DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-25 are present for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-13, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paul et al. (US 2022/0206850) in view of Gupta et al. (US 9,880,933).
With respect claim 1, Paul et al. teaches receiving, at a memory controller, a read request for first data (see paragraph 35; power management logic includes memory latency monitor logic that detects memory access latency associated with memory load requests issued by a central processing compute unit during runtime);
determining, by the memory controller, a usage of a first memory having the first data (see paragraph 35; the power management logic includes memory latency monitor logic that detects memory bandwidth monitoring logic that detects memory bandwidth levels associated with other of the plurality of compute units); and
sending, from the memory controller, the first data to a processing core (see paragraph 62; memory management hub 240 is bidirectionally connected to data fabric 518 for generating such memory accesses and receiving read data returned from the memory system).
Paul et al. does not explicitly teach conducting exactly one of: (i) sending, by the memory controller based on the usage of the first memory satisfying a latency criteria, a first memory read request for the first data to the first memory; (ii) sending, by the memory controller based on the usage of the first memory not satisfying the latency criteria, a second memory read request for the first data to a second memory, wherein the second memory is a cache for the first memory.
However, Gupta et al. teaches techniques for processing storage I/O (input/output) read requests in a system implementing a separate distributed buffer cache system and a separate distributed storage system for read requests exceeding a read latency threshold… the current pending time for a storage I/O read request may be evaluated in order to determine whether a latency time threshold for a storage I/O read request is exceeded, as indicated at 1220. A latency time threshold for a storage I/O read request may be set or determined based on a throughput or other service guarantee that may be still met if alternative means of obtaining data specified in as storage I/O read request are performed. For example, if the storage I/O read request does exceed the latency time threshold for the storage I/O read request, then the storage I/O read request may be sent directly to the distributed storage system (see column 33, lines 7-59).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Paul et al. to include the above mentioned to improve the performance of the device (see Gupta, column 33, lines 7-22).
With respect claim 2, Paul et al. teaches requesting, by the memory controller, the usage of the first memory from a first memory module of the first memory (see paragraphs 54, 71 and 74; power management logic 302 provides memory latency monitoring for one or more of the compute units); and
providing, by the first memory module, the usage of the first memory to the memory controller (see paragraph 35; the power management logic includes memory latency monitor logic that detects memory bandwidth monitoring logic that detects memory bandwidth levels associated with other of the plurality of compute units).
Paul et al. does not teach wherein the first memory comprises a double data rate (“DDR”) memory.
However, Gupta et al. teaches wherein system memories 2020 may be implemented using any suitable memory technology, (e.g., one or more of cache, static random-access memory (SRAM), DRAM, RDRAM, EDO RAM, DDR 10 RAM (see column 41, lines 59-67).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Paul et al. to include the above mentioned to improve the performance of the device (see Gupta, column 33, lines 7-22).
With respect claim 3, Paul et al. teaches wherein a first access latency of the first memory is less than a second access latency of the second memory when the latency criteria is satisfied (see paragraph 74; each of the bandwidth detectors provides bandwidth metrics such as bandwidth level data 550 to the power management logic 302. Similarly, the latency detector 540 provides measured information in the form of metrics such as count data indicating the number of late loads that were encountered shown as latency count data 552. In some implementations the SOC 306 has a similar latency and bandwidth detector arrangement as SOC 304 such that the socket bandwidth detector 530 block represents a latency detector in SOC 306 providing measured latency information from the SOC 306 for the PML, so that latency information from SOC 306 can be compared to latency information from latency detector 540).
With respect claim 4, Paul et al. does not teach wherein the first access latency of the first memory is greater than the second access latency of the second memory at least some of a time when the latency criteria is not satisfied.
However, Gupta et al. teaches wherein the current pending time for a storage I/O read request may be evaluated in order to determine whether a latency time threshold for a storage I/O read request is exceeded, as indicated at 1220. A latency time threshold for a storage I/O read request may be set or determined based on a throughput or other service guarantee that may be still met if alternative means of obtaining data specified in as storage I/O read request are performed. For example, if the storage I/O read request does exceed the latency time threshold for the storage I/O read request, then the storage I/O read request may be sent directly to the distributed storage system, as indicated at 1230 (see column 33, lines 24-59).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Paul et al. to include the above mentioned to improve the performance of the device (see Gupta, column 33, lines 7-22).
With respect claim 9, Paul et al. teaches wherein the usage of the first memory comprises a transient memory bandwidth utilization of the first memory (see paragraph 84; each of the latency detector and bandwidth detectors serve as an independent optimization unit that measures actual latency data or data traffic metrics and/or predicted latency and/or predicted bandwidth usage, and looks for its own performance state).
