DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in CN on 11/22/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 202311566488X application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 2, “Material bins” should read “material bins”
On line 4, “Wherein the device” should read “’wherein the device”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 2, “A cloud platform” should read “a cloud platform”
On line 3, “A device” should read “a device”.
On line 6, “An order management system” should read “an order management system”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-12, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruffett et al. (US 20230339738 A1), hereinafter “Bruffett”, in view of Kuo (US 20260137232 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bruffett discloses a method for catering preparation, comprising: providing raw material bins of a device for catering preparation, and filling each of the bins with the corresponding raw material (para. [0035]; Fig. 1-2, dispensing system 130, ingredient dispensers 134 storing one or more ingredients, ingredient identifiers);
the device for catering preparation receives orders, each of which includes a name and quantity of a food or a beverage (para. [0032], [0064]; order management system 110 receives a beverage order for a first beverage; order information can include a food identifier, a beverage identifier, or modifications);
the device for catering preparation parses each of the orders (para. [0033], [0093]; order management system can capture and/or analyze the order to identify modifications),
the device for catering preparation drives a driving device of the raw material bin corresponding to the code of each of the raw materials and its quantity required, to dispense the quantity of the raw material (para.[0035], [0077]; the controller 136 can obtain recipe information and can communicate instructions to the base ingredient machine 132 and/or the ingredient dispensers 134 to cause the base ingredient machine 132 and/or the ingredient dispensers 134 to dispense ingredients in accordance with a recipe information).
Bruffett discloses an apparatus that dispenses precise amount from the respective ingredient dispenses based on instructions from a controller contemplating the capability of uniquely identifying each ingredient dispenser with the ingredients stored inside (para. [0077]). However, Bruffett does not explicitly disclose the raw material bins of a device for catering preparation corresponding to codes of raw materials.
Kuo discloses a beverage dispenser that disclose the raw material bins of a device for catering preparation with corresponding to codes of raw materials (para. [0067]; the ingredient containers have identification information (e.g., a QR code, bar code, identification number) for ingredients that are scanned as they are installed or replaced in the beverage dispenser).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bruffett and incorporate the teachings in Kuo where the raw material bins of a device for catering preparation are associated with corresponding to codes of raw materials to improve ingredient verification, prevent the installation or filling of incorrect ingredient, enable automatic mapping of ingredients to dispensing locations (Kuo: para. [0076]).
Regarding claim 2, Bruffett in view of Kuo, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Bruffett further discloses, the order further includes preparation modes, capacity specifications, and sweetness levels, and when parsing the order, the device for catering preparation further obtains the codes and quantities of required raw materials that correspond to the name of the food or beverage according to the preparation modes, capacity specifications, and sweetness levels (para. [0013], [0018],[0033]; a user orders a particular beverage and chooses modifications (e.g., ingredient modifications, sequence modifications, size modifications, operation modifications) .
Regarding claim 3, Bruffett in view of Kuo, discloses all the limitations of claim 2. Bruffett further discloses the preparation modes include cold preparation mode and hot preparation mode, the capacity specifications include large, medium, or small cup, and the sweetness levels include standard sugar, half of standard sugar, seventy percent of standard sugar, or thirty percent of standard sugar (para. [0013], [0018],[0034]; size of a beverage (e.g., small, medium, large, operations for the beverage (heating, chilling), and no sweetener or half sugar).
Regarding claim 4, Bruffett in view of Kuo, discloses all the limitations of claim 2. Bruffett further discloses the device for catering preparation firstly determines a container for holding the beverage or food according to operation modes and capacity specifications before driving the driving devices of the raw material bins, and then combining with the preparation mode and sweetness level, obtains the codes and quantities of raw materials codes required for the food or beverage name under the corresponding preparation mode and sweetness level (para. [0011]; beverage is output into a particular receptacle (e.g., container, cup, etc.) based on the yield of the beverage).
Regarding claim 5, Bruffett in view of Kuo, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Bruffett further discloses wherein if there are raw materials required by the name of the food or beverage without corresponding raw material bins, those raw materials are determined to be dispensed by manual operation (para. [0056]; liquid such as hot or cold water may be dispensed manually).
Regarding claim 6, Bruffett in view of Kuo, discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Bruffett further discloses wherein the device for catering preparation includes an upper computer and a lower computer (para. [0040]; Fig. 1; order management system and product data system 120 (upper computer); automated dispenser (lower computer)), and
the method further comprises the following steps: after parsing the order, sending the codes and quantities of the raw materials corresponding to the food or beverage name to the upper computer, which sends driving instructions for the driving devices of each material bin corresponding to codes of the raw material to the lower computer (para. [0108]-[0101]; dispenser requests computer-executable instructions from the recipe manager 122; the recipe manager 122 communicates computer-executable instructions to the automated dispensing system), and
the lower computer drives the driving devices of the material bins according to the driving instructions to dispense the corresponding quantities of raw materials (para.[0035], [0077]; the controller 136 can obtain recipe information and can communicate instructions to the base ingredient machine 132 and/or the ingredient dispensers 134 to cause the base ingredient machine 132 and/or the ingredient dispensers 134 to dispense ingredients in accordance with a recipe information).
