DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitation providing wherein constitutes a spear track is unclear as to whether the spear track is associated with concave cylinder of Claim 1 from which Claim 4 depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miceli, French Patent Application No. FR 2537262, in view of Priebe, U.S. Patent Application No. 2008/0163503. As to Claim 1, Miceli teaches a speargun sighting device (stock, sheath), 16th and 18th paragraphs. The sighting device may comprise a speargun stock having a concave cylinder along its top surface, see drawing below. Miceli discloses the claimed invention except for indicating that the concave cylinder may be photoluminescent. Priebe teaches that a sighting device (20) may have a photoluminescent (luminous) cylinder (50), paragraph 0037. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Miceli with a photoluminescent cylinder, as taught by Priebe, to provide Miceli with a photoluminescent concave cylinder to yield the predictable result of facilitating the process of orienting the speargun in a low light environment.
As to Claim 2, Miceli teaches that the concave cylinder comprises a concavity dimensioned to receive a spear shaft (3), see drawing above. As to Claim 3, the examiner finds it to be inherent that the concave cylinder may comprise a length. Miceli, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for providing that the length may be substantially dimensioned to the top surface of the speargun stock. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to size the cylinder substantially dimensioned to the top surface of the stock since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). As to Claim 4, the examiner finds that the concavity accepting a spear shaft, discussed in the treatment of Claim 2, constitutes a spear track. Claim 4 is treated as best understood in view of the rejection under 35 USC §112(b). As to Claim 5, Miceli teaches that the concave cylinder may define two sighting portions, see drawing above.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miceli, as modified by Priebe, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Alvarez De Toledo, International Patent Application No. WO 2006/134278. As to Claim 6, Miceli, as modified, teaches a speargun comprising a stock (2) and a photoluminescent concave cylinder, see Figure 1 of Miceli and note discussion above. Miceli, as modified, does not disclose an interchangeable speargun retention block. Alvarez De Toledo teaches an interchangeable speargun retention block (device), 14th paragraph and see Figure 7, noting that the device may be integrated into the head of the speargun (crossbow) and mortise (opening) in the head to receive the device. It follows that the device may be removed and replaced, being reversibly accepted and interchangeable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Miceli, as modified, with an interchangeable speargun retention block reversibly accepted in a mortise within the stock, as taught by Alvarez De Toledo, to provide Miceli, as modified, with an interchangeable retention block, to yield the predictable result of stabilizing spear shafts of varied size while hunting.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miceli, in view of Priebe and Alvarez De Toledo, as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Garofalo, G., French Patent Application No. FR 2798188. Miceli, as modified, substantially shows the claimed limitations, as discussed above. As to Claim 7, Miceli, as modified, is silent as to a second retention block. Garofalo teaches a speargun (underwater elastic shotgun) comprising a first block (306) or alternatively a second block (206), 1st paragraph. The first and second blocks may be received in a mortise (cavity), 1st paragraph. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Miceli, as modified, with first and second blocks alternatively received in the mortise, as taught by Garofalo, to provide Miceli, as modified with interchangeable retention blocks to yield the predictable result of adding versatility to the speargun.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9, 13, 16, and 17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,185,702. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 1 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claim 8, noting that the retention block is constrained within the mortise. It follows that the block body may be dimensioned to fit within the mortise. Claim 9 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claims 1, 2, 4, and 5. Claim 9 of the patent provides a concave cylinder constituting a spear track along a top surface of a speargun stock, suggesting that the concave cylinder length may be substantially dimensioned to the to surface of the stock. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the cylinder length substantially dimensioned to the top surface of the stock, as suggested. Claims 13 and 17 of the patent disclose the limitations of Claim 6. Claim 16 of the patent discloses the limitations of Claim 7.
Conclusion
/JOHN E SIMMS JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711 23 September 2024