anomalies (see Levy par. 0050, the query may specify not to reconstruct script files from data stored in the packet capture repository because of concerns that script files may include viruses or other malicious code. Thus, when a link is identified in the HTML file that is associated with a script file, the HTML layered reconstruction module 103 may not reconstruct any file associated with the link for inclusion in the reconstructed web page).
Regarding claim 7, Levy in view of Fanning in further view of Ismael discloses the at least one processing device of claim 1,
Levy further discloses extracting, indexing, and/or correlating information regarding a state of the target processing device over at least one particular point in time (see Levy pars. 0036-0038, The information (e.g., packet data, meta-data, etc.) may be extracted from the indexing database through a suitable database query. The database query may be performed through any number of interfaces including a graphical user interface, a web services request, a programmatic request, a structured query language (SQL), and so on, used to extract related information of a packet data or any meta-data stored in the indexing database. If a query is matched to certain data stored in the indexing database, then matched packets may be retrieved from the packet capture repository for reconstruction. The request may specify a time window as well as file types to include, file types not to include, how to handle files that were not captured or are not to be included, and so on); and providing a facility for archiving and tracking changes in the state of the target processing device over time (see Levy pars. 0046-0047, The query may also specify a time window within which to restrict the query such that only network packet data captured during the time window (e.g., packets having time stamps falling within the time window and the like) is searched. The HTML layered reconstruction module may perform the query in response to receiving user input from a user interface 110 that is communicably coupled to the capture appliance 101. If data of files associated with the links is present in the packet capture repository, the HTML layered reconstruction module may then query the indexing database to identify locations of data in the packet capture repository and may reconstruct the files. The HTML layered reconstruction module may also query a database containing references to previously reconstructed artifact files. The HTML layered reconstruction module may then reconstruct the web page based at least on the reconstructed HTML file and reconstructed files).
Regarding claim 8, Levy in view of Fanning in further view of Ismael discloses the at least one processing device of claim 1,
Ismael further discloses providing a facility to generate a sharable analytics catalog (see Ismael par. 0033, management system 120 may be adapted to cause malware identifiers generated as a result of malware detection by any of MCD systems 110.sub.1-110.sub.N to be shared with one or more of the other MCD systems 110.sub.1-110.sub.N including, for example, where such sharing is conducted on a subscription basis. Additionally, the management system 120 may coordinate the sharing information associated with the VM instrumentation (described below) among the MCD systems 110.sub.1-110.sub.N in order to better refine malware analysis and detection).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Ismael into the system of Levy and Fanning to include a first analysis engine and the second analysis engine may operate on the analyzed content concurrently or may operate on the analyzed content sequentially (see Ismael par. 0038).
Regarding claim 9, Levy in view of Fanning in further view of Ismael discloses the at least one processing device of claim 1,
Levy further discloses providing a graphical user interface and a scriptable interface for formulating queries and performing other types of analysis (see Levy par. 0036, the database query may be performed through any number of interfaces including a graphical user interface, a web services request, a programmatic request, a structured query language (SQL), and so on, used to extract related information of a packet data or any meta-data stored in the indexing database).
Regarding claim 19, Levy in view of Fanning in further view of Ismael discloses the at least one processing device of claim 1,
Levy further discloses reconstructing data stores based on data found in cached memory of the processing device (see Levy par. 0048, 0023, If data of files associated with a particular link is determined not to be present neither in the packet capture repository, nor as a previously reconstructed artifact file, the reconstructed web page may not be recreated from a stored version of the files. The data may not be present in the packet capture repository or as a previously reconstructed artifact file for a variety of reasons. For example, the external file may have been loaded from cache rather than sent across the network when the web page was originally accessed).
6. Claims 1-9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levy et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0158737 (hereinafter Levy) in view of Fanning et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0249917 (hereinafter Fanning) in further view of Ismael U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0096025 (hereinafter Ismael) in further view of Thomas et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0079596 (hereinafter Thomas).
Regarding claim 10, Levy in view of Fanning in further view of Ismael discloses the at least one processing device of claim 1,
Levy in view of Fanning in further view of Ismael does not explicitly discloses generating, managing, and/or sharing detection methods for detecting anomalous conditions using artifacts displayed with the graphical user interface.
