DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-22 are pending and currently under consideration for patentability.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/21/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-8, and 11-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen (US 5360330 A) in view of Forsberg (US 20060142733 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Jensen teaches a method for producing a urinary catheter (250), comprising the steps: providing a tubular catheter shaft (252) having an axially extending lumen therein;
Thermoforming (see Col.12, line 55 - Col13, line 23) an end of the tubular catheter shaft into a closed end (254);
Jensen fails to explicitly teach inserting said closed end of the tubular catheter shaft into an injection mold cavity; and injecting thermoplastic polymer material into the mold cavity to form a tip on the thermoformed end of the tubular catheter shaft.
Forsberg discloses (see Fig.3-5) injection molding of a catheter tip (40) on a previously thermoformed (see Par.29) catheter end (22). Hence it is considered that the skilled person confronted with a need to attach a softer tip to the catheter of Jensen would adapt the method of Jensen by addition of the tip injection molding step of Forsberg, in order to solve the problem posed. By doing so he/she would arrive to the subject-matter of claim 1 without exercising of inventive skills.
Regarding Claim 2, Jensen in view of Forsberg teaches the method of claim 1. Jensen further teaches wherein the forming of the tip further comprises cooling the mold cavity to solidify the injected thermoplastic polymer material (column 16, lines 24-50), and removing the tubular catheter shaft with the formed tip from the mold (see Col.12, line 55 – Col 13, line 23).
Regarding Claim 5, Jensen in view of Forsberg teaches the method of claim 1. Jensen further teaches wherein the thermoplastic polymer is heated to a temperature exceeding the melting temperature of the tubular catheter shaft immediately prior to being injection molded into the mold cavity (see Col.12, line 55 - Col13, line 23).
Regarding Claim 6, Jensen in view of Forsberg teaches a method for producing a urinary catheter (250), comprising the steps: providing a tubular catheter shaft (252) having an axially extending lumen therein;
inserting an end of the tubular catheter shaft with a non-closed opening into said lumen into an injection mold cavity (column 16, lines 24-50); and
Jensen fails to teach injecting thermoplastic polymer material into the mold cavity to form a tip on the end of the tubular catheter shaft, whereby the injecting is controlled so that a limited amount of thermoplastic polymer enters into the lumen.
Forsberg discloses injecting thermoplastic polymer material into the mold cavity to form a tip on the end of the tubular catheter shaft, whereby the injecting is controlled so that a limited amount of thermoplastic polymer enters into the lumen (see Par.29). Hence it is considered that the skilled person confronted with a need to attach a softer tip to the catheter of Jensen would adapt the method of Jensen by addition of the tip injection molding step of Forsberg, in order to solve the problem posed. By doing so he/she would arrive to the subject-matter of claim 6 without exercising of inventive skills.
Regarding Claim 7, Jensen in view of Forsberg teaches the method of claim 6. Jensen further teaches further comprising providing an overpressure within the axially extending lumen during the injecting of the thermoplastic polymer material into the mold cavity (column 12, lines 11-36).
Regarding Claim 8, Jensen in view of Forsberg teaches the method of claim 6. Jensen further teaches wherein the forming of the tip further comprises cooling the mold cavity to solidify the injected thermoplastic polymer material, and removing the tubular catheter shaft with the formed tip from the mold (column 10, lines 15-25).
Regarding Claim 11, Jensen in view of Forsberg teaches the method of claim 6. Jensen further teaches wherein the thermoplastic polymer is heated to a temperature exceeding the melting temperature of the tubular catheter shaft immediately prior to being injection molded into the mold cavity (see Col.12, line 55 - Col13, line 23).
Regarding Claim 12, Jenson teaches the method of claim 6. Jenson fails to teach wherein the hardness of the tip is equal to or lower than 60 micro Shore A. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the hardness of the tip is equal to or lower than 60 micro Shore A in order to fit the particular procedure being done since this claimed dimension of the hardness is non-critical. Since applicant has not given any criticality to why the dimension disclosed has any importance to the function of the claimed device (see paragraphs 0031-0033 of applicants specification), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777.
Regarding Claim 13, Jenson teaches the method of claim 6. Jenson fails to teach wherein the hardness of the tip is equal to or lower than 50 micro Shore A. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the hardness of the tip is equal to or lower than 50 micro Shore A in order to fit the particular procedure being done since this claimed dimension of the hardness is non-critical. Since applicant has not given any criticality to why the dimension disclosed has any importance to the function of the claimed device (see paragraphs 0031-0033 of applicants specification), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777.
Regarding Claim 14, Jensen in view of Forsberg teaches the method of claim 1. Jensen further teaches wherein the tip has a lower micro Shore A hardness than the tubular catheter shaft (column 9, lines 30-35).
Regarding Claim 15, Jenson teaches the method of claim 14. Jenson fails to teach wherein the micro Shore A hardness is at least 10% lower. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the micro Shore A hardness is at least 10% lower in order to fit the particular procedure being done since this claimed dimension of the hardness is non-critical. Since applicant has not given any criticality to why the dimension disclosed has any importance to the function of the claimed device (see paragraphs 0031-0033 of applicants specification), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777.
Regarding Claim 16, Jenson teaches the method of claim 14. Jenson fails to teach wherein the micro Shore A hardness is at least 50% lower. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the micro Shore A hardness is at least 50% lower in order to fit the particular procedure being done since this claimed dimension of the hardness is non-critical. Since applicant has not given any criticality to why the dimension disclosed has any importance to the function of the claimed device (see paragraphs 0031-0033 of applicants specification), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777.
