DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the original filing on 11/22/2024. Claims 1-15 are pending and have been considered below.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 15, the claims recite “generating a display image showing symbols indicating a parameter relating to heating temperature of an aerosol source, the parameter being included in control information that specifies the parameter, and symbols indicating evaluations of an aerosol generated by an inhaler device by heating an aerosol source on a basis of the control information”, “the generated display image”, and “the display image showing at least symbols indicating the parameter set in a previous customization process and symbols indicating the parameter set in a current customization process or symbols indicating the evaluations set in the previous customization process and symbols indicating the evaluations set in the current customization process”. The relationship between these elements is unclear. It is unclear whether the evaluations are intended to be the same or display images. For the purposes of examination, these limitations are interpreted as: generating a display image showing symbols indicating a parameter relating to heating temperature of an aerosol source, the parameter being included in control information that specifies the parameter, and symbols indicating evaluations of an aerosol generated by an inhaler device by heating an aerosol source on a basis of the control information, the generated display image, and a second display image showing at least symbols indicating the parameter set in a previous customization process and symbols indicating the parameter set in a current customization process or symbols indicating the evaluations set in the previous customization process and symbols indicating the evaluations set in the current customization process
Regarding claims 1 and 15, the claims recite “a parameter relating to heating temperature of an aerosol source”, “the parameter”, “the parameter set in a previous customization process”, and “the parameter set in a current customization process”. The relationship between these elements is unclear. It is unclear whether the evaluations are intended to be the same or different parameters. For the purposes of examination, these limitations are interpreted as: a first parameter relating to heating temperature of an aerosol source, the first parameter, a second parameter set in a previous customization process, and a third parameter set in a current customization process
Regarding claims 1 and 15, the claims recite “evaluations of an aerosol generated by an inhaler device by heating an aerosol source on a basis of the control information”, “the evaluations of the aerosol generated on the basis of the control information that reflects the set parameter”, “the evaluations set in the previous customization process”, and “the evaluations set in the current customization process”. The relationship between these elements is unclear. It is unclear whether the evaluations are intended to be the same or different evaluations. For the purposes of examination, these limitations are interpreted as: first evaluations of an aerosol generated by an inhaler device by heating an aerosol source on a basis of the control information, second evaluations of the aerosol generated on the basis of the control information that reflects the set parameter, third evaluations set in the previous customization process, and fourth evaluations set in the current customization process
Regarding claims 2-14, the claims are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for depending on an indefinite parent claim. Claims 2, 5-10, and 12 recite additional display image limitations. Claims 2-5, 8, and 12 recite additional parameter limitations. Claims 2-11 and 14 recite additional evaluation limitations. These limitations are likewise rejected and interpreted.
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites “the puff time corresponding to the second UI element that has reached the predetermined area”. It is unclear how these limitations are intended to relate to the previously recited plurality of second UI elements corresponding to a plurality of puff times. For the purposes of examination, these limitations are interpreted as: a first puff time corresponding to a particular second UI element that has reached the predetermined area
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites “the puff time and the evaluation item corresponding to the second UI element that has reached the predetermined area”. It is unclear how these limitations are intended to relate to the previously recited plurality of second UI elements corresponding to a plurality of puff times. For the purposes of examination, these limitations are interpreted as: a first puff time and a fifth evaluation item corresponding to a particular second UI element that has reached the predetermined area
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowen et al. (US 20180043114 A1, published 02/15/2018), hereinafter Bowen, in view of Cohen (US 20190387796 A1, published 12/26/2019).
Regarding claim 1, Bowen teaches the claim comprising:
An information processing device comprising: a controller that controls a customization process including generating a display image showing symbols indicating a parameter relating to heating temperature of an aerosol source, the parameter being included in control information that specifies the parameter, and controlling a display device in such a way as to display the generated display image, and receiving setting of the parameter or setting of the evaluations of the aerosol generated on the basis of the control information that reflects the set parameter (Bowen Figs. 1-24; [0061], FIG. 3 shows a schematic representation of communication between a vaporizer 100, 200, a digital device 305 that wirelessly communicates with the vaporizer 100, 200, and a remote server 307 that may communicate directly with the vaporizer 100, 200 or through the digital device 305; [0062], In general, as illustrated schematically in FIG. 3, any of the vaporizer apparatuses described herein (such as the vaporizer 100 or 200) may remotely communicate with a remote server 307 and/or a digital device 305 such as a wearable electronics device (e.g., Google Glass, smartwatch, smartwear, etc.) and/or a smartphone, smartwatch, etc; [0225], FIG. 13A is a UI for controlling operation of one of the associated vaporizers, showing a detected cartridge on the bottom, with information about the cartridge and/or contents that may be accessed by selecting/touching the image, a central temperature (e.g., oven/vaporization chamber) control allowing finger-tip selection and/or modification of temperature manually, or selection of one or more “programs” for setting temperature, and a monitor indicating the number of inhalations and/or doses taken from the vaporizer, either cumulatively for a ‘session’ or within a set time period. FIGS. 13B-13C illustrate alternative UIs or modified UI similar to that shown in FIG. 13A; [0231], temperature control (FIG. 19D)),
wherein the controller generates the display image showing at least symbols indicating the parameter set in a previous customization process and symbols indicating the parameter set in a current customization process or symbols indicating the evaluations set in the previous customization process and symbols indicating the evaluations set in the current customization process (Bowen Figs. 1-24; [0225], FIG. 13A is a UI for controlling operation of one of the associated vaporizers, showing a detected cartridge on the bottom, with information about the cartridge and/or contents that may be accessed by selecting/touching the image, a central temperature (e.g., oven/vaporization chamber) control allowing finger-tip selection and/or modification of temperature manually, or selection of one or more “programs” for setting temperature, and a monitor indicating the number of inhalations and/or doses taken from the vaporizer, either cumulatively for a ‘session’ or within a set time period. FIGS. 13B-13C illustrate alternative UIs or modified UI similar to that shown in FIG. 13A. As shown, in FIGS. 13A-13C, an indicator (e.g., a heart or other symbol) may be used to show a pre-set preference for the user; [0226], FIGS. 14A-14E illustrate UI alerts/pop-ups that may be used. FIG. 14A shows a user alert/pop-up that may indicate information about the operation of the vaporizer and/or a specific cartridge based on aggregate data from other users; [0231], temperature control (FIG. 19D) (You can precisely control temperature. Slide to Adjust it; This is the most popular temperature setting for the pod you’re currently using))
However, Bowen fails to expressly disclose symbols indicating evaluations of an aerosol generated by an inhaler device by heating an aerosol source on a basis of the control information and controlling a display device in such a way as to display the generated display image, and receiving setting of the parameter or setting of the evaluations of the aerosol generated on the basis of the control information that reflects the set parameter. In the same field of endeavor, Cohen teaches:
