DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s communication filed on 05/29/2026. Claims 1-3,6-13 have been examined. Claims 4-5 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks – Pages 10-12 , filed on 5/29/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1,12,13 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of FORT.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3,9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bach et al. Publication No. US 2022/0327438 A1 (Bach hereinafter) in view of FORT et al. Publication No. US 20022/0374973 A1 ( FORT hereinafter)
Regarding claim 1,
Bach teaches a server apparatus for managing use of a seat in a facility and use of equipment in the facility (¶ 0009), the server apparatus comprising circuitry configured to:
receive a first application for requesting use of the seat by a user from a communication terminal (¶0009 -the hot-desking portal being further configured to (1) receive, from a user device over at least one communication network, a request to reserve the at least one hot-desking station for a predetermined period – ¶ 0107 – A user may reserve the hot-desking station 102 associated with the hot-desk panel 122, such as by opening and using a user device app on the user communication device 120, by directly using the graphical user interface on the display screen 224 or the hard keys, or by directly accessing the hot-desking portal 108, such as using a browser);
create [..] a list of identification information for identifying the equipment [..] in the facility in response to receiving the first application; transmit the list of identification information to the communication terminal (¶ 0149 -Upon locating an available desk, the hot-desking portal 108 then transmits, over the one or more networks 106 to the hot-desking app on the user's personal communications device 120, information providing details of the reserved hot-desk or workspace. Such information may include the desk, cubicle, or room number, and the location, floor and neighboring workers or facilities within the building. For more remote reservations, the information may include the building address as well as the city, state, and/or country where the building is located. Moreover, a map showing location within the building of the reserved hot desk or workspace may be provided and/or a map showing the location of the building where the reserved hot-desk or workspace is located. Other information may include the facilities and amenities associated with the reserved desk, such as the type of display needed, whether a laptop is needed or being provided by the user, the type of telephone needed, whether a printer is needed and the kind needed);
receive a second application for requesting use of the equipment by the user, from the communication terminal, the equipment being identified with the identification information; ( ¶0011 -receive, from the user device over the at least one communication network, scanned data read by the user device from the 2D code displayed by the hot-desk panel of the reserved hot-desking station. In response to receiving the scanned data, check in the user to the one of the plurality of hot-desking stations and tum on and configure the at least one device of the reserved hotdesking station; ¶ 0150 - The hot-desking portal 108 also activates and configures the reserved hot-desk or workspace 102. Such activation may include activating one or more features, inputs, outputs, and/or ports of the docking station 104 depending on the facilities to be made available to the user. For example, the hot-desking portal 108 may control the docking station 104 to provide power to one or more monitors, printers, and/or other peripherals to the user depending on the requirements of the particular user); and
store information on the seat relating to the first application and the identification information for identifying the equipment relating to the second application in association with each other (¶ 0091 -The hot-desking portal 108 may include a plurality of software engines for providing the workspace management services discussed herein. Software engines may include a data structuring engine configured for structuring received data in order to establish various relationships, including, but not limited to, data regarding the hot-desking station or workspace 102, data regarding users of communication devices 120, and reservation information. Such data regarding the hot-desking stations or workspace 102 may include location data, workspace equipment present, and data on the electronic devices located at the hot-desking station or workspace 102, or the like. The software engines may also comprise a data retrieval engine for interfacing with other sources of data- ¶0120 -The hot-desking portal 108 may further maintain workspace information associated with each hot-desking station or workspace 102, including, but not limited to, the location of the hot-desking station or workspace 102 within a building, the department (or team) to which the hot-desking station or workspace 102 belongs (if any), access levels to the hot-desking station or workspace 102, and available resources such as the equipment present at each hot-desking station or workspace 102).