With respect claim 10, Paul et al. teaches wherein the latency criteria comprises a percentage usage of the first memory being less than a threshold percentage (see paragraph 90; for up hysteresis, a single observation over a programmable threshold (e.g., over a threshold of 50% of current DPM state bandwidth) is used, however any suitable threshold can be employed. For down hysteresis, multiple consecutive observations below the threshold of the next lower PState is used to prevent dithering).
With respect claim 11, Paul et al. teaches wherein the threshold percentage is based on an increase in access latency that defines the latency criteria when the usage of the first memory exceeds the threshold percentage (see paragraphs 74 and 90; for up hysteresis, a single observation over a programmable threshold (e.g., over a threshold of 50% of current DPM state bandwidth) is used).
With respect claim 12, Paul et al. teaches monitoring, for each of a plurality of usage values for the first memory, a respective access latency value (see paragraph 74; latency detector 540 provides measured information in the form of metrics such as count data indicating the number of late loads that were encountered shown as latency count data 552).
With respect claim 13, Paul et al. teaches wherein the latency criteria is based on the monitored usage values and respective access latency values (see paragraph 74; latency detector 540 provides measured information in the form of metrics such as count data indicating the number of late loads that were encountered shown as latency count data 552. In some implementations the SOC 306 has a similar latency and bandwidth detector arrangement as SOC 304 such that the socket bandwidth detector 530 block represents a latency detector in SOC 306 providing measured latency information from the SOC 306 for the PML, so that latency information from SOC 306 can be compared to latency information from latency detector 540).
With respect claim 15, Paul et al. does not teach determining, by the memory controller, whether the first data is in the second memory; and sending, by the memory controller, a first memory read request for the first data to the first memory if the first data is not in the second memory, even if the latency criteria is not satisfied.
However, Gupta et al. teaches wherein if the buffer node has a valid buffer cache entry (a hit), then the requested data pages 733 may be returned to client-side/cache storage service drive. If the buffer cache node has an invalid cache entry (e.g., a miss, write-in-progress, or unavailable storage node), then storage service driver 736 for a buffer cache node 738 may send a read request 755 to specific storage nodes 735, which may return the requested data page 753 (see column 23, lines 34-47).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Paul et al. to include the above mentioned to improve the performance of the device (see Gupta, column 33, lines 7-22).
With respect claim 17, Paul et al. teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions, which when executed by one or more processors cause the one or more processors to conduct a method for routing requests to memory (see paragraph 104; non-transitory computer-readable storage medium), the method comprising:
receiving, at a memory controller, a read request for first data (see paragraph 35; power management logic includes memory latency monitor logic that detects memory access latency associated with memory load requests issued by a central processing compute unit during runtime);
determining, by the memory controller, a usage of a first memory having the first data (see paragraph 35; the power management logic includes memory latency monitor logic that detects memory bandwidth monitoring logic that detects memory bandwidth levels associated with other of the plurality of compute units); and
sending, from the memory controller, the first data to a processing core (see paragraph 62; memory management hub 240 is bidirectionally connected to data fabric 518 for generating such memory accesses and receiving read data returned from the memory system).
Paul et al. does not explicitly teach conducting exactly one of: (i) sending, by the memory controller based on the usage of the first memory satisfying a latency criteria, a first memory read request for the first data to the first memory; (ii) sending, by the memory controller based on the usage of the first memory not satisfying the latency criteria, a second memory read request for the first data to a second memory, wherein the second memory is a cache for the first memory.
However, Gupta et al. teaches techniques for processing storage I/O (input/output) read requests in a system implementing a separate distributed buffer cache system and a separate distributed storage system for read requests exceeding a read latency threshold… the current pending time for a storage I/O read request may be evaluated in order to determine whether a latency time threshold for a storage I/O read request is exceeded, as indicated at 1220. A latency time threshold for a storage I/O read request may be set or determined based on a throughput or other service guarantee that may be still met if alternative means of obtaining data specified in as storage I/O read request are performed. For example, if the storage I/O read request does exceed the latency time threshold for the storage I/O read request, then the storage I/O read request may be sent directly to the distributed storage system (see column 33, lines 7-59).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Paul et al. to include the above mentioned to improve the performance of the device (see Gupta, column 33, lines 7-22).