symbols indicating evaluations of an aerosol generated by an inhaler device by heating an aerosol source on a basis of the control information and controlling a display device in such a way as to display the generated display image, and receiving setting of the parameter or setting of the evaluations of the aerosol generated on the basis of the control information that reflects the set parameter (Cohen Figs. 1-10; abs. providing a plurality of puffs from a vaporizer. The plurality of puffs based on the delivery pattern and including the first puff and the second puff. The method further includes receiving user feedback associated with the delivery pattern in response to the providing. The method further includes modifying the delivery pattern based on the user feedback; [0070], a user may control some aspects of the vaporizer (temperature, dosage, etc.) and/or data transmission and data receiving to and from vaporizer; [0113], the user may provide feedback via an app, via a gesture of the vaporizer, a sensor, a selection of an input on the vaporizer and/or user interface 650, via learned behavior from past history, and/or the like. The feedback may include a current level of satisfaction; [0114], The cessation system may include an adaptive pattern recognition system, such as a machine learning algorithm (e.g., a neural network), that may identify optimal tunings to the first cartridge and/or the first program for the user; [0122-0125], FIG. 8 is a diagram of communication in a system 800; [0166], FIG. 9 shows a user interface (UI) for an application (app) that may be used with a vaporizer as described herein, including an initial download of the app and a selection of a desired effect, such as quitting smoking combustible cigarettes, an insertion of an optimized pod for achieving the selected desired effect, delivery of an optimum dose/temperature, and feedback regarding user experience with the device, pod, dose, and/or the like (Virtuous cycle continually improves individual personalization; Your Last Session; Positive Effects; Negative Effects; Strength; Overall))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated symbols indicating evaluations of an aerosol generated by an inhaler device by heating an aerosol source on a basis of the control information and controlling a display device in such a way as to display the generated display image, and receiving setting of the parameter or setting of the evaluations of the aerosol generated on the basis of the control information that reflects the set parameter as suggested in Cohen into Bowen. Doing so would be desirable because aspects of the current subject matter relate to management of operation (e.g., one or more settings or operation parameters) of a vaporizer (see Cohen [0004]). Implementations of the current subject matter also include methods of using a vaporizer and/or a vaporizer system for functions such as determining and/or controlling a dose, amount, or the like of one or more chemical species of the vaporizable material or of the vaporizable material itself. Such determining and/or controlling may be used in conjunction with a nicotine cessation program to improve a likelihood of success in reducing/eliminating nicotine consumption and/or addiction (see Cohen [0036]). The user feedback may be used to modify the optimized delivery of nicotine to improve user personalization of nicotine delivery (see Cohen [0123]). In addition, any of the vaporizers and apps described herein may be used to enhance the social experience of the user, including for interaction with other users, and communication with a particular use (see Cohen [0156]). Any of the apparatuses described herein (including the vaporizers and any affiliated apps) may also be used to collect and analyze user data. This may allow the vaporizer producers, providers and retailers to get to know users better, including understand where when and how they are using the vaporizer. Knowing where and when a consumer is using a vaporizer may allow better marketing to users and may improve the design for future products (see Cohen [0161]).
Regarding claim 15, the claim contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 1. Consequently, the claim is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 2, Bowen in view of Cohen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the controller generates the display image showing the symbols indicating the parameter set in the previous customization process and the symbols indicating the parameter set in the current customization process in different modes or showing the symbols indicating the evaluations set in the previous customization process and the symbols indicating the evaluations set in the current customization process in different modes (Bowen Figs. 1-24; [0225], FIG. 13A is a UI for controlling operation of one of the associated vaporizers, showing a detected cartridge on the bottom, with information about the cartridge and/or contents that may be accessed by selecting/touching the image, a central temperature (e.g., oven/vaporization chamber) control allowing finger-tip selection and/or modification of temperature manually, or selection of one or more “programs” for setting temperature, and a monitor indicating the number of inhalations and/or doses taken from the vaporizer, either cumulatively for a ‘session’ or within a set time period. FIGS. 13B-13C illustrate alternative UIs or modified UI similar to that shown in FIG. 13A. As shown, in FIGS. 13A-13C, an indicator (e.g., a heart or other symbol) may be used to show a pre-set preference for the user; [0231], temperature control (FIG. 19D) (You can precisely control temperature. Slide to Adjust it; This is the most popular temperature setting for the pod you’re currently using))
Regarding claim 3, Bowen in view of Cohen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the controller displays the symbols indicating the parameter or the symbols indicating the evaluations set in the previous customization process with a higher level of transparency than for the symbols indicating the parameter or the symbols indicating the evaluations set in the current customization process (Bowen Figs. 1-24; [0225], FIG. 13A is a UI for controlling operation of one of the associated vaporizers, showing a detected cartridge on the bottom, with information about the cartridge and/or contents that may be accessed by selecting/touching the image, a central temperature (e.g., oven/vaporization chamber) control allowing finger-tip selection and/or modification of temperature manually, or selection of one or more “programs” for setting temperature, and a monitor indicating the number of inhalations and/or doses taken from the vaporizer, either cumulatively for a ‘session’ or within a set time period. FIGS. 13B-13C illustrate alternative UIs or modified UI similar to that shown in FIG. 13A. As shown, in FIGS. 13A-13C, an indicator (e.g., a heart or other symbol) may be used to show a pre-set preference for the user; [0226], FIGS. 14A-14E illustrate UI alerts/pop-ups that may be used. FIG. 14A shows a user alert/pop-up that may indicate information about the operation of the vaporizer and/or a specific cartridge based on aggregate data from other users; [0231], temperature control (FIG. 19D) (You can precisely control temperature. Slide to Adjust it; This is the most popular temperature setting for the pod you’re currently using) (transparent circle shown))
Regarding claim 4, Bowen in view of Cohen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the controller receives setting of the parameter or setting of the evaluations for each of a plurality of puff times (Bowen Figs. 1-24; [0112], During operation, the vaporizer may periodically (e.g., after each puff, etc.) write to the memory in the cartridge identity circuit, if detected. Writing may be performed by the vaporizer by applying power for a predetermined timer period, to power the capacitive circuit, as shown in FIG. 4; [0120], Usage information may include number of puffs/draws, the dosage delivered, or the like; [0173], the user may record a use profile including the number of puffs (e.g., draw events, inhalations, etc.) between changes in the temperature, as well as the temperature; [0225], FIG. 13A is a UI for controlling operation of one of the associated vaporizers, showing a detected cartridge on the bottom, with information about the cartridge and/or contents that may be accessed by selecting/touching the image, a central temperature (e.g., oven/vaporization chamber) control allowing finger-tip selection and/or modification of temperature manually, or selection of one or more “programs” for setting temperature, and a monitor indicating the number of inhalations and/or doses taken from the vaporizer, either cumulatively for a ‘session’ or within a set time period. FIGS. 13B-13C illustrate alternative UIs or modified UI similar to that shown in FIG. 13A. As shown, in FIGS. 13A-13C, an indicator (e.g., a heart or other symbol) may be used to show a pre-set preference for the user; [0226], FIGS. 14A-14E illustrate UI alerts/pop-ups that may be used. FIG. 14A shows a user alert/pop-up that may indicate information about the operation of the vaporizer and/or a specific cartridge based on aggregate data from other users; [0231], temperature control (FIG. 19D) (You can precisely control temperature. Slide to Adjust it; This is the most popular temperature setting for the pod you’re currently using); puff/dose monitoring (FIGS. 19E-19F) (You can control the volume for a consistent experience. Use the dial to adjust it))
Regarding claim 5, Bowen in view of Cohen teaches all the limitations of claim 4, further comprising:
wherein the controller generates the display image showing the symbol indicating the parameter set in the previous customization process and the symbol indicating the parameter set in the current customization process for a first puff time or showing the symbols indicating the evaluations set in the previous customization process and the symbols indicating the evaluations set in the current customization process for a second puff time (Bowen Figs. 1-24; [0112], During operation, the vaporizer may periodically (e.g., after each puff, etc.) write to the memory in the cartridge identity circuit, if detected. Writing may be performed by the vaporizer by applying power for a predetermined timer period, to power the capacitive circuit, as shown in FIG. 4; [0120], Usage information may include number of puffs/draws, the dosage delivered, or the like; [0173], the user may record a use profile including the number of puffs (e.g., draw events, inhalations, etc.) between changes in the temperature, as well as the temperature; [0225], FIG. 13A is a UI for controlling operation of one of the associated vaporizers, showing a detected cartridge on the bottom, with information about the cartridge and/or contents that may be accessed by selecting/touching the image, a central temperature (e.g., oven/vaporization chamber) control allowing finger-tip selection and/or modification of temperature manually, or selection of one or more “programs” for setting temperature, and a monitor indicating the number of inhalations and/or doses taken from the vaporizer, either cumulatively for a ‘session’ or within a set time period. FIGS. 13B-13C illustrate alternative UIs or modified UI similar to that shown in FIG. 13A. As shown, in FIGS. 13A-13C, an indicator (e.g., a heart or other symbol) may be used to show a pre-set preference for the user; [0226], FIGS. 14A-14E illustrate UI alerts/pop-ups that may be used. FIG. 14A shows a user alert/pop-up that may indicate information about the operation of the vaporizer and/or a specific cartridge based on aggregate data from other users; [0231], temperature control (FIG. 19D) (You can precisely control temperature. Slide to Adjust it; This is the most popular temperature setting for the pod you’re currently using); puff/dose monitoring (FIGS. 19E-19F) (You can control the volume for a consistent experience. Use the dial to adjust it.))
