Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on April 16, 2026 has been entered. Accordingly, Claims 1-30 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 11, and 21 are Independent Claims and have been amended.
Claim Interpretation
In accordance with paragraph [0355] of the Specification, the “computer-storage medium” of Claims 20-30 is not directed to transitory propagating signals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 11, 12, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arye (PG Pub. No. 2020/0334232 A1) and further in view of Looker (“Derived tables in Looker, Persistent Derived Tables”, Looker v1.22, https://docs.cloud.google.com/looker/docs/derived-tables#persistent_derived_tables_(pdts)), January 12, 2014).
Regarding Claim 1, Arye discloses a system comprising:
at least one hardware processor (see Arye, paragraph [0022], where embodiments of a computer system comprise one or more computer processors and a computer readable storage medium); and
at least one memory storing instructions (see Arye, paragraph [0022], where embodiments of a computer system comprise one or more computer processors and a computer readable storage medium) that cause the at least one hardware processor to perform operations comprising:
configuring a materialized table (MT) based on a query and a base table (see Arye, paragraph [0037], where Fig. 12A illustrates processing of a query by combining data of a materialized table with a base table);
generating a query plan for the query (see Arye, paragraph [0083], where the complete query plan is generated by the first node and sent to nodes that are determined to store chunks processed by the first query); and
determining multiple sets of data processing operations included in the query plan (see Arye, paragraph [0235], where the query processor may use various logic to determine what part of the data to get from the materialized tables and what data to get from the base table).
Arye does not disclose:
generating a plurality of intermediate MTs, the plurality of intermediate MTs holding an intermediate processing state for the multiple sets of data processing operations, an intermediate MT of the plurality of intermediate MTs being persistently stored and reusable across multiple refreshes of the MT, the intermediate MT corresponding to a respective set of data processing operations of the multiple sets of data processing operations; and
configuring a refresh of the MT based on the intermediate processing state for the multiple sets of data processing operations maintained in the plurality of intermediate MTs.
Arye in view of Looker discloses:
generating a plurality of intermediate MTs, the plurality of intermediate MTs holding an intermediate processing state for the multiple sets of data processing operations (see Looker, Section: Persistent Derived Tables, where a persistent derived table (PDT) is a derived table that is written into a scratch schema on your database and regenerated on a schedule that you specify with a persistence strategy; see also Section: Using PDTs to pre-join or aggregate data, where it can be useful to pre-join or pre-aggregate data to adjust query optimization for high volumes or multiple types of data; see also Section: Cascading Derived Tables, where it is possible to reference one derived table in the definition of another, creating a chain of cascading derived tables, or cascading persistent derived tables (PDT)), an intermediate MT of the plurality of intermediate MTs being persistently stored and reusable across multiple refreshes of the MT (see Looker, Section: Persistent Derived Tables, where a persistent derived table (PDT) is a derived table that is written into a scratch schema on your database and regenerated on a schedule that you specify with a persistence strategy; see also Section: Using PDTs to pre-join or aggregate data, where it can be useful to pre-join or pre-aggregate data to adjust query optimization for high volumes or multiple types of data; see also Section: Cascading Derived Tables, where it is possible to reference one derived table in the definition of another, creating a chain of cascading derived tables, or cascading persistent derived tables (PDT)), the intermediate MT corresponding to a respective set of data processing operations of the multiple sets of data processing operations (see Looker, Section: Persistent Derived Tables, where a persistent derived table (PDT) is a derived table that is written into a scratch schema on your database and regenerated on a schedule that you specify with a persistence strategy; see also Section: Using PDTs to pre-join or aggregate data, where it can be useful to pre-join or pre-aggregate data to adjust query optimization for high volumes or multiple types of data; see also Section: Cascading Derived Tables, where it is possible to reference one derived table in the definition of another, creating a chain of cascading derived tables, or cascading persistent derived tables (PDT)); and
configuring a refresh of the MT (see Arye, paragraph [0208], where the materialization engine reads information produced by the invalidation engine in order to know which regions of data to re-materialize in its current run; for embodiments that store a single invalidation threshold, the materialization engine recomputes its materialization on data between the invalidation threshold and the current time (or lag interval if present) based on the intermediate processing state for the multiple sets of data processing operations maintained in the plurality of intermediate MTs (see Looker, Section: Persistent Derived Tables, where a persistent derived table (PDT) is a derived table that is written into a scratch schema on your database and regenerated on a schedule that you specify with a persistence strategy; see also Section: Using PDTs to pre-join or aggregate data, where it can be useful to pre-join or pre-aggregate data to adjust query optimization for high volumes or multiple types of data; see also Section: Cascading Derived Tables, where it is possible to reference one derived table in the definition of another, creating a chain of cascading derived tables, or cascading persistent derived tables (PDT)).
