DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
2. This action responds to the applicant 18/955,633 filed on 11-21-2024. Claims 1-6 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Keen et al. (US 2019/0116210) in view of Loether (US PAT. 9,641,947).
Consider Claim 1, Keen teaches a control method of a ceiling microphone performed by a ceiling microphone including a plurality of microphone elements each capable of collecting a voice of a talker(see figs. 1-2 and paragraphs[0019]-[0021]),
the control method comprising: acquiring a first voice signal collected by an array microphone including the plurality of microphone elements and an external voice signal collected in a space different from a space of the ceiling microphone(see figs. 1-2 and paragraphs[0015]-[0021]);
determining an output voice signal output from a speaker provided in a same space as the space of the ceiling microphone, based on the acquired first voice signal and the acquired external voice signal; and outputting the determined output voice signal to the speaker, and when it is determined that the output voice signal output from the speaker is output(see figs. 1-3B- and paragraphs[0019]-[0029]), but Sasaki does not explicitly teach stopping control of directivity of the array microphone that collects the voice of the talker and fixing a voice collecting direction in which the voice of the talker is collected.
However, Loether teaches outputting the determined output voice signal to the speaker, and when it is determined that the output voice signal output from the speaker is output, stopping control of directivity of the array microphone that collects the voice of the talker and fixing a voice collecting direction in which the voice of the talker is collected(see figs. 4-7 and col. 13, line 10 and col. 14, line 67).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Loether in to the teaching of Keen to provide a system and method for generating, transmitting and distributing audio signals providing automatic adjustments to the audio signals to compensate for one or more of the acoustics in a meeting room, the arrangement of audience arrays and speakers in a meeting room, audio signal volume levels and equalization, and the differences in characteristics of a verbal input.
Consider Claims 2 and 3, Keen as modified by Loether teaches the control method of a ceiling microphone further comprising: when it is determined that the output voice signal output from the speaker is not output, enabling control of the directivity of the array microphone that collects the voice of the talker; estimating a direction of the speaker based on the first voice signal; and forming the directivity of the array microphone in the estimated direction of the speaker(In Loether, see figs. 4-7 and col. 13, line 10 and col. 14, line 67); and the control method of a ceiling microphone wherein the ceiling microphone is further communicably connected to at least one first microphone provided in the same space as the space of the ceiling microphone, an input of a second voice signal collected by the first microphone is received, and the output voice signal output from the speaker is determined based on the first voice signal, the second voice signal, and the external voice signal; and when it is determined that the second voice signal is input, a voice collecting level of the voice collected by the array microphone is attenuated to a predetermined voice collecting level(see figs. 1-3B- and paragraphs[0019]-[0029]).
Consider Claims 4 and 5, Keen as modified by Loether teaches the control method of a ceiling microphone wherein when it is determined that the second voice signal is not input, a voice collecting level of the voice collected by the array microphone is amplified to a voice collecting level before the attenuation(In Loether, see figs. 4-7 and col. 13, line 10 and col. 14, line 67); and the control method of a ceiling microphone wherein the ceiling microphone is further communicably connected to another ceiling microphone provided in the same space, an input of a third voice signal collected by at least one second microphone communicably connected to the other ceiling microphone is further received, and the output voice signal output from the speaker is determined based on the first voice signal, the second voice signal, the third voice signal, and the external voice signal, when it is determined that the third voice signal is input, a voice collecting level of the voice collected by the array microphone is attenuated to a predetermined voice collecting level(see figs. 1-3B- and paragraphs[0019]-[0029]).
Consider Claim 6, Keen as modified by Loether teaches the control method of a ceiling microphone wherein when it is determined that the third voice signal is not input, a voice collecting level of the array microphone is amplified to a voice collecting level before the attenuation(see figs. 1-3B- and paragraphs[0019]-[0029] and discussion above claim 1)).
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Chu et al. (US 2013/0106973) is cited to show other related the CONTROL METHOD OF CEILING MICROPHONE.
8. Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Mail Stop ____(explanation, e.g., Amendment or After-final, etc.)
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Facsimile responses should be faxed to:
(571) 273-8300
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
should be directed to Lao,Lun-See whose telephone number is (571) 272-7501 The examiner
can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:00 to 5:30.
supervisor, Nguyen Duc M(SPE), can be reached on (571) 272-7503.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding
should be directed to the Technology Center 2600 whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/LUN-SEE LAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691 US Patent and Trademark Office
Knox
571-272-7501
Date 05-26-2026