CTNF 18/956,099 CTNF 80523 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Application Status This office action is responsive to the Application No.:18/956,099, filed on 11/22/2024 (Provisional Priority Date: 11/27/2023). This action has been made NON-FINAL. Examiner Remarks In the spirit of compact prosecution, Applicant is requested to contact the Examiner for an interview to discuss the inventive concepts of the instant application. Applicant may optionally amend the claims to further direct the claims toward a particular inventive concept described in the specification without an interview. Additionally, the prior art rejection (if applicable) cites particular paragraphs, columns, and/or line numbers in the references for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/06/2025 is being considered by the examiner. A signed IDS is hereby attached. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1, 11, 13, 14, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 1, 11, 13, 14, 16 and 20 recites “to be.” However, the use of the terms “to be” indicates intended use. Therefore, this claim is rendered as indefinite. The examiner suggests removing “to be” from the claim language. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Hare, US 20190178654 . Claim 1: Hare discloses a method for rendering a frame (See Hare Abstract; Paragraphs 0067-0069), comprising: receiving, from a server (See Hare Paragraphs 0236;0301-0302) , a color texture (See Hare Paragraphs 0193; 0210) and a depth mesh associated with an object to be rendered (See Hare Paragraphs 0197-0198) , wherein the depth mesh (See Hare Paragraphs 0197-0198) comprises a plurality of vertices and metadata associated with the plurality of vertices (See Hare Paragraphs 0197-0198); receiving motion data associated with the object (See Hare Paragraphs 0181; 0204; 0217-0219; 0267) ; warping the depth mesh using the metadata and the motion data (See Hare Paragraphs 0181; 0204; 0217-0219; 0267) , resulting in a warped depth mesh (See Hare Paragraphs 0197-0198) ; and rendering one or more frames (See Hare Paragraphs 0067-0069) using the color texture (See Hare Paragraphs 0193; 0210) and the warped depth mesh (See Hare Paragraphs 0197-0198) . Claim 2: Hare discloses wherein the warped depth mesh is a first warped depth mesh (See Hare Paragraphs 0197-0198) , the method further comprising: receiving updated motion data associated with the object (See Hare Paragraphs 0181; 0204; 0217-0219; 0267) ; making a determination that the color texture (See Hare Paragraphs 0193; 0210) and the depth mesh are valid (See Hare Paragraphs 0197-0198) ; based on the determination, warping the depth mesh using the metadata (See Hare Paragraphs 0197-0198) and the updated motion data (See Hare Paragraphs 0181; 0204; 0217-0219; 0267) , resulting in a second warped depth mesh (See Hare Paragraphs 0197-0198) ; and rendering one or more additional frames (See Hare Paragraphs 0067-0069) using the color texture (See Hare Paragraphs 0193; 0210) and the second warped depth mesh (See Hare Paragraphs 0197-0198) . Claim 3: Hare discloses wherein the motion data (See Hare Paragraphs 0181; 0204; 0217-0219; 0267) is received from the server (See Hare Paragraphs 0236;0301-0302). Claim 4: Hare discloses wherein warping the depth mesh (See Hare Paragraphs 0197-0198) comprises warping the plurality of vertices (See Hare Paragraphs 0197-0198) based on the motion data (See Hare Paragraphs 0181; 0204; 0217-0219; 0267). Claim 5: Hare discloses wherein the metadata further comprises a plurality of joint identifiers (See Hare Paragraphs 0197-0198; 0217) , each joint identifier associated with one or more vertices (See Hare Paragraphs 0197-0198) . Claim 6: Hare discloses wherein warping the depth mesh (See Hare Paragraphs 0197-0198) comprises imposing at least one physical constraint on the plurality of vertices based on the joint identifiers (See Hare Paragraphs 0197-0198; 0217) . Claim 7: Hare discloses wherein the plurality of vertices define an exterior contour of the object (See Hare Paragraphs 0197-0198) . Claim 8: Hare discloses wherein the depth mesh is generated by the server (See Hare Paragraphs 0236;0301-0302) based on a depth map associated with the object (See Hare Paragraph 0197). Claim 9: Hare discloses, wherein the method is performed by a head-mounted device worn (See Hare Figure 11a, Item 1110; Paragraph 0130;0231;0236) by a user to display a mixed reality environment thereto (See Hare Paragraph 0006 1 ) . Claim 10: Hare discloses wherein the head-mounted device comprises one or more motion sensors, and the motion data is received from the one or more motion sensors (See Hare Figure 11a, Item 1110; Paragraph 0130;0231;0236-0238 2 ) . Claim 11: Hare discloses wherein the mixed reality environment (See Hare Paragraph 0006 3 ) comprises a user avatar associated with the user, and the object to be rendered is a hand of the user avatar (See Hare Figure11a; Paragraph 0006;0075-0076;0176; 0232; 0236; 0290 4 ). Claim 12: Hare discloses wherein the plurality of vertices comprises a first subset of vertices and a second subset of vertices, and the metadata further comprises a left hand identifier associated with the first subset of the vertices and a right hand identifier associated with the