Double Patenting
A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,178,498. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are broader than the patented claims with the addition of an extremely well known processor controlled procedure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 12, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dycus et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2004/0254573) in view of Marczyk et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0123783).
Regarding claim 1, Dycus et al. disclose a system comprising:
an energy source (comprising: 1) “electrically conductive sealing surfaces 112 and 122,” and 2) the reciprocating knife for cutting tissue, see [0027], [0055], [0095], [0099], and figures 8-12);
a sheath (“cannula” 510 in figure 36);
an elongate shaft (“shaft 12,” see figures 1-4, and 9-12 for example) comprising an elongate axis (the central longitudinal axis), the elongate shaft configured to move the energy source with translation of the elongate shaft along the elongate axis relative to the sheath, the elongate shaft located within the sheath to allow rotation and translation of the energy source relative to the sheath to treat the tissue (see figure 36); and
an extension (“upper jaw member 110,” see [0085] and figures 8-10 for example) coupled to the elongate shaft with a link (“pivot pin 103,” see [0091] and figure 8 for example) to rotate the extension about the link to move the energy source away from the elongate axis with movement of the extension away from the elongate axis to offset the energy source from the elongate axis (see figures 1-4, 8-9, and 11-12 for example).
Dycus et al. fail to recite a processor operatively coupled to the elongate shaft, the extension and the energy source to rotate and translate the energy source and the extension with the energy source and the extension displaced from the elongate axis.
Like Dycus et al., Marczyk et al. disclose an electrical forceps device/system similar to that of Dycus et al. having an energy source, an elongate shaft having an elongate axis, and an extension and a link and teach providing the system with a programmable processor/microprocessor to control the functioning of the electrical forceps device/system in order to provide programmably controlable translational movement of the energy source (knife) and rotatable motion of the energy source (electrically conductive clamping jaw) in order to provide a known and workable system and method for sealing and cutting tissue (see [0023], [0057]-[0058], [0123]-[0125]).
Therefore, at the time of the of invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Dycus et al., as taught by Marczyk et al., to provide the system with a programmable processor/microprocessor to control the functioning of the electrical forceps device/system in order to provide programmably controlable translational movement of the energy source (knife) and rotatable motion of the energy source (electrically conductive clamping jaw) in order to provide a known and workable system and method for sealing and cutting tissue.
Regarding claim 12, Dycus et al. disclose the required stiffness since the sheath does not collapse under compression from the incised tissue opening see figure 36.
Regarding claim 16, Dycus et al. disclose electrode (electrically conductive surface 112).
Regarding claim 19, Dycus et al. disclose the claimed synchronous movement, wherein synchronous is interpreted as having or being in a definite chronological pattern (i.e., simultaneous or sequential) .
Conclusion
/AARON F ROANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792