DETAILED ACTION
This office action in response to an application filing received November 22, 2024. The Application Data Sheet received on November 22, 2024 has been considered.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed November 26, 2024 has been considered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains legal phraseology (i.e. discloses). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "wherein a measurement of the first reference signal …; calculation of the first CQI …, the calculation of the first CQI is conditioned on a precoding matrix …, a measurement of the first reference signal is used to generate a first channel matrix, the first channel matrix being used to generate the first CQI, and the first channel matrix is unavailable for the second node". According to the claim scope “the first channel matrix is unavailable for the second node” and claim 1 recites “the first channel matrix being available only for the first node” hence all these steps are being performed on the first node.
The claim is directed towards a process performed by a second node and these limitations further describe the functions of a first node but fails to indicate how those functions further limit the process that the second node performs, as result, they are outside the scope of
the method performed by the second node.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "when the type of the first channel information is the first type, the first channel matrix is an output obtained after inputting the first channel information to a first reference decoder, the first reference decoder being available only for the first node.”. According to the claim scope the first reference decoder being available only for the first all these steps are being performed on the first node.
The claim is directed towards a process performed by a second node and these limitations further describe the functions of a first node but fails to indicate how those functions further limit the process that the second node performs, as result, they are outside the scope of
the method performed by the second node.
Claims 9, 11-14 dependent from claim 8 are indefinite for the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 11-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ZHOU et al., US 20250141522 A1, (hereinafter ZHOU).
Regarding claim 1, and 15, ZHOU teaches A first node for wireless communications, comprising:
a first receiver, receiving a first reference signal (see Fig. 1, element 120, ¶ [0085], e.g., the network device may transmit a CSI-RS to the terminal device); and
a first transmitter, transmitting first channel information and a first CQI (see ¶ [0153], e.g., wherein the terminal device can configure the CQI, the channel matrix, and the CRI (or SSBRI) to be in a CSI reporting configuration, so that the CQI, the channel matrix, and the CRI (or SSBRI) can be reported to the network device through the CSI feedback process, thereby ensuring that the network device can acquire the CQI calculated by the terminal device and the channel matrix and the CRI (or SSBRI) detected by the terminal device.);
wherein a measurement of the first reference signal is used to generate the first channel information (see ¶ [0085], e.g., the network device may transmit a CSI-RS to the terminal device, and the terminal device may perform downlink channel estimation/measurement on the current channel according to the CSI-RS to acquire a channel matrix, thereby realizing acquisition of the channel matrix via the CSI-RS. That is, the channel matrix may be determined according to the CSI-RS.);
calculation of the first CQI is related to a type of the first channel information; the type of the first channel information is one of a PMI or a first type (see ¶ [0057], e.g., in the case where a PMI recommended is to be used, the terminal device can calculate channel quality according to the PMI and report a CQI. In a process of calculating a PMI and a CQI, the terminal device needs to take into account its own reception processing algorithm; see ¶ [0061], e.g., AI may be introduced to CSI feedback. In a scenario where AI is introduced to CSI feedback, a terminal device can directly feedback (or report) a precoding matrix or directly feedback a channel matrix through an AI neural network (“AI model” for short), so as to replace codebook-based feedback. The AI model may include a convolutional neural network (CNN), a deep neural network (DNN), etc.);
when the type of the first channel information is PMI, the calculation of the first CQI is conditioned on a precoding matrix indicated by the first channel information (see ¶ [0057], e.g., The terminal device may perform downlink channel estimation/measurement according to a CSI-RS to acquire a channel matrix. In codebook-based precoding, the terminal device may select from a codebook, according to a certain optimization criterion, a precoding matrix that best matches a channel matrix, and feedback an index of the precoding matrix to the network device through a feedback link. Meanwhile, in the case where a PMI recommended is to be used, the terminal device can calculate channel quality according to the PMI and report a CQI);
when the type of the first channel information is the first type, a measurement of the first reference signal is used to generate a first channel matrix (see ¶ [0085], e.g., the network device may transmit a CSI-RS to the terminal device, and the terminal device may perform downlink channel estimation/measurement on the current channel according to the CSI-RS to acquire a channel matrix, thereby realizing acquisition of the channel matrix via the CSI-RS. That is, the channel matrix may be determined according to the CSI-RS.),
the first channel matrix being used to generate the first CQI, and the first channel matrix being available only for the first node (see ¶ [0076], e.g., in the process of directly feeding back a precoding matrix or a channel matrix to a CSI feedback architecture through an AI model, the CQI may be calculated according to at least one of: a precoding matrix or channel matrix fed back directly, a CRI (or SSBRI), or an RI. At the terminal device side, a precoding matrix or a channel matrix is processed, the processed precoding matrix or channel matrix is input to an AI model to be compressed, and then the compressed precoding matrix or channel matrix is subject to quantization and encoding to acquire coded information.).