Regarding Claim 17, Jensen in view of Forsberg teaches the method of claim 1. Jensen further teaches wherein the thermoformed end forms a tapered contacting surfaces for the tip (column 14, lines 52-53).
Regarding Claim 18, Jensen in view of Forsberg teaches the method of claim 6. Jensen further teaches wherein the tip and the tubular shaft are formed of different materials (column 9, lines 30-35).
Regarding Claim 19, Jensen in view of Forsberg teaches the method of claim 8. Jensen fails to teach wherein a difference between a melting temperature of the material of the tip and a melting temperature of the material of the tubular shaft is less than 20 degrees C. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a difference between a melting temperature of the material of the tip and a melting temperature of the material of the tubular shaft is less than 20 degrees in order to fit the particular procedure being done since this claimed dimension of the melting temperature difference is non critical. Since applicant has not given any criticality to why the dimension disclosed has any importance to the function of the claimed device (see paragraphs 0036 of applicants specification), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777.
Regarding Claim 20, Jensen in view of Forsberg teaches the method of claim 19. Jensen fails to teach wherein a difference between a melting temperature of the material of the tip and a melting temperature of the material of the tubular shaft is less than 10 degrees C. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a difference between a melting temperature of the material of the tip and a melting temperature of the material of the tubular shaft is less than 10 degrees in order to fit the particular procedure being done since this claimed dimension of the melting temperature difference is non critical. Since applicant has not given any criticality to why the dimension disclosed has any importance to the function of the claimed device (see paragraphs 0036 of applicants specification), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777.
Regarding Claim 21, Jensen in view of Forsberg teaches the method of claim 1. Jensen further teaches wherein the melting temperature of the material of the tubular shaft is higher than the melting temperature of the material of the tip (column 11, lines 50-67).
Regarding Claim 22, Jensen in view of Forsberg teaches the method of claim 6. Jensen further teaches wherein the melting temperature of the material of the tubular shaft is higher than the melting temperature of the material of the tip (column 11, lines 50-67).
Claim(s) 3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen (US 5360330 A) in view of Forsberg (US 20060142733 A1) in view of Hollister (WO 2015160492 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Jensen in view of Forsberg teaches the method of claim 1. Jensen fails to teach comprising the step of coating at least a part of the tubular shaft and the tip with a hydrophilic coating. Hollister teaches comprising the step of coating at least a part of the tubular shaft and the tip with a hydrophilic coating (see page 4, lines 20-31 and page 5, lines 13-19). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jenson to comprise the step of coating at least a part of the tubular shaft and the tip with a hydrophilic coating in order to attract fluid into the catheter.
Regarding Claim 9, Jensen in view of Forsberg teaches the method of claim 6. Jensen fails to teach further comprising the step of coating at least a part of the tubular shaft and the tip with a hydrophilic coating . Hollister teaches comprising the step of coating at least a part of the tubular shaft and the tip with a hydrophilic coating (see page 4, lines 20-31 and page 5, lines 13-19). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Jenson to comprise the step of coating at least a part of the tubular shaft and the tip with a hydrophilic coating in order to attract fluid into the catheter.
Claim(s) 4 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen (US 5360330 A) in view of Forsberg (US 20060142733 A1) in view of Nissho (EP 0778045 A2).
Regarding Claim 4, Jensen in view of Forsberg teaches the method of claim 1. Jensen fails to teach further comprising the step of inserting an elongate insert into the axially extending lumen prior to inserting an end of the catheter shaft into the mold, wherein the insert has a smaller outer diameter than the inner diameter of the lumen, forming a gap between an outer circumferential surface of the elongate insert and an inner circumferential surface of the lumen, the insert thereby being loosely arranged within the lumen. Nissho teaches the step of inserting an elongate insert into the axially extending lumen prior to inserting an end of the catheter shaft into the mold, wherein the insert has a smaller outer diameter than the inner diameter of the lumen, forming a gap between an outer circumferential surface of the elongate insert and an inner circumferential surface of the lumen, the insert thereby being loosely arranged within the lumen (column 4, lines 27-48). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jensen to form a gap between an outer circumferential surface of the elongate insert and an inner circumferential surface of the lumen, similar to Nissho so that the insert can be positioned strategically.
Regarding Claim 10, Jensen in view of Forsberg teaches the method of claim 6. Jensen fails to teach further comprising the step of inserting an elongate insert into the axially extending lumen prior to inserting an end of the catheter shaft into the mold, wherein the insert has a smaller outer diameter than the inner diameter of the lumen, forming a gap between an outer circumferential surface of the elongate insert and an inner circumferential surface of the lumen, the insert thereby being loosely arranged within the lumen. Nissho teaches the step of inserting an elongate insert into the axially extending lumen prior to inserting an end of the catheter shaft into the mold, wherein the insert has a smaller outer diameter than the inner diameter of the lumen, forming a gap between an outer circumferential surface of the elongate insert and an inner circumferential surface of the lumen, the insert thereby being loosely arranged within the lumen (column 4, lines 27-48). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jensen to form a gap between an outer circumferential surface of the elongate insert and an inner circumferential surface of the lumen, similar to Nissho so that the insert can be positioned strategically.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 5645528 A and US 20160184551 A1.
/REBECCA E EISENBERG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3781