However, Bach does not explicitly teach
a memory configured to store information on the equipment stored in a smart locker; create , based on the information stored in the memory, a list of identification information for identifying the equipment stored in the smart locker; transmit, to the communication terminal, a passcode for unlocking the smart locker in which the equipment relating to the second application is stored, the passcode being stored in association with the identification information for identifying the equipment relating to the second application;
FORT teaches
a memory configured to store information on the equipment stored in a smart locker (Fig.3 ¶0036, The control circuit-CPU 150-may be a microprocessor, a microcontroller, programmable integrated circuit or other computer chip. The CPU 150 is programmed or configured to access a program with operational instructions. In some embodiments, the CPU 150 may include an integrated memory component with operational programs. The CPU 150 is connected to a memory 152, which may store locker access tables and instructions, analysis instructions, and data obtained by sensors in the lockers 120-128, code reader 160, camera 158, associated cameras and surveillance equipment – Para 0037 - The memory 152 may store item rental information in some embodiments and facilitate rentals for available products stored in the lockers 120-128 – Para 0055 - The memory 152 may store item rental information in some embodiments and facilitate rentals for available products stored in the lockers 120-128 – Para 0057 -When the item passes by the open locker door and into the locker 122, the RFID antenna reads the item's RFID tag having an item identifier. The locker system 102 stores the item identifier in memory associated with the locker 122.).
create , based on the information stored in the memory, a list of identification information for identifying the equipment stored in the smart locker (¶ 0071 -the locker system 102 may provide images of the stored item for the customer to review prior to opening the locker. If the locker system 102 holds multiple corresponding items, the locker system 102 may display images for each of the available items and allow the customer to select the preferred item - Para 010 - The rental system database and computer may include an inventory of rentable items, along with their location and other pertinent information. In some embodiments, the rental system computer manages the rental process from rental selection and scheduling, coordinating pick-up location and availability, rental charges and time tracking and rental completion – ¶0044 - Receiving a rental request may include receiving a reservation made through a separate rental app available online or on a user's mobile device 112. During the reservation process, the user may enter necessary information for the rental, including the item, personal information, payment, expected duration, etc. This information is received in the rental system computer 104 and stored in the database 106. The rental system computer 104 may confirm the reservation is complete and an item is available – ¶0071 - the rental app on the user's mobile device 112 may include an augmented reality option to allow a person to view the available items in the lockers).
transmit, to the communication terminal, a passcode for unlocking the smart locker in which the equipment relating to the second application is stored, the passcode being stored in association with the identification information for identifying the equipment relating to the second application (¶ 0064 – ¶0066 - the rental system computer 104 provides a rental access code to a customer. The rental access code may be provided in the same ways as the delivery access code. For example, the rental system computer 104 may confirm that a selected drill is available for rent and stored in locker system 102. The rental system computer 104 may then send an access code to the customer's mobile device 112 along with the rental item information. The rental system computer 104 may send the rental access code using any col11lllunication network. For example, the rental system computer 104 may send a text to the customer's mobile device 112.- the rental system computer 104 may send an update to the locker system 102 through the network 108 including the assigned rental access code for the item rental. The update may also include customer identification, item information and a locker or lockers with acceptable items for rental.- ¶ 0072 -the rental access code may be correlated to a specific locker by the rental system computer 104. For example, the locker system 102 may electronically unlatch locker 126 to allow the customer to remove the item---e.g., a portable compressor. ¶ 0075 – Para 0076 - the locker system 102 may send a rental confirmation with the rental access code, a locker number, images showing the item and its condition, and its RFID tag information. This information may be updated and stored in database 106. See Also Claim 10).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bach to include the teachings of FORT. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to facilitate unattended rentals to customers by allowing a customer to rent an item when a rental company representative is not available. The remote rental management system coordinates the supply of the item, receipt of the item by the customer, rental time and accounting, and the return of the item (FORT – ¶ 0005).
Regarding claim 2,
Bach further teaches
wherein: the circuitry is configured to transmit information on the equipment in the facility to the communication terminal in response to receiving the first application (Claim 1, ¶0009 - transmit, to the user device over the at least one communication network, an indication that the identification information associated with the user was verified and information describing a location and features of the reserved least one hot-desking station);
the information on the equipment transmitted to the communication terminal is a list of a plurality of pieces of equipment in the facility for use by the user (¶0091 - Software engines may include a data structuring engine configured for structuring received data in order to establish various relationships, including, but not limited to, data regarding the hot-desking station or workspace 102, data regarding users of communication devices 120, and reservation information. Such data regarding the hot-desking stations or workspace 102 may include location data, workspace equipment present, and data on the electronic devices located at the hot-desking station or workspace 102, or the like); and
the second application includes the identification information for identifying the equipment selected by the user from the list of the plurality of pieces of equipment (¶0145 - The user may also be required to enter information indicating the amenities needed, such as the type of display needed, whether a laptop is needed or being provided by the user, the type of telephone needed, whether a printer is needed and the kind needed).