Regarding claim 3 and 17, Zhou teaches the limitations of Claim 1 and 15.
Zhou further teaches, characterized in that when the type of the first channel information is the first type,
the first channel matrix is used together with a first amount of adjustment to calculate the first CQI (see ¶ [0092] - ¶ [0095], e.g., It may be noted that in a process of directly feeding back a channel matrix through an AI model, both the terminal device and the network device may agree on a rule that a CQI is calculated according to the first type vector. The rule may be pre-configured, configured by a network, configured through signaling interaction, etc … the terminal device acquires a channel matrix and calculates a CQI according to the first type vector. Then, the terminal device may input the first type vector to an AI model to output compressed information corresponding to the first type vector, and input the compressed information to a quantizer and an encoder).
Regarding claim 4 and 17, Zhou teaches the limitations of Claim 3 and 15.
Zhou further teaches, characterized in that when the type of the first channel information is the first type,
calculation of the first CQI is conditioned on that a first reference channel matrix is used for precoding, and the first amount of adjustment is used together with the first channel matrix to generate the first reference channel matrix (see ¶ [0083], e.g., in some cases, a precoding matrix may be derived from a channel matrix, for example, a precoding matrix is a transformed matrix of the channel matrix, and thus a CQI is mainly associated with a channel matrix. In summary, in embodiments of the disclosure, the terminal device may calculate a CQI according to a channel matrix H and report the CQI to the network device.).
Regarding claim 5 and 18, Zhou teaches the limitations of Claim 3 and 15.
Zhou further teaches, characterized in that when the type of the first channel information is the first type,
a channel quality calculated conditioned on that the first channel matrix is used for precoding is used together with the first amount of adjustment to determine the first CQI (see ¶ [0083], e.g., in some cases, a precoding matrix may be derived from a channel matrix, for example, a precoding matrix is a transformed matrix of the channel matrix, and thus a CQI is mainly associated with a channel matrix; see ¶ [0095], e.g., the terminal device acquires a channel matrix and calculates a CQI according to the first type vector. Then, the terminal device may input the first type vector to an AI model to output compressed information corresponding to the first type vector, and input the compressed information to a quantizer and an encoder… Therefore, the terminal device can perform feedback or reporting by replacing a PMI or the like with the first type vector to realize calculation of the CQI. ¶ [0096], The first type vector may be a right-singular vector of the channel matrix H.).
Regarding claim 6 and 19, Zhou teaches the limitations of Claim 1 and 15.
Zhou further teaches, characterized in comprising: the first receiver, generating the first channel information utilizing a first encoder; wherein an input to the first encoder includes the first channel matrix, the first encoder being obtained through training (see ¶ [0095], e.g., the terminal device acquires a channel matrix and calculates a CQI according to the first type vector. Then, the terminal device may input the first type vector to an AI model to output compressed information corresponding to the first type vector, and input the compressed information to a quantizer and an encoder… Therefore, the terminal device can perform feedback or reporting by replacing a PMI or the like with the first type vector to realize calculation of the CQI.).
Regarding claim 7 and 20, Zhou teaches the limitations of Claim 1 and 15.
Zhou further teaches, characterized in that the first channel matrix is a codebook-based precoding matrix, the first type being non-codebook-based channel information (see ¶ [0061], e.g., a terminal device can directly feedback (or report) a precoding matrix or directly feedback a channel matrix through an AI neural network (“AI model” for short), so as to replace codebook-based feedback.).