Both Arye and Looker are directed toward materialization. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Arye with Looker as it amounts to combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
Regarding Claim 2, Arye in view of Looker discloses the system of Claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise configuring the MT further based on a lag duration value, the lag duration value indicating a maximum time period that a result of a prior refresh of the query lags behind a current time instance before a subsequent refresh is initiated (see Arye, paragraph [0205], where the user is able to configure how far behind the materialization system should operate (e.g., no more than at least one hour behind the latest record or current time), which we sometimes refer to as the lag interval).
Regarding Claim 11, Arye discloses a method comprising:
configuring, by at least one hardware processor, a materialized table (MT) based on a query and a base table (see Arye, paragraph [0037], where Fig. 12A illustrates processing of a query by combining data of a materialized table with a base table);
generating a query plan for the query (see Arye, paragraph [0083], where the complete query plan is generated by the first node and sent to nodes that are determined to store chunks processed by the first query); and
determining multiple sets of data processing operations included in the query plan (see Arye, paragraph [0235], where the query processor may use various logic to determine what part of the data to get from the materialized tables and what data to get from the base table).
Arye does not disclose:
generating a plurality of intermediate MTs, the plurality of intermediate MTs holding an intermediate processing state for the multiple sets of data processing operations, an intermediate MT of the plurality of intermediate MTs being persistently stored and reusable across multiple refreshes of the MT, the intermediate MT corresponding to a respective set of data processing operations of the multiple sets of data processing operations; and
configuring a refresh of the MT based on the intermediate processing state for the multiple sets of data processing operations maintained in the plurality of intermediate MTs.
Arye in view of Looker discloses:
generating a plurality of intermediate MTs, the plurality of intermediate MTs holding an intermediate processing state for the multiple sets of data processing operations (see Looker, Section: Persistent Derived Tables, where a persistent derived table (PDT) is a derived table that is written into a scratch schema on your database and regenerated on a schedule that you specify with a persistence strategy; see also Section: Using PDTs to pre-join or aggregate data, where it can be useful to pre-join or pre-aggregate data to adjust query optimization for high volumes or multiple types of data; see also Section: Cascading Derived Tables, where it is possible to reference one derived table in the definition of another, creating a chain of cascading derived tables, or cascading persistent derived tables (PDT)), an intermediate MT of the plurality of intermediate MTs being persistently stored and reusable across multiple refreshes of the MT (see Looker, Section: Persistent Derived Tables, where a persistent derived table (PDT) is a derived table that is written into a scratch schema on your database and regenerated on a schedule that you specify with a persistence strategy; see also Section: Using PDTs to pre-join or aggregate data, where it can be useful to pre-join or pre-aggregate data to adjust query optimization for high volumes or multiple types of data; see also Section: Cascading Derived Tables, where it is possible to reference one derived table in the definition of another, creating a chain of cascading derived tables, or cascading persistent derived tables (PDT)), the intermediate MT corresponding to a respective set of data processing operations of the multiple sets of data processing operations (see Looker, Section: Persistent Derived Tables, where a persistent derived table (PDT) is a derived table that is written into a scratch schema on your database and regenerated on a schedule that you specify with a persistence strategy; see also Section: Using PDTs to pre-join or aggregate data, where it can be useful to pre-join or pre-aggregate data to adjust query optimization for high volumes or multiple types of data; see also Section: Cascading Derived Tables, where it is possible to reference one derived table in the definition of another, creating a chain of cascading derived tables, or cascading persistent derived tables (PDT)); and
configuring a refresh of the MT (see Arye, paragraph [0208], where the materialization engine reads information produced by the invalidation engine in order to know which regions of data to re-materialize in its current run; for embodiments that store a single invalidation threshold, the materialization engine recomputes its materialization on data between the invalidation threshold and the current time (or lag interval if present) based on the intermediate processing state for the multiple sets of data processing operations maintained in the plurality of intermediate MTs (see Looker, Section: Persistent Derived Tables, where a persistent derived table (PDT) is a derived table that is written into a scratch schema on your database and regenerated on a schedule that you specify with a persistence strategy; see also Section: Using PDTs to pre-join or aggregate data, where it can be useful to pre-join or pre-aggregate data to adjust query optimization for high volumes or multiple types of data; see also Section: Cascading Derived Tables, where it is possible to reference one derived table in the definition of another, creating a chain of cascading derived tables, or cascading persistent derived tables (PDT)).
Both Arye and Looker are directed toward materialization. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Arye with Looker as it amounts to combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
Regarding Claim 12, Arye in view of Looker discloses the method of Claim 11, further comprising configuring the MT further based on a lag duration value, the lag duration value indicating a maximum time period that a result of a prior refresh of the query lags behind a current time instance before a subsequent refresh is initiated (see Arye, paragraph [0205], where the user is able to configure how far behind the materialization system should operate (e.g., no more than at least one hour behind the latest record or current time), which we sometimes refer to as the lag interval).