Regarding claim 3,
Bach further teaches
wherein: the circuitry is configured to transmit information on the equipment in the facility to the communication terminal in response to receiving the first application (Claim 1, ¶¶ 0009 - transmit, to the user device over the at least one communication network, an indication that the identification information associated with the user was verified and information describing a location and features of the reserved least one hot-desking station);
the information on the equipment transmitted to the communication terminal is information indicating one type of equipment in the facility for use by the user (¶ 0091 - Software engines may include a data structuring engine configured for structuring received data in order to establish various relationships, including, but not limited to, data regarding the hot-desking station or workspace 102, data regarding users of communication devices 120, and reservation information. Such data regarding the hot-desking stations or workspace 102 may include location data, workspace equipment present, and data on the electronic devices located at the hot-desking station or workspace 102, or the like); and
the second application requests the use of the one type of equipment (¶0009- in response to receiving the scanned data, check in the user into the at least one hot-desking station, and activate and configure the at least one docking station – ¶0123 - The hot-desking station or workspace 102 may further be equipped with a telephone 124 which may be activated by the hot-desking portal 108 upon user check-in at the hot-desk panel 122 – See ¶0145).
Regarding claim 9,
Bach further teaches
wherein: the first application requests to start using the seat in response to receiving the first application or at a date and time specified by the user; and the second application requests to start using the equipment in response to receiving the second application or at a date and time specified by the user (¶0005 - With space booking the user has to log in remotely from home and select their workspace for a given day or range of days with availability of the workspace assured – The employee then checks in at the office to activate the workspace. ¶0009 - in response to receiving the scanned data, check in the user into the at least one hot-desking station, and activate and configure the at least one docking station. ¶0144 - using the hot-desking app, the user enters a request to reserve a desk. The user may then be required to enter the time and date desired – ¶ 0198 - the user enters a request to reserve that desk or another desk into the touchscreen 803. The user may then be required to enter the time and date desired. The user may also be required to enter information indicating the preferred location of the desk. Depending on the options available to the user, such location information may be as specific as a given desk or desks within a particular area of a specific building or adjacent to a particular group of other users).
Regarding claim 10,
Bach further teaches
wherein the circuitry is configured to transmit unlocking information for unlocking a locker to the communication terminal in response to starting of the use of the seat (¶0121 - triggered event may include the unlocking of and switching on power provided to one or more power supplies, such as receptacles, located at the hot-desking station or workspace 102 -¶0258 - After the user has checked in, the smart locker portal then enables access to the smart locker, such as by transmitting a signal over the one or more networks 106 to the smart locker that instructs the smart locker to pen so the user may access the contents stored therein – See Also ¶ 0005, Claim 11).
Regarding claim 11,
Bach further teaches
wherein the unlocking information is any one of a one-dimensional code, a two-dimensional code, and a character string including at least one of letters, numbers, or symbols (¶ 0251 - The smart locker portal then accesses the user database 112 and looks up whether the received user login and password is stored in the user data base 112 as a valid login and password. If the login and password are found in the data base 112 and are valid, then the hot-desking portal 108 logs in the user. The smart locker portal then transmits a message over the one or more networks 106 to the smart locker app running on the user's personal communications device 120 indicating that user has been authenticated).