Regarding claim 6, Bowen in view of Cohen teaches all the limitations of claim 4, further comprising:
wherein the controller generates the display image showing, for a puff time for which the evaluations have not been set in the current customization process, the evaluations set in the previous customization process (Bowen Figs. 1-24; [0225], FIG. 13A is a UI for controlling operation of one of the associated vaporizers, showing a detected cartridge on the bottom, with information about the cartridge and/or contents that may be accessed by selecting/touching the image, a central temperature (e.g., oven/vaporization chamber) control allowing finger-tip selection and/or modification of temperature manually, or selection of one or more “programs” for setting temperature, and a monitor indicating the number of inhalations and/or doses taken from the vaporizer, either cumulatively for a ‘session’ or within a set time period. FIGS. 13B-13C illustrate alternative UIs or modified UI similar to that shown in FIG. 13A. As shown, in FIGS. 13A-13C, an indicator (e.g., a heart or other symbol) may be used to show a pre-set preference for the user; [0226], FIGS. 14A-14E illustrate UI alerts/pop-ups that may be used. FIG. 14A shows a user alert/pop-up that may indicate information about the operation of the vaporizer and/or a specific cartridge based on aggregate data from other users; [0231], temperature control (FIG. 19D) (You can precisely control temperature. Slide to Adjust it; This is the most popular temperature setting for the pod you’re currently using))
Cohen further teaches:
for a puff time for which the evaluations have been set in the current customization process, the evaluations set in the current customization process (Cohen Figs. 1-10; abs. providing a plurality of puffs from a vaporizer. The plurality of puffs based on the delivery pattern and including the first puff and the second puff. The method further includes receiving user feedback associated with the delivery pattern in response to the providing. The method further includes modifying the delivery pattern based on the user feedback; [0070], a user may control some aspects of the vaporizer (temperature, dosage, etc.) and/or data transmission and data receiving to and from vaporizer; [0113], the user may provide feedback via an app, via a gesture of the vaporizer, a sensor, a selection of an input on the vaporizer and/or user interface 650, via learned behavior from past history, and/or the like. The feedback may include a current level of satisfaction; [0114], The cessation system may include an adaptive pattern recognition system, such as a machine learning algorithm (e.g., a neural network), that may identify optimal tunings to the first cartridge and/or the first program for the user; [0122-0125], FIG. 8 is a diagram of communication in a system 800; [0166], FIG. 9 shows a user interface (UI) for an application (app) that may be used with a vaporizer as described herein, including an initial download of the app and a selection of a desired effect, such as quitting smoking combustible cigarettes, an insertion of an optimized pod for achieving the selected desired effect, delivery of an optimum dose/temperature, and feedback regarding user experience with the device, pod, dose, and/or the like (Virtuous cycle continually improves individual personalization; Your Last Session; Positive Effects; Negative Effects; Strength; Overall))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated for a puff time for which the evaluations have been set in the current customization process, the evaluations set in the current customization process as suggested in Cohen into Bowen. Doing so would be desirable because aspects of the current subject matter relate to management of operation (e.g., one or more settings or operation parameters) of a vaporizer (see Cohen [0004]). Implementations of the current subject matter also include methods of using a vaporizer and/or a vaporizer system for functions such as determining and/or controlling a dose, amount, or the like of one or more chemical species of the vaporizable material or of the vaporizable material itself. Such determining and/or controlling may be used in conjunction with a nicotine cessation program to improve a likelihood of success in reducing/eliminating nicotine consumption and/or addiction (see Cohen [0036]). The user feedback may be used to modify the optimized delivery of nicotine to improve user personalization of nicotine delivery (see Cohen [0123]). In addition, any of the vaporizers and apps described herein may be used to enhance the social experience of the user, including for interaction with other users, and communication with a particular use (see Cohen [0156]). Any of the apparatuses described herein (including the vaporizers and any affiliated apps) may also be used to collect and analyze user data. This may allow the vaporizer producers, providers and retailers to get to know users better, including understand where when and how they are using the vaporizer. Knowing where and when a consumer is using a vaporizer may allow better marketing to users and may improve the design for future products (see Cohen [0161]).
Regarding claim 7, Bowen in view of Cohen teaches all the limitations of claim 4. Cohen further teaches:
wherein the display image shows the symbols indicating the set evaluations and a first UI element for setting the evaluation for a same evaluation item as an evaluation item corresponding to the symbols indicating the evaluations aligned in a predetermined direction (Cohen Figs. 1-10; abs. providing a plurality of puffs from a vaporizer. The plurality of puffs based on the delivery pattern and including the first puff and the second puff. The method further includes receiving user feedback associated with the delivery pattern in response to the providing. The method further includes modifying the delivery pattern based on the user feedback; [0070], a user may control some aspects of the vaporizer (temperature, dosage, etc.) and/or data transmission and data receiving to and from vaporizer; [0113], the user may provide feedback via an app, via a gesture of the vaporizer, a sensor, a selection of an input on the vaporizer and/or user interface 650, via learned behavior from past history, and/or the like. The feedback may include a current level of satisfaction; [0114], The cessation system may include an adaptive pattern recognition system, such as a machine learning algorithm (e.g., a neural network), that may identify optimal tunings to the first cartridge and/or the first program for the user; [0122-0125], FIG. 8 is a diagram of communication in a system 800; [0166], FIG. 9 shows a user interface (UI) for an application (app) that may be used with a vaporizer as described herein, including an initial download of the app and a selection of a desired effect, such as quitting smoking combustible cigarettes, an insertion of an optimized pod for achieving the selected desired effect, delivery of an optimum dose/temperature, and feedback regarding user experience with the device, pod, dose, and/or the like (Virtuous cycle continually improves individual personalization; Your Last Session; Positive Effects; Negative Effects; Strength; Overall))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the display image shows the symbols indicating the set evaluations and a first UI element for setting the evaluation for a same evaluation item as an evaluation item corresponding to the symbols indicating the evaluations aligned in a predetermined direction as suggested in Cohen into Bowen. Doing so would be desirable because aspects of the current subject matter relate to management of operation (e.g., one or more settings or operation parameters) of a vaporizer (see Cohen [0004]). Implementations of the current subject matter also include methods of using a vaporizer and/or a vaporizer system for functions such as determining and/or controlling a dose, amount, or the like of one or more chemical species of the vaporizable material or of the vaporizable material itself. Such determining and/or controlling may be used in conjunction with a nicotine cessation program to improve a likelihood of success in reducing/eliminating nicotine consumption and/or addiction (see Cohen [0036]). The user feedback may be used to modify the optimized delivery of nicotine to improve user personalization of nicotine delivery (see Cohen [0123]). In addition, any of the vaporizers and apps described herein may be used to enhance the social experience of the user, including for interaction with other users, and communication with a particular use (see Cohen [0156]). Any of the apparatuses described herein (including the vaporizers and any affiliated apps) may also be used to collect and analyze user data. This may allow the vaporizer producers, providers and retailers to get to know users better, including understand where when and how they are using the vaporizer. Knowing where and when a consumer is using a vaporizer may allow better marketing to users and may improve the design for future products (see Cohen [0161]).
