DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, drawn to compounds of formula I or II or pharmaceutically acceptable salts thereof, and pharmaceutical formulations; and the following species:
((5-hydroxy-3-(4-hydroxyphenyl)-4-oxo-4H-chromen-7-yl)oxy)methyl dihydrogen phosphate as the elected species of compound of formula I or II or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof; and
a tablet as the elected species of pharmaceutical formulation
in the reply filed on August 22, 2026 is acknowledged.
Please note the chemical structure of the elected ((5-hydroxy-3-(4-hydroxyphenyl)-4-oxo-4H-chromen-7-yl)oxy)methyl dihydrogen phosphate, when reasonably construed in view of paragraph [0043] of the specification, is
.
Claims 8-11 and 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 22, 2026.
Status of Claims
Acknowledgement is made of the receipt and entry of the amendment to the claims filed on December 12, 2024, wherein claims 4, 10, 12 and 15-20 are amended; and claims 1-3, 5-9, 11 and 13-14 are unchanged.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 8-11 and 16-20 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-7 and 12-15 are under examination in accordance with the elected species.
Priority
The instant application 18/955,706 filed on November 21, 2024 claims priority to, and the benefits of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/603,118 filed on November 28, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/24/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Please note that foreign references without an English translation but have an English translation of the abstract will only have the abstract considered by the Examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
In chemical patent abstracts for compounds or compositions, the general nature of the compound or composition should be given as well as its use, e.g., “The compounds are of the class of alkyl benzene sulfonyl ureas, useful as oral anti-diabetics.” Exemplification of a species could be illustrative of members of the class. For processes, the type of reaction, reagents and process conditions should be stated, generally illustrated by a single example unless variations are necessary. Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is non-descriptive and contains phases which can be implied. First, the abstract of the disclosure fails to describe what the uses are, nor describing the steps involved in the process of using. Second, the abstract recites the term “new”, which can be implied, to describe the inventions, for instance, “new genistein phosphate derivatives” in line 1. The term “new” should be deleted from the language of the abstract. Once the determination of the novelty of a claimed invention has been established and the disclosure of the invention made public and/or patented, the claimed invention is no longer new, since the scope of the invention no longer embraces what is considered “new”. Thus, the incorporation of the term “new” into the language of the abstract to describe the invention is not appropriate. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
the specification repeatedly recites the term “new” to describe the inventions, for instance,
“new genistein phosphate derivatives” (see e.g., [0002];[0012]). The term “new” should be deleted from the language of the disclosure. Once the determination of the novelty of a claimed invention has been established and the disclosure of the invention made public and/or patented, the claimed invention is no longer new, since the scope of the invention no longer embraces what is considered “new”. Thus, the incorporation of the term “new” into the language of the specification to describe the invention is not appropriate.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-7 and 13-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 2-7 and 13-15, each of these claims is missing a comma (,) between the claim number and the preposition that follows. For example, the recitation of “[t]he compound of claim 2 where” in claim 3 should read –[t]he compound of claim 2, where--.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation of “each of… independently is selected from the group” appears to be ungrammatical and should read –each of… is independently selected from the group”.\
Regarding claims 2 and 5-7, the recitation of “that is” should read –wherein the compound is--, so it is clear “that” is referring back to the compound originally set forth in the claim it depends upon.
Regarding claims 13-14, the recitation of “that is” should read –wherein the pharmaceutical formulation is--, so it is clear “that” is referring back to the pharmaceutical formulation originally set forth in the claim it depends upon.
