DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's Amendment and Remarks filed on 4/1/2026. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim 2 was canceled.
Claims 1, 3-9 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
(A) Applicant's arguments filed “Ishihara does not teach or suggest the feature "in a case where the first remaining battery charge level is less than the first threshold value, acquiring a second remaining battery charge level that is a remaining charge level of a second battery that supplies electric power to a drive motor of the vehicle" in amended claim 1. Ishihara merely describes that the microcomputer 20 acquires, from the secondary battery 13, a voltage value corresponding to a state of charge, maintains a power-saving standby state using the secondary battery 13 when the voltage value is equal to a reference capacity, and terminates the power-saving standby state when the voltage value is less than the reference capacity (please see paragraph [0055] in Ishihara). As is best understood by the Applicant, Ishihara does not describe acquiring the voltage value of another battery when the voltage value of secondary battery 13 is less than the reference capacity. Therefore, Ishihara fails to teach or suggest "in a case where the first remaining battery charge level is less than the first threshold value, acquiring a second remaining battery charge level that is a remaining charge level of a second battery that supplies electric power to a drive motor of the vehicle" in amended claim 1.” on 4/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to point (A), the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner further notes Ishihara disclosed in Para 58 “in step ST17, switches from the power saving standby state using the secondary battery 13 to the power saving standby state using the charge storage member 15”, Para 59 “After step ST4 or ST17, the microcomputer 20, in step ST21, calculates the duration of the power saving standby state using the charge storage member 15” and Para 81 “when the duration of the power saving standby state using the charge storage member 15 exceeds the first reference time (“YES” in step ST22) while the power saving standby state is maintained using the charge storage member 15 in the first operation mode (steps ST21 to ST25), the control unit 21 ends the power saving standby state (step ST27). By setting the first reference time to an appropriate value, the power saving standby state can be maintained until just before the charge capacity of the charge storage member 15 becomes a zero value”. Calculates the duration of the power saving standby state using the charge storage member 15 would encompasses acquiring a second remaining battery charge level that is a remaining charge level of a second battery while Yashiro disclosed a second battery that supplies electric power to a drive motor of the vehicle.
(B) Applicant's arguments filed “Ishihara does not teach or suggest the feature "in a case where the first remaining battery charge level is lower than the first threshold value and the second remaining battery charge level is equal to or higher than a second threshold value, controlling the communication terminal into the standby state while charging the first battery with the second battery" in amended claim 1. Ishihara merely describes that a detected value is acquired from the temperature sensor 14, and when the detected value is outside a reference range, the microcomputer 20 switches to a power-saving standby state using the charge storage member 15 instead of the secondary battery 13. Ishihara continues to describe that a first reference time is set in accordance with a capacity of the charge storage member 15 (please see paragraphs [0053] and [0070] in Ishihara). In other words, as is best understood by the Applicant, Ishihara merely describes that the microcomputer 20 instructs the information processing unit 11 to switch from the operating state into a power-saving standby state based on the detected value acquired from the temperature sensor 14, and acquires a capacity of the charge storage member 15 for setting a reference time. That is, the power-saving standby state in Ishihara is not controlled based on voltage values of two batteries. In contrast, in amended claim 1, the communication terminal will be in the stop state when both criteria are satisfied: (1) when the first remaining battery charge level is lower than the first threshold value, and (2) when the second remaining battery charge level is equal to or higher than the second threshold value. Therefore, Ishihara fails to teach or suggest "in a case where the first remaining battery charge level is lower than the first threshold value and the second remaining battery charge level is equal to or higher than a second threshold value, controlling the communication terminal into the standby state while charging the first battery with the second battery" in amended claim 1.” on 4/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to point (B), the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner further notes the claim recited “in a case where the first remaining battery charge level is lower than the first threshold value and the second remaining battery charge level is equal to or higher than a second threshold value, controlling the communication terminal into the standby state” which is different from applicant’s argument “the communication terminal will be in the stop state when both criteria are satisfied: (1) when the first remaining battery charge level is lower than the first threshold value, and (2) when the second remaining battery charge level is equal to or higher than the second threshold value”. Furthermore, Ishihara disclosed in a case where the first remaining battery charge level is lower than the first threshold value in Para 57 “when the charge capacity of the secondary battery 13 is less than the reference capacity (“NO” in step ST14)” and the second remaining battery charge level is equal to or higher than a second threshold value, controlling the communication terminal into the standby state in Para 81 “when the duration of the power saving standby state using the charge storage member 15 exceeds the first reference time (“YES” in step ST22) while the power saving standby state is maintained using the charge storage member 15 in the first operation mode (steps ST21 to ST25), the control unit 21 ends the power saving standby state (step ST27). By setting the first reference time to an appropriate value, the power saving standby state can be maintained until just before the charge capacity of the charge storage member 15 becomes a zero value”. The charge capacity of the charge storage member 15 above a zero value would encompass the second remaining battery charge level is equal to or higher than a second threshold value.