Regarding claim 8, Bowen in view of Cohen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the display image shows the symbols indicating the parameter set for a subset of all puff times (Bowen Figs. 1-24; [0112], During operation, the vaporizer may periodically (e.g., after each puff, etc.) write to the memory in the cartridge identity circuit, if detected. Writing may be performed by the vaporizer by applying power for a predetermined timer period, to power the capacitive circuit, as shown in FIG. 4; [0120], Usage information may include number of puffs/draws, the dosage delivered, or the like; [0173], the user may record a use profile including the number of puffs (e.g., draw events, inhalations, etc.) between changes in the temperature, as well as the temperature; [0225], FIG. 13A is a UI for controlling operation of one of the associated vaporizers, showing a detected cartridge on the bottom, with information about the cartridge and/or contents that may be accessed by selecting/touching the image, a central temperature (e.g., oven/vaporization chamber) control allowing finger-tip selection and/or modification of temperature manually, or selection of one or more “programs” for setting temperature, and a monitor indicating the number of inhalations and/or doses taken from the vaporizer, either cumulatively for a ‘session’ or within a set time period. FIGS. 13B-13C illustrate alternative UIs or modified UI similar to that shown in FIG. 13A. As shown, in FIGS. 13A-13C, an indicator (e.g., a heart or other symbol) may be used to show a pre-set preference for the user; [0226], FIGS. 14A-14E illustrate UI alerts/pop-ups that may be used. FIG. 14A shows a user alert/pop-up that may indicate information about the operation of the vaporizer and/or a specific cartridge based on aggregate data from other users; [0231], temperature control (FIG. 19D) (You can precisely control temperature. Slide to Adjust it; This is the most popular temperature setting for the pod you’re currently using); [0231], puff/dose monitoring (FIGS. 19E-19F) (You can control the volume for a consistent experience. Use the dial to adjust it))
Cohen further teaches:
the symbols indicating the evaluations (Cohen Figs. 1-10; abs. providing a plurality of puffs from a vaporizer. The plurality of puffs based on the delivery pattern and including the first puff and the second puff. The method further includes receiving user feedback associated with the delivery pattern in response to the providing. The method further includes modifying the delivery pattern based on the user feedback; [0070], a user may control some aspects of the vaporizer (temperature, dosage, etc.) and/or data transmission and data receiving to and from vaporizer; [0113], the user may provide feedback via an app, via a gesture of the vaporizer, a sensor, a selection of an input on the vaporizer and/or user interface 650, via learned behavior from past history, and/or the like. The feedback may include a current level of satisfaction; [0114], The cessation system may include an adaptive pattern recognition system, such as a machine learning algorithm (e.g., a neural network), that may identify optimal tunings to the first cartridge and/or the first program for the user; [0122-0125], FIG. 8 is a diagram of communication in a system 800; [0166], FIG. 9 shows a user interface (UI) for an application (app) that may be used with a vaporizer as described herein, including an initial download of the app and a selection of a desired effect, such as quitting smoking combustible cigarettes, an insertion of an optimized pod for achieving the selected desired effect, delivery of an optimum dose/temperature, and feedback regarding user experience with the device, pod, dose, and/or the like (Virtuous cycle continually improves individual personalization; Your Last Session; Positive Effects; Negative Effects; Strength; Overall))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the symbols indicating the evaluations as suggested in Cohen into Bowen. Doing so would be desirable because aspects of the current subject matter relate to management of operation (e.g., one or more settings or operation parameters) of a vaporizer (see Cohen [0004]). Implementations of the current subject matter also include methods of using a vaporizer and/or a vaporizer system for functions such as determining and/or controlling a dose, amount, or the like of one or more chemical species of the vaporizable material or of the vaporizable material itself. Such determining and/or controlling may be used in conjunction with a nicotine cessation program to improve a likelihood of success in reducing/eliminating nicotine consumption and/or addiction (see Cohen [0036]). The user feedback may be used to modify the optimized delivery of nicotine to improve user personalization of nicotine delivery (see Cohen [0123]). In addition, any of the vaporizers and apps described herein may be used to enhance the social experience of the user, including for interaction with other users, and communication with a particular use (see Cohen [0156]). Any of the apparatuses described herein (including the vaporizers and any affiliated apps) may also be used to collect and analyze user data. This may allow the vaporizer producers, providers and retailers to get to know users better, including understand where when and how they are using the vaporizer. Knowing where and when a consumer is using a vaporizer may allow better marketing to users and may improve the design for future products (see Cohen [0161]).
