CTNF 18/956,101 CTNF 74749 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. It is responsive to the submission dated 11/22/2024. Claims 1-16 are presented for examination. Information Disclosure Statement 2. The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 11/22/2024 and 04/15/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and are being considered by the Examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA 3. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 4. Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 1, the limitation reciting “a reading unit configured to read an original” renders the claim indefinite, because it is unclear as to what is being encompassed by reading “an original”. The term “original” is relative term with no well-recognized meaning in the art. The meaning of said term may change depending on context or the mental capacity of the person elected to make such a determination. As such, it is submitted that the limitation in question do not to limit the scope of the claim with regards to what the applicant regards as the claimed invention. Also, from claim 1, the limitation reciting: “a generation unit configured to cause generative Al to generate second image data” renders the claim indefinite, because the details of how the “generative Al” is caused to generate second image data by the “generation unit” is not made clear in the claim. In the claimed context, the use of a “generative Al” to generate image data only presents the idea of a solution, while failing to describe how the “generative Al” is used to achieve the solution of generating the second image data. They merely present a solution with no meaningful limits on the claim. Paragraph 37 of the original disclosure discloses an AIGC back-end server receiving an image generation request from a front-end AIGC server and performs image generation processing using a learned model stored in the learning database 103 to generate AI image data. However, the prerequisites for using the “generative AI” cannot be interpreted from the claimed limitation . As such, it is submitted that the original disclosure fails to provide the sufficient details explaining how to the “generative Al” is caused to generate second image data by the “generation unit” as to achieve the stated result, such that one skilled in the art would recognize that the applicant the applicant has possession of the claimed features at the time of filing. Thus, claim 1, as drafted, merely attempt to define the subject matters in terms of the result to be achieved, but in so doing merely states the problem to be solved, without indicating the technical feature necessary for achieving the result. Regarding the above-mentioned pointed-out matters, the same applies to independent Claims 13 and 15. The claims not specifically rejected are rejected as being dependent upon their rejected base claims. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 5. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA 6. Claim s 1-3, 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(a1 ) as being anticipated by Amer et al. (US 20200057824) . Considering claim 1, Amer discloses an image processing apparatus (see item 100, fig. 1) comprising: a reading unit configured to read an original ( e.g., Amer discloses user interface 400 may allow a user to provide, to system 100 an input including building outline 122 and one or more building constraints 120 for use in rendering images of buildings. For example, user interface 400 includes a drop-down Projects menu 402 . Projects menu 402 may allow a user to create a new project, save a current project, or load a previously saved project. See para. 57 ); a generation unit (102) configured to cause generative Al ( i.e., GAN 210) to generate second image data ( e.g., trained image rendering models 106 including building constrain 120, building outline 122 and building renderings 124 ), based on a first image data ( e.g., trained data 104 ) acquired by reading the original by a reading unit ( for example, Amer discloses Machine learning system 102 inputs and processes training data 104 to train an image rendering model 106 for application to building outline 122 and building constraints 120 to generate an image having a realistic rendering 124 of the building according to specified building constraints. In the example of FIG. 2, machine learning system 102 includes generative adversarial network (GAN) 210 . The machine learning system 102 trains image model 106 for GAN 210 to receive an image of a building exhibiting a building constraint from a pre-selected set of constraints and recognize the building constraint depicted in the image. See paras. 43-44. In addition, Amer discloses User interface 400 further includes side menu 406 , which lists different types of features and user interface elements provided by user interface 400 . For example, side menu 406 includes renderer options 408 . Renderer options 408 provides upload building outline button 409 , which allows a user to upload the current building outline to machine learning system 102 . Renderer options 408 further provides generate render button 409 , which allows a user to instruct machine learning system 102 to generate an image of a building based on the uploaded building outline and the selected constraints. See para. 59 ); and a reception unit configured to receive the second image data generated by the generative AI ( e.g., Amer discloses machine learning system 102 applies trained image model 106 generated by GAN 210 to annotate building outline 122 with labels, wherein semantics of the labels are reflected in one or more generated images. In these examples, machine learning system 102 applies trained image model 106 generated by GAN 210 to generating building images by addressing global constraints 202 and local constraints 204 . See para. 45. In some examples, image rendering model 106 is an image-to-image model generated by GAN 210 , and machine learning system 102 applies the image-to-image model to building outline 122 . An image-to-image model generated by GAN 210 may learn how to transform an image from one form to another. In accordance with the techniques of the disclosure, machine learning system 102 applies an image-to-image model generated by GAN 210 to building outline 122 to generate a new image of a building exterior that reflects, e.g., an architectural style or building code specified by building constraints 120 . See para. 50. In addition, Amer discloses Upon completing generation of the realistic image of the building, user interface 400 displays the generated realistic image of the building in realistic renderer 440 for display to the user. See para. 67 ). As per claim 2, Amer discloses the reading unit includes an image capturing unit configured to capture an image of the original, and wherein the first image data is acquired by capturing the image of the original by the image capturing unit ( e.g., User interface 400 further includes building outline editor 430 . Building outline editor 430 provides an interface through which the user may draw, using drawing tools 418 , a building outline for us in generating a realistic image of the building. See para. 66 ). As per claim 3, Amer discloses the original includes an object hand-drawn by a user. See paras. 65-66. As per claim 11, Amer discloses the generative AI is included in an external apparatus different from the image processing apparatus ( e.g., Machine learning system 102 may represent software executable by processing circuitry 706 and stored on storage device 708 of computing device 700. such as processing circuitry 706 and/or storage device 708 , may be distributed across a cloud computing system, a data center, or across a network for transmitting data between computing systems, servers, and computing devices (such as between computing devices 100 and 700). See para. 86 ). As per claim 12, Amer discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising the generative AI. See paras. 3 and 44. The invention of claim 13 contains features that correspond in scope with the limitations recited claim 1. As the limitations of claim 1 were found anticipated by Amer, it is readily apparent that the applied prior art performs the underlying elements. As such, the limitations of claim 13 are, therefore, subject to rejections under the same rationale as claim 1. Claim 14 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2. The subject-matter of independent claim 15 corresponds in terms of a computer readable medium to that of claim 1, and the rationale raised above to reject the later also apply, mutatis mutandis, to the former. Claim 16 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2 . Allowable Subject Matter 7. Claims 4-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, after correcting the indefiniteness issues raised above, because the prior art of record fail to teach the image processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the generation unit identifies the object from the first image data, generates intermediate data including feature information of the identified object, and transmits the intermediate data to the generative AI. Conclusion 07-96 AIA 8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Frank (US 20250139316) discloses a method of optimizing a building layout using a processor and memory comprises: receiving, by a model, inputs including a preliminary layout and one or more building factor priorities; processing, using the model, the inputs to generate an optimized layout; and providing the optimized output and/or a recommendation based on the optimized output to the operator terminal. 9. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WESNER SAJOUS whose telephone number is (571) 272-7791. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 10:00 TO 7:30 (ET). Examiner interviews are available via telephone and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice or email the Examiner directly at wesner.sajous@uspto.gov. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Said Broome can be reached on 571-272-2931. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /WESNER SAJOUS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612 WS 05/30/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/956,101 Page 2 Art Unit: 2612 Application/Control Number: 18/956,101 Page 3 Art Unit: 2612 Application/Control Number: 18/956,101 Page 4 Art Unit: 2612 Application/Control Number: 18/956,101 Page 5 Art Unit: 2612 Application/Control Number: 18/956,101 Page 6 Art Unit: 2612 Application/Control Number: 18/956,101 Page 7 Art Unit: 2612 Application/Control Number: 18/956,101 Page 8 Art Unit: 2612