DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, in claims 1 and 16-20, “pouch” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
A double inclusion limitation appears for the following terms that has been cited previously:
In claims 1, 17 and 19, for the second citation of the "a longitudinal axis".
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claims 4, 16 and 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Applicant is advised to delete the term “substantially”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Donini (EP 1731478 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Donini discloses a device for dispensing liquid to a water-soluble pouch (fig.1-4) comprising: a fluid inlet (42); a fluid outlet (12); an elongated body (10) defining a longitudinal axis of the device, the elongated body comprising a fluid passage therein extending from the fluid inlet to the fluid outlet (9, 17, 20); a fluidly actuated valve (13) for opening and closing the fluid outlet, the valve comprising: a fluid cylinder housed (23) in the elongated body, a valve closing inlet (32), and a valve opening inlet (34); the fluid inlet, the fluid passage, the fluid cylinder and the fluid outlet are axially arranged with respect to a longitudinal axis (see fig.2 and 4); and the fluid passage defines a fluid chamber (23) comprising an inlet and an outlet configured to enclose the fluid cylinder (see fig.2-4).
Regarding claim 2, Donini discloses the inlet and the outlet of the fluid chamber are fluidly connected by one or more longitudinal conduits arranged around the fluid cylinder (via 9, 17, see fig.2-3).
Regarding claim 3, Donini discloses the fluid chamber comprises an upstream facing surface and a downstream facing surface, the one or more longitudinal conduits extending from the upstream facing surface to the downstream facing surface (see 16 and 20 in fig.2).
Regarding claim 4, Donini discloses either or both of the upstream facing surface and the downstream facing surface comprises a flat region arranged substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (see the top surface of 16).
Regarding claim 5, Donini discloses either or both of the upstream facing surface and the downstream facing surface comprises a protruding region axially arranged with respect to the longitudinal axis (see protruding region of 20).
Regarding claim 6, Donini discloses the protruding region is conically or frustoconically shaped (see shape of 20).
Regarding claim 7, Donini discloses the inlet and the outlet of the fluid chamber are fluidly connected by a plurality of longitudinal conduits radially distributed around the fluid cylinder (see fig.2-3, conduits around 23)
Regarding claim 8, Donini discloses the inlet and the outlet of the fluid chamber are fluidly connected by one or more curved slotted longitudinal holes (see shape of 13).
Regarding claim 9, Donini discloses the fluid cylinder is configured to drive an axially arranged valve stem (22) for opening and closing the fluid outlet by axial movement thereof, the valve stem extending into the fluid passage (22 area 12 and 13).
Regarding claim 10, Donini discloses a dispensing tip comprising a predetermined length, the dispensing tip being arranged downstream of the fluid chamber, a dispensing section of the fluid passage extending from a proximal end to a distal end of the dispensing tip, the fluid outlet being arranged at the distal end of the dispensing tip (see location of 48).
Regarding claim 11, Donini discloses the dispensing tip is attached to the elongated body by the proximal end thereof (via clip 45).
Regarding claim 12, Donini discloses the fluid passage is tapered towards the fluid outlet at the distal end of the dispensing tip (see inner area of 48 to 12).
Regarding claim 13, Donini discloses a dispensing tip comprising a predetermined length and being arranged downstream of the fluid chamber, and a dispensing section of the fluid passage extending from a proximal end to a distal end of the dispensing tip; the fluid outlet being arranged at the distal end of the dispensing tip (see location of 48, 12); and the valve stem (22) comprising a guide for guiding its axial movement along the dispensing section of the fluid passage (via 25 in 26).
Regarding claim 14, Donini discloses either or both of the valve closing inlet and the valve opening inlet are radially arranged (via 32, 34).
Regarding claim 15, Donini discloses either or both of the valve closing inlet and the valve opening inlet are fluidly connected to a radially or an axially arranged connection port (via 17 to 23 and 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donini (EP 1731478 A1) in view of Fowler (US 2018/0290774).
Regarding claim 16, Donini is silent in disclosing a cluster of two or more devices for dispensing liquid to water soluble pouches according to claim 10, each of the devices of the cluster comprising a substantially equivalent structure, wherein the dispensing tip of at least two devices of the cluster has a different length, so that the elongated body of a device is arranged above or below the elongated body of an adjacent device of the cluster. However, Fowler teaches the commonality of having a device with a number of dispensers (see fig.7) in filling water soluble pouches (702) via a number of dispensing tips (710); and each of the devices of the cluster comprising a substantially equivalent structure (see fig.7). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the application to modify the containers of Donini to water soluble pouches as taught by Fowler, in order to reduce contamination risk and long-term environmental pollution. Regarding the dispensing tip of at least two devices of the cluster has a different length, so that the elongated body of a device is arranged above or below the elongated body of an adjacent device of the cluster, it appears that the only difference between the prior art to Fowler and claim 16 is a recitation of relative length and location of the dispensing tips on the manifold, in which the claimed relative length and location of the dispensing tips would not perform differently than the prior art device. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Fowler and Donini in combination to obtain the invention as specified in claim 16 because such a modification would have been considered a mere alteration to the size of the dispensing tips which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Fowler.