Claim(s) 5-8, 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paul et al. (US 2022/0206850) and Gupta et al. (US 9,880,933) as applied to claim 1-3 and 12-13 above, and further in view of Doshi et al. (US 10,564,972).
With respect claim 5, Paul et al. and Gupta et al. do not teach wherein the second memory comprises high bandwidth memory (“HBM”) memory and wherein a second memory module interfaces between the memory controller and the second memory to provide the first data to the memory controller.
However, Doshi et al. teaches wherein Node 3 includes two processors 1961-1962 coupled to standard double data rate (DDR) memory 1963-1964 and/or high bandwidth memory (HBM) 1965-1966 which may be mapped to a portion of the virtual address space shared by Node 0 and Node 3 (see column 29, lines 57-65).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Paul et al. and Gupta et al. to include the above mentioned to improve performance (see Doshi, column 11, lines 56-57).
With respect claim 6, Paul et al. and Gupta et al. do not teach wherein the read request is provided to the memory controller based on one or more lower level caches not having the first data.
However, Doshi et al. teaches wherein the access sequence would begin with core 114.sub.1 sending out a Read for Ownership (RFO) message and first “snooping” (i.e., checking) its local L1 and L2 caches to see if the requested cache line is currently present in either of those caches. In this example, producer 200 desires to access the cache line so its data can be modified, and thus the RFO is used rather than a Read request. The presence of a requested cache line in a cache is referred to as a “hit,” while the absence is referred to as a “miss.” This is done using well-known snooping techniques, and the determination of a hit or miss for information maintained by each cache identifying the addresses of the cache lines that are currently present in that cache (see column 8, lines 18-30).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Paul et al. and Gupta et al. to include the above mentioned to improve performance (see Doshi, column 11, lines 56-57).
With respect claim 7, Paul et al. and Gupta et al. do not teach wherein the one or more lower level caches comprise a level one cache, a level two cache, and a level three cache.
However, Doshi et al. teaches wherein in addition to snooping a core's local L1 and L2 caches, the core will also snoop L3 cache 108. If the processor employs an architecture under which the L3 cache is inclusive, meaning that a cache line that exists in L1 or L2 for any core also exists in the L3, the core knows the only valid copy of the cache line is in system memory if the L3 snoop results in a miss (see column 8, lines 39-51).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Paul et al. and Gupta et al. to include the above mentioned to improve performance (see Doshi, column 11, lines 56-57).
With respect claim 8, Paul et al. and Gupta et al. do not teach wherein a first access latency of the one or more lower level caches is at least about an order of magnitude less than a second access latency of the first memory and a third access latency of the second memory.
However, Doshi et al. teaches discussion with respect to movement from L1 to LLC is applicable to other movement such as L1 to L2, L2 to L3, MLC to LLC, etc. The CLDEMOTE instruction allows the software to provide application-level knowledge to hardware for optimizations. By proactively pushing data to the LLC that is closer to the consumer, the communication latency is reduced by more than 2x (see column 11, lines 49-56).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Paul et al. and Gupta et al. to include the above mentioned to improve performance (see Doshi, column 11, lines 56-57).
With respect claim 14, Paul et al. and Gupta et al. do not teach dynamically modifying the latency criteria based on the monitored usage values and the respective access latency values.
However, Doshi et al. teaches wherein the choice of the type of memory tier on which to perform these auto-writeback operations may be dynamic. For example, the decision may be determined on the basis of a configuration parameter initialized at system restart, set by a Machine State Register (MSR) during system operation, and/or based on threshold values such as a bandwidth or average latency to the target memory tier (see column 29, lines 18-27).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Paul et al. and Gupta et al. to include the above mentioned to improve performance (see Doshi, column 11, lines 56-57).
With respect claim 16, Paul et al. and Gupta et al. do not teach determining, by the memory controller, whether a data line of the second memory is clean; and sending, by the memory controller, a second memory read request for the first data to the second memory if the data line is not clean, even if the latency criteria is satisfied.
However, Doshi et al. teaches wherein demotions within the L1, L2 and LLC caches are handled using the following techniques. For example, in one embodiment, if the cache line is hosted in the L1 cache and is being demoted to the L2 cache, the core 1901a stores the line in a clean mode in the L2 cache and generates a message to the cache/memory management circuitry 2020-2022 (see column 31, lines 20-39).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Paul et al. and Gupta et al. to include the above mentioned to improve performance (see Doshi, column 11, lines 56-57).
Claim(s) 18-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paul et al. (US 2022/0206850) in view of Gupta et al. (US 9,880,933) and Doshi et al. (US 10,564,972).
