DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by D1 (US 20150021840 A1).
With regards to claim 1, D1 discloses a bearing device (vibration absorbing apparatus), comprising a mount 1, a support unit 2, and a vibration absorption unit 3, wherein the mount is connected to the support unit; the support unit is connected to the vibration absorption unit; and the vibration absorption unit includes at least one elastic member 5 [0024-0029] (Fig. 1).
With regards to claim 2, D1 discloses wherein the vibration absorption unit includes a first elastic member 5 and a second elastic member 4, the first elastic member and the second elastic member being disposed in different directions [0027-0035, 0039-0042, 0044-0047] (Figs. 1-6).
With regards to claim 3, D1 discloses wherein a direction where the fist elastic member is disposed is perpendicular to a direction where the second elastic member is disposed [0046-0047] (Fig. 6).
With regards to claim 6, D1 discloses a connecting member 6, wherein the support unit 2 is connected to the connecting member through the vibration absorption unit 3 [0024-0027] (Figs. 1, 5, 7, and 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1.
With regards to claims 4 and 5, D1 discloses wherein the first and second elastic members are disposed in various directions (Fig. 6), but does not teach the claimed configuration. Nevertheless, such a modification would have been known and considered obvious. It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify D1 with the claimed configuration to facilitate installation while maintaining multi-directional vibration isolation.
Claims 19, 21, 24, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 in view of D2 (US 20140044241 A1).
With regards to claim 19, D1 discloses the bearing device of claim 1, but does not teach the mobile digital radiography device. D2 teaches a mobile digital radiography device comprising a C-arm, an X ray source mounted to a supporting structure, and a beam limiting arrangement associated with the X-ray source [0022-0027] (Fig. 1). It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of D1 and D2 in order to improve image quality during x-ray imaging by reducing vibration induced image degradation. Although D2 does not expressly teach the claimed hole, providing such an opening would have been considered obvious, if not already inherent, since emitted x-ray beams must pass from the source to the beam limiter and subsequently toward the imaging subject.
With regards to claim 21, D1 discloses bearing device comprising a bottom plate 1, a support unit 2, a vibration absorption unit 3 disposed between the bottom plate and support unit [0024-0041] (Figs. 1-5) , first and second elastic members 4, 5 disposed in different directions and configured to attenuate vibration in the axial direction and radial direction [0039-0042] (Fig. 4), wherein the first and second elastic members extend along respective directions relative to the mounting surfaces of the bottom plate and support unit, thus forming an inclination angle as claimed. D1 does not teach wherein the bearing unit supports an x-ray tube. D2 teaches an x-ray tube mounted through a vibration isolating support structure to reduce transmissions of vibration and improve imaging quality [0022-0027] (Fig. 1-3). It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of D1 and D2 in order to improve image quality during x-ray imaging by reducing vibration induced image degradation.
With regards to claim 24, D1 discloses wherein the support unit includes a first support component 3 and a second support component 3 (Fig. 7);the first support component and the second support component are located on a same side of the bottom plate and are fixedly disposed at two opposite ends of the bottom plate, respectively (Fig. 7). D1 does not teach wherein the bearing unit supports an x-ray tube. D2 teaches an x-ray tube mounted through a vibration isolating support structure to reduce transmissions of vibration and improve imaging quality [0022-0027] (Fig. 1-3). It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of D1 and D2 in order to improve image quality during x-ray imaging by reducing vibration induced image degradation.
With regards to claim 25, D1 discloses wherein each of the first support component and the second support component is provided with at least one first elastic member 4 and at least one second elastic member 5.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-12, 14, 17, 18, and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Prior art does not teach the specific configuration of the first and second connecting members, the first and second vibration absorption components, and the first and second support components as claimed in claim 7; the first elastic member and the first and second elastic element as claimed in claim 14; the connecting member as claimed in claim 17; and/or the first or second elastic member as claimed in claim 22.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MARCUS H TANINGCO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884