Regarding Claim 21, Arye discloses a computer-storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a machine, configure the machine to perform operations comprising:
configuring, by at least one hardware processor (see Arye, paragraph [0037], where Fig. 12A illustrates processing of a query by combining data of a materialized table with a base table);
generating a query plan for the query (see Arye, paragraph [0083], where the complete query plan is generated by the first node and sent to nodes that are determined to store chunks processed by the first query); and
determining multiple sets of data processing operations included in the query plan (see Arye, paragraph [0235], where the query processor may use various logic to determine what part of the data to get from the materialized tables and what data to get from the base table).
Arye does not disclose:
generating a plurality of intermediate MTs, the plurality of intermediate MTs holding an intermediate processing state for the multiple sets of data processing operations, an intermediate MT of the plurality of intermediate MTs being persistently stored and reusable across multiple refreshes of the MT, the intermediate MT corresponding to a respective set of data processing operations of the multiple sets of data processing operations; and
configuring a refresh of the MT based on the intermediate processing state for the multiple sets of data processing operations maintained in the plurality of intermediate MTs.
Arye in view of Looker discloses:
generating a plurality of intermediate MTs, the plurality of intermediate MTs holding an intermediate processing state for the multiple sets of data processing operations (see Looker, Section: Persistent Derived Tables, where a persistent derived table (PDT) is a derived table that is written into a scratch schema on your database and regenerated on a schedule that you specify with a persistence strategy; see also Section: Using PDTs to pre-join or aggregate data, where it can be useful to pre-join or pre-aggregate data to adjust query optimization for high volumes or multiple types of data; see also Section: Cascading Derived Tables, where it is possible to reference one derived table in the definition of another, creating a chain of cascading derived tables, or cascading persistent derived tables (PDT)), an intermediate MT of the plurality of intermediate MTs being persistently stored and reusable across multiple refreshes of the MT (see Looker, Section: Persistent Derived Tables, where a persistent derived table (PDT) is a derived table that is written into a scratch schema on your database and regenerated on a schedule that you specify with a persistence strategy; see also Section: Using PDTs to pre-join or aggregate data, where it can be useful to pre-join or pre-aggregate data to adjust query optimization for high volumes or multiple types of data; see also Section: Cascading Derived Tables, where it is possible to reference one derived table in the definition of another, creating a chain of cascading derived tables, or cascading persistent derived tables (PDT)), the intermediate MT corresponding to a respective set of data processing operations of the multiple sets of data processing operations (see Looker, Section: Persistent Derived Tables, where a persistent derived table (PDT) is a derived table that is written into a scratch schema on your database and regenerated on a schedule that you specify with a persistence strategy; see also Section: Using PDTs to pre-join or aggregate data, where it can be useful to pre-join or pre-aggregate data to adjust query optimization for high volumes or multiple types of data; see also Section: Cascading Derived Tables, where it is possible to reference one derived table in the definition of another, creating a chain of cascading derived tables, or cascading persistent derived tables (PDT)); and
configuring a refresh of the MT (see Arye, paragraph [0208], where the materialization engine reads information produced by the invalidation engine in order to know which regions of data to re-materialize in its current run; for embodiments that store a single invalidation threshold, the materialization engine recomputes its materialization on data between the invalidation threshold and the current time (or lag interval if present) based on the intermediate processing state for the multiple sets of data processing operations maintained in the plurality of intermediate MTs (see Looker, Section: Persistent Derived Tables, where a persistent derived table (PDT) is a derived table that is written into a scratch schema on your database and regenerated on a schedule that you specify with a persistence strategy; see also Section: Using PDTs to pre-join or aggregate data, where it can be useful to pre-join or pre-aggregate data to adjust query optimization for high volumes or multiple types of data; see also Section: Cascading Derived Tables, where it is possible to reference one derived table in the definition of another, creating a chain of cascading derived tables, or cascading persistent derived tables (PDT)).
Both Arye and Looker are directed toward materialization. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Arye with Looker as it amounts to combining prior art elements according to known techniques to yield predictable results (see MPEP 2143(I)(A)).
Regarding Claim 22, Arye in view of Looker discloses the computer-storage medium of Claim 21, wherein the operations further comprise configuring the MT further based on a lag duration value, the lag duration value indicating a maximum time period that a result of a prior refresh of the query lags behind a current time instance before a subsequent refresh is initiated (see Arye, paragraph [0205], where the user is able to configure how far behind the materialization system should operate (e.g., no more than at least one hour behind the latest record or current time), which we sometimes refer to as the lag interval).