(C) Applicant's arguments filed “Ishihara does not teach or suggest the feature "in a case where the first remaining battery charge level is lower than the first threshold value and the second remaining battery charge level is lower than the second threshold value, controlling the communication terminal into a stop state" in amended claim 1. Ishihara merely describes that a voltage value corresponding to a state of charge is acquired from the secondary battery 13, and that the power-saving standby state is terminated when the voltage value is less than a reference capacity. Ishihara also merely describes that the power-saving standby state is terminated when a duration of the power-saving standby state using the charge storage member 1S exceeds the first reference time (please see paragraphs [0057] and [0063] in Ishihara). Although the Office Action comments that Ishihara describes "controlling the communication terminal into the stop state when the first remaining battery charge level is lower than the first threshold value and the second remaining battery charge level is lower than the second threshold value" in original claim 2, as is best understood by the Applicant, the power-saving standby state in Ishihara is terminated by the voltage value or by the duration of time. That is, the power-saving standby state in Ishihara is not controlled based on voltage values of two batteries. In contrast, in amended claim 1, the communication terminal will be in the stop state when both criteria are satisfied: (1) the first remaining battery charge level is lower than the first threshold value, and (2) the second remaining battery charge level is lower than the second threshold value. Therefore, Ishihara fails to teach or suggest "in a case where the first remaining battery charge level is lower than the first threshold value and the second remaining battery charge level is lower than the second threshold value, controlling the communication terminal into a stop state" in amended claim 1.” on 4/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to point (C), the examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner further notes the vehicle-mounted information apparatus 4 is shutdown (controlling the communication terminal into a stop state) just before the charge capacity of the charge storage member 15 becomes a zero value (the second remaining battery charge level is lower than the second threshold value) and when the charge capacity of the secondary battery 13 is less than the reference capacity(the first remaining battery charge level is lower than the first threshold value).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 3-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishihara (US20190315247A1) in view of Yashiro (US20140163777A1).