With respect claim 18, Paul et al. teaches monitoring usage information of a memory (see paragraph 35; the power management logic includes memory latency monitor logic that detects memory bandwidth monitoring logic that detects memory bandwidth levels associated with other of the plurality of compute units);
monitoring a read access latency of the memory, the read access latency being associated with the usage information (see paragraph 35; power management logic includes memory latency monitor logic that detects memory access latency associated with memory load requests issued by a central processing compute unit during runtime);
determining a usage of a first memory having first data (see paragraph 35; the power management logic includes memory latency monitor logic that detects memory bandwidth monitoring logic that detects memory bandwidth levels associated with other of the plurality of compute units); and
sending the first data to a processing core (see paragraph 62; memory management hub 240 is bidirectionally connected to data fabric 518 for generating such memory accesses and receiving read data returned from the memory system).
Paul et al. does not teach determining a usage threshold based at least in part on the usage information and the read access latency; and conducting exactly one of: (i) sending, based on the usage of the first memory not satisfying the usage threshold, a first memory read request for the first data to the first memory; (ii) sending, based on the usage of the first memory satisfying the usage threshold, a second memory read request for the first data to a second memory.
However, Gupta et al. teaches techniques for processing storage I/O (input/output) read requests in a system implementing a separate distributed buffer cache system and a separate distributed storage system for read requests exceeding a read latency threshold… the current pending time for a storage I/O read request may be evaluated in order to determine whether a latency time threshold for a storage I/O read request is exceeded, as indicated at 1220. A latency time threshold for a storage I/O read request may be set or determined based on a throughput or other service guarantee that may be still met if alternative means of obtaining data specified in as storage I/O read request are performed. For example, if the storage I/O read request does exceed the latency time threshold for the storage I/O read request, then the storage I/O read request may be sent directly to the distributed storage system (see column 33, lines 7-59).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Paul et al. to include the above mentioned to improve the performance of the device (see Gupta, column 33, lines 7-22).
Paul et al. and Gupta et al. do not teach determining a usage threshold based at least in part on the usage information and the read access latency.
However, Doshi et al. teaches wherein the choice of the type of memory tier on which to perform these auto-writeback operations may be dynamic. For example, the decision may be determined on the basis of a configuration parameter initialized at system restart, set by an Machine State Register (MSR) during system operation, and/or based on threshold values such as a bandwidth or average latency to the target memory tier (see column 29, lines 18-27).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Paul et al. and Gupta et al. to include the above mentioned to improve performance (see Doshi, column 11, lines 56-57).
With respect claim 19, Paul et al. teaches wherein: satisfying the usage threshold is based at least in part on the usage of the first memory being above the usage threshold (see paragraph 90; for up hysteresis, a single observation over a programmable threshold (e.g., over a threshold of 50% of current DPM state bandwidth) is used, however any suitable threshold can be employed. For down hysteresis, multiple consecutive observations below the threshold of the next lower PState is used to prevent dithering); and
not satisfying the usage threshold is based at least in part on the usage of the first memory being below the usage threshold (see paragraph 90; for up hysteresis, a single observation over a programmable threshold (e.g., over a threshold of 50% of current DPM state bandwidth) is used, however any suitable threshold can be employed. For down hysteresis, multiple consecutive observations below the threshold of the next lower PState is used to prevent dithering).
With respect claim 20, Paul et al. and Gupta et al. do not teach wherein: the usage threshold is based at least in part on an increase of the read access latency from a low value within a latency range to a high value within the latency range.
However, Doshi et al. teaches wherein there is a lot of VM and network stack related software overhead involved in this case that prevents the packet throughput from reaching the bandwidth upper bound of the host platform's memory system (see column 6, lines 10-18).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Paul et al. and Gupta et al. to include the above mentioned to improve performance (see Doshi, column 11, lines 56-57).
With respect claim 21, Paul et al. does not teach determining a first read access latency value at a first time based at least in part on monitoring the read access latency of the memory, wherein the usage threshold is based at least in part on the first read access latency value; determining a second read access latency value at a second time based at least in part on monitoring the read access latency of the memory.
However, Gupta et al. teaches wherein platform 300 may be configured to collect, monitor and/or aggregate a variety of storage service system operational metrics, such as metrics reflecting the rates and types of requests received from clients 350, bandwidth utilized by such requests, system processing latency for such requests, system component utilization (e.g., network bandwidth and/or storage utilization within the storage service system), rates and types of errors resulting from requests, characteristics of stored and requested data pages or records thereof (e.g., size, data type, etc.), or any other suitable metrics. In some embodiments such metrics may be used by system administrators to tune and maintain system components (see column 13, lines 46-67 and column 14, lines 1-12).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Paul et al. to include the above mentioned to improve the performance of the device (see Gupta, column 33, lines 7-22).