Claims 3-8, 13-18, and 23-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arye and Looker as applied to Claims 1, 2, 11, 12, 21, and 22 above, and further in view of Ma (PG Pub. No. 2023/01411990 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Arye in view of Looker discloses the system of Claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
Arye does not disclose separating the multiple sets of data processing operations into a plurality of fragments, each fragment of the plurality of fragments including at least one data processing operation of the multiple sets of data processing operations. Ma discloses separating the multiple sets of data processing operations into a plurality of fragments, each fragment of the plurality of fragments including at least one data processing operation of the multiple sets of data processing operations (see Ma, paragraph [0057], where Fig. 3A illustrates an example query execution plan 300A; the query execution plan 300A is represented as a directed tree of nodes and links; each node represents respective query operations, which can correspond to a respective operator of a received query; for example, the query execution plan 300A includes a merge join node 302A, a nested loop join node 304A, a hash join node 306A, and scan nodes 308A, 312A, 314A, and 316A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Arye with Ma for the benefit of materializing data as needed rather than waiting to materialize the data before the query begins executing (see Ma, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 4, Arye in view of Looker and Ma discloses the system of Claim 3, wherein the operations further comprise configuring each intermediate MT of the plurality of intermediate MTs with a hash of a corresponding fragment of the plurality of fragments (see Arye, paragraph [0235], where the system can keep statistics or sketches reflecting how different the materialization data is from the base table’s raw data or it may keep information about the staleness of the materialization [it is the position of the Examiner that a sketch is not patentably distinguishable from a hash]).
Regarding Claim 5, Arye in view of Looker and Ma discloses the system of Claim 4, wherein the operations further comprise performing a verification of each intermediate MT of the plurality of intermediate MTs based on the hash (see Arye, paragraph [0235], where the system can keep statistics or sketches reflecting how different the materialization data is from the base table’s raw data or it may keep information about the staleness of the materialization [it is the position of the Examiner that a sketch is not patentably distinguishable from a hash]).
Regarding Claim 6, Arye in view of Looker and Ma discloses the system of Claim 5, wherein the operations configuring the refresh further comprise performing a refresh of each intermediate MT of the plurality of intermediate MTs based on the verification (see Arye, paragraph [0235], where the system can keep statistics or sketches reflecting how different the materialization data is from the base table’s raw data or it may keep information about the staleness of the materialization [it is the position of the Examiner that a sketch is not patentably distinguishable from a hash]).
Regarding Claim 7, Arye in view of Looker discloses the system of Claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
Arye does not disclose generating a data definition language (DDL) log of dependencies among the plurality of MTs and generating a dependency graph of the plurality of intermediate MTs based on the DDL log of dependencies, the dependency graph comprising a plurality of nodes corresponding to the plurality of intermediate MTs. Ma discloses generating a data definition language (DDL) log of dependencies among the plurality of MTs and generating a dependency graph of the plurality of intermediate MTs based on the DDL log of dependencies, the dependency graph comprising a plurality of nodes corresponding to the plurality of intermediate MTs (see Ma, paragraph [0014], where the one or more processors are configured to generate a data structure representing attribute dependencies for each attribute referenced in the query, an attribute dependency for a first attribute comprising data representing zero or more child attributes that are respective result attributes of one or more query operations executed at respective earlier execution steps than an execution step for a query operation in which the first attribute is needed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Arye with Ma for the benefit of materializing data as needed rather than waiting to materialize the data before the query begins executing (see Ma, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 8, Arye in view of Looker and Ma discloses the system of Claim 7, wherein the operations further comprise:
Arye does not disclose applying a graph rendering process to the DDL log of dependencies to generate the dependency graph of the plurality of intermediate MTs, the dependency graph including a plurality of nodes coupled with edges, at least a first node of the plurality of nodes associated with a first intermediate MT of the plurality of intermediate MTs, and at least a second node of the plurality of nodes associated with a second intermediate MT of the plurality of intermediate MTs from which the first intermediate MT depends. Ma discloses applying a graph rendering process to the DDL log of dependencies to generate the dependency graph of the plurality of intermediate MTs, the dependency graph including a plurality of nodes coupled with edges, at least a first node of the plurality of nodes associated with a first intermediate MT of the plurality of intermediate MTs, and at least a second node of the plurality of nodes associated with a second intermediate MT of the plurality of intermediate MTs from which the first intermediate MT depends (see Ma, paragraph [0102], where for each node in the query execution plan, the DBMS generates a respective data structure representing attribute dependencies for each attribute referenced in the query, according to block 420B; see also paragraph [0083], where Fig. 3C illustrates an example attribute mapping 300C for the example dependency mapping 300B; attribute maps 302C, 304C, 306C, 308C, 312C, 314C, and 316C include respective attributes 302D-G, 304D-F, 306D-G, 308D-F, 312D-E, 314D-E, and 316D-F, and are shown in Fig. 3C as dashed boxes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Arye with Ma for the benefit of materializing data as needed rather than waiting to materialize the data before the query begins executing (see Ma, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 13, Arye in view of Looker discloses the method of Claim 11, further comprising:
Arye does not disclose separating the multiple sets of data processing operations into a plurality of fragments, each fragment of the plurality of fragments including at least one data processing operation of the multiple sets of data processing operations. Ma discloses separating the multiple sets of data processing operations into a plurality of fragments, each fragment of the plurality of fragments including at least one data processing operation of the multiple sets of data processing operations (see Ma, paragraph [0057], where Fig. 3A illustrates an example query execution plan 300A; the query execution plan 300A is represented as a directed tree of nodes and links; each node represents respective query operations, which can correspond to a respective operator of a received query; for example, the query execution plan 300A includes a merge join node 302A, a nested loop join node 304A, a hash join node 306A, and scan nodes 308A, 312A, 314A, and 316A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Arye with Ma for the benefit of materializing data as needed rather than waiting to materialize the data before the query begins executing (see Ma, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 14, Arye in view of Looker and Ma discloses the method of Claim 13, further comprising configuring each intermediate MT of the plurality of intermediate MTs with a hash of a corresponding fragment of the plurality of fragments (see Arye, paragraph [0235], where the system can keep statistics or sketches reflecting how different the materialization data is from the base table’s raw data or it may keep information about the staleness of the materialization [it is the position of the Examiner that a sketch is not patentably distinguishable from a hash]).