Regarding claim 7, Bruffett in view of Kuo, discloses all the limitations of claim 6. Bruffett further discloses the device for catering preparation is connected to a cloud platform, and receives orders through an order management system that is connected to both it and the cloud platform (para. [0027]-[0029]; Fig. 1), and
wherein the order management system parses the order by accessing the cloud platform, where the food or beverage names and corresponding codes and quantities of raw material are provided (para. [0046]-[0048]).
Regarding claim 10, Bruffett discloses a device for catering preparation, comprising: material bins for holding raw materials (para. [0035]; Fig. 1-2, dispensing system 130, ingredient dispensers 134 storing one or more ingredients);
Wherein the device for catering preparation includes or is connected to an order management system, which receives orders that include food or beverage names and quantities (para. [0030], [0032], [0064]; Fig. 1, order management system 110 receives a beverage order for a first beverage; order information can include a food identifier, a beverage identifier, or a modifications),
parses each order to correspond the food or beverage names with the required codes and quantities of raw materials required (para. [0093]; Fig. 5; the recipe manager 122 identifies a first formula), and
wherein the device for catering preparation drives the driving devices of the material bins corresponding to the codes and quantities of the raw materials required to dispense the corresponding quantities of the raw materials (para. [0077]; the automated dispensing system 130 can include a controller 136, one or more ingredient dispensers 134, and/or a base ingredient machine 132. Each ingredient dispenser 134 can store one or more ingredients, and can be controlled by the controller 136 to dispense a precise amount of the respective ingredient).
Kuo discloses a beverage dispenser that disclose the raw material bins of a device for catering preparation with corresponding to codes of raw materials (para. [0067]; the ingredient containers have identification information (e.g., a QR code, bar code, identification number) for ingredients that are scanned as they are installed or replaced in the beverage dispenser).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bruffett and incorporate the teachings in Kuo where the raw material bins of a device for catering preparation are associated with corresponding to codes of raw materials to improve ingredient verification, prevent the installation or filling of incorrect ingredient, enable automatic mapping of ingredients to dispensing locations (Kuo: para. [0076]).
Regarding claim 11, Bruffett in view of Kuo, discloses all the limitations of claim 10. Bruffett further discloses an upper computer and a lower computer (para. [0040]; Fig. 1; order management system and product data system 120 (upper computer); automated dispenser (lower computer)),
wherein the upper computer receives the codes and quantities of raw materials corresponding to the food or beverage names sent by the order management system, and sends driving instructions to the lower computer to drive the driving device of each of material bins corresponding to the codes of raw materials (para. [0108]-[0101]; dispenser requests computer-executable instructions from the recipe manager 122; the recipe manager 122 communicates computer-executable instructions to the automated dispensing system), and
wherein the lower computer drives the driving devices of the material bins according to the driving instructions to dispense the corresponding quantities of raw materials (para.[0035], [0077]; the controller 136 can obtain recipe information and can communicate instructions to the base ingredient machine 132 and/or the ingredient dispensers 134 to cause the base ingredient machine 132 and/or the ingredient dispensers 134 to dispense ingredients in accordance with a recipe information).
Regarding claim 12, Bruffett in view of Kuo, discloses all the limitations of claim 11. Bruffett further discloses the order management system is connected to the device for catering preparation via a cloud platform (para. [0027]-[0029]; Fig. 1), and
corresponds the beverage name to each of the codes and quantities of the raw materials required, and sends codes and quantities of raw materials to the upper computer of the device for catering preparation through the cloud platform (para. [0046]-[0048]).
Regarding claim 14, Bruffett discloses a system for catering preparation, comprising: a cloud platform (para. [0027]-[0029]; Fig. 1);
a device for catering preparation, connected to the cloud platform, comprising material bins for holding raw materials, with each of the material bins corresponding to one of codes of the raw materials (para. [0035]; Fig. 1-2, dispensing system 130, ingredient dispensers 134 storing one or more ingredients);
an order management system, provided in the device for catering preparation or connected to both of the cloud platform and the device for catering preparation, for receiving orders that include a beverage or a food name and a quantity (para. [0027]-[0032], [0064]; Fig. 1, order management system 110 is connected to both the cloud platform and the dispenser; receives a beverage order for a first beverage; order information can include a food identifier, a beverage identifier, or a modifications),
wherein the order management system corresponds the beverage name or the food name in the order to the codes and quantities of the raw materials required, and distributes the codes and the quantities of the raw materials to the device for catering preparation (para. [0033], [0070]-[0075], [0093]; order management system can capture and/or analyze the order to identify modifications; recipe generation policy is used to create the requested beverage using a plurality of ingredients), and
wherein the device for catering preparation sequentially drives each of the driving devices of the material bins corresponding to one of the codes of the raw materials and dispenses the corresponding quantity of raw material (para.[0035], [0077]; the controller 136 can obtain recipe information and can communicate instructions to the base ingredient machine 132 and/or the ingredient dispensers 134 to cause the base ingredient machine 132 and/or the ingredient dispensers 134 to dispense ingredients in accordance with a recipe information).