Regarding claims 3-4 and 15, the term “where” should read –wherein--, so it is clear that it is referring back to the specific variable inside the formulae or pharmaceutical formulation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 3-4, each of these claims recites pharmaceutically acceptable salt as a variable alternative, and that fails to further limit the variables of formulae set forth in claim 1. For example, claim 3 recites “R1 is H, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof”. Accordingly, a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof is an alternative of R1; However, the R1 of formula I or II in claim 1 does not recite R1 can be “a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof” as an alternative; therefore, “a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof” in list of R1 in claim 3 is improper. Same logic is applicable to claim 4.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hendler et al. (US 2006/0251592 A1), in view of Stella et al. (US 6,204,257 B1), as evidenced by CAS Registry Number 386285-70-7 (Entered on STN Registry on January 24, 2002). Hendler et al. teaches isoflavones in general, and genistein in particular, have structural similarities to that of certain human estrogens, and such compounds are said to have estrogenic activity; and isoflavones also have other useful biological and pharmacological activities, including, inter alia, antiangiogenic, antihemolytic, and anti-ischemic (see e.g., [0005]); However, genistein and other isoflavones are very insoluble in water (see e.g., [009]). Hendler et al. further teachers converting a starting isoflavone into a pro-compound can increase bioavailability and aqueous solubility of isoflavones by attaching a polar (solubilizing) leaving group, which can be readily hydrolyzed under physiologic conditions to produce the starting isoflavone (see e.g., [0011]; [0020]); in which R4’, R5, R6, R7 and R8 are independently, inter alia, ZPO4, where Z is selected from the group consisting of, inter alia, a straight or branched aliphatic chain, including an alkyl, alkoxyalkyl group; or Z may comprise, inter alia, methoxy (see e.g., [0019]-[0022]). Hendler et al. further teaches in the preferred embodiments, an alcohol functionality of an isoflavone is esterified using, inter alia, a phosphoric acid group to yield a phosphate ester (see e.g., [0012]); and exemplified the preparation of genistein-7-phosphate in Example 2 (see e.g., [0036]). The genistein-7-phosphate taught by Hendler et al. has the chemical structure of:
, as evidenced by CAS Registry Number 386285-70-7. Hendler et al. further teaches genistein has the chemical structure of:
, wherein R4’ is OH, R5 is OH, R6 is H, R7 is OH and R8 is H (see e.g., Figure 1; [0018]). Hendler et al. further teaches to prepare the pharmaceutical compositions, a therapeutically effective amount of one or more of the compounds is preferably intimately admixed with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier according to conventional pharmaceutical compounding techniques to produce a dose; in preparing pharmaceutical compositions in oral dosage form, any of the usual pharmaceutical media may be used; thus, for solid oral preparations such as tablets, suitable carriers and additives includes, inter alia, starches (see e.g., [0072]). Please note the pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount of the compound and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, such as starches, reads on instant claim 12; the oral preparation reads on instant claim 12; and the tablet reads on instant claim 14.
Hendler et al. does not expressly teach the elected compound species.
Stella et al. teaches the use of many clinical drugs with known properties is limited by their very low water solubility, and emphasizes the invention provides a water-soluble form of alcohol and phenol containing drugs by derivatizing water insoluble drugs to achieve good activity and water solubility (see e.g., Col.1, line21-22; Col. 2, line 49-50; Col. 3, line 29-31). Stella et al. further teaches phosphonooxymethyl derivatives of alcohol and phenol containing pharmaceuticals represented by the general formula I:
, and teaches that said formula I is the derivative of ROH, wherein ROH represents an alcohol- or phenol-containing drug; in said formula I, n represents an integer of 1 or 2; R1 and R2 is independently hydrogen or an alkali metal ion including sodium, potassium or lithium or a protonated amine or protonated amino acid or any other pharmaceutically accept able cation; after intravenous or oral administration, the derivatives according to formula I are converted back to the parent drugs by hydrolysis and/or phosphatase (see e.g., Col. 2, line 65 to Col. 3, line 26). Stella et al. further exemplified the preparation of propofol prodrug according to the formula I, wherein the structure of the propofol prodrug is shown below:
, wherein z is H (see e.g., Col. 16, line 45-50; Col. 8, line 65 to Col. 9, line 10; Col. 5, line 59-61); and propofol has the structure of:
(see e.g., Col. 2, line 16-30).
In the present case, the difference between the genistein and genistein-7-phosphate of Hendler et al. and the claimed elected compound is shown below (see shaded):
.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to select genistein of Hendler et al., an expressly taught isoflavone with wide range of biological and pharmacological activities, as a lead compound to prepare phosphonooxymethyl derivatives thereof by replacing the hydroxy at the R7 position of its formula with -OCH2OP(O)(OH)2 taught by Stella et al., thereby arriving at the elected compound species. One would have been motivated to do so, because Hendler et al. established that phosphoric acid group is a tolerated polar (solubilizing) leaving group suitable to replace the hydroxy at the R7 position of genistein‘s structural formula to arrive at an derivative with improved bioavailability and aqueous solubility, and teaches that the solubilizing group comprising a phosphate group which has a general structure of ZPO4—, wherein Z can be alkoxyalkyl; and Stella et al. establishes that phosphonooxymethyl derivatives, including —OCH2OP(O)(OH)2, is suitable to replace hydroxy of alcohol- and phenol-containing pharmaceuticals for converting water insoluble drugs to water soluble form. Thus, starting from genistein of Hendler et al., one of ordinary skill seeking to improve its bioavailability and aqueous solubility would have had a reason to investigate the known hydroxy-phosphonooxymethoxy modification taught by Stella et al. as the phosphate-containing polar (solubilizing) leaving group in place of the hydroxy at the position suggested by Hendler et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining the compound with improved aqueous solubility relative to the unmodified compound (genistein), because one would have reasonably expected that by modifying the hydroxy group at the R7 position of genistein’s formula taught by Hendler et al. by employing the known phosphonooxymethoxy moiety taught by Stella et al. would successfully provide the corresponding phosphonooxymethyl derivatives while retaining the biological activity associated with genistein.
Therefore, the claimed invention is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed, absent factual evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/CHIHYI LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1628 /JEAN P CORNET/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628