Regarding claim 12,
Bach teaches a method performed by a server apparatus for managing use of a seat in a facility and use of equipment in the facility,(¶ 0009), the method comprising:
receiving a first application for requesting use of the seat by a user from a communication terminal (¶ 0009 -the hot-desking portal being further configured to (1) receive, from a user device over at least one communication network, a request to reserve the at least one hot-desking station for a predetermined period – ¶ 0107 – A user may reserve the hot-desking station 102 associated with the hot-desk panel 122, such as by opening and using a user device app on the user communication device 120, by directly using the graphical user interface on the display screen 224 or the hard keys, or by directly accessing the hot-desking portal 108, such as using a browser);
creating [..] a list of identification information for identifying the equipment[..] in response to receiving the first application; transmitting the list of identification information to the communication terminal (¶ 0149 -Upon locating an available desk, the hot-desking portal 108 then transmits, over the one or more networks 106 to the hot-desking app on the user's personal communications device 120, information providing details of the reserved hot-desk or workspace. Such information may include the desk, cubicle, or room number, and the location, floor and neighboring workers or facilities within the building. For more remote reservations, the information may include the building address as well as the city, state, and/or country where the building is located. Moreover, a map showing location within the building of the reserved hot desk or workspace may be provided and/or a map showing the location of the building where the reserved hot-desk or workspace is located. Other information may include the facilities and amenities associated with the reserved desk, such as the type of display needed, whether a laptop is needed or being provided by the user, the type of telephone needed, whether a printer is needed and the kind needed);
receiving a second application for requesting use of the equipment by the user, from the communication terminal, the equipment being identified with the identification information ( ¶ 0011 -receive, from the user device over the at least one communication network, scanned data read by the user device from the 2D code displayed by the hot-desk panel of the reserved hot-desking station. In response to receiving the scanned data, check in the user to the one of the plurality of hot-desking stations and tum on and configure the at least one device of the reserved hotdesking station; ¶ 0150 - The hot-desking portal 108 also activates and configures the reserved hot-desk or workspace 102. Such activation may include activating one or more features, inputs, outputs, and/or ports of the docking station 104 depending on the facilities to be made available to the user. For example, the hot-desking portal 108 may control the docking station 104 to provide power to one or more monitors, printers, and/or other peripherals to the user depending on the requirements of the particular user); and
storing information on the seat relating to the first application and the identification information for identifying the equipment relating to the second application in association with each other (¶ 0091 -The hot-desking portal 108 may include a plurality of software engines for providing the workspace management services discussed herein. Software engines may include a data structuring engine configured for structuring received data in order to establish various relationships, including, but not limited to, data regarding the hot-desking station or workspace 102, data regarding users of communication devices 120, and reservation information. Such data regarding the hot-desking stations or workspace 102 may include location data, workspace equipment present, and data on the electronic devices located at the hot-desking station or workspace 102, or the like. The software engines may also comprise a data retrieval engine for interfacing with other sources of data- ¶ 0120 -The hot-desking portal 108 may further maintain workspace information associated with each hot-desking station or workspace 102, including, but not limited to, the location of the hot-desking station or workspace 102 within a building, the department (or team) to which the hot-desking station or workspace 102 belongs (if any), access levels to the hot-desking station or workspace 102, and available resources such as the equipment present at each hot-desking station or workspace 102);
However, Bach does not explicitly teach
storing in a memory, information on the equipment stored in a smart locker; creating , based on the information stored in the memory, a list of identification information for identifying the equipment stored in the smart locker; transmitting , to the communication terminal, a passcode for unlocking the smart locker in which the equipment relating to the second application is stored, the passcode being stored in association with the identification information for identifying the equipment relating to the second application.
FORT teaches
storing in a memory, information on the equipment stored in a smart locker; (Fig.3 Para 0036, The control circuit-CPU 150-may be a microprocessor, a microcontroller, programmable integrated circuit or other computer chip. The CPU 150 is programmed or configured to access a program with operational instructions. In some embodiments, the CPU 150 may include an integrated memory component with operational programs. The CPU 150 is connected to a memory 152, which may store locker access tables and instructions, analysis instructions, and data obtained by sensors in the lockers 120-128, code reader 160, camera 158, associated cameras and surveillance equipment – Para 0037 - The memory 152 may store item rental information in some embodiments and facilitate rentals for available products stored in the lockers 120-128 – Para 0055 - The memory 152 may store item rental information in some embodiments and facilitate rentals for available products stored in the lockers 120-128 – Para 0057 -When the item passes by the open locker door and into the locker 122, the RFID antenna reads the item's RFID tag having an item identifier. The locker system 102 stores the item identifier in memory associated with the locker 122.).
creating , based on the information stored in the memory, a list of identification information for identifying the equipment stored in the smart locker (Para 0071 -the locker system 102 may provide images of the stored item for the customer to review prior to opening the locker. If the locker system 102 holds multiple corresponding items, the locker system 102 may display images for each of the available items and allow the customer to select the preferred item - Para 010 - The rental system database and computer may include an inventory of rentable items, along with their location and other pertinent information. In some embodiments, the rental system computer manages the rental process from rental selection and scheduling, coordinating pick-up location and availability, rental charges and time tracking and rental completion – Para 0044 - Receiving a rental request may include receiving a reservation made through a separate rental app available online or on a user's mobile device 112. During the reservation process, the user may enter necessary information for the rental, including the item, personal information, payment, expected duration, etc. This information is received in the rental system computer 104 and stored in the database 106. The rental system computer 104 may confirm the reservation is complete and an item is available – Para 0071 - the rental app on the user's mobile device 112 may include an augmented reality option to allow a person to view the available items in the lockers).
