DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said two of the substrates” and “the plate springs” lack antecedent basis. For the plate springs, because only “one or more plate springs” has been recited, it cannot then be claimed as necessarily plural. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. (2013/0076838) in view of Miyase et al. (2021/0260880).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki teaches liquid ejection head comprising:
a head that includes:
a plurality of nozzle arrays (fig. 1, arrays corresponding to nozzles 22a) extending along a first direction (fig. 1, into page) and through which liquid is ejected towards a second direction (fig. 1, downward on page) perpendicular to the first direction (see fig. 1);
a plurality of substrates (fig. 1, items 25) extending along the first and second directions (see fig. 1), the substrates corresponding to the nozzle arrays (see fig. 1);
a plurality of heat generating circuits (fig. 1, items 14) each disposed on a corresponding one of the substrates (see fig. 1);
a temperature control structure (fig. 1, item 12) that contacts the heat generating circuits for controlling temperature thereof ([0004]-[0006]); and
one or more springs (fig. 1, items 26) each biased to push one or more of the heat generating circuits against the temperature control structure (see fig. 1).
Suzuki does not teach wherein the springs are plate springs. Miyase teaches this (Miyase, [0031], See fig. 3A, Note plate spring 33 pushing items 18 in opposite directions). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a plate spring of the type disclosed by Miyase instead of the coil spring disclosed by Suzuki because doing so would amount to the simple substitution of one known type of spring for another to obtain predictable results.
Upon substitution of the plate spring of Miyase for the coil springs disclosed by Suzuki, the resultant device would meet the limitation: each of the plate springs is disposed between two of the substrates that are adjacent to each other, and includes two first holding parts that push two heat generating circuits of said two of the substrates in opposite directions away from each other against the temperature control structure. That is, the two holding parts of Miyase’s spring 33 would push against two of Suzuki’s heat generating circuits in opposite directions and against the temperature control structure.
Regarding claim 2, Suzuki in view of Miyase teaches the liquid ejection head according to claim 1, wherein each of the plate springs contacts one or more of the substrates corresponding to said one or more of the heat generating circuits (Note that, upon substituting the springs of Miyase for those of Suzuki, the limitation is met).
Regarding claim 3, Suzuki in view of Miyase teaches the liquid ejection head according to claim 2, wherein each of the two first holding parts two heat generating circuits at an end of the plate spring and each of the plate springs further includes a second holding part that contacts one of the substrates corresponding to said one of the heat generating circuits (Note that, upon substituting the springs of Miyase for those of Suzuki, the limitation is met. Note that “part” can mean anything. Thus, a single plate spring can be said to have a hundred “holding parts” as any portion, no matter how small, is a part).
Regarding claim 4, Suzuki in view of Miyase teaches the liquid ejection head according to claim 1, wherein a total number of the nozzle arrays is equal to a total number of the substrates and a total number of the heat generating circuits (Suzuki, see fig. 1).
Claim(s) 5 and 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Miyase as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Tozuka et al. (2023/0087927).
Regarding claim 5, Suzuki in view of Miyase teaches the liquid ejection head according to claim 4. Suzuki in view of Miyase does not teach wherein the total number of the nozzle arrays is four. Tozuka teaches this (Tozuka, see fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide four nozzle arrays, as disclosed by Tozuka, instead of the two provided by Suzuki because doing so would amount to the simple substitution of one known head arrangement for another to obtain predictable results.
Upon combination of Tozuka with Suzuki in light of Dowel, the resultant device would meet the limitation: a total number of the plate springs is two.
Regarding claim 7, Suzuki in view of Miyase and Tozuka teaches the liquid ejection head according to claim 6, wherein each of the plate springs further includes two second holding parts that contact said two of the substrates (Miyase, fig. 3, Note first and second holding parts at ends of 33 that, when placed in Suzuki’s device, would hold the circuits and the substrates, respectively. Note that “part” can mean anything. Thus, a single plate spring can be said to have a hundred “holding parts” as any portion, no matter how small, is a part).
Regarding claim 8, Suzuki in view of Miyase and Tozuka teaches the liquid ejection head according to claim 7, wherein each of the first and second holding parts has a protruding shape, and each of the two heat generating circuits is clamped between a tip of the protruding shape of one of the first holding parts and an outer surface of the temperature control structure (Miyase, fig. 12, Note first and second holding parts 77 that, when placed in Suzuki’s device, would hold the circuits and the substrates, respectively).
Regarding claim 9, Suzuki in view of Miyase and Tozuka teaches the liquid ejection head according to claim 8, wherein each of said two of the substrates is clamped between a tip of the protruding shape of one of the second holding parts and the outer surface of the temperature control structure (Miyase, fig. 12, Note that, when placed in Suzuki’s device, the holding parts of Miyase’s spring would clamp the substrates in the claimed manner).
Regarding claim 10, Suzuki in view of Miyase and Tozuka teaches the liquid ejection head according to claim 7, wherein each of the plate springs includes a base (Miyase, fig. 12, note part generally indicated by numeral 76 from which first and second holding parts extend).
Regarding claims 11-15 and 17- 20, see rejections of claims 1-10 respectively. Suzuki in view of Miyase does not teach a conveyance belt by which a medium is conveyed towards the head. Tozuka teaches this (Tozuka, fig. 9, Note belt 21201). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to add the conveyance belt disclosed by Tozuka to the device disclosed by Suzuki in view of Miyase because doing so would allow for transport of the print medium.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot in light of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEJANDRO VALENCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853