Regarding Claim 15, Arye in view of Looker and Ma discloses the method of Claim 14, further comprising performing a verification of each intermediate MT of the plurality of intermediate MTs based on the hash (see Arye, paragraph [0235], where the system can keep statistics or sketches reflecting how different the materialization data is from the base table’s raw data or it may keep information about the staleness of the materialization [it is the position of the Examiner that a sketch is not patentably distinguishable from a hash]).
Regarding Claim 16, Arye in view of Looker and Ma discloses the method of Claim 15, wherein the operations configuring the refresh further comprise performing a refresh of each intermediate MT of the plurality of intermediate MTs based on the verification (see Arye, paragraph [0235], where the system can keep statistics or sketches reflecting how different the materialization data is from the base table’s raw data or it may keep information about the staleness of the materialization [it is the position of the Examiner that a sketch is not patentably distinguishable from a hash]).
Regarding Claim 17, Arye in view of Looker discloses the method of Claim 11, further comprising:
Arye does not disclose generating a data definition language (DDL) log of dependencies among the plurality of MTs and generating a dependency graph of the plurality of intermediate MTs based on the DDL log of dependencies, the dependency graph comprising a plurality of nodes corresponding to the plurality of intermediate MTs. Ma discloses generating a data definition language (DDL) log of dependencies among the plurality of MTs and generating a dependency graph of the plurality of intermediate MTs based on the DDL log of dependencies, the dependency graph comprising a plurality of nodes corresponding to the plurality of intermediate MTs (see Ma, paragraph [0014], where the one or more processors are configured to generate a data structure representing attribute dependencies for each attribute referenced in the query, an attribute dependency for a first attribute comprising data representing zero or more child attributes that are respective result attributes of one or more query operations executed at respective earlier execution steps than an execution step for a query operation in which the first attribute is needed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Arye with Ma for the benefit of materializing data as needed rather than waiting to materialize the data before the query begins executing (see Ma, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 18, Arye in view of Looker and Ma discloses the method of Claim 17, further comprising:
Arye does not disclose applying a graph rendering process to the DDL log of dependencies to generate the dependency graph of the plurality of intermediate MTs, the dependency graph including a plurality of nodes coupled with edges, at least a first node of the plurality of nodes associated with a first intermediate MT of the plurality of intermediate MTs, and at least a second node of the plurality of nodes associated with a second intermediate MT of the plurality of intermediate MTs from which the first intermediate MT depends. Ma discloses applying a graph rendering process to the DDL log of dependencies to generate the dependency graph of the plurality of intermediate MTs, the dependency graph including a plurality of nodes coupled with edges, at least a first node of the plurality of nodes associated with a first intermediate MT of the plurality of intermediate MTs, and at least a second node of the plurality of nodes associated with a second intermediate MT of the plurality of intermediate MTs from which the first intermediate MT depends (see Ma, paragraph [0102], where for each node in the query execution plan, the DBMS generates a respective data structure representing attribute dependencies for each attribute referenced in the query, according to block 420B; see also paragraph [0083], where Fig. 3C illustrates an example attribute mapping 300C for the example dependency mapping 300B; attribute maps 302C, 304C, 306C, 308C, 312C, 314C, and 316C include respective attributes 302D-G, 304D-F, 306D-G, 308D-F, 312D-E, 314D-E, and 316D-F, and are shown in Fig. 3C as dashed boxes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Arye with Ma for the benefit of materializing data as needed rather than waiting to materialize the data before the query begins executing (see Ma, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 23, Arye in view of Looker discloses the computer-storage medium of Claim 21, wherein the operations further comprise:
Arye does not disclose separating the multiple sets of data processing operations into a plurality of fragments, each fragment of the plurality of fragments including at least one data processing operation of the multiple sets of data processing operations. Ma discloses separating the multiple sets of data processing operations into a plurality of fragments, each fragment of the plurality of fragments including at least one data processing operation of the multiple sets of data processing operations (see Ma, paragraph [0057], where Fig. 3A illustrates an example query execution plan 300A; the query execution plan 300A is represented as a directed tree of nodes and links; each node represents respective query operations, which can correspond to a respective operator of a received query; for example, the query execution plan 300A includes a merge join node 302A, a nested loop join node 304A, a hash join node 306A, and scan nodes 308A, 312A, 314A, and 316A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Arye with Ma for the benefit of materializing data as needed rather than waiting to materialize the data before the query begins executing (see Ma, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 24, Arye in view of Looker and Ma discloses the computer-storage medium of Claim 23, wherein the operations further comprise configuring each intermediate MT of the plurality of intermediate MTs with a hash of a corresponding fragment of the plurality of fragments (see Arye, paragraph [0235], where the system can keep statistics or sketches reflecting how different the materialization data is from the base table’s raw data or it may keep information about the staleness of the materialization [it is the position of the Examiner that a sketch is not patentably distinguishable from a hash]).