transmitting, to the communication terminal, a passcode for unlocking the smart locker in which the equipment relating to the second application is stored, the passcode being stored in association with the identification information for identifying the equipment relating to the second application (¶0064 – Para ¶0066 - the rental system computer 104 provides a rental access code to a customer. The rental access code may be provided in the same ways as the delivery access code. For example, the rental system computer 104 may confirm that a selected drill is available for rent and stored in locker system 102. The rental system computer 104 may then send an access code to the customer's mobile device 112 along with the rental item information. The rental system computer 104 may send the rental access code using any communication network. For example, the rental system computer 104 may send a text to the customer's mobile device 112.- the rental system computer 104 may send an update to the locker system 102 through the network 108 including the assigned rental access code for the item rental. The update may also include customer identification, item information and a locker or lockers with acceptable items for rental.- ¶0072 -the rental access code may be correlated to a specific locker by the rental system computer 104. For example, the locker system 102 may electronically unlatch locker 126 to allow the customer to remove the item---e.g., a portable compressor. ¶ 0075 – ¶0076 - the locker system 102 may send a rental confirmation with the rental access code, a locker number, images showing the item and its condition, and its RFID tag information. This information may be updated and stored in database 106. See Also Claim 10).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bach to include the teachings of FORT. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to facilitate unattended rentals to customers by allowing a customer to rent an item when a rental company representative is not available. The remote rental management system coordinates the supply of the item, receipt of the item by the customer, rental time and accounting, and the return of the item (FORT – ¶ 0005)
Regarding claim 13,
Bach teaches a non-transitory recording medium storing a plurality of program codes which, when executed by one or more processors, causes a server apparatus for managing use of a seat in a facility and use of equipment in the facility to perform a method,(¶ 0009), the method comprising:
receiving a first application for requesting use of the seat by a user from a communication terminal (¶ 0009 -the hot-desking portal being further configured to (1) receive, from a user device over at least one communication network, a request to reserve the at least one hot-desking station for a predetermined period – ¶ 0107 – A user may reserve the hot-desking station 102 associated with the hot-desk panel 122, such as by opening and using a user device app on the user communication device 120, by directly using the graphical user interface on the display screen 224 or the hard keys, or by directly accessing the hot-desking portal 108, such as using a browser);
creating [..] a list of identification information for identifying the equipment [..] in response to receiving the first application; transmitting the list of identification information to the communication terminal (¶ 0149 -Upon locating an available desk, the hot-desking portal 108 then transmits, over the one or more networks 106 to the hot-desking app on the user's personal communications device 120, information providing details of the reserved hot-desk or workspace. Such information may include the desk, cubicle, or room number, and the location, floor and neighboring workers or facilities within the building. For more remote reservations, the information may include the building address as well as the city, state, and/or country where the building is located. Moreover, a map showing location within the building of the reserved hot desk or workspace may be provided and/or a map showing the location of the building where the reserved hot-desk or workspace is located. Other information may include the facilities and amenities associated with the reserved desk, such as the type of display needed, whether a laptop is needed or being provided by the user, the type of telephone needed, whether a printer is needed and the kind needed);
receiving a second application for requesting use of the equipment by the user, from the communication terminal, the equipment being identified with the identification information ( ¶ 0011 -receive, from the user device over the at least one communication network, scanned data read by the user device from the 2D code displayed by the hot-desk panel of the reserved hot-desking station. In response to receiving the scanned data, check in the user to the one of the plurality of hot-desking stations and tum on and configure the at least one device of the reserved hotdesking station; ¶ 0150 - The hot-desking portal 108 also activates and configures the reserved hot-desk or workspace 102. Such activation may include activating one or more features, inputs, outputs, and/or ports of the docking station 104 depending on the facilities to be made available to the user. For example, the hot-desking portal 108 may control the docking station 104 to provide power to one or more monitors, printers, and/or other peripherals to the user depending on the requirements of the particular user); and
storing information on the seat relating to the first application and the identification information for identifying the equipment relating to the second application in association with each other (¶ 0091 -The hot-desking portal 108 may include a plurality of software engines for providing the workspace management services discussed herein. Software engines may include a data structuring engine configured for structuring received data in order to establish various relationships, including, but not limited to, data regarding the hot-desking station or workspace 102, data regarding users of communication devices 120, and reservation information. Such data regarding the hot-desking stations or workspace 102 may include location data, workspace equipment present, and data on the electronic devices located at the hot-desking station or workspace 102, or the like. The software engines may also comprise a data retrieval engine for interfacing with other sources of data- ¶ 0120 -The hot-desking portal 108 may further maintain workspace information associated with each hot-desking station or workspace 102, including, but not limited to, the location of the hot-desking station or workspace 102 within a building, the department (or team) to which the hot-desking station or workspace 102 belongs (if any), access levels to the hot-desking station or workspace 102, and available resources such as the equipment present at each hot-desking station or workspace 102);
However, Bach does not explicitly teach
storing in a memory, information on the equipment stored in a smart locker; creating , based on the information stored in the memory, a list of identification information for identifying the equipment stored in the smart locker; transmitting , to the communication terminal, a passcode for unlocking the smart locker in which the equipment relating to the second application is stored, the passcode being stored in association with the identification information for identifying the equipment relating to the second application.