In regards to claim 1, Ishihara teaches n information processing device configured to control a vehicle including a communication terminal configured to perform communication related to remote operation, the information processing device comprising
a processor (Ishihara: Para 32 “The information processing unit 11 freely switches among an operating state, a shutdown state, and a power saving standby state, in accordance with an instruction from the microcomputer 20”) configured to perform:
acquiring a first remaining battery charge level that is a remaining charge level of a first battery that supplies electric power to the communication terminal(Ishihara: Para 74 “The secondary battery 13 has a function of outputting a voltage value corresponding to the charge capacity of the secondary battery 13 to the microcomputer 20”; Para 64 “by maintaining the power saving standby state by selectively using either the secondary battery 13 or the charge storage member 15 in accordance with the detected value provided by the temperature sensor 14, the decrease in the charge capacity of the vehicle battery 2 due to a dark current in the state in which the starting switch 3 is off can be prevented, and the life of the secondary battery 13 can be increased”) ;
determining whether the acquired first remaining battery charge level is equal to or greater than a first threshold value(Ishihara: Para 75 “the CPU in the charge and discharge control circuit 17 determines whether or not the charge capacity of the secondary battery 13 is equal to or greater than the reference capacity by using the voltage value acquired in step ST13 (step ST14).”);
in a case where the first remaining battery charge level is equal to or greater than the first threshold value, controlling the communication terminal to be in a standby state(Ishihara: Para 56 “When the charge capacity of the secondary battery 13 is equal to or greater than the reference capacity (“YES” in step ST14), the microcomputer 20 returns to the process of step ST11 while continuing the power saving standby state using the secondary battery 13 (step ST15)”);
in a case where the first remaining battery charge level is less than the first threshold value(Ishihara: Para 57 “when the charge capacity of the secondary battery 13 is less than the reference capacity (“NO” in step ST14), the microcomputer 20, in step ST16, ends the power saving standby state. More specifically, the microcomputer 20 switches the electric connection in the switching circuit 16 between the secondary battery 13 and the charge storage member 15”), acquiring a second remaining battery charge level that is a remaining charge level of a second battery(Ishihara: Para 58 “in step ST17, switches from the power saving standby state using the secondary battery 13 to the power saving standby state using the charge storage member 15”, Para 59 “After step ST4 or ST17, the microcomputer 20, in step ST21, calculates the duration of the power saving standby state using the charge storage member 15”; Para 81 “when the duration of the power saving standby state using the charge storage member 15 exceeds the first reference time (“YES” in step ST22) while the power saving standby state is maintained using the charge storage member 15 in the first operation mode (steps ST21 to ST25), the control unit 21 ends the power saving standby state (step ST27). By setting the first reference time to an appropriate value, the power saving standby state can be maintained until just before the charge capacity of the charge storage member 15 becomes a zero value”; Para 70 “The first reference time can be set to a time making it possible to maintain the power saving standby state by using the charge storage member 15, in accordance with the capacity of the charge storage member 15, the magnitude of the dark current consumed by the information processing unit 11”) … ;
determining whether the acquired second remaining battery charge level is equal to or greater than a second threshold value(Ishihara: Para 81 “when the duration of the power saving standby state using the charge storage member 15 exceeds the first reference time (“YES” in step ST22) while the power saving standby state is maintained using the charge storage member 15 in the first operation mode (steps ST21 to ST25), the control unit 21 ends the power saving standby state (step ST27). By setting the first reference time to an appropriate value, the power saving standby state can be maintained until just before the charge capacity of the charge storage member 15 becomes a zero value”; i.e. zero value encompasses a second threshold value);
in a case where the first remaining battery charge level is lower than the first threshold value(Ishihara: Para 57 “when the charge capacity of the secondary battery 13 is less than the reference capacity (“NO” in step ST14), the microcomputer 20, in step ST16, ends the power saving standby state. More specifically, the microcomputer 20 switches the electric connection in the switching circuit 16 between the secondary battery 13 and the charge storage member 15”) and the second remaining battery charge level is equal to or higher than a second threshold value, controlling the communication terminal into the standby state(Ishihara: Para 81 “when the duration of the power saving standby state using the charge storage member 15 exceeds the first reference time (“YES” in step ST22) while the power saving standby state is maintained using the charge storage member 15 in the first operation mode (steps ST21 to ST25), the control unit 21 ends the power saving standby state (step ST27). By setting the first reference time to an appropriate value, the power saving standby state can be maintained until just before the charge capacity of the charge storage member 15 becomes a zero value”) … ; and
