DETAILED ACTION
The Preliminary Amendment filed 22 November 2024 has been received and considered.
The IDS’s filed 30 May 2025 and 28 July 2026 have been received and considered.
The Priority Documents electronically retrieved 02 January 2025 have been considered.
Claims 1 – 13 are pending.
Claim 12 has been preliminarily amended.
Claims 1 – 13, all of the claims pending in this application, have been rejected.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a matching module configured to match” in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
In this situation, the applied prior art appears likely to have partially common authorship/inventorship with this application. In appropriate fact situations, Applicant may rely on the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(A) to overcome this rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) by a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application, and is therefore not prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). Alternatively, applicant may rely on the exception under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1)(B) by providing evidence of a prior public disclosure via an affidavit or declaration under 37 CFR 1.130(b).
Claims 1 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Non-Patent Literature “Joint Appearance and Motion Model With Temporal Transformer for Multiple Object Tracking” to Kim et al. (hereinafter Kim).
Claim 1
Regarding Claim 1, an independent method claim, Kim teaches an operating method of an electronic device, comprising: detecting at least one object in a frame at a current time point (Figure 2, I^(t); "We develop two parallel modules, 1) the ReID embedding module and 2) the motion estimation module, to associate previously tracked objects with detected objects in the current frame.", I. INTRODUCTION);
obtaining, using a neural network model (Figure 2), a matching result between the at least one detected object and at least one object tracked in frames at a previous time point that precedes the current time point, based on information about the at least one detected object, information about the at least one tracked object, a frame feature of the frame, and an object-recognized frame feature of the previous time point ("The ReID embedding module extracts ReID features of the detected objects, while the motion estimation module predicts expected locations of the previously tracked objects in the current frame. The motion-guided association then matches the tracked objects with the detected objects using both ReID features and predicted locations.", I. INTRODUCTION; and
obtaining trajectory information of the at least one detected object up to the current time point, based on the matching result ("Temporal transformer conveys the feature information of tracked objects in the trajectory set O(t−1) at the previous frame into the current frame feature F(t) to obtain an object-aware frame feature F(t).", III. PROPOSED NETWORK - B. TEMPORAL TRANSFORMER).
Claim 2
Regarding Claim 2, dependent on claim 1, Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1.
Kim further teaches wherein the neural network model comprises: a transformer configured to output an object-recognized frame feature of the current time point, based on the frame feature and the object-recognized frame feature of the previous time point ("Temporal transformer conveys the feature information of tracked objects in the trajectory set O(t−1) at the previous frame into the current frame feature F(t) to obtain an object-aware frame feature F(t). For this purpose, we apply RoIAlign to tracked object boxes in O^(t−1) on the object-aware frame feature at the previous frame to obtain object features…the information of tracked objects can be effectively interfused to the current frame.", III. PROPOSED NETWORK - B. TEMPORAL TRANSFORMER);
a re-identification (ReID) embedding module configured to output a ReID feature of the at least one detected object, based on the object-recognized frame feature of the current time point and the object-recognized frame feature of the previous time point ("Figure 4 shows the structure of the ReID embedding head, which provides ReID features of the detected objects. It includes MCA to explore features of tracked object in O^(t−1) effectively. We interfuse features of tracked objects to those of detected objects in the current frame.", III. PROPOSED NETWORK - C. ReID EMBEDDING MODULE);
a motion estimation module configured to output a heatmap comprising information about a position estimated at the current time point for each of the at least one tracked object, based on the object-recognized frame feature of the current time point and the object-recognized frame feature of the previous time point (Figure 5, H(t); "The motion estimation module, in Figure5, finds positions of objects in the previous trajectories O^(t−1) at the current frame." III. PROPOSED NETWORK - D. MOTION ESTIMATION MODULE); and
a matching module configured to match the at least one detected object and the at least one tracked object, based on the information about the at least one tracked object, the information about the at least one detected object, the ReID feature, and the heatmap ("The proposed motion-guided association performs matching between tracked objects in O^(t−1) and detected objects in B^(t) using both ReID features and motion-based tracking locations.", III. PROPOSED NETWORK - E. MOTION-GUIDED ASSOCIATION).
Claim 3
Regarding Claim 3, dependent on claim 2, Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2.
Kim further teaches wherein the transformer is configured to: obtain first feature matrices based on the object-recognized frame feature of the previous time point (Figure 3; "Then, we concatenate those tracked object features to compose a feature matrix ((R sub O)^(t-1))…", III. PROPOSED NETWORK - B. TEMPORAL TRANSFORMER);
obtain a second feature matrix based on the frame feature (Figure 3, ((F sub Q)^(t))); and
output the object-recognized frame feature of the current time point, based on the first feature matrices, the second feature matrix, and the frame feature (Figure 3, ((F sub O)^(t))).
Claim 4
Regarding Claim 4, dependent on claim 3, Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 3.
