DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The response to restriction submitted on February 20, 2026 cites the election as Group I corresponding to Claims 1-18; however, the examiner interprets that this is a typographic error and the intent of the applicant was Claims 1-8 as corresponds to the claims submitted on February 20, 2026. Claims 1-8 will be examined as is believed to be the intent of the applicant and is consistent with claims submitted.
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 20, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrasing in line 2 after the word “blank” appears to be missing the transitional phrase. The examiner recommends deleting the word “which” and replacing it with “wherein the” in order to correct this error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "exhibited colors of the resulting files" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3 and 4recites the limitation "cyclic (flexural) fatigue resistance" in line 2 of each claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the colors and colors shade shades of the entire work part" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding Claims 3 and 4, it is unclear if the limitation “cyclic (flexural) fatigue resistance” is the same limitation as that of Claim 1 which recites the broader limitation “cyclic fatigue resistance.”
All claims not specifically addressed above are rejected based on their dependency on Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aloise (US 10,716,645 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Aloise discloses a set of hybrid austenite/martensite NiTi endodontic files (Column 8, lines 7-15 and Column 16, lines 44-45), where for each file size in the set a customized heat-treatment is applied to each file after grinding a blank (Column 9, lines 10-15) and each file in the set exhibits different levels of flexibility and torsional resistance (Figure 6) depending on the sizes and exhibited colors of the resulting files (variable size described in Column 14, lines 34-67 and variable color described in Column 9 lines 18-29), and where the color is indicative of degree of cyclic fatigue resistance, torsional resistance or both (Column 9, lines 38-50). Please note: this claim is considered a product by process claims, where the end result of a set of NITi endodontic files with different levels of flexibility and torsional resistance will be given patentable weight, regardless of the method of manufacturing.
Regarding Claim 3, Aloise discloses the set of austenite/martensite NiTi endodontic files of claim 1, and further discloses that the exhibited colors correspond to different levels of cyclic (flexural) fatigue resistance and/or torsional fatigue resistance, wherein the exhibited colors are selected from blue, purple or gold (Column 9, lines 10-50, where the file is disclosed as dark blue).
Regarding Claim 4, Aloise discloses the set of austenite/martensite NiTi endodontic files of claim 3, and further discloses that the levels of cyclic (flexural) fatigue resistance further depend on the size of the file (Figure 6 and described in Column 10 lines 39-44 and Column 13 lines 27-29).
Regarding Claim 5, Aloise discloses the set of austenite/martensite NiTi endodontic files of claim 3, and further discloses that the levels of torsional fatigue resistance further depend on the size of the file (Figure 6 and Column 10, lines 39-41).
Regarding Claim 6, Aloise discloses the set of austenite/martensite NiTi endodontic files of claim 3, and further discloses that the colors and colors shades of the entire work part are purple, blue or gold (Column 9, lines 10-50, where the file is disclosed as dark blue).
Regarding Claim 7, Aloise discloses the set of austenite/martensite NiTi endodontic files of claim 1, and further discloses that the heat treatment comprises multiple variable heat-treatment techniques that decrease the percentage of superelasticity to control memory within a file as file size increases (Column 9, lines 50-57). Please note: this claim is considered a product by process claims, where the end result of a set of NITi endodontic files with different levels of flexibility and torsional resistance will be given patentable weight, regardless of the method of manufacturing.
Regarding Claim 8, Aloise discloses the set of austenite/martensite NiTi endodontic files of claim 1, and further discloses that the heat treatment is applied after grinding the blank based on the final dimensions of the file. Please note: this claim is considered a product by process claims, where the end result of a set of NITi endodontic files with different levels of flexibility and torsional resistance will be given patentable weight, regardless of the method of manufacturing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aloise in view of Cornish et al. (US 2012/0065622 A1, hereinafter “Cornish”).
Regarding Claim 2, Aloise discloses the set of austenite/martensite NiTi endodontic files of claim 1, and discloses that a heat treatment sequence can produce a shiny appearance that can be brown, but does not specifically disclose that an exhibited color is gold. In a similar art of color coded metals, Cornish discloses that electrochemical process can produce a gold color on a wire [0008]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill the art at the time the application was filed that the file of Aloise could exhibit a color that is gold when the specific desired electrochemical process applied produces such a color as is taught by Cornish when processes are also applied to a metal wire to achieve a desired property imparted by the treatment and provide identification thereof (see Cornish, [0008]).
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE L NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/EDWARD MORAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772