second subset of vertices (See Hare Figure 11a; Paragraph 0290). Claim 13: Hare discloses wherein the mixed reality environment (See Hare Paragraph 0006 5 ) comprises a user avatar associated with the user, and the object to be rendered is held by one or more hands of the user avatar (See Hare Figure11a; Paragraph 0006;0075-0076;0176; 0232; 0236; 0290 6 ). Claim 14: Hare discloses wherein the object to be rendered is an animated object in the mixed reality environment within a field of view of the user (See Hare Figure11a; Paragraph 0006;0075-0076;0176; 0232; 0236; 0290 7 ). Claim 15: Hare discloses wherein the motion data (See Hare Paragraphs 0181; 0204; 0217-0219; 0267) comprises velocity and acceleration data associated with the plurality of vertices (See Hare Paragraphs 0075; 0179; 0232; 0243; 0264). Claim 16: Claim 16 is rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and claim 8. Claims 17-18: Claims 17-18 are rejected on the same basis as claims 2-3. Claim 19: Claim 19 is rejected on the same basis as claim 10. Claim 20: Claim 20 is rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and claim 8. Pertinent Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 11158108 provides a mixed-reality pass-through experience include implement acts of obtaining a texture map of a real-world environment, obtaining a depth map of the real-world environment, obtaining an updated texture map of the real-world environment subsequent to the obtaining of the depth map and the texture map, and rendering a virtual representation of the real-world environment utilizing both the depth map and the updated texture map that was obtained subsequent to the depth map. US 11158108 performing a first time-warping of a scene of virtual reality content based on head pose information received during or after a rendering of the scene to obtain a time-warped scene, performing a second time-warping of an object based at least on object pose information received during or after a rendering of the object to obtain a time-warped object, and displaying on a display device a composite image based on the time-warped scene and the time-warped object. Contact Information Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SHEREE N BROWN whose telephone number is (571)272-4229. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 5:30-2:00 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, SAID BROOME can be reached at (571) 272-2931. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SHEREE N BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612 May 16, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/956,099 Page 2 Art Unit: 2612 Application/Control Number: 18/956,099 Page 3 Art Unit: 2612 Application/Control Number: 18/956,099 Page 4 Art Unit: 2612 Application/Control Number: 18/956,099 Page 5 Art Unit: 2612 Application/Control Number: 18/956,099 Page 6 Art Unit: 2612 Application/Control Number: 18/956,099 Page 7 Art Unit: 2612 Application/Control Number: 18/956,099 Page 8 Art Unit: 2612 Application/Control Number: 18/956,099 Page 9 Art Unit: 2612 Application/Control Number: 18/956,099 Page 10 Art Unit: 2612 1 Hare Paragraph 0006 recites “Augmented reality (AR) systems may overlay additional elements onto a digital representation of a real-world environment. In some instances, AR systems may generate and place virtual objects in the digital representation of the real-world environment, such that digital representations of real-world physical objects and the virtual objects are displayed together.” 2 Hare Paragraph 0236 recites “FIGS. 1 a -1 d provide an example of an augmented reality system comprising sensors, processors, local databases, and shared databases. The augmented reality system 100 illustrated in FIG. 1 a includes devices 110 , 112 and 114 . These devices may include any object configured to take in and use data from the observable world to track its own position and orientation within the world and/or perform an augmented reality operation. In some embodiments, devices 110 , 112 and 114 may be head -mounted devices that provide users with a display of an augmented reality environment and track the users' heads ' position and orientation in the world. Users may include human beings or machine users.” 3 Hare Paragraph 0006 recites “Augmented reality (AR) systems may overlay additional elements onto a digital representation of a real-world environment. In some instances, AR systems may generate and place virtual objects in the digital representation of the real-world environment, such that digital representations of real-world physical objects and the virtual objects are displayed together.” 4 Hare Paragraph 0232 recites “Users may include human beings or machine users.” 5 Hare Paragraph 0006 recites “Augmented reality (AR) systems may overlay additional elements onto a digital representation of a real-world environment. In some instances, AR systems may generate and place virtual objects in the digital representation of the real-world environment, such that digital representations of real-world physical objects and the virtual objects are displayed together.” 6 Hare Paragraph 0232 recites “Users may include human beings or machine users.” 7 Hare Paragraph 0232 recites “Users may include human beings or machine users.”