Kim further teaches wherein the transformer is configured to: obtain a first object feature by performing a region-of-interest alignment (ROI Align) on the at least one tracked object on the object-recognized frame feature of the previous time point (For this purpose, we apply RoIAlign [41] φ(·) to tracked object boxes in O^(t−1) on the object aware frame feature at the previous frame to obtain object features.", III. PROPOSED NETWORK - B. TEMPORAL TRANSFORMER);
and obtain the first feature matrices based on the first object feature ("Then, we concatenate those tracked object features to compose a feature matrix…", III. PROPOSED NETWORK - B. TEMPORAL TRANSFORMER).
Claim 5
Regarding Claim 5, dependent on claim 3, Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 3.
Kim further teaches wherein the transformer is configured to: obtain a fused object feature from the first feature matrices and the second feature matrix, based on a cross-attention layer ("Then, we obtain the interfused object feature through multi-head cross attention(MCA)…Based on the affinity between, the information of tracked objects can be effectively interfused to the current frame.", III. PROPOSED NETWORK - B. TEMPORAL TRANSFORMER); and
output the object-recognized frame feature of the current time point, based on the fused object feature and the frame feature (Rejected as applied directly above).
Claim 6
Regarding Claim 6, dependent on claim 2, Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2.
Kim further teaches wherein the ReID embedding module is configured to: obtain first feature matrices based on the object-recognized frame feature of the previous time point (Rejected as applied to claim 2);
obtain a third feature matrix based on the object-recognized frame feature of the current time point (Figure 4, ((R sub Q)^(t))); and
output the ReID feature of the at least one detected object, based on the first feature matrices and the third feature matrix (Figure 4).
Claim 7
Regarding Claim 7, dependent on claim 6, Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 6.
Kim further teaches wherein the ReID embedding module is configured to: obtain a second object feature by performing ROI Align on the at least one detected object on the object-recognized frame feature of the current time point (Figure 4); and
obtain the third feature matrix based on the second object feature (Figure 4).
Claim 8
Regarding Claim 8, dependent on claim 2, Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2.
Kim further teaches wherein the motion estimation module is configured to: obtain a third object feature based on the object-recognized frame feature of the previous time point (Figure 5);
obtain a fourth object feature based on the object-recognized frame feature of the current time point (Figure 5); and
output the heatmap based on the third object feature and the fourth object feature (Figure 5).
Claim 9
Regarding Claim 9, dependent on claim 8, Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 8.
Kim further teaches wherein the motion estimation module is configured to: obtain the fourth object feature by performing ROI Align on a search region on the object-recognized frame feature of the current time point (Figure 5),
wherein the search region is obtained by adjusting a scale of a bounding box of the at least one detected object ("For each tracked object, we set a search region by expanding the object box by scale factor 3 while maintaining its center position and find a location of the corresponding object within the search region at the current frame.", III. PROPOSED NETWORK - D. MOTION ESTIMATION MODULE).
Claim 10
Regarding Claim 10, dependent on claim 2, Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2.
Kim further teaches wherein the matching module is configured to: calculate a first similarity between the at least one tracked object and the at least one detected object, based on the ReID feature ("First, we compute the appearance similarity between the ReID features f (t−1), respectively…Formula (8)", III. PROPOSED NETWORK - E. MOTION-GUIDED ASSOCIATION);
calculate a second similarity between the at least one tracked object and the at least one detected object, based on the information about the position estimated at the current time point for each of the at least one tracked object, the information comprised in the heatmap ("We compute the motion-based similarity between ok(t−1) and bi(t) based on intersection over union (IoU)…Formula (11)", III. PROPOSED NETWORK - E. MOTION-GUIDED ASSOCIATION); and
output the matching result based on a weighted sum of the first similarity and the second similarity ("Finally, the association similarity is obtained by the weighted sum of appearance and motion-based similarity…Formula (12)", III. PROPOSED NETWORK - E. MOTION-GUIDED ASSOCIATION).
Claim 11
Regarding Claim 11, dependent on claim 10, Kim teaches the invention as claimed in claim 10.
Kim further teaches wherein the first similarity is based on a bidirectional softmax similarity and cosine similarity between a ReID feature of the current time point and a ReID feature of the previous time point ("where Sb is the bi-directional softmax similarity…Formula (9); "Also, the cosine similarity Sc is defined as…Formula 10", III. PROPOSED NETWORK - E. MOTION-GUIDED ASSOCIATION).
Claim 12
Regarding Claim 12, an independent non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim, Kim teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the operating method claim 1 (Rejected as applied to claim 1).
Claim 13, an independent device claim, is rejected for the same reasons as applied to the above claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Non-Patent Literature “MeMOT:Multi-Object Tracking with Memory” to Cai et al. (hereinafter Cai). https://arxiv.org/pdf/2203.16761v1
Non-Patent Literature “TrackFormer: Multi-Object Tracking with Transformers” to Meinhardt et al. (hereinafter Meinhardt). https://arxiv.org/pdf/2101.02702
/RONDE LEE MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 2663
/GREGORY A MORSE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2698