Paul et a. and Gupta et al. do not teach adjusting the usage threshold based at least in part on the second read access latency value.
However, Doshi et al. teaches wherein the choice of the type of memory tier on which to perform these auto-writeback operations may be dynamic. For example, the decision may be determined on the basis of a configuration parameter initialized at system restart, set by an Machine State Register (MSR) during system operation, and/or based on threshold values such as a bandwidth or average latency to the target memory tier (see column 29, lines 18-27).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Paul et al. and Gupta et al. to include the above mentioned to improve performance (see Doshi, column 11, lines 56-57).
With respect claim 22, Paul et al. does not teach wherein: the usage threshold is pre-programmed.
However, Gupta et al. teaches wherein: the usage threshold is pre-programmed (see column 33, lines 24-59; a latency time threshold for a storage I/O read request may be set or determined based on a throughput or other service guarantee that may be still met if alternative means of obtaining data specified in as storage I/O read request are performed).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Paul et al. to include the above mentioned to improve the performance of the device (see Gupta, column 33, lines 7-22).
With respect claim 23, Paul et al. teaches wherein: the usage threshold is based at least in part on a hysteresis of the memory (see paragraph 90; programmable hysteresis thresholds are used to provide up and down hysteresis).
With respect claim 24, Paul et al. does not teach wherein the usage information is associated with the first memory and the method further comprises: monitoring second usage information associated with the second memory, wherein the usage threshold is based at least in part on the second usage information.
However, Gupta et al. teaches wherein platform 300 may be configured to collect, monitor and/or aggregate a variety of storage service system operational metrics, such as metrics reflecting the rates and types of requests received from clients 350, bandwidth utilized by such requests, system processing latency for such requests, system component utilization (e.g., network bandwidth and/or storage utilization within the storage service system), rates and types of errors resulting from requests, characteristics of stored and requested data pages or records thereof (e.g., size, data type, etc.), or any other suitable metrics. In some embodiments such metrics may be used by system administrators to tune and maintain system components (see column 13, lines 57-67 and column 14, lines 1-12).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Paul et al. to include the above mentioned to improve the performance of the device (see Gupta, column 33, lines 7-22).
With respect claim 25, Paul et al. does not teach wherein: the usage of the first memory satisfying or not satisfying the usage threshold is based at least in part on a difference between the usage information and the second usage information.
However, Gupta et al. teaches wherein some examples of reserve compute capacity may include purchased opportunities to utilize compute nodes, excess capacity of nodes to deal with vagaries of demand fluctuation for compute service, and/or that capacity may be added in larger units than closely tracks the increased use of compute nodes (see column 37, lines 58-67 and column 38, lines 1-7).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Paul et al. to include the above mentioned to improve the performance of the device (see Gupta, column 33, lines 7-22).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s representative argues, in pages 7-11 that Paul et al. does not teach exactly one of: (i) sending, by the memory controller based on the usage of the first memory satisfying a latency criteria, a first memory read request for the first data to the first memory; (ii) sending, by the memory controller based on the usage of the first memory not satisfying the latency criteria, a second memory read request for the first data to a second memory, wherein the second memory is a cache for the first memory as recited in claims 1 and 17-18. Applicant’s representative argues that the claims require that a "memory read request for the first data" is sent to only one memory "based on the usage of the first memory" either "satisfying" or "not satisfying a latency criteria.".
In response: The examiner disagrees. Claim language as present only requires one of the two memory read request to be sent based on the usage of the memory either satisfying or not satisfying a latency criteria. Gupta et al. teaches techniques for processing storage I/O (input/output) read requests in a system implementing a separate distributed buffer cache system and a separate distributed storage system for read requests exceeding a read latency threshold… the current pending time for a storage I/O read request may be evaluated in order to determine whether a latency time threshold for a storage I/O read request is exceeded, as indicated at 1220. A latency time threshold for a storage I/O read request may be set or determined based on a throughput or other service guarantee that may be still met if alternative means of obtaining data specified in as storage I/O read request are performed. For example, if the storage I/O read request does exceed the latency time threshold for the storage I/O read request, then the storage I/O read request may be sent directly to the distributed storage system (i.e., read request is sent to memory if latency is satisfied) (see column 33, lines 7-59).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARACELIS RUIZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2139