Regarding claim 12, Bowen in view of Cohen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the display image includes a third UI element, and wherein the controller sets the parameter in accordance with positions of the symbols indicating the parameter shown in the display image and, when the third UI element is selected, enlarges a movable range of the symbols indicating the parameter (Bowen Figs. 1-24; [0112], During operation, the vaporizer may periodically (e.g., after each puff, etc.) write to the memory in the cartridge identity circuit, if detected. Writing may be performed by the vaporizer by applying power for a predetermined timer period, to power the capacitive circuit, as shown in FIG. 4; [0120], Usage information may include number of puffs/draws, the dosage delivered, or the like; [0173], the user may record a use profile including the number of puffs (e.g., draw events, inhalations, etc.) between changes in the temperature, as well as the temperature; [0225], FIG. 13A is a UI for controlling operation of one of the associated vaporizers, showing a detected cartridge on the bottom, with information about the cartridge and/or contents that may be accessed by selecting/touching the image, a central temperature (e.g., oven/vaporization chamber) control allowing finger-tip selection and/or modification of temperature manually, or selection of one or more “programs” for setting temperature, and a monitor indicating the number of inhalations and/or doses taken from the vaporizer, either cumulatively for a ‘session’ or within a set time period. FIGS. 13B-13C illustrate alternative UIs or modified UI similar to that shown in FIG. 13A. As shown, in FIGS. 13A-13C, an indicator (e.g., a heart or other symbol) may be used to show a pre-set preference for the user; [0231], temperature control (FIG. 19D) (You can precisely control temperature. Slide to Adjust it; This is the most popular temperature setting for the pod you’re currently using); [0231], puff/dose monitoring (FIGS. 19E-19F) (You can control the volume for a consistent experience. Use the dial to adjust it.); as shown, the moveable range is enlarged when selected)
Regarding claim 13, Bowen in view of Cohen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the controller controls an output device in such a way as to output first information each time a puff time comes (Bowen Figs. 1-24; [0112], During operation, the vaporizer may periodically (e.g., after each puff, etc.) write to the memory in the cartridge identity circuit, if detected. Writing may be performed by the vaporizer by applying power for a predetermined timer period, to power the capacitive circuit, as shown in FIG. 4; [0120], the vaporizer may write usage information to the cartridge's memory; usage information can be used to estimate the amount of vaporizable material that has been removed from the cartridge and the amount of vaporizable material remaining. Usage information may include number of puffs/draws, the dosage delivered, or the like; [0123], User interfaces may be deployed on a digital device and may aid the user in operating the vaporizer. For example, the user interface operating on a digital device may include icons and text elements that may inform the user of various ways that vaporizer settings can be adjusted or configured by the user. In this manner (or in others consistent with the current subject matter) information about a vaporizer can be presented using a user interface displayed by the communication device. Icons and/or text elements may be provided to allow a user to see information about vaporizer status, such as battery information (charge remaining, vapor draws remaining, time to charge, charging, etc.), cartridge status (e.g., type of cartridge and vaporizable material, fill status of cartridge, etc.); [0172], the vaporizer and/or app running on a device that is connected (or connectable) to the vaporizer may record use or operation of the device and may play back this use later. In general, the vaporizer or app may record a first operational parameter (e.g., temperature setting, ramp time to heat, etc.) and a second use parameter (e.g., number of puffs, cumulative dose, use time, etc.), may store the recorded operational parameter and use parameter as a use profile, may associate the recorded use profile with a control, button, icon, etc., and may program the device operation based on the use profile, so that the operational parameter is modified automatically as the actual operational parameter tracks with the recorded operational parameter; [0173], the user may record a use profile including the number of puffs (e.g., draw events, inhalations, etc.) between changes in the temperature, as well as the temperature so that this use profile may be replayed later, e.g., by selecting a button or other indicator associated with the recorded/programmed use profile. In some embodiments, the vaporizer and/or app may record the temperature and one or more second use parameters, such as one or more of: puff time (duration), puff count (number of puffs), energy applied to vaporizable material (e.g., cumulative joules of energy), dosage/exposure, etc. Playback may be indexed on any of the recorded use parameters such as the number of puffs, cumulative duration of puffing, cumulative energy applied, cumulative dose, etc. and may set or modify the operational parameter (e.g., applied vaporization temperature, energy applied, etc.) of the vaporizer to the recorded temperature to match the recorded and/or programmed temperature as the vaporizer is operated, so that the same use profile will be followed. For example, a user may record a use profile while operating the device at a first temperature (e.g., 150° C.) for 5 draws (puffs), then increasing the temperature to 180° C. for five more puffs, then increasing the temperature to 200° C. for 10 puffs. The recorded operational profile may be stored on the vaporizer, app, or some other connected memory, and associated with a control (e.g., icon, graphic, text, button, etc.) on the vaporizer, app and/or a remote processor or memory. The recorded operational profile may then be played back, e.g., by selecting an icon (or button, control, text, etc.) on the app or vaporizer that has been associated with the recorded/programmed profile. During playback, the vaporizer may wait until the same or a similar operational parameter (e.g., puffs, time of use, applied power, dose, etc.) is matched or exceeded and may control the heater based on the recorded profile. In the example above, the recorded operational profile may be played back later by pressing the icon; the vaporizer and/or app may compare the use parameter (number of puffs, etc.) to the current operation of the vaporizer and may adjust the operational parameter accordingly to match the use profile; [0174], For example, FIG. 20 illustrates a screen of a user interface including an icon 2001 that has been associated with a use profile; by touching the icon 2001, the use profile may be replayed as indicated at 2003. Playback may be stopped by pressing another button/icon 2003; [0225], FIG. 13A is a UI for controlling operation of one of the associated vaporizers, showing a detected cartridge on the bottom, with information about the cartridge and/or contents that may be accessed by selecting/touching the image, a central temperature (e.g., oven/vaporization chamber) control allowing finger-tip selection and/or modification of temperature manually, or selection of one or more “programs” for setting temperature, and a monitor indicating the number of inhalations and/or doses taken from the vaporizer, either cumulatively for a ‘session’ or within a set time period. FIGS. 13B-13C illustrate alternative UIs or modified UI similar to that shown in FIG. 13A. As shown, in FIGS. 13A-13C, an indicator (e.g., a heart or other symbol) may be used to show a pre-set preference for the user; [0231], temperature control (FIG. 19D) (You can precisely control temperature. Slide to Adjust it; This is the most popular temperature setting for the pod you’re currently using); puff/dose monitoring (FIGS. 19E-19F) (You can control the volume for a consistent experience. Use the dial to adjust it))
Regarding claim 14, Bowen in view of Cohen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein, when all the set evaluations satisfy a predetermined condition, the controller controls an output device in such a way as to output second information (Bowen Figs. 1-24; [0225], FIG. 13A is a UI for controlling operation of one of the associated vaporizers, showing a detected cartridge on the bottom, with information about the cartridge and/or contents that may be accessed by selecting/touching the image, a central temperature (e.g., oven/vaporization chamber) control allowing finger-tip selection and/or modification of temperature manually, or selection of one or more “programs” for setting temperature, and a monitor indicating the number of inhalations and/or doses taken from the vaporizer, either cumulatively for a ‘session’ or within a set time period. FIGS. 13B-13C illustrate alternative UIs or modified UI similar to that shown in FIG. 13A. As shown, in FIGS. 13A-13C, an indicator (e.g., a heart or other symbol) may be used to show a pre-set preference for the user; [0226], FIGS. 14A-14E illustrate UI alerts/pop-ups that may be used. FIG. 14A shows a user alert/pop-up that may indicate information about the operation of the vaporizer and/or a specific cartridge based on aggregate data from other users; [0231], temperature control (FIG. 19D) (You can precisely control temperature. Slide to Adjust it; This is the most popular temperature setting for the pod you’re currently using))
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowen in view of Cohen in further view of Zisk et al. (US 10068284 B1, published 09/04/2018), hereinafter Zisk.