Regarding claims 17-18, Donini discloses dispensing liquid to a water soluble container (fig.1-4) comprising: providing a device for dispensing liquid to a container (2), the device comprising: a fluid inlet (42); a fluid outlet (12); an elongated body defining a longitudinal axis of the device (10), the elongated body comprising a fluid passage therein extending from the fluid inlet to the fluid outlet (9, 17, 20); a fluidly actuated valve (13) for opening and closing the fluid outlet, the valve comprising: a fluid cylinder (23) housed in the elongated body, a valve closing inlet (32), and a valve opening inlet (34); the fluid inlet, the fluid passage, the fluid cylinder and the fluid outlet are axially arranged with respect to a longitudinal axis (see fig.2 and 4); and the fluid passage defines a fluid chamber (23) comprising an inlet and an outlet configured to enclose the fluid cylinder (see fig.2-4); supplying a liquid to the device for dispensing liquid via the fluid inlet while the fluid outlet is closed by the fluidly actuated valve; opening the fluid outlet with the fluidly actuated valve and dispensing liquid to the container; and closing the fluid outlet with the fluidly actuated valve (see attached translation, page 3, ll.14-16; ll.33-37; see also claim 1).
Donini is silent in disclosing a device for dispensing liquid to water soluble pouches and or a compartment of a multicompartment water-soluble pouch. However, Fowler teaches the commonality of having a device with a number of dispensers (see fig.7) in filling water soluble pouches (702) via a number of dispensing tips (710). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the application to modify the containers of Donini to water soluble pouches as taught by Fowler, in order to reduce contamination risk and long-term environmental pollution.
The device shown by Donini and Fowler will perform the method recited in claims 17-18 during normal use and operation of the dispensing device.
Regarding claim 19, Donini discloses a machine for forming and filling container (2, fig.1-4), the machine comprising a device for dispensing liquid to a container (see fig.1-4), the device comprising: a fluid inlet (42); a fluid outlet (12); an elongated body defining a longitudinal axis of the device, the elongated body comprising a fluid passage therein extending from the fluid inlet to the fluid outlet (9, 17, 20); a fluidly actuated valve (13) for opening and closing the fluid outlet (see fig.2 and 4), the valve comprising: a fluid cylinder housed (23) in the elongated body, a valve closing inlet (32), and a valve opening inlet (34); the fluid inlet, the fluid passage, the fluid cylinder and the fluid outlet are axially arranged with respect to a longitudinal axis (see fig.2 and 4); and the fluid passage defines a fluid chamber (23) comprising an inlet and an outlet configured to enclose the fluid cylinder (see fig.2-4).
Donini is silent in disclosing a machine for forming and filling pouches made of water-soluble film, the machine comprising a device for dispensing liquid to a water soluble pouch. However, Fowler teaches the commonality of having a machine for forming and filling pouches made of water-soluble film, the machine comprising a device for dispensing liquid to a water soluble pouch (see dispensing device in fig.7, water soluble pouches 702 and dispensing tips 710). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the application to modify the containers of Donini to water soluble pouches as taught by Fowler, in order to reduce contamination risk and long-term environmental pollution.
Regarding claim 20, Donini discloses a dispensing liquid device (fig.1-4) having a dispensing tip comprising a predetermined length (48), the dispensing tip being arranged downstream of the fluid chamber (23); and a dispensing section of the fluid passage extending from a proximal end to a distal end of the dispensing tip (see fig.2), the fluid outlet being arranged at the distal end of the dispensing tip (see marked area 12).
Donini is silent in disclosing a cluster of two or more devices for dispensing liquid into a water soluble pouch, each one of the cluster of two or more devices having a substantially equivalent structure and the dispensing tip of at least two devices of a cluster comprising a different length, such that the elongated body of a device is arranged above or below the elongated body of an adjacent device of the cluster. However, Fowler teaches the commonality of having a device with a number of dispensers (see fig.7) in filling water soluble pouches (702) via a number of dispensing tips (710); and each of the devices of the cluster comprising a substantially equivalent structure (see fig.7). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the application to modify the containers of Donini to water soluble pouches as taught by Fowler, in order to reduce contamination risk and long-term environmental pollution. Regarding the dispensing tip of at least two devices of the cluster has a different length, so that the elongated body of a device is arranged above or below the elongated body of an adjacent device of the cluster, it appears that the only difference between the prior art to Fowler and claim 16 is a recitation of relative length and location of the dispensing tips on the manifold, in which the claimed relative length and location of the dispensing tips would not perform differently than the prior art device. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Fowler and Donini in combination to obtain the invention as specified in claim 16 because such a modification would have been considered a mere alteration to the size of the dispensing tips which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Fowler.
State of the Prior Arts
Regarding claims 1, 17 and 19, the prior arts to Donini (EP 1731478 A1), Gasiorowski (EP 3913334 A1), Ohlhafer (WO 2019072562 A1), Rodrigue (US 5,287,997), Carter (US 3,612,363), Scholle (US 3,517,688) and Fowler (US 2018/0290774) as cited in PTO-892, either individually or in combination are disclosing/teaching significant pertinent structures or features to the applicant’s claimed invention with regard to a device for dispensing liquid having a fluid inlet; a fluid outlet; an elongated body defining a longitudinal axis of the device, and having a fluid passage therein extending from the fluid inlet to the fluid outlet; a fluidly actuated valve for opening and closing the fluid outlet and having a fluid cylinder housed in the elongated body, a valve closing inlet, and a valve opening inlet; the fluid inlet, the fluid passage, the fluid cylinder and the fluid outlet are axially arranged with respect to a longitudinal axis; and the fluid passage defines a fluid chamber with an inlet and an outlet to enclose the fluid cylinder. It appears that claims 1, 17 and 19 do not provide any inventive concept over the cited prior arts.
Conclusion
/BOB ZADEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754