Regarding Claim 25, Arye in view of Looker and Ma discloses the computer-storage medium of Claim 24, wherein the operations further comprise performing a verification of each intermediate MT of the plurality of intermediate MTs based on the hash (see Arye, paragraph [0235], where the system can keep statistics or sketches reflecting how different the materialization data is from the base table’s raw data or it may keep information about the staleness of the materialization [it is the position of the Examiner that a sketch is not patentably distinguishable from a hash]).
Regarding Claim 26, Arye in view of Looker and Ma discloses the computer-storage medium of Claim 25, wherein the operations configuring the refresh further comprise performing a refresh of each intermediate MT of the plurality of intermediate MTs based on the verification (see Arye, paragraph [0235], where the system can keep statistics or sketches reflecting how different the materialization data is from the base table’s raw data or it may keep information about the staleness of the materialization [it is the position of the Examiner that a sketch is not patentably distinguishable from a hash]).
Regarding Claim 27, Arye in view of Looker discloses the computer-storage medium of Claim 21, wherein the operations further comprise:
Arye does not disclose generating a data definition language (DDL) log of dependencies among the plurality of MTs and generating a dependency graph of the plurality of intermediate MTs based on the DDL log of dependencies, the dependency graph comprising a plurality of nodes corresponding to the plurality of intermediate MTs. Ma discloses generating a data definition language (DDL) log of dependencies among the plurality of MTs and generating a dependency graph of the plurality of intermediate MTs based on the DDL log of dependencies, the dependency graph comprising a plurality of nodes corresponding to the plurality of intermediate MTs (see Ma, paragraph [0014], where the one or more processors are configured to generate a data structure representing attribute dependencies for each attribute referenced in the query, an attribute dependency for a first attribute comprising data representing zero or more child attributes that are respective result attributes of one or more query operations executed at respective earlier execution steps than an execution step for a query operation in which the first attribute is needed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Arye with Ma for the benefit of materializing data as needed rather than waiting to materialize the data before the query begins executing (see Ma, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 28, Arye in view of Looker and Ma discloses the computer-storage medium of Claim 27, wherein the operations further comprise:
Arye does not disclose applying a graph rendering process to the DDL log of dependencies to generate the dependency graph of the plurality of intermediate MTs, the dependency graph including a plurality of nodes coupled with edges, at least a first node of the plurality of nodes associated with a first intermediate MT of the plurality of intermediate MTs, and at least a second node of the plurality of nodes associated with a second intermediate MT of the plurality of intermediate MTs from which the first intermediate MT depends. Ma discloses applying a graph rendering process to the DDL log of dependencies to generate the dependency graph of the plurality of intermediate MTs, the dependency graph including a plurality of nodes coupled with edges, at least a first node of the plurality of nodes associated with a first intermediate MT of the plurality of intermediate MTs, and at least a second node of the plurality of nodes associated with a second intermediate MT of the plurality of intermediate MTs from which the first intermediate MT depends (see Ma, paragraph [0102], where for each node in the query execution plan, the DBMS generates a respective data structure representing attribute dependencies for each attribute referenced in the query, according to block 420B; see also paragraph [0083], where Fig. 3C illustrates an example attribute mapping 300C for the example dependency mapping 300B; attribute maps 302C, 304C, 306C, 308C, 312C, 314C, and 316C include respective attributes 302D-G, 304D-F, 306D-G, 308D-F, 312D-E, 314D-E, and 316D-F, and are shown in Fig. 3C as dashed boxes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Arye with Ma for the benefit of materializing data as needed rather than waiting to materialize the data before the query begins executing (see Ma, Abstract).
Claims 9, 19, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arye and Looker as applied to Claims 3-8, 13-18, and 23-28 above, and further in view of Crupi (PG Pub. No. 2018/0307728 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Arye in view of Looker and Ma discloses the system of Claim 8, wherein the operations further comprise:
Arye does not disclose separating the plurality of nodes into subsets of nodes based on data processing account association, wherein nodes in a subset of the subsets are associated with a common time instance of a set of aligned time instances. Crupi discloses separating the plurality of nodes into subsets of nodes based on data processing account association, wherein nodes in a subset of the subsets are associated with a common time instance of a set of aligned time instances (see Crupi, paragraph [0041], where within ‘phase 4’ of the technical processing introduced above, the central RDBMS optimizer component may also determine/group candidates for remote derived source creation based upon latency tolerance and may supply/define refresh requirements/periodicity for each remote derived source; see also paragraph [0108], where at block 512, the process 500 groups the aggregated candidates by latency requirement group based upon latency tolerance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Arye with Crupi for the benefit of distributing materialized table workload to back-end systems (see Crupi, paragraph [0040]).