Regarding claim 9, Bowen in view of Cohen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the display image includes a plurality of second UI elements corresponding to a plurality of puff times and a predetermined area, and wherein the controller arranges the plurality of second UI elements corresponding to the plurality of puff times in a predetermined direction (Bowen Figs. 1-24; [0112], During operation, the vaporizer may periodically (e.g., after each puff, etc.) write to the memory in the cartridge identity circuit, if detected. Writing may be performed by the vaporizer by applying power for a predetermined timer period, to power the capacitive circuit, as shown in FIG. 4; [0120], Usage information may include number of puffs/draws, the dosage delivered, or the like; [0173], the user may record a use profile including the number of puffs (e.g., draw events, inhalations, etc.) between changes in the temperature, as well as the temperature; [0225], FIG. 13A is a UI for controlling operation of one of the associated vaporizers, showing a detected cartridge on the bottom, with information about the cartridge and/or contents that may be accessed by selecting/touching the image, a central temperature (e.g., oven/vaporization chamber) control allowing finger-tip selection and/or modification of temperature manually, or selection of one or more “programs” for setting temperature, and a monitor indicating the number of inhalations and/or doses taken from the vaporizer, either cumulatively for a ‘session’ or within a set time period. FIGS. 13B-13C illustrate alternative UIs or modified UI similar to that shown in FIG. 13A. As shown, in FIGS. 13A-13C, an indicator (e.g., a heart or other symbol) may be used to show a pre-set preference for the user; [0231], temperature control (FIG. 19D) (You can precisely control temperature. Slide to Adjust it; This is the most popular temperature setting for the pod you’re currently using); [0231], puff/dose monitoring (FIGS. 19E-19F) (You can control the volume for a consistent experience. Use the dial to adjust it))
Cohen further teaches:
receives, setting of the evaluations for the puff time corresponding to the second UI element (Cohen Figs. 1-10; abs. providing a plurality of puffs from a vaporizer. The plurality of puffs based on the delivery pattern and including the first puff and the second puff. The method further includes receiving user feedback associated with the delivery pattern in response to the providing. The method further includes modifying the delivery pattern based on the user feedback; [0070], a user may control some aspects of the vaporizer (temperature, dosage, etc.) and/or data transmission and data receiving to and from vaporizer; [0113], the user may provide feedback via an app, via a gesture of the vaporizer, a sensor, a selection of an input on the vaporizer and/or user interface 650, via learned behavior from past history, and/or the like. The feedback may include a current level of satisfaction; [0114], The cessation system may include an adaptive pattern recognition system, such as a machine learning algorithm (e.g., a neural network), that may identify optimal tunings to the first cartridge and/or the first program for the user; [0122-0125], FIG. 8 is a diagram of communication in a system 800; [0166], FIG. 9 shows a user interface (UI) for an application (app) that may be used with a vaporizer as described herein, including an initial download of the app and a selection of a desired effect, such as quitting smoking combustible cigarettes, an insertion of an optimized pod for achieving the selected desired effect, delivery of an optimum dose/temperature, and feedback regarding user experience with the device, pod, dose, and/or the like (Virtuous cycle continually improves individual personalization; Your Last Session; Positive Effects; Negative Effects; Strength; Overall))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated receives, setting of the evaluations for the puff time corresponding to the second UI element as suggested in Cohen into Bowen. Doing so would be desirable because aspects of the current subject matter relate to management of operation (e.g., one or more settings or operation parameters) of a vaporizer (see Cohen [0004]). Implementations of the current subject matter also include methods of using a vaporizer and/or a vaporizer system for functions such as determining and/or controlling a dose, amount, or the like of one or more chemical species of the vaporizable material or of the vaporizable material itself. Such determining and/or controlling may be used in conjunction with a nicotine cessation program to improve a likelihood of success in reducing/eliminating nicotine consumption and/or addiction (see Cohen [0036]). The user feedback may be used to modify the optimized delivery of nicotine to improve user personalization of nicotine delivery (see Cohen [0123]). In addition, any of the vaporizers and apps described herein may be used to enhance the social experience of the user, including for interaction with other users, and communication with a particular use (see Cohen [0156]). Any of the apparatuses described herein (including the vaporizers and any affiliated apps) may also be used to collect and analyze user data. This may allow the vaporizer producers, providers and retailers to get to know users better, including understand where when and how they are using the vaporizer. Knowing where and when a consumer is using a vaporizer may allow better marketing to users and may improve the design for future products (see Cohen [0161]).
However, Bown in view of Cohen fails to expressly disclose scrolls the plurality of second UI elements in the predetermined direction, and receives, when each of the scrolled second UI elements reaches the predetermined area, setting of the evaluations corresponding to the second UI element that has reached the predetermined area. In the same field of endeavor, Zisk teaches:
scrolls the plurality of second UI elements in the predetermined direction, and receives, when each of the scrolled second UI elements reaches the predetermined area, setting of the evaluations corresponding to the second UI element that has reached the predetermined area (Zisk Figs. 1-11; col. 5 [line 19], As shown in FIG. 5, the product information includes a visual representation 173 of the product, a “like” feedback indicator 175, a “dislike” feedback indicator 180, and an “add to cart” indicator 185. Each of the indicators 175, 180, and 185 is selectable by the user to provide input or feedback to the system 10. Thus, the user can provide input to the Mia Middleware 15 not only through the dialogue boxes 150, 155, 160, 165, and 170, but also through the indicators 175 and 180. The Mia Middleware 15 learns from a user's “likes” and “dislikes” via the indicators 175 and 180, respectively, and responds in real time throughout the chat session 95. The Mia Middleware 15 stores an analysis of a user from each conversation, which provides pattern-based analysis of a user over time; col. 6 [line 1], the Mia Middleware 15 analyzes the user's inputs regarding the “liked” pairs of jeans via the feedback indicators 175 of the three liked pairs of jeans to determine that the user is looking for jeans having a design printed on them. Moreover, the Mia Middleware 15 suggests items that the user does not request or otherwise mention (i.e., the belt); col. 7 [line 45], At the step 232, a scrolling command is received from the user. As illustrated in FIGS. 8A and 8B, the dialogue box 120 defines a horizontal axis 120c relative to which the plurality of products 239 is aligned. The system 10 is capable of receiving a command from the user to horizontally “scroll” the plurality of products 239 towards either a side box boundary 120a or an opposing side box boundary 120b in a direction illustrated by the arrow identified with the numeral 262; col. 7 [line 59], At the step 234, the visual representations displayed in the dialogue box 120 are simultaneously moved along the longitudinal axis of the box 120 and towards the side box boundary 120a or 120b. In response to the receipt of the scrolling command, the system 10 simultaneously scrolls or moves the plurality of products 239 to hide a portion of the plurality of products 239 and reveal another portion of the plurality of products 239; col. 8 [line 50], The step 260a includes two sub-steps: receiving a scrolling command from the user at step 260aa; and at step 260ab simultaneously moving the dialogue boxes 105-170 and 280-295 towards either the lower interface boundary 37b or the upper interface boundary 37a in response to receiving the scrolling command at the step 260ab. As the number of dialogue boxes displayed on the GUI 37 increases, some of the boxes 105-170 and 280 and 295 may extend beyond the upper or lower boundaries 37a and 37b such that a portion of the chat session 95 is not visible to the user. Receiving the command to scroll the dialogue boxes or the chat session 95 towards either the lower interface boundary 37b or the upper interface boundary 37a is substantially similar to receiving the command to scroll the products along a longitudinal axis of one of the boxes except for the command to scroll the visual representations within a dialogue box is a command to scroll along the longitudinal axis while the command to scroll the boxes 105-170 and 280-295 is a command to scroll the boxes towards either the lower interface boundary 37b or the upper interface boundary 37a. At the step 260ab and as shown in FIGS. 5 and 9, as the user scrolls the chat session 95 upwards in the vertical direction towards the upper boundary 37a, the previously hidden dialogue boxes 280, 285, 290, and 295 are displayed and are viewable by the user. As illustrated in FIGS. 10 and 11, scrolling the dialogue boxes 105-170 and 280-295 in the vertical direction towards the lower boundary 37b permits the user to view the plurality of products 172 and the first filtered subset of products 239, which are associated with product searches having fewer input parameters than the second filtered subset of products 246 and the third filtered subset of products 300. As the dialogue boxes 105-170 and 280-295 form a visual representation of the historical search record, scrolling the dialogue boxes 105-170 and 280-295 permits the review of the historical search record of products)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated scrolls the plurality of second UI elements in the predetermined direction, and receives, when each of the scrolled second UI elements reaches the predetermined area, setting of the evaluations corresponding to the second UI element that has reached the predetermined area as suggested in Zisk into Bowen in view of Cohen. Doing so would be desirable because the system of Zisk addresses and resolves the problems with conventional systems that are identified above and improves the performance and functioning of the computing device 35 itself (see Zisk col. 11 [line 24]). The system uses a vast collection of data, both structured and unstructured, and transforms it into a multi-faceted user profile to create actionable insights (see Zisk col. 3 [line 12]). The system transforms this data into a comprehensive set of cognitive services, which provide actionable insights for selling products more efficiently to customers, and for helping the customers to shop more efficiently because products that are shown via the GUI 37 to the customers more closely match their preferences (see Zisk col. 3 [line 58]). Additionally, the indicators enable the system to learn from a user's “likes” and “dislikes” via the indicators 175 and 180 and store analysis of a user, which provides pattern-based analysis of a user over time (see Zisk col. 5 [line 19]). The system of Zisk would improve the systems of Bowen and Cohen by enabling the users to easily view additional items when the number of items exceeds a number of items that can easily be viewed (see Zisk col. 6 [line 56]) as well as easily provide feedback for each item (see Zisk col. 5 [line 19]), thereby increasing ease of use and user satisfaction.