Regarding claim 8, ZHOU teaches A first node for wireless communications, comprising:
a second transmitter, transmitting a first reference signal (see Fig. 1, element 120, ¶ [0085], e.g., the network device may transmit a CSI-RS to the terminal device); and
a second receiver, receiving first channel information and a first CQI (see ¶ [0153], e.g., wherein the terminal device can configure the CQI, the channel matrix, and the CRI (or SSBRI) to be in a CSI reporting configuration, so that the CQI, the channel matrix, and the CRI (or SSBRI) can be reported to the network device through the CSI feedback process, thereby ensuring that the network device can acquire the CQI calculated by the terminal device and the channel matrix and the CRI (or SSBRI) detected by the terminal device.);
wherein a measurement of the first reference signal is used to generate the first channel information (see ¶ [0085], e.g., the network device may transmit a CSI-RS to the terminal device, and the terminal device may perform downlink channel estimation/measurement on the current channel according to the CSI-RS to acquire a channel matrix, thereby realizing acquisition of the channel matrix via the CSI-RS. That is, the channel matrix may be determined according to the CSI-RS.);
calculation of the first CQI is related to a type of the first channel information; the type of the first channel information is one of a PMI or a first type (see ¶ [0057], e.g., in the case where a PMI recommended is to be used, the terminal device can calculate channel quality according to the PMI and report a CQI. In a process of calculating a PMI and a CQI, the terminal device needs to take into account its own reception processing algorithm; see ¶ [0061], e.g., AI may be introduced to CSI feedback. In a scenario where AI is introduced to CSI feedback, a terminal device can directly feedback (or report) a precoding matrix or directly feedback a channel matrix through an AI neural network (“AI model” for short), so as to replace codebook-based feedback. The AI model may include a convolutional neural network (CNN), a deep neural network (DNN), etc.);
when the type of the first channel information is PMI, the calculation of the first CQI is conditioned on a precoding matrix indicated by the first channel information (see ¶ [0057], e.g., The terminal device may perform downlink channel estimation/measurement according to a CSI-RS to acquire a channel matrix. In codebook-based precoding, the terminal device may select from a codebook, according to a certain optimization criterion, a precoding matrix that best matches a channel matrix, and feedback an index of the precoding matrix to the network device through a feedback link. Meanwhile, in the case where a PMI recommended is to be used, the terminal device can calculate channel quality according to the PMI and report a CQI);
when the type of the first channel information is the first type, a measurement of the first reference signal is used to generate a first channel matrix (see ¶ [0085], e.g., the network device may transmit a CSI-RS to the terminal device, and the terminal device may perform downlink channel estimation/measurement on the current channel according to the CSI-RS to acquire a channel matrix, thereby realizing acquisition of the channel matrix via the CSI-RS. That is, the channel matrix may be determined according to the CSI-RS.),
the first channel matrix being used to generate the first CQI, and the first channel matrix being available only for the first node (see ¶ [0076], e.g., in the process of directly feeding back a precoding matrix or a channel matrix to a CSI feedback architecture through an AI model, the CQI may be calculated according to at least one of: a precoding matrix or channel matrix fed back directly, a CRI (or SSBRI), or an RI. At the terminal device side, a precoding matrix or a channel matrix is processed, the processed precoding matrix or channel matrix is input to an AI model to be compressed, and then the compressed precoding matrix or channel matrix is subject to quantization and encoding to acquire coded information.).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou teaches the limitations of Claim 8.
Zhou further teaches, characterized in comprising: the second receiver, generating a first recovered channel matrix utilizing a first decoder;
wherein an input to the first decoder includes the first channel information, the first decoder being obtained through training (see ¶ [0095], e.g., wherein the network device decodes and dequantizes the compressed information subject to quantization and encoding, inputs the compressed information to the AI model to acquire the first type vector, and calculates a CQI according to the first type vector.).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou teaches the limitations of Claim 8.
Zhou further teaches, characterized in that when the type of the first channel information is the first type,
the first channel matrix is used together with a first amount of adjustment to calculate the first CQI (see ¶ [0092] - ¶ [0095], e.g., It may be noted that in a process of directly feeding back a channel matrix through an AI model, both the terminal device and the network device may agree on a rule that a CQI is calculated according to the first type vector… wherein the network device decodes and dequantizes the compressed information subject to quantization and encoding, inputs the compressed information to the AI model to acquire the first type vector, and calculates a CQI according to the first type vector.).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou teaches the limitations of Claim 11.