FORT teaches
storing in a memory, information on the equipment stored in a smart locker (Fig.3 Para 0036, The control circuit-CPU 150-may be a microprocessor, a microcontroller, programmable integrated circuit or other computer chip. The CPU 150 is programmed or configured to access a program with operational instructions. In some embodiments, the CPU 150 may include an integrated memory component with operational programs. The CPU 150 is connected to a memory 152, which may store locker access tables and instructions, analysis instructions, and data obtained by sensors in the lockers 120-128, code reader 160, camera 158, associated cameras and surveillance equipment – Para 0037 - The memory 152 may store item rental information in some embodiments and facilitate rentals for available products stored in the lockers 120-128 – Para 0055 - The memory 152 may store item rental information in some embodiments and facilitate rentals for available products stored in the lockers 120-128 – Para 0057 -When the item passes by the open locker door and into the locker 122, the RFID antenna reads the item's RFID tag having an item identifier. The locker system 102 stores the item identifier in memory associated with the locker 122.).
creating , based on the information stored in the memory, a list of identification information for identifying the equipment stored in the smart locker (Para 0071 -the locker system 102 may provide images of the stored item for the customer to review prior to opening the locker. If the locker system 102 holds multiple corresponding items, the locker system 102 may display images for each of the available items and allow the customer to select the preferred item - Para 010 - The rental system database and computer may include an inventory of rentable items, along with their location and other pertinent information. In some embodiments, the rental system computer manages the rental process from rental selection and scheduling, coordinating pick-up location and availability, rental charges and time tracking and rental completion – Para 0044 - Receiving a rental request may include receiving a reservation made through a separate rental app available online or on a user's mobile device 112. During the reservation process, the user may enter necessary information for the rental, including the item, personal information, payment, expected duration, etc. This information is received in the rental system computer 104 and stored in the database 106. The rental system computer 104 may confirm the reservation is complete and an item is available – Para 0071 - the rental app on the user's mobile device 112 may include an augmented reality option to allow a person to view the available items in the lockers).
transmitting, to the communication terminal, a passcode for unlocking the smart locker in which the equipment relating to the second application is stored, the passcode being stored in association with the identification information for identifying the equipment relating to the second application (¶0064 – ¶ 0066 - the rental system computer 104 provides a rental access code to a customer. The rental access code may be provided in the same ways as the delivery access code. For example, the rental system computer 104 may confirm that a selected drill is available for rent and stored in locker system 102. The rental system computer 104 may then send an access code to the customer's mobile device 112 along with the rental item information. The rental system computer 104 may send the rental access code using any col11lllunication network. For example, the rental system computer 104 may send a text to the customer's mobile device 112.- the rental system computer 104 may send an update to the locker system 102 through the network 108 including the assigned rental access code for the item rental. The update may also include customer identification, item information and a locker or lockers with acceptable items for rental.- ¶0072 -the rental access code may be correlated to a specific locker by the rental system computer 104. For example, the locker system 102 may electronically unlatch locker 126 to allow the customer to remove the item---e.g., a portable compressor. ¶0075 – ¶ 0076 - the locker system 102 may send a rental confirmation with the rental access code, a locker number, images showing the item and its condition, and its RFID tag information. This information may be updated and stored in database 106. See Also Claim 10).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bach to include the teachings of FORT. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to facilitate unattended rentals to customers by allowing a customer to rent an item when a rental company representative is not available. The remote rental management system coordinates the supply of the item, receipt of the item by the customer, rental time and accounting, and the return of the item (FORT – ¶ 0005)
Claims 6 -7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bach in view of FORT further in view of Peters et al. Publication No. US 2023/0024810 A1 (Peters hereinafter)
Regarding claim 6,
Bach does not explicitly teach
wherein the circuitry is configured to transmit information on unreturned equipment of the user to the communication terminal in response to receiving an application for ending the use of the seat from the communication terminal.