Regarding Claim 19, Arye in view of Looker and Ma discloses the method of Claim 18, further comprising:
Arye does not disclose separating the plurality of nodes into subsets of nodes based on data processing account association, wherein nodes in a subset of the subsets are associated with a common time instance of a set of aligned time instances. Crupi discloses separating the plurality of nodes into subsets of nodes based on data processing account association, wherein nodes in a subset of the subsets are associated with a common time instance of a set of aligned time instances (see Crupi, paragraph [0041], where within ‘phase 4’ of the technical processing introduced above, the central RDBMS optimizer component may also determine/group candidates for remote derived source creation based upon latency tolerance and may supply/define refresh requirements/periodicity for each remote derived source; see also paragraph [0108], where at block 512, the process 500 groups the aggregated candidates by latency requirement group based upon latency tolerance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Arye with Crupi for the benefit of distributing materialized table workload to back-end systems (see Crupi, paragraph [0040]).
Regarding Claim 29, Arye in view of Looker and Ma discloses the computer-storage medium of Claim 28, wherein the operations further comprise:
Arye does not disclose separating the plurality of nodes into subsets of nodes based on data processing account association, wherein nodes in a subset of the subsets are associated with a common time instance of a set of aligned time instances. Crupi discloses separating the plurality of nodes into subsets of nodes based on data processing account association, wherein nodes in a subset of the subsets are associated with a common time instance of a set of aligned time instances (see Crupi, paragraph [0041], where within ‘phase 4’ of the technical processing introduced above, the central RDBMS optimizer component may also determine/group candidates for remote derived source creation based upon latency tolerance and may supply/define refresh requirements/periodicity for each remote derived source; see also paragraph [0108], where at block 512, the process 500 groups the aggregated candidates by latency requirement group based upon latency tolerance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Arye with Crupi for the benefit of distributing materialized table workload to back-end systems (see Crupi, paragraph [0040]).
Claims 10, 20, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arye, Looker, Ma, Crupi as applied to Claims 9, 19, and 29 above, and further in view of Shih (US Patent No. 8,812,752 B1).
Regarding Claim 10, Arye in view of Looker, Ma, and Crupi discloses the system of Claim 9, wherein the operations further comprise:
Arye does not disclose:
configuring processing pipelines based on the set of aligned time instances, each processing pipeline of the processing pipelines corresponding to the nodes associated with the common time instance;
selecting a processing pipeline of the processing pipelines based on the corresponding time instances from the set of aligned time instances; and
scheduling refresh operations for one or both of the first intermediate MT and the second intermediate MT using the processing pipeline.
Shih discloses:
configuring processing pipelines based on the set of aligned time instances, each processing pipeline of the processing pipelines corresponding to the nodes associated with the common time instance (see Shih, Claim 1, where the method includes configure a pipeline comprising a first data source node, a second data source node, and an activity node, wherein the first data source node represents first data from the first data source, wherein the second data source node represents second data from the second data source, and wherein the activity node represents a workflow activity that uses the first data and the second data as input; see also column 3, lines 14-18, where in some embodiments, a scheduler associated with the data pipeline may allow users to schedule large numbers of periodic tasks; the tasks may have complex inter-task dependencies; the scheduler may be multi-threaded);
selecting a processing pipeline of the processing pipelines based on the corresponding time instances from the set of aligned time instances (see Shih, Claim 1, where the method includes configure a pipeline comprising a first data source node, a second data source node, and an activity node, wherein the first data source node represents first data from the first data source, wherein the second data source node represents second data from the second data source, and wherein the activity node represents a workflow activity that uses the first data and the second data as input; see also column 3, lines 14-18, where in some embodiments, a scheduler associated with the data pipeline may allow users to schedule large numbers of periodic tasks; the tasks may have complex inter-task dependencies; the scheduler may be multi-threaded); and
scheduling refresh operations for one or both of the first intermediate MT and the second intermediate MT using the processing pipeline (see Shih, Claim 1, where the method includes configure a pipeline comprising a first data source node, a second data source node, and an activity node, wherein the first data source node represents first data from the first data source, wherein the second data source node represents second data from the second data source, and wherein the activity node represents a workflow activity that uses the first data and the second data as input; see also column 3, lines 14-18, where in some embodiments, a scheduler associated with the data pipeline may allow users to schedule large numbers of periodic tasks; the tasks may have complex inter-task dependencies; the scheduler may be multi-threaded).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Arye with Shih for the benefit of flexibility on determining which resources are deployed and when (see Shih, column 2, lines 17-20).