in a case where the first remaining battery charge level is lower than the first threshold value and the second remaining battery charge level is lower than the second threshold value, controlling the communication terminal into a stop state(Ishihara: Para 77 “the standby state maintaining device 100 of Embodiment 1 includes the secondary battery 13 disposed separately from the vehicle battery 2, the temperature sensor 14 for the secondary battery 13, the charge storage member 15 that is charged and discharged in a temperature outside the reference range, and the control unit 21 having the first operation mode of, in the state in which the starting switch 3 of the vehicle 1 is off, maintaining the power saving standby state of the vehicle-mounted information apparatus 4 by using the secondary battery 13 when the detected value provided by the temperature sensor 14 is within the reference range, and maintaining the power saving standby state by using the charge storage member 15 when the detected value is outside the reference range”; Para 70 “The first reference time can be set to a time making it possible to maintain the power saving standby state by using the charge storage member 15, in accordance with the capacity of the charge storage member 15, the magnitude of the dark current consumed by the information processing unit 11”; 81 “when the duration of the power saving standby state using the charge storage member 15 exceeds the first reference time (“YES” in step ST22) while the power saving standby state is maintained using the charge storage member 15 in the first operation mode (steps ST21 to ST25), the control unit 21 ends the power saving standby state (step ST27). By setting the first reference time to an appropriate value, the power saving standby state can be maintained until just before the charge capacity of the charge storage member 15 becomes a zero value”; Para 57 “when the charge capacity of the secondary battery 13 is less than the reference capacity (“NO” in step ST14), the microcomputer 20, in step ST16, ends the power saving standby state. More specifically, the microcomputer 20 switches the electric connection in the switching circuit 16 between the secondary battery 13 and the charge storage member 15, and the power supply unit 12 from the on state to the off state. Further, the microcomputer 20 instructs the charge and discharge control circuit 17 to end the discharge of the secondary battery 13. In addition, the microcomputer 20 instructs the information processing unit 11 to switch from the power saving standby state to the shutdown state”; i.e. the vehicle-mounted information apparatus 4 is shutdown(controlling the communication terminal into a stop state) just before the charge capacity of the charge storage member 15 becomes a zero value (the second remaining battery charge level is lower than the second threshold value) and when the charge capacity of the secondary battery 13 is less than the reference capacity(the first remaining battery charge level is lower than the first threshold value)).
Yet Ishihara do not explicitly teach a second battery that supplies electric power to a drive motor of the vehicle;
controlling the communication terminal into the standby state while charging the first battery with the second battery.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yashiro teaches acquiring a second remaining battery charge level that is a remaining charge level of a second battery that supplies electric power to a drive motor of the vehicle (Yashiro: Fig. 1 Element 5A; Para 33 “a plug-in hybrid vehicle (PHV) equipped with a main battery (a battery for running) chargeable via a general power source (100 V source) provided outside the vehicle, such as a household wall socket. Devices installed in the vehicle (in-vehicle devices) include the main battery, which is a high-voltage source, an auxiliary battery that is charged from the main battery, and an auxiliary-battery charger that charges the auxiliary battery”; Para 70 “The communication unit 4 a receives information on the remote control by the smartphone 3, sends this information to the vehicle ECU 21 and the in-vehicle charge ECU 22, and also sends information including the charge state of the main battery 5A and the control state of the vehicle ECU 21 to the smartphone 3 so as to carry out wireless communication control”);
controlling the communication terminal into the standby state (Yashiro: Para 11 “a wireless communication device in the vehicle is always in a communication standby mode and is ready to receive transmission from a smartphone or any other devices at all times”) while charging the first battery with the second battery(Yashiro: Para 64 “The auxiliary battery 5B can be charged from the main battery 5A or can be charged from an external source in a manner similar to the main battery 5A”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the information processing device of Ishihara with the feature of acquiring a second remaining battery charge level that is a remaining charge level of a second battery that supplies electric power to a drive motor of the vehicle; controlling the communication terminal into the standby state while charging the first battery with the second battery disclosed by Yashiro. One would be motivated to do so for the benefit of “prevents the auxiliary battery from running out” (Yashiro: Para 24).
