DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 11/21/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Quick connector in Claim 2 line 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 line 2-3 recite “a refrigeration chamber is provided in the rack”. It is unclear what is meant by “provided in”. Is the rack in the refrigeration chamber or are the refrigeration coils provided in the rack?
Claim 2 line 3 recites “the bottom of the canister body” while Claim 3 line 1 recites “the lower end of the canister body”. It is unclear if “the bottom of the canister body” and “the lower end” are the same element. Also, “the bottom of the canister body” should state “a bottom of the canister body” to avoid lack or antecedent basis rejection under 112 second paragraph or 112b. If “the bottom of the canister body” and “the lower end of the canister body” are two different element, then “the lower end of the canister body” should state “a lower end of the canister body”.
Claim 2 line 4 recites “a quick connector which is installed on the silicone sleeve, and through which the pipeline system is communicated with the silicone sleeve”. It is unclear where the quick connector is located. Is it located between the sleeve and the cover or between the sleeve and the pipeline. For the purpose of this examination, it is assumed the quick connector is located between the silicone sleeve and the cover.
Claims 2-6 are rejected based on their dependency on claim 1.
Claims 3-6 are rejected based on their dependency on Claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Showalter US 10259699 (“Showalter”).
Regarding Claim 1, Showalter discloses a canister system (50, fig, 14), comprising a rack (guides 70a-c in chambers 52 for supporting the canisters 10), at least one canister (10), an ingredient storage box (83, canister with carbonated fluid), and a pipeline system (21, 85 with inlet and outlets 22, 22b, and 22c), wherein a refrigeration chamber (52) is provided in the rack (guides 70a-c in chambers 52 for supporting the canisters 10), the canister (10) is stored in the refrigeration chamber (52), and the canister (10) is communicated with the ingredient storage box (carbonated fluid 83) through the pipeline system (21, 85), and wherein the canister comprises a canister body (23), a canister cover (upper surface of canister 10) which is installed on the canister body (23), and a feeding pipeline (21) which is installed on the canister cover (upper surface of canister 10, see fig. 26) and is communicated with the pipeline system.
The bubble tea machine is a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Showalter US 10259699 (“Showalter”) in view of Dobbins et al. US PG PUB 20210363985 (“Dobbins”).
Regarding Claim 2, Showalter discloses the feeding pipeline (21) comprises a sleeve (15b) which is installed on (fig. 26) the canister cover (upper surface of canister 10, see fig. 26), a feeding pipe (21) which is installed at the lower end of the sleeve (15b) and extends to the bottom of the canister body (23), and a quick connector (col. 9 lines 20-26, “What is important is the V-shape (e.g., funnel shape) female coupling 15, which is configured to receive a corresponding V-shape male coupling 15b (see FIG. 11 for example) to quickly create a friction air tight seal under the influence of a weight load applied to the V-shape male coupling”) which is installed on the silicone sleeve, and through which the pipeline system is communicated with the silicone sleeve.
Showalter discloses the claimed invention, except a sleeve that is silicone.
Dobbins teaches a silicone tubing (para 0056).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the plastic bio-degradable tubing, as disclosed by Showalter, with a silicone tubing, as taught by Dobbins for the purpose of maintaining a high level of sanitation. Even though Showalter discloses using biodegradable bags and canister bodies, Showalter is silent with regard to using a biodegradable tubing. Thus, using a silicone tubing is a durable and common tubing used in the food industry. The silicone tubing is also a small percentage of the waste in producing a canister.
Regarding Claim 3, Showalter embodiment of fig. 12, illustrates a flat bottom and fails to illustrate a funnel shaped lower end.
Showalter embodiment of fig. 35C has a sloped floor, 125.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the flat bottom of the lower end of the canister body, as disclosed by Showalter fig. 14, with a sloped bottom, as taught by Showalter fig. 35C, for the purpose of assisting in guiding beverages into the auger or lifting silo.
Regarding Claim 4 Showalter discloses the lower end of the canister body (23) is provided with a discharge port (57), and the canister further includes an end cover (see fig. 40C), which is screwed at the discharge port (57). Showalter discloses embodiments with an upper discharge port and a lower discharge port. Showalter fig. 40C illustrates a lower discharge port cap 57 and a discharge port safety valve 113a. Fig. 40C does not illustrate the connections of the valve, discharge port, or cover cap nor are they discussed in the specification. However, the discharge port, valve (113a) and “screw on connection of the cap are illustrated in figs. 36A and 36B and discussed in col. 21 lines 59-64, “FIGS. 36A-36B illustrate side views of a drink container or keg with a screw-on cap, two couplings, two safety valves, and well tube 22, according to an aspect.”
Regarding Claim 5, Showalter discloses the canister body further comprises a handle (132, fig. 36E), which is installed on the side of the canister body (see fig. 36E).
Regarding Claim 6, Showalter discloses the canister cover is provided with a canister door (top lid 53) which is hinged (hinges 60, col. 11 lines 22-25) with the canister cover (upper surface of canister 10, see fig. 12).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Russell et al. US 10494247, Showalter US 11027961, Yoshida et al. US PG PUB 20120152976 disclose dispensers.
/DAPHNE M BARRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753