Regarding Claim 20, Arye in view of Looker, Ma, and Crupi discloses the method of Claim 19, further comprising:
Arye does not disclose:
configuring processing pipelines based on the set of aligned time instances, each processing pipeline of the processing pipelines corresponding to the nodes associated with the common time instance;
selecting a processing pipeline of the processing pipelines based on the corresponding time instances from the set of aligned time instances; and
scheduling refresh operations for one or both of the first intermediate MT and the second intermediate MT using the processing pipeline.
Shih discloses:
configuring processing pipelines based on the set of aligned time instances, each processing pipeline of the processing pipelines corresponding to the nodes associated with the common time instance (see Shih, Claim 1, where the method includes configure a pipeline comprising a first data source node, a second data source node, and an activity node, wherein the first data source node represents first data from the first data source, wherein the second data source node represents second data from the second data source, and wherein the activity node represents a workflow activity that uses the first data and the second data as input; see also column 3, lines 14-18, where in some embodiments, a scheduler associated with the data pipeline may allow users to schedule large numbers of periodic tasks; the tasks may have complex inter-task dependencies; the scheduler may be multi-threaded);
selecting a processing pipeline of the processing pipelines based on the corresponding time instances from the set of aligned time instances (see Shih, Claim 1, where the method includes configure a pipeline comprising a first data source node, a second data source node, and an activity node, wherein the first data source node represents first data from the first data source, wherein the second data source node represents second data from the second data source, and wherein the activity node represents a workflow activity that uses the first data and the second data as input; see also column 3, lines 14-18, where in some embodiments, a scheduler associated with the data pipeline may allow users to schedule large numbers of periodic tasks; the tasks may have complex inter-task dependencies; the scheduler may be multi-threaded); and
scheduling refresh operations for one or both of the first intermediate MT and the second intermediate MT using the processing pipeline (see Shih, Claim 1, where the method includes configure a pipeline comprising a first data source node, a second data source node, and an activity node, wherein the first data source node represents first data from the first data source, wherein the second data source node represents second data from the second data source, and wherein the activity node represents a workflow activity that uses the first data and the second data as input; see also column 3, lines 14-18, where in some embodiments, a scheduler associated with the data pipeline may allow users to schedule large numbers of periodic tasks; the tasks may have complex inter-task dependencies; the scheduler may be multi-threaded).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Arye with Shih for the benefit of flexibility on determining which resources are deployed and when (see Shih, column 2, lines 17-20).
Regarding Claim 30, Arye in view of Looker, Ma, and Crupi discloses the computer-storage medium of Claim 29, wherein the operations further comprise:
Arye does not disclose:
configuring processing pipelines based on the set of aligned time instances, each processing pipeline of the processing pipelines corresponding to the nodes associated with the common time instance;
selecting a processing pipeline of the processing pipelines based on the corresponding time instances from the set of aligned time instances; and
scheduling refresh operations for one or both of the first intermediate MT and the second intermediate MT using the processing pipeline.
Shih discloses:
configuring processing pipelines based on the set of aligned time instances, each processing pipeline of the processing pipelines corresponding to the nodes associated with the common time instance (see Shih, Claim 1, where the method includes configure a pipeline comprising a first data source node, a second data source node, and an activity node, wherein the first data source node represents first data from the first data source, wherein the second data source node represents second data from the second data source, and wherein the activity node represents a workflow activity that uses the first data and the second data as input; see also column 3, lines 14-18, where in some embodiments, a scheduler associated with the data pipeline may allow users to schedule large numbers of periodic tasks; the tasks may have complex inter-task dependencies; the scheduler may be multi-threaded);
selecting a processing pipeline of the processing pipelines based on the corresponding time instances from the set of aligned time instances (see Shih, Claim 1, where the method includes configure a pipeline comprising a first data source node, a second data source node, and an activity node, wherein the first data source node represents first data from the first data source, wherein the second data source node represents second data from the second data source, and wherein the activity node represents a workflow activity that uses the first data and the second data as input; see also column 3, lines 14-18, where in some embodiments, a scheduler associated with the data pipeline may allow users to schedule large numbers of periodic tasks; the tasks may have complex inter-task dependencies; the scheduler may be multi-threaded); and
scheduling refresh operations for one or both of the first intermediate MT and the second intermediate MT using the processing pipeline (see Shih, Claim 1, where the method includes configure a pipeline comprising a first data source node, a second data source node, and an activity node, wherein the first data source node represents first data from the first data source, wherein the second data source node represents second data from the second data source, and wherein the activity node represents a workflow activity that uses the first data and the second data as input; see also column 3, lines 14-18, where in some embodiments, a scheduler associated with the data pipeline may allow users to schedule large numbers of periodic tasks; the tasks may have complex inter-task dependencies; the scheduler may be multi-threaded).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Arye with Shih for the benefit of flexibility on determining which resources are deployed and when (see Shih, column 2, lines 17-20).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Arguments, filed April 16, 2026, have been fully considered, but they are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the Applicant’s disclosure:
Sankaranarayanan (WO2015038224A1), which concerns tuning multi-store systems to speed up big data query workloads.
/FARHAD AGHARAHIMI/Examiner, Art Unit 2161
/APU M MOFIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2161