Regarding claim 10, Bowen in view of Cohen teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the display image includes a plurality of second UI elements corresponding to a plurality of puff times, wherein the controller arranges the plurality of second UI elements corresponding to the plurality of puff times in a predetermined direction, wherein a plurality of second UI elements corresponding to a same puff time reaches the predetermined area at different times (Bowen Figs. 1-24; [0112], During operation, the vaporizer may periodically (e.g., after each puff, etc.) write to the memory in the cartridge identity circuit, if detected. Writing may be performed by the vaporizer by applying power for a predetermined timer period, to power the capacitive circuit, as shown in FIG. 4; [0120], Usage information may include number of puffs/draws, the dosage delivered, or the like; [0173], the user may record a use profile including the number of puffs (e.g., draw events, inhalations, etc.) between changes in the temperature, as well as the temperature; [0225], FIG. 13A is a UI for controlling operation of one of the associated vaporizers, showing a detected cartridge on the bottom, with information about the cartridge and/or contents that may be accessed by selecting/touching the image, a central temperature (e.g., oven/vaporization chamber) control allowing finger-tip selection and/or modification of temperature manually, or selection of one or more “programs” for setting temperature, and a monitor indicating the number of inhalations and/or doses taken from the vaporizer, either cumulatively for a ‘session’ or within a set time period. FIGS. 13B-13C illustrate alternative UIs or modified UI similar to that shown in FIG. 13A. As shown, in FIGS. 13A-13C, an indicator (e.g., a heart or other symbol) may be used to show a pre-set preference for the user; [0231], temperature control (FIG. 19D) (You can precisely control temperature. Slide to Adjust it; This is the most popular temperature setting for the pod you’re currently using); [0231], puff/dose monitoring (FIGS. 19E-19F) (You can control the volume for a consistent experience. Use the dial to adjust it))
Cohen further teaches:
a plurality of evaluation items, setting of the evaluation for the puff time and the evaluation item corresponding to the second UI element, and different evaluation items (Cohen Figs. 1-10; abs. providing a plurality of puffs from a vaporizer. The plurality of puffs based on the delivery pattern and including the first puff and the second puff. The method further includes receiving user feedback associated with the delivery pattern in response to the providing. The method further includes modifying the delivery pattern based on the user feedback; [0070], a user may control some aspects of the vaporizer (temperature, dosage, etc.) and/or data transmission and data receiving to and from vaporizer; [0113], the user may provide feedback via an app, via a gesture of the vaporizer, a sensor, a selection of an input on the vaporizer and/or user interface 650, via learned behavior from past history, and/or the like. The feedback may include a current level of satisfaction; [0114], The cessation system may include an adaptive pattern recognition system, such as a machine learning algorithm (e.g., a neural network), that may identify optimal tunings to the first cartridge and/or the first program for the user; [0122-0125], FIG. 8 is a diagram of communication in a system 800; [0166], FIG. 9 shows a user interface (UI) for an application (app) that may be used with a vaporizer as described herein, including an initial download of the app and a selection of a desired effect, such as quitting smoking combustible cigarettes, an insertion of an optimized pod for achieving the selected desired effect, delivery of an optimum dose/temperature, and feedback regarding user experience with the device, pod, dose, and/or the like (Virtuous cycle continually improves individual personalization; Your Last Session; Positive Effects; Negative Effects; Strength; Overall))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated a plurality of evaluation items, setting of the evaluation for the puff time and the evaluation item corresponding to the second UI element, and different evaluation items as suggested in Cohen into Bowen. Doing so would be desirable because aspects of the current subject matter relate to management of operation (e.g., one or more settings or operation parameters) of a vaporizer (see Cohen [0004]). Implementations of the current subject matter also include methods of using a vaporizer and/or a vaporizer system for functions such as determining and/or controlling a dose, amount, or the like of one or more chemical species of the vaporizable material or of the vaporizable material itself. Such determining and/or controlling may be used in conjunction with a nicotine cessation program to improve a likelihood of success in reducing/eliminating nicotine consumption and/or addiction (see Cohen [0036]). The user feedback may be used to modify the optimized delivery of nicotine to improve user personalization of nicotine delivery (see Cohen [0123]). In addition, any of the vaporizers and apps described herein may be used to enhance the social experience of the user, including for interaction with other users, and communication with a particular use (see Cohen [0156]). Any of the apparatuses described herein (including the vaporizers and any affiliated apps) may also be used to collect and analyze user data. This may allow the vaporizer producers, providers and retailers to get to know users better, including understand where when and how they are using the vaporizer. Knowing where and when a consumer is using a vaporizer may allow better marketing to users and may improve the design for future products (see Cohen [0161]).