Zhou further teaches, characterized in that when the type of the first channel information is the first type,
calculation of the first CQI is conditioned on that a first reference channel matrix is used for precoding, and the first amount of adjustment is used together with the first channel matrix to generate the first reference channel matrix (see ¶ [0087] - [0089], e.g., the terminal device may report the channel matrix through a CSI feedback process... the terminal device may feedback (or report) the channel matrix H to the network device by carrying the channel matrix H in signaling in the CSI feedback process. The channel matrix H may be information subject to the AI model, quantization, and encoding, and is transmitted to the network device over a physical uplink channel. [0090] 1. A CQI is calculated according to a channel matrix.).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou teaches the limitations of Claim 11.
Zhou further teaches, characterized in that when the type of the first channel information is the first type,
a channel quality calculated conditioned on that the first channel matrix is used for precoding is used together with the first amount of adjustment to determine the first CQI (see ¶ [0087] - [0089], e.g., the terminal device may report the channel matrix through a CSI feedback process... the terminal device may feedback (or report) the channel matrix H to the network device by carrying the channel matrix H in signaling in the CSI feedback process. The channel matrix H may be information subject to the AI model, quantization, and encoding, and is transmitted to the network device over a physical uplink channel. [0090] 1. A CQI is calculated according to a channel matrix.).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou teaches the limitations of Claim 8.
Zhou further teaches, characterized in that the first channel matrix is a codebook-based precoding matrix, the first type being non-codebook-based channel information (see ¶ [0061], e.g., a terminal device can directly feedback (or report) a precoding matrix or directly feedback a channel matrix through an AI neural network (“AI model” for short), so as to replace codebook-based feedback.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHOU in view of Zhu et al., US 20190036574 A1, (hereinafter Zhu).
Regarding claim 2 and 16, Zhou teaches the limitations of Claim 1 and 15.
Zhou further teaches, characterized in that when the type of the first channel information is the first type,
the first channel matrix is an output obtained after inputting the first channel information to a first reference decoder (see ¶ [0057], e.g., The terminal device may perform downlink channel estimation/measurement according to a CSI-RS to acquire a channel matrix; see ¶ [0075], e.g., The PDSCH transport block corresponds to the CQI index and occupies a CSI reference resource(s). Therefore, the CQI is associated with a performance of a PDSCH decoder selected by the terminal device.),
however, it does not explicitly teach the first reference decoder being available only for the first node.
Zhu teaches the first reference decoder being available only for the first node (see ¶ [0046], e.g., a user equipment (UE), comprising one or more baseband processors to decode one or more channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) received from an evolved Node B (eNB) using open loop full-dimension multiple input, multiple output (FD-MIMO),).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified decoder of Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Zhu to include first reference decoder being available only for the first node. Doing so would facilitate in achieving generating feedback to the eNB as suggested by Zhu (see ¶ [0046], e.g., to generate feedback to the eNB responsive to the one or more CSI-RS signals,).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou teaches the limitations of Claim 8.
Zhou further teaches, characterized in that when the type of the first channel information is the first type,
the first channel matrix is an output obtained after inputting the first channel information to a first reference decoder (see ¶ [0057], e.g., The terminal device may perform downlink channel estimation/measurement according to a CSI-RS to acquire a channel matrix; see ¶ [0075], e.g., The PDSCH transport block corresponds to the CQI index and occupies a CSI reference resource(s). Therefore, the CQI is associated with a performance of a PDSCH decoder selected by the terminal device.),
however, it does not explicitly teach the first reference decoder being available only for the first node.
Zhu teaches the first reference decoder being available only for the first node (see ¶ [0046], e.g., a user equipment (UE), comprising one or more baseband processors to decode one or more channel state information reference signals (CSI-RS) received from an evolved Node B (eNB) using open loop full-dimension multiple input, multiple output (FD-MIMO),).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified decoder of Zhou to incorporate the teachings of Zhu to include first reference decoder being available only for the first node. Doing so would facilitate in achieving generating feedback to the eNB as suggested by Zhu (see ¶ [0046], e.g., to generate feedback to the eNB responsive to the one or more CSI-RS signals,).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20250219693 A1 issued to Echigo et al. teaches parameter to be applied to a report of encoded channel state information (CSI).
US 20210195462 A1 issued to PEZESHKI et al. teaches measurements corresponding to at least one reference signal using an artificial intelligence (AI) encoder.
/POONAM SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/KEVIN T BATES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472