DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 6, 11-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al (US 2024/0169961) and further in view of Landy (US 2010/0040349).
For claim 1, Yuan et al teach a method of audio processing, comprising:
obtaining a first media content input by a user, the first media content comprising a first video content associated with a first audio content (e.g. paragraph 40: “in this special effect video shooting scenario, not only a video image may be processed, but also audio information may be processed, that is, audio special effects are superimposed on the basis of video image processing.”); and
providing a second media content based on a selection of an audio style by the user (e.g. paragraph 5: “…a target arrangement template is determined based on an input audio entered by a user and a trigger operation to an arrangement template by the user, whereby the effect of fusing the input audio to a target audio of the target arrangement template is obtained…”), the second media content comprising a second video associated with a second audio content generated based on the first audio content (e.g. paragraph 5: “…a target arrangement template is determined based on an input audio entered by a user and a trigger operation to an arrangement template by the user, whereby the effect of fusing the input audio to a target audio of the target arrangement template is obtained…”), the second audio content having a same timbre as the first audio content (e.g. figure 1, paragraphs 52- 53: the melody attribute may be used to characterize the basic music elements contained in the melody, and optionally, the melody attribute includes a tempo, a rhythm, a meter, a strength, a tone, and the like.), and the second audio content having at least one audio attribute corresponding to the target style (e.g. paragraph 53: “the to-be-selected arrangement style may include, but is not limited to, a popular arrangement style, a jazz arrangement style, a dance arrangement style, a hip-hop arrangement style, a reggae arrangement style”).
Yuan et al do not further disclose a first visual content of the second video content being determined by adjusting a play speed of a second visual content of the first content, wherein the adjusted play speed is determined based on the second audio content.
Landy teaches a first visual content of the second video content being determined by adjusting a play speed of a second visual content of the first content, wherein the adjusted play speed is determined based on the second audio content (e.g. abstract or paragraph 17: “The user operates the dual-control interface to select the audio resource to be played at any point in time while adjusting the speed of the video to aesthetically match it. For example, the video speed can be adjusted to run slower if a song with a slow beat is selected for playing, and adjusted to run faster if a song with a fast beat is selected for playing. ”).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Landy into the teaching of Yuan et al to allow user to independently synchronize the video to aesthetically matches any selected audio in real time (e.g. paragraph 17, Landy) to improve the quality of the content.
Claims 11 and 20 are rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 1 above, wherein paragraph 8 of Yuan et al also teach one or more processors and a storage apparatus. The storage apparatus is configured to store one or more programs. The one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to implement the method for determining the audio of any one of the embodiments of the present disclosure.
For claims 2 and 12, Yuan et al teach the at least one audio attribute comprises at least one of tone, cadence (e.g. figure 1, paragraphs 52- 53: the melody attribute may be used to characterize the basic music elements contained in the melody, and optionally, the melody attribute includes a tempo, a rhythm, a meter, a strength, a tone, and the like.).
For claims 3 and 13, Yuan et al teach displaying a selection panel, wherein the selection panel provides a set of candidate audio effects; and receiving a selection of a target audio effect in the set of candidate audio effects by the user, the target audio effect corresponding to the target style (e.g. figure 8, paragraph 53: “the to-be-selected arrangement style may include, but is not limited to, a popular arrangement style, a jazz arrangement style, a dance arrangement style, a hip-hop arrangement style, a reggae arrangement style”).
For claims 6 and 16, Yuan et al teach obtaining the first media content input by the user comprises at least one of: obtaining the first media content recorded by the user, or obtaining the first media content uploaded by the user (e.g. figure 2).
For claims 4 and 14, Yuan et al do not further disclose generating the second audio content based on the first audio content; adjusting the play speed of the second visual content of the first video content based on the second audio content; and generating, based on the second audio content and the adjusted second visual content, the second video content as the second media content. Landy teaches generating the second audio content based on the first audio content; adjusting the play speed of the second visual content of the first video content based on the second audio content; and generating, based on the second audio content and the adjusted second visual content, the second video content as the second media content. (e.g. abstract or paragraph 17: “The user operates the dual-control interface to select the audio resource to be played at any point in time while adjusting the speed of the video to aesthetically match it. For example, the video speed can be adjusted to run slower if a song with a slow beat is selected for playing, and adjusted to run faster if a song with a fast beat is selected for playing. ”). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Landy into the teaching of Yuan et al to allow user to independently synchronize the video to aesthetically matches any selected audio in real time (e.g. paragraph 17, Landy) to improve the quality of the content.
For claims 5 and 15, Yuan et al do not further disclose determining an audio portion in the second audio content corresponding to target an audio content and a video portion in the second visual content corresponding to the audio target content; and adjusting a play speed of the video portion, so that the video portion is synchronous with the audio portion. Landy teaches determining an audio portion in the second audio content corresponding to target an audio content and a video portion in the second visual content corresponding to the audio target content; and adjusting a play speed of the video portion, so that the video portion is synchronous with the audio portion (e.g. abstract or paragraph 17: “The user operates the dual-control interface to select the audio resource to be played at any point in time while adjusting the speed of the video to aesthetically match it. For example, the video speed can be adjusted to run slower if a song with a slow beat is selected for playing, and adjusted to run faster if a song with a fast beat is selected for playing. ”). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Landy into the teaching of Yuan et al to allow user to independently synchronize the video to aesthetically matches any selected audio in real time (e.g. paragraph 17, Landy) to improve the quality of the content.
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al and Landy, as applied to claims 1-3, 6, 11-13, 16 and 20, and further in view of Khalilia et al (US 11,404,087).
For claims 7 and 17, Yuan et al and Landy do not further disclose extracting the first audio content from the first media content; and processing the first audio content by using a target model to generate the second audio content, wherein the target model is trained based on sample data corresponding to the target style. Khalilia et al teach extracting the first audio content from the first media content; and processing the first audio content by using a target model to generate the second audio content, wherein the target model is trained based on sample data corresponding to the target style (e.g. column 3, lines 10-28: “…By contrast, the style-extraction encoder may be trained to extract representation of speaking style from audio data independently of verbal content of the audio data. Additionally, the decoder may be trained to combine and decode extracted verbal content data and extracted speaking style data into an output representation of speech.). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Khalilia et al into the teaching of Yuan et al and Landy to output audio that have speaking style to allow the audio to appear more natural and realistic to viewer (e.g. column 3, lines 5-10, Khalilia et al).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 and 18-19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Email: daquan.zhao1@uspto.gov.
Phone: (571)270-1119
/DAQUAN ZHAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484