Regarding claim 15, Bruffett in view of Kuo, discloses all the limitations of claim 14. Bruffett further discloses the cloud platform comprises a recipe management database for being input the names of the beverages or foods and corresponding recipes, and wherein each of the recipes comprises codes and quantities of the raw materials required (para. [0037], [0040]; Fig. 1, recipe database 124).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruffett et al. (US 20230339738 A1), in view of Kuo (US 20260137232 A1), and in further view of Kuo et al. (US 20260138860 A1), hereinafter “Kuo-2”.
Regarding claim 8, Bruffett in view of Kuo, discloses all the limitations of claim 7. Bruffett further discloses the cloud platform is also provided with status information for the device for catering preparation (para. [0099]; data may indicate the plurality of automated dispensing systems, a status of the plurality of automated dispensing systems (e.g., available, unavailable, online, offline, busy, installed, uninstalled, maintenance needed).
However, Bruffett in view of Kuo, does not disclose after the lower computer receives the driving instructions and completes the instructions, it sends a receipt back to the upper computer, which requests the cloud platform to change working status, and the cloud platform changes the status of the device for catering preparation to "in progress" or "completed," and this status information is then distributed by the cloud platform to the upper computer.
Kuo-2 discloses a beverage dispensing machine connected a cloud platform that, after the lower computer receives the driving instructions and completes the instructions, it sends a receipt back to the upper computer, which requests the cloud platform to change working status, and the cloud platform changes the status of the device for catering preparation to "in progress" or "completed," and this status information is then distributed by the cloud platform to the upper computer (para. [0098], Figs. 1, 8, the process 800 can monitor the status of the order and update the record within a database at a remote system, periodically (or continuously) until the beverage(s) in the order are prepared and/or until the order is picked up at the core vending location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dispenser of Bruffett in view of Kuo, and further incorporate the teachings in Kuo-2 where the lower computer receives the driving instructions and completes the instructions, it sends a receipt back to the upper computer, which requests the cloud platform to change working status, and the cloud platform changes the status of the device for catering preparation to "in progress" or "completed," and this status information is then distributed by the cloud platform to the upper computer to improve order management and coordination of beverage production which would allow the cloud computer to provide customers with real-time update and prediction as to when their orders will be completed (Kuo-2: para. [0046]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Bruffett, Kuo and Kuo-2, discloses all the limitations of claim 8. Bruffett further discloses the cloud platform also has a recipe database, which includes recipes corresponding to the food and beverage names, where the recipes correspond the food and beverage names to the required raw material codes and quantities (para. [0037], [0040]; Fig. 1, recipe database 124).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bruffett et al. (US 20230339738 A1), in view of Kuo (US 20260137232 A1), and in further view of Hu et al. (US 20170011442 A1), hereinafter “Hu”.
Regarding claim 13, Bruffett in view of Kuo, discloses all the limitations of claim 11. Bruffett in view of Kuo, does not disclose lower computer sending a receipt back to the upper computer after receiving and completing the drive instructions and wherein the upper computer sends the working status of the device of catering preparation to the cloud platform.
Hu discloses an automated serving machine connected a cloud platform where the lower computer sends a receipt back to the upper computer after receiving and completing the drive instructions and wherein the upper computer sends the working status of the device of catering preparation to the cloud platform (para. [0065]-[0066]; Figs. 1, 7A; based upon the completion of the order, the control system 116 notifies the server 102, via the central controller 110, regarding the completion of the order).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dispenser of Bruffett in view of Kuo, and further incorporate the teachings in Hu of the lower computer sending a receipt back to the upper computer after receiving and completing the drive instructions and wherein the upper computer sends the working status of the device of catering preparation to the cloud platform to improve order management and improve customer satisfaction by providing customers with reminders and reducing the time for completed order to wait for pickup in the hold zone (Hu: para. [0069]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Beavis (US 20230383734 A1) discloses a processing system that is used to generate products from a plurality of separate ingredients, including RFID tags affixed to the product container that are used to identify the product contained. The reference also discloses parsing a recipe to identify ingredients and controlling dispenser to dispense ingredients (para. [0259], [0269], [0306])
/TEMESGEN M. MARU/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/JACOB S. SCOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655