In regards to claim 3, the combination of Ishihara and Yashiro teaches The information processing device according to claim 1, and Ishihara further teaches after the communication terminal is brought into the stop state when the first remaining battery charge level is lower than the first threshold value and the second remaining battery charge level is lower than the second threshold value(Ishihara: Para 77 “the standby state maintaining device 100 of Embodiment 1 includes the secondary battery 13 disposed separately from the vehicle battery 2, the temperature sensor 14 for the secondary battery 13, the charge storage member 15 that is charged and discharged in a temperature outside the reference range, and the control unit 21 having the first operation mode of, in the state in which the starting switch 3 of the vehicle 1 is off, maintaining the power saving standby state of the vehicle-mounted information apparatus 4 by using the secondary battery 13 when the detected value provided by the temperature sensor 14 is within the reference range, and maintaining the power saving standby state by using the charge storage member 15 when the detected value is outside the reference range”; Para 70 “The first reference time can be set to a time making it possible to maintain the power saving standby state by using the charge storage member 15, in accordance with the capacity of the charge storage member 15, the magnitude of the dark current consumed by the information processing unit 11”; 81 “when the duration of the power saving standby state using the charge storage member 15 exceeds the first reference time (“YES” in step ST22) while the power saving standby state is maintained using the charge storage member 15 in the first operation mode (steps ST21 to ST25), the control unit 21 ends the power saving standby state (step ST27). By setting the first reference time to an appropriate value, the power saving standby state can be maintained until just before the charge capacity of the charge storage member 15 becomes a zero value”; Para 57 “when the charge capacity of the secondary battery 13 is less than the reference capacity (“NO” in step ST14), the microcomputer 20, in step ST16, ends the power saving standby state. More specifically, the microcomputer 20 switches the electric connection in the switching circuit 16 between the secondary battery 13 and the charge storage member 15, and the power supply unit 12 from the on state to the off state. Further, the microcomputer 20 instructs the charge and discharge control circuit 17 to end the discharge of the secondary battery 13. In addition, the microcomputer 20 instructs the information processing unit 11 to switch from the power saving standby state to the shutdown state”; i.e. the vehicle-mounted information apparatus 4 is shutdown(switching a standby state and a stop state of the communication terminal) just before the charge capacity of the charge storage member 15 becomes a zero value (the second remaining battery charge level) and when the charge capacity of the secondary battery 13 is less than the reference capacity(first remaining battery charge level)) while Yashiro further teaches the second battery is a battery chargeable with an external power supply(Yashiro: Fig. 1 Element 5A and 6A; Para 39 “the vehicle 1 is equipped with in-vehicle devices, such as a main-battery charger 6A that charges a main battery (a battery for running) 5A, an auxiliary-battery charger 6B that charges an auxiliary battery 5B, an air-conditioner (A/C) 12, an audio/navigation system 13, various electric components including a rear defogger 14, lamps 15, door mirrors 16, and wind-shield wipers (not shown), a power switch 17, and door open/close switches 18”; Para 53 “the main-battery charge controller 22 a controls the main-battery charger 6A to supply the main battery 5A with electric power from an external power source, so that the main battery 5A is charged”); and
the processor is configured to, when the second remaining battery charge level is increased to the second threshold value or higher by charging the second battery with the external power supply(Yashiro: Para 91 “Step S40 determines whether the timer-scheduled charge by the auxiliary-battery-charge timer controller 22 b 2 has been carried out during the first predetermined time T1. Step S40 also determines whether the preliminary air-conditioning and the charge of the main battery 5A have been carried out during the first predetermined time T1 and the DC-DC converter has been activated for 10 minutes”) after the communication terminal is brought into the stop state … switch the communication terminal from the stop state to the standby state (Yashiro: Para 81 “The recovery unit 4 c recovers the communication stand-by mode of the communication ECU 4 if a predetermined recovery condition is satisfied while the communication stand-by mode of the communication ECU 4 is being turned off by the stopper 4 b”) while charging the first battery with the second battery(Yashiro: Para 33 “Devices installed in the vehicle (in-vehicle devices) include the main battery, which is a high-voltage source, an auxiliary battery that is charged from the main battery, and an auxiliary-battery charger that charges the auxiliary battery”; Para 49 “In the READY ON mode, all in-vehicle devices including the high-voltage devices are activated. In this mode, the vehicle 1 can travel, and the main battery 5A and the auxiliary battery 5B can be charged”; Para 97 “if the READY ON mode is turned on, it is determined whether the READY ON mode has continued for at least the second predetermined time T2. That is, it is determined whether the auxiliary battery 5B has been charged for the power consumed by the stand-by current of the communication ECU 4”; Para 98 “If the READY ON mode has continued for at least the second predetermined time T2, the process goes to Step S150 to recover the communication stand-by mode of the communication ECU 4 by the recovery unit 4 c (the wireless communication is restored between the smartphone 3 and the communication ECU 4)”). The Examiner supplies the same rationale for the combination of references Ishihara and Yashiro as in Claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 4, the combination of Ishihara and Yashiro teaches The information processing device according to claim 1, and Ishihara further teaches wherein, in a case where the first remaining battery charge level becomes less than the first threshold value, a potential for trouble in an operation of the communication terminal is present(Ishihara: Para 57 “when the charge capacity of the secondary battery 13 is less than the reference capacity (“NO” in step ST14), the microcomputer 20, in step ST16, ends the power saving standby state. More specifically, the microcomputer 20 switches the electric connection in the switching circuit 16 between the secondary battery 13 and the charge storage member 15, and the power supply unit 12 from the on state to the off state”; i.e. off state would encompass a potential for trouble in an operation of the communication terminal is present).