However, Bown in view of Cohen fails to expressly disclose scrolls the plurality of second UI elements in the predetermined direction, and receives, when each of the scrolled second UI elements reaches the predetermined area, setting of the evaluation and the evaluation item corresponding to the second UI element that has reached the predetermined area, and wherein a plurality of second UI elements corresponding to a same element and different evaluation items reaches the predetermined area at different times. In the same field of endeavor, Zisk teaches:
scrolls the plurality of second UI elements in the predetermined direction, and receives, when each of the scrolled second UI elements reaches the predetermined area, setting of the evaluation and the evaluation item corresponding to the second UI element that has reached the predetermined area, and wherein a plurality of second UI elements corresponding to a same element and different evaluation items reaches the predetermined area at different times (Zisk Figs. 1-11; col. 5 [line 19], As shown in FIG. 5, the product information includes a visual representation 173 of the product, a “like” feedback indicator 175, a “dislike” feedback indicator 180, and an “add to cart” indicator 185. Each of the indicators 175, 180, and 185 is selectable by the user to provide input or feedback to the system 10. Thus, the user can provide input to the Mia Middleware 15 not only through the dialogue boxes 150, 155, 160, 165, and 170, but also through the indicators 175 and 180. The Mia Middleware 15 learns from a user's “likes” and “dislikes” via the indicators 175 and 180, respectively, and responds in real time throughout the chat session 95. The Mia Middleware 15 stores an analysis of a user from each conversation, which provides pattern-based analysis of a user over time; col. 6 [line1], the Mia Middleware 15 analyzes the user's inputs regarding the “liked” pairs of jeans via the feedback indicators 175 of the three liked pairs of jeans to determine that the user is looking for jeans having a design printed on them. Moreover, the Mia Middleware 15 suggests items that the user does not request or otherwise mention (i.e., the belt); col. 7 [line 45], At the step 232, a scrolling command is received from the user. As illustrated in FIGS. 8A and 8B, the dialogue box 120 defines a horizontal axis 120c relative to which the plurality of products 239 is aligned. The system 10 is capable of receiving a command from the user to horizontally “scroll” the plurality of products 239 towards either a side box boundary 120a or an opposing side box boundary 120b in a direction illustrated by the arrow identified with the numeral 262; col. 7 [line 59], At the step 234, the visual representations displayed in the dialogue box 120 are simultaneously moved along the longitudinal axis of the box 120 and towards the side box boundary 120a or 120b. In response to the receipt of the scrolling command, the system 10 simultaneously scrolls or moves the plurality of products 239 to hide a portion of the plurality of products 239 and reveal another portion of the plurality of products 239; col. 8 [line 50], The step 260a includes two sub-steps: receiving a scrolling command from the user at step 260aa; and at step 260ab simultaneously moving the dialogue boxes 105-170 and 280-295 towards either the lower interface boundary 37b or the upper interface boundary 37a in response to receiving the scrolling command at the step 260ab. As the number of dialogue boxes displayed on the GUI 37 increases, some of the boxes 105-170 and 280 and 295 may extend beyond the upper or lower boundaries 37a and 37b such that a portion of the chat session 95 is not visible to the user. Receiving the command to scroll the dialogue boxes or the chat session 95 towards either the lower interface boundary 37b or the upper interface boundary 37a is substantially similar to receiving the command to scroll the products along a longitudinal axis of one of the boxes except for the command to scroll the visual representations within a dialogue box is a command to scroll along the longitudinal axis while the command to scroll the boxes 105-170 and 280-295 is a command to scroll the boxes towards either the lower interface boundary 37b or the upper interface boundary 37a. At the step 260ab and as shown in FIGS. 5 and 9, as the user scrolls the chat session 95 upwards in the vertical direction towards the upper boundary 37a, the previously hidden dialogue boxes 280, 285, 290, and 295 are displayed and are viewable by the user. As illustrated in FIGS. 10 and 11, scrolling the dialogue boxes 105-170 and 280-295 in the vertical direction towards the lower boundary 37b permits the user to view the plurality of products 172 and the first filtered subset of products 239, which are associated with product searches having fewer input parameters than the second filtered subset of products 246 and the third filtered subset of products 300. As the dialogue boxes 105-170 and 280-295 form a visual representation of the historical search record, scrolling the dialogue boxes 105-170 and 280-295 permits the review of the historical search record of products)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated scrolls the plurality of second UI elements in the predetermined direction, and receives, when each of the scrolled second UI elements reaches the predetermined area, setting of the evaluation and the evaluation item corresponding to the second UI element that has reached the predetermined area, and wherein a plurality of second UI elements corresponding to a same element and different evaluation items reaches the predetermined area at different times as suggested in Zisk into Bowen in view of Cohen. Doing so would be desirable because the system of Zisk addresses and resolves the problems with conventional systems that are identified above and improves the performance and functioning of the computing device 35 itself (see Zisk col. 11 [line 24]). The system uses a vast collection of data, both structured and unstructured, and transforms it into a multi-faceted user profile to create actionable insights (see Zisk col. 3 [line 12]). The system transforms this data into a comprehensive set of cognitive services, which provide actionable insights for selling products more efficiently to customers, and for helping the customers to shop more efficiently because products that are shown via the GUI 37 to the customers more closely match their preferences (see Zisk col. 3 [line 58]). Additionally, the indicators enable the system to learn from a user's “likes” and “dislikes” via the indicators 175 and 180 and store analysis of a user, which provides pattern-based analysis of a user over time (see Zisk col. 5 [line 19]). The system of Zisk would improve the systems of Bowen and Cohen by enabling the users to easily view additional items when the number of items exceeds a number of items that can easily be viewed (see Zisk col. 6 [line 56]) as well as easily provide feedback for each item (see Zisk col. 5 [line 19]), thereby increasing ease of use and user satisfaction.
Regarding claim 11, Bowen in view of Cohen in further view of Zisk teaches all the limitations of claim 9. Cohen further teaches:
wherein the second UI elements include the symbols indicating the set evaluations (Cohen Figs. 1-10; abs. providing a plurality of puffs from a vaporizer. The plurality of puffs based on the delivery pattern and including the first puff and the second puff. The method further includes receiving user feedback associated with the delivery pattern in response to the providing. The method further includes modifying the delivery pattern based on the user feedback; [0070], a user may control some aspects of the vaporizer (temperature, dosage, etc.) and/or data transmission and data receiving to and from vaporizer; [0113], the user may provide feedback via an app, via a gesture of the vaporizer, a sensor, a selection of an input on the vaporizer and/or user interface 650, via learned behavior from past history, and/or the like. The feedback may include a current level of satisfaction; [0114], The cessation system may include an adaptive pattern recognition system, such as a machine learning algorithm (e.g., a neural network), that may identify optimal tunings to the first cartridge and/or the first program for the user; [0122-0125], FIG. 8 is a diagram of communication in a system 800; [0166], FIG. 9 shows a user interface (UI) for an application (app) that may be used with a vaporizer as described herein, including an initial download of the app and a selection of a desired effect, such as quitting smoking combustible cigarettes, an insertion of an optimized pod for achieving the selected desired effect, delivery of an optimum dose/temperature, and feedback regarding user experience with the device, pod, dose, and/or the like (Virtuous cycle continually improves individual personalization; Your Last Session; Positive Effects; Negative Effects; Strength; Overall))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the second UI elements include the symbols indicating the set evaluations as suggested in Cohen into Bowen. Doing so would be desirable because aspects of the current subject matter relate to management of operation (e.g., one or more settings or operation parameters) of a vaporizer (see Cohen [0004]). Implementations of the current subject matter also include methods of using a vaporizer and/or a vaporizer system for functions such as determining and/or controlling a dose, amount, or the like of one or more chemical species of the vaporizable material or of the vaporizable material itself. Such determining and/or controlling may be used in conjunction with a nicotine cessation program to improve a likelihood of success in reducing/eliminating nicotine consumption and/or addiction (see Cohen [0036]). The user feedback may be used to modify the optimized delivery of nicotine to improve user personalization of nicotine delivery (see Cohen [0123]). In addition, any of the vaporizers and apps described herein may be used to enhance the social experience of the user, including for interaction with other users, and communication with a particular use (see Cohen [0156]). Any of the apparatuses described herein (including the vaporizers and any affiliated apps) may also be used to collect and analyze user data. This may allow the vaporizer producers, providers and retailers to get to know users better, including understand where when and how they are using the vaporizer. Knowing where and when a consumer is using a vaporizer may allow better marketing to users and may improve the design for future products (see Cohen [0161]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Heidl (US 20190289915 A1) see Figs. 1-24 and [0044], and [0097-0102].
/JOHN T REPSHER III/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143