However, in analogues art, Thomas discloses generating, managing, and/or sharing detection methods for detecting anomalous conditions using artifacts displayed with the graphical user interface (see Thomas par. 0045, the method 300 further includes analyzing the memory baseline and the memory after execution (324) to determine the changes made by the malware and generating a report (326). The report may include a wide variety of information and can be delivered to the user in a variety of manners. As an example, the report could be provided in pdf format or the user could view the report on the website. The report can either display all of the information in the post-execution memory (e.g., all running processes) or only display the changes with respect to the memory baseline).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Thomas into the system of Levy, Fanning, and Ismael to include Utilizing the obtained artifacts, embodiments are able to generate timelines of activities performed by the malware during operation to provide a report including the exact order in which the malware performed its various actions (see Thomas par. 0043).
Regarding claim 11, Levy in view of Fanning in further view of Ismael in further view of Thomas discloses the at least one processing device of claim 10,
Thomas further discloses importing at least one other detection method for detecting the anomalous conditions using the artifacts displayed with the graphical user interface (see Thomas pars. 0177-0178, The "avscan" table may store the list of antivirus detections for each malware sample and any files that it drops or downloads that were detected by an antivirus product. [0178] The "pefiles" tables may store artifacts of PE headers such as PE section names, entropy for each section, file characteristics, and imported/exported API functions).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Thomas into the system of Levy, Fanning, and Ismael to provide user search for malware by hash, a/v name, a file it created, a host it contacted, an API function that it imports or exports, and a number of other data types (see Thomas par. 0195).
Regarding claim 13, Levy in view of Fanning in further view of Ismael disclose the at least one processing device of claim 1,
Levy in view of Fanning in further view of Ismael does not explicitly discloses automatically evaluating capabilities of memory resident executables and associated file formats by analyzing imported libraries and exported methods for inconsistencies or anomalies.
However, in analogues art, Thomas discloses automatically evaluating capabilities of memory resident executables and associated file formats by analyzing imported libraries and exported methods for inconsistencies or anomalies (see Thomas par. 0032, a method of detecting and analyzing malware according to an embodiment. The method 300 includes receiving a file (310). The file, which may be one of several files is a potentially malicious file. The file may be any suitable file type that runs on an operating system (e.g., Microsoft Windows) and can include executables (.exe), dynamic link libraries (.dll), kernel drivers (.sys), Adobe Reader files (.pdf), Microsoft Office documents (.doc, .xls, .ppt), and URLs (typically, website addresses beginning with http://, https://, or ftp://)).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Thomas into the system of Levy, Fanning, and Ismael to provide user search for malware by hash, a/v name, a file it created, a host it contacted, an API function that it imports or exports, and a number of other data types (see Thomas par. 0195).
Regarding claim 14, Levy in view of Fanning in further view of Ismael discloses the at least one processing device of claim 1,
Levy in view of Fanning in further view of Ismael does not explicitly disclose providing a facility to associate a response action with at least one analytic pattern.
However, in analogues art, Thomas discloses providing a facility to associate a response action with at least one analytic pattern (see Thomas par. 0277-0278, all the artifacts that occurred on the system as a result of running the malware sample can be shown by the family tree. Analysis of files that were dropped in response to the execution of the parent file is performed and similar information is provided at lower levels of the family tree in association with the dropped files).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Thomas into the system of Levy, Fanning, and Ismael to provide views of family trees based on behaviors rather than artifacts, providing the user with insight into the behaviors (see Thomas par. 0278).
Regarding claim 15, Levy in view of Fanning in further view of Ismael in further view of Thomas discloses the at least one processing device of claim 14,
Levy further discloses wherein the response actions include at least one of querying new types of data, generating an alert, and/or halting a process (see Levy par. 0047, The HTML layered reconstruction module 103 may query the indexing database to identify locations of, and retrieve, packet data of the HTML file in the packet capture repository. Based on the identified packet data, the HTML layered reconstruction module may reconstruct the HTML file and parse it to identify one or more links in the HTML file to external files (such as links to external image files, movie files, script files, style sheet files, and so on)).
7. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levy et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0158737 (hereinafter Levy) in view of Fanning et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0249917 (hereinafter Fanning) in further view of Ismael U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0096025 (hereinafter Ismael) in further view of Thomas et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0079596 (hereinafter Thomas) in further view of Zorn U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0205674 (hereinafter Zorn).
Regarding claim 12, Levy in view of Fanning in further view of Ismael in further view of Thomas discloses the at least one processing device of claim 10, Levy in view of Fanning in further view of Ismael in further view of Thomas does not explicitly disclose collecting metrics regarding effectiveness of the detection algorithms; and sending the collected metrics to at least one other processing device for remote analytics.
However, in analogues art, Zorn discloses collecting metrics regarding effectiveness of the detection algorithms (see Zorn par. 0071, an exponentially weighted moving average of a statistic may be used as a baseline value, along with standard deviations or other metrics); and sending the collected metrics to at least one other processing device for remote analytics (see Zorn par. 0071-0072, The alert of block 318 may be any type of action that may be taken based on a high vulnerability. In the case of a memory heap analysis, the high vulnerability may cause a message to be presented to a user or system administrator. In some cases, an anti-virus or anti-malware scan may be initiated for the device).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Zorn into the system of Levy, Fanning, Ismael, and Thomas to provide an exponentially weighted moving average of a statistic may be used as a baseline value, along with standard deviations or other metrics (see Zorn par. 0071).
8. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levy et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0158737 (hereinafter Levy) in view of Fanning et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0249917 (hereinafter Fanning) in further view of Ismael U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0096025 (hereinafter Ismael) in further view of Nabutovsky U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0078550 (hereinafter Nabutovsky).
Regarding claim 16, Levy in view of Fanning in further view of Ismael discloses the at least one processing device of claim 1,
Levy in view of Fanning in further view of Ismael does not explicitly discloses importing or generating whitelists of normal known, or trusted, conditions; sharing the whitelists; and managing the whitelists.
However, in analogues art, Nabutovsky discloses importing or generating whitelists of normal known, or trusted, conditions (see Nabutovsky par. 0010, creating links includes providing an account Owner the opportunity to create and manage whitelists and blacklists through the settings in multiple criteria sections, which are used as filters to automatically accept or decline a proposed link according to the criteria set); sharing the whitelists (see Nabutovsky par. 0059, If the other side is sharing all that it contracted/agreed to do, the link exchange system 100 would permit the links/media exchange. As part of the criteria (whitelist/blacklist), the system 100 may also monitor sound and video quality, and if the quality meets a minimum standard, the mutual links are whitelisted); and managing the whitelists (see Nabutovsky par. 0026, the method of creating links includes providing an account Owner the opportunity to create, manage and use whitelists 605 (shown in FIG. 6B) and blacklists 705 (shown in FIG. 7B) through the settings in multiple criteria sections, which are used as filters to automatically accept or decline a proposed link according to the criteria set).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Nabutovsky into the system of Levy, Fanning, and Ismael to provide an account Owner the opportunity to create and manage whitelists and blacklists which are used as filters to automatically accept or decline a proposed link (see Nabutovsky Abstract).
9. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levy et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0158737 (hereinafter Levy) in view of Fanning et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0249917 (hereinafter Fanning) in further view of Ismael U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0096025 (hereinafter Ismael) in further view of Wood et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0290492 (hereinafter Wood).
Regarding claim 17, Levy in view of Fanning in further view of Ismael discloses the at least one processing device of claim 1,
Levy in view of Fanning in further view of Ismael does not explicitly discloses wherein the method further comprises: extracting metadata based on the extracted data; storing the metadata, the metadata describing a system state and including a subset of original runtime state information.
However, in analogues art, Wood discloses extracting metadata based on the extracted data (see Wood par. 0005 extract a meta-data having information relevant to network traffic visibility based on the type of the header); storing the metadata, the metadata describing a system state and including a subset of original runtime state information (see Wood par. 0005, extracting the meta-data from the header, and streaming the meta-data to a storage device).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Wood into the system of Levy, Fanning, and Ismael to extract the meta-data from the header, and streaming the meta-data to a storage device (see Wood Abstract).
Conclusion
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL AMBAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433