In regards to claim 5, the combination of Ishihara and Yashiro teaches The information processing device according to claim 1, and Ishihara further teaches wherein, in a case where the first remaining battery charge level becomes less than the first threshold value, a potential for deterioration of the first battery is present(Ishihara: Para 57 “when the charge capacity of the secondary battery 13 is less than the reference capacity (“NO” in step ST14), the microcomputer 20, in step ST16, ends the power saving standby state. More specifically, the microcomputer 20 switches the electric connection in the switching circuit 16 between the secondary battery 13 and the charge storage member 15, and the power supply unit 12 from the on state to the off state”; Para 6 “a problem is that in a case in which such a secondary battery is simply provided in the vehicle-mounted information apparatus, the battery life decreases due to charge and discharge in a high temperature environment”).
In regards to claim 6, the combination of Ishihara and Yashiro teaches The information processing device according to claim 1, and Ishihara further teaches wherein, in a case where the second remaining battery charge level becomes less than the second threshold value, a potential for trouble in traveling of the vehicle is present(Ishihara: Para 81 “when the duration of the power saving standby state using the charge storage member 15 exceeds the first reference time (“YES” in step ST22) while the power saving standby state is maintained using the charge storage member 15 in the first operation mode (steps ST21 to ST25), the control unit 21 ends the power saving standby state (step ST27). By setting the first reference time to an appropriate value, the power saving standby state can be maintained until just before the charge capacity of the charge storage member 15 becomes a zero value”; Para 5 “In an vehicle-mounted information apparatus, it is difficult to adopt a power saving standby state from the viewpoint of avoiding a decrease in the charge capacity of either a battery for startup or an auxiliary battery (generically referred to as a “vehicle battery” hereafter) due to a dark current in a state in which an ignition switch or a starter switch (generically referred to as a “starting switch” hereafter) is off”; Para 26 “a vehicle 1 has a vehicle battery 2 and a starting switch 3. The vehicle battery 2 is comprised of, for example, a battery for startup in a case in which the vehicle 1 is a gasoline automobile, or an auxiliary battery in a case in which the vehicle 1 is an electric automobile. The starting switch 3 is comprised of, for example, an ignition switch in the case in which the vehicle 1 is a gasoline automobile, or a starter switch in the case in which the vehicle 1 is an electric automobile”; i.e. decrease in the charge capacity of a battery for startup would encompasses a potential for trouble in traveling of the vehicle is present).
As per claim 7, it recites A information processing device having limitations similar to those of claim 4 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
As per claim 8, it recites A information processing device having limitations similar to those of claim 5 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
As per claim 9, it recites A information processing device having limitations similar to those of claim 6 and therefore is rejected on the same basis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim (US20190273293A1) disclosed operation order information is generated based on state-of-charge information of a plurality of battery modules, and a battery cooling unit is operated according to a temperature value of the battery temperature information until a charge amount of the battery modules is decreased to a preset charge amount or below in an operation order of the operation order information.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.Y./Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/Hitesh Patel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667
6/16/26