CTNF 18/955,577 CTNF 99012 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant' s communication filed November 21, 2024. In view of this communication, claims 1-9 are now pending in the application. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 21, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 1, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 21, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding Claim 1 , the limitation “an end face” is recited in lines 9 and 12. It is unclear whether these instances of “an end face” refer to the same limitation, or a separate limitation. For the purpose of examination, these instances of “an end face” are being interpreted as separate limitations. Claims 2-9 are rejected due to their dependence on claim 1. Regarding Claim 2, the limitation “a channel” is recited in line 1. It is unclear whether this instance of “a channel” is the same “a channel” recited in line 10 of claim 1 on which claim 2 depends, or a different limitation. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as the same “a channel” recited in claim 1. Regarding Claim 3, the limitation “a channel” is recited in line 1. It is unclear whether this instance of “a channel” is the same “a channel” recited in line 10 of claim 1 on which claim 3 depends, or a different limitation. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as the same “a channel” recited in claim 1. Claim 4 is rejected due to dependence on claim 3. Regarding Claim 4 , the limitation “a channel” is recited in line 1. It is unclear whether this instance of “a channel” is the same “a channel” recited in line 10 of claim 1 on which claim 4 depends, the “a channel” recited in line 1 of claim 3, or a different limitation. For the purpose of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as the same “a channel” recited in claim 1. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Hossain et al. (US 9246370 B2, hereafter referred to as Hossain) . Regarding Claim 1, Hossain discloses (see Figures 4-5) a motor (20, C2L50), comprising: a stator core (10, C3L48) being an annular body extending along an axial direction parallel to a central axis of the motor (20, C2L50); and a housing (40, 41, C4L16-17) configured to hold the stator core (10, C3L48) from an outer side in a radial direction, and include an end holding portion (Annotated Figures 4-5) extending on one side in the axial direction beyond a first end face (Annotated Figures 4-5) of the stator core (10, C3L48) and including an abutting face (Annotated Figures 4-5) abutting the first end face (Annotated Figures 4-5), and a coolant channel (42, C2L61) passing through the housing (40, 41, C4L16-17) in the axial direction, wherein the first end face (Annotated Figures 4-5) is an end face (Annotated Figures 4-5) on the one side in the axial direction of the stator core (10, C3L48), the coolant channel (42, C2L61) includes a channel (42, C2L61) for circulating coolant closer to the stator core (10, C3L48) in the end holding portion (Annotated Figures 4-5) than at a second end face (Annotated Figures 4-5) or in a vicinity of the second end face (Annotated Figures 4-5), and the second end face (Annotated Figures 4-5) is an end face (Annotated Figures 4-5) on an other side in the axial direction of the stator core (10, C3L48). PNG media_image1.png 482 646 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 421 496 media_image2.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 2/1, Hossain has been discussed above. Additionally, the drawings of Hossain suggest (see Figures 4-5 above) that the coolant channel (42, C2L61) includes a channel (42, C2L61) that widens as the channel (42, C2L61) extends toward the end holding portion (Annotated Figures 4-5). Regarding Claim 3/1, Hossain has been discussed above. Additionally, the drawings of Hossain suggest (see Figures 4-5 above) that the coolant channel (42, C2L61) includes a channel (42, C2L61) that extends so as to gradually near the stator core (10, C3L48) as the channel (42, C2L61) extends toward the end holding portion (Annotated Figures 4-5). Regarding Claim 4/3/1, Hossain has been discussed above. Additionally, the drawings of Hossain suggest (see Figures 4-5 above) that the coolant channel (42, C2L61) includes a channel (42, C2L61) that extends from the second end face (Annotated Figures 4-5) or the vicinity of the second end face (Annotated Figures 4-5) so as to gradually near the stator core (10, C3L48) as the channel (42, C2L61) extends toward the end holding portion (Annotated Figures 4-5). Regarding Claim 5/1, Hossain has been discussed above. Additionally, the drawings of Hossain suggest (see Figures 4-5 above) the coolant channel (42, C2L61) includes a bent channel that bends in the end holding portion (Annotated Figures 4-5) so as to near the stator core (10, C3L48). Regarding Claim 6/5/1, Hossain has been discussed above. Additionally, the drawings of Hossain suggest (see Figures 4-5 above) the bent channel (42, C2L61) is bent on the one side in the axial direction beyond the first end face (Annotated Figures 4-5). Regarding Claim 8/1, Hossain has been discussed above. Additionally, Hossain discloses that the coolant is water (C2L64-67: “A suitable coolant may include transmission fluid, ethylene glycol, an ethylene glycol/water mixture, water, oil, motor oil, a gas, a mist, any combination thereof, or another substance.”). Regarding Claim 9/1, Hossain has been discussed above. Additionally, Hossain discloses (see Figure 1) the housing (40, 41, C4L16-17) is a cylindrical body that covers an outer periphery of the stator core (10, C3L48) and includes a cover (16, 18, C2L49-50) that covers the first end face and the second end face of the stator core (10, C3L48) . PNG media_image3.png 426 262 media_image3.png Greyscale Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-22-aia AIA Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hossain as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Minamiura et al. (JP 2014068513 A, hereafter referred to as Minamiura) . Regarding Claim 7/1, Hossain has been discussed above. Hossain does not explicitly disclose that the coolant channel extends in the axial direction with a substantially uniform cross-sectional area. However, Minamiura, in the same field of technology, does disclose (see Figure 4) that the coolant channel (33A/B, Page 4, ¶ 3) extends in the axial direction with a substantially uniform cross-sectional area (Page 4, ¶ 3: “In FIG. 4, the vertical path 33A, the upper horizontal path 33B, and the lower horizontal path 33C have substantially the same channel cross-sectional area and the channel shape is drawn in a straight line.”). PNG media_image4.png 624 340 media_image4.png Greyscale It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the motor disclosed by Hossain such that the coolant channel extends in the axial direction with a substantially uniform cross-sectional area, as disclosed by Minamiura, in order to ensure a uniform flow rate through the motor (Page 4, ¶ 5: “The electric motor 1 is reliably cooled by the cooling water having a sufficient flow rate flowing through the first cooling water channel 33 side.”). Citation of Pertinent Prior Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hossain et al. (US 9306428 B2) discloses a plurality curved, serpentine cooling channels trending and widening towards one side of a stator core, see C3L60-C4L26, and Figure 2. Pfannschmidt et al. (WO 2005013461 A1) discloses relevant prior art in Figure 1. Hatakeyama et al. (JP 2020137176 A) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 1-10. Okuhata et al. (US 20190297751 A1) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 5, and 9-10. Erfanfar et al. (US 20120001504 A1) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 9 and 12. Nishimura et al. (JP 2016039726 A) discloses relevant prior art in Figures 3, 15, and 23-24. Inuzuka et al. (JP 2015019494 A) discloses relevant prior art in Figure 4 . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHARLIE FRANK MANN whose telephone number is (703)756-1275. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 7:30AM - 4:30PM PST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Oluseye Iwarere can be reached at (571) 270-5112. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /C.F.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2834 /ALEXANDER A SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/955,577 Page 2 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/955,577 Page 3 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/955,577 Page 4 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/955,577 Page 5 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/955,577 Page 6 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/955,577 Page 7 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/955,577 Page 9 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/955,577 Page 10 Art Unit: 2834