However, Peters teaches
wherein the circuitry is configured to transmit information on unreturned equipment of the user to the communication terminal in response to receiving an application for ending the use of the seat from the communication terminal (Abstract - dispenser is employed to control and monitor the checking out and return of portable electronic devices and to communicate with such devices during use by inmates to monitor inmate use and ensure the portable electronic devices are only used by inmates as authorized. – ¶ 0055 - Real-time monitoring can occur using workstation 102. Further, a screen shot of the display of the portable electronic device is made periodically, e.g., every 30 seconds and saved as a file. These files are indexed in table 326 such that an accurate archive of usage of the device is maintained. ¶ 0056 Periodically, the system will send messages to the portable electronic device and to the workstation 102 alerting of the time by which the device must be returned. If the device is not returned on time, the device is rendered useless via a signal sent by the server 100 ( or workstation 102) to the portable electronic device via the wireless communicating device 76 of the dispenser and wireless communications device 44 of the portable electronic device).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bach to include the teachings of Peters. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to monitor inmate use and ensure the portable electronic devices are only used by inmates as authorized (Peters – Abstract)..
Regarding claim 7,
Bach does not explicitly teach
wherein the circuitry is further configured to periodically transmit information on unreturned equipment of the user to the communication terminal.
However, Peters teaches
wherein the circuitry is further configured to periodically transmit information on unreturned equipment of the user to the communication terminal (¶ 0056 - Periodically, the system will send messages to the portable electronic device and to the workstation 102 alerting of the time by which the device must be returned. If the device is not returned on time, the device is rendered useless via a signal sent by the server 100 (or workstation 102) to the portable electronic device via the wireless communicating device 76 of the dispenser and wireless communications device 44 of the portable electronic device. When the inmate returns a portable electronic device to the dispenser, the user interface of the device or the dispenser will instruct the inmate).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bach to include the teachings of Peters. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to monitor inmate use and ensure the portable electronic devices are only used by inmates as authorized (Peters – Abstract).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bach in view of FORT further in view of Schmidt et al. Publication No. US 2023/0036188 A1 (Schmidt hereinafter) .
Regarding claim 8,
Bach further teaches
wherein the equipment includes a locker available to the user using the seat, (¶ 0042 & ¶ 0247 - FIG. 27 shows an example of the messages exchanged within an embodiment of a smart locker system, similar to the hot-desking system 100, when a user is. assigned a smart locker. Such smart lockers are known in the art for automating package delivery, notification and distribution – ¶ 0253 – ¶ 0254 - FIG. 29 shows an example of the messages exchanged within an embodiment of the smart locker system when a user checks in at their smart locker using the smart locker app stored in the user's personal communications device 120. (0254] First, if not already open, the user opens the smart locker app stored in the user's personal communications device 120).
However, Bach does not explicitly the locker being in a same area as the seat used by the user
Schmidt teaches
locker being in a same area as the seat used by the user (¶ 0094 - FIG. 16A is an perspective front view of a third illustrative embodiment of the electrically-powered entertainment vehicle system of the present invention, wherein (i) the animal-shaped body portion is provided with a pass-through central housing architecture that is adapted to contain and house either (i) a first networked single-sided personal storage locker system located on left side of vehicle, and a second networked single-sided personal storage locker system located on the right side of the vehicle, or a single networked double-sided personal storage locker system located beneath the seat).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Bach to include the teachings of Schmidt. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to digitally unlock the lockers via mobile phone (¶ 0026 – Schmidt).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zaniker et al. Publication No. US 2014/0354403 A1
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YOUNES NAJI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445