DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes that the fundamentals of the rejections are based on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language. Applicant is kindly invited to consider the reference as a whole. References are to be interpreted as by one of ordinary skill in the art rather than as by a novice. See MPEP 2141. Therefore, the relevant inquiry when interpreting a reference is not what the reference expressly discloses on its face but what the reference would teach or suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Status of the Claims
This is a Final Office Action in response to Applicant’s amendment of 24 April 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered as follows.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 04/24/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment and/or Argument
Applicant’s amendments and/or arguments with respect to the Claim Rejection(s) of Claims 1, 17 and 20 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sobhany as set forth in the office action of 04 February 2026 have been considered and are NOT persuasive. Specifically, Applicant argues (Pages 8-10 of Applicant’s Remarks dated 04/24/2026):
The Examiner’s Response:
The examiner has carefully considered Applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s arguments are mainly directed to Applicant believing that Sobhany fails to discloses the newly amended limitation “storing, in a memory, a custom signal catalog defining a face identifier vehicle signal relating to… in a vehicle, the custom signal catalog being derived from an initial signal catalog and an update data structure that adds one or more vehicle signals not defined by the initial signal catalog; … the face identifier vehicle signal being based on measurement data from one or more sensors of the vehicle.” Examiner has carefully reviewed the prior art(s) and respectfully disagrees.
Examiner would like to point to prior art Sobhany discloses in Fig. 8 and “[0098]…The user characteristics information can be acquired and processed to develop a profile of the user than can be utilized as a model in generating user-specific output actions…. [0099] The profile can include vehicle settings that are specific to the user. The profile of the user can be used to develop a model that correlates various vehicle inputs and corresponding vehicle output actions. [0100]…facial recognition can be used to identify a driver in a driver region of the vehicle…upon identifying the user in a region of the vehicle…user characteristic information and/or a user specific model associated with the identified user can be retrieved and/or derived….[0104]…The user-specific profile model may be iteratively updated to account for new information relating to user-implemented modifications to the vehicle environment. Output actions (e.g., modifications to features of the vehicle) can be generated an implemented using the user-specific profile model” and “[0129]…a user can initially include a default user profile. The default user profile can include a universal series of characteristics that correspond to default settings for users….The default user profile (corresponds to initial signal catalog) can be iteratively modified to be a user-specific profile based on continuously obtaining more information relating to the user (corresponds to custom signal catalog that’s derived from initial catalog based on signals obtained that’s not defined by initial catalog)”. Accordingly, the limitations being argued by the Applicant is/are in fact taught/disclosed by Sobhany (in at least Fig. 8-9 [0098-0144]) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7, 12-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sobhany (US 2020/0239002 A1).
Regarding claim 1 (similarly claims 17 & 20), Sobhany teaches A method (see at least Abstract) comprising:
storing, in a memory, a custom signal catalog defining a face identifier vehicle signal relating to an identifier based on a recognition of a face of a vehicle occupant in a vehicle, the custom signal catalog being derived from an initial signal catalog and an update data structure that adds one or more vehicle signals not defined by the initial signal catalog; (see at least Fig. 3, 5, 8-9 [0047-0067, 0098-0144]: the vehicle experience system can read data from or write data to other data sources such removable or fixed or remote storage device. The vehicle experience system can include a user profile module that manages profile data of a user of the vehicle and can encrypt the profile data for storage wherein the user profile can be based on both user characteristics information and profile types and unique user profile is generated specific to each user. Facial recognition can be used to identify a driver in a driver region of the vehicle. Upon identifying the user in a region of the vehicle (e.g., driver seat, passenger seat), user characteristic information and/or a user-specific model associated with the identified user can be retrieved and/or derived. A user can initially include a default user profile. The default user profile (corresponds to initial signal catalog) can include a universal series of characteristics that correspond to default settings for users. The default user profile can be iteratively modified to be a user specific profile (corresponds to custom signal catalog) based on continuously obtaining more information relating to the user (e.g. video/audio layback settings, volume controls, seat positions, vehicle temperature, light brightness settings, etc.))
receiving the face identifier vehicle signal defined by the custom signal catalog, the face identifier vehicle signal being based on measurement from one or more sensors of the vehicle; (see at least Fig. 8 [0098-0119, 0138-0144] Facial recognition (using a camera) can be used to identify a driver in a driver region of the vehicle. User characteristics information and user-specific model associated with the identified user can be retrieved from memory/storage. Generating user-specific output actions in the vehicle. ) and
updating, by a processing resource, a preference setting of actuatable components of the vehicle based on the face identifier vehicle signal. (see at least Fig. 8 [0098-0119]: The output actions can include actions performed by components of the vehicle either interior of the vehicle or exterior of the vehicle. For instance, an output action can include playing a specific form of media (e.g., audio/video) in the vehicle, adjusting the temperature in the vehicle, modifying light settings in the vehicle, changing computer-generated directions to a destination, etc. The user-specific output actions can be based on any of the user profile for the user and the detected emotional state of the user.)
Regarding claim 2, Sobhany teaches The method of claim 1,
Sobhany further teaches wherein the custom signal catalog further defines a mood vehicle signal relating to a mood of the vehicle occupant, wherein the preference setting of the actuatable components is updated further based on the mood vehicle signal. (see at least Fig. 6B-9 [0148-0159]: user-specific emotional information can be included in the user profile that can be used in accurately detecting an emotional state of the user based on characteristics that are unique to the user. Emotional state information relating to the user can be stored and added to a user profile associated with the user.)
Regarding claim 4, Sobhany teaches The method of claim 1, Lin further teaches wherein the vehicle occupant that is subject of the face identifier vehicle signal is a driver of the vehicle, (see at least [0027, 0033]: A vehicle experience system uses these sensor inputs to create a personalized, contextually-aware and real-time adaptive experience for drivers and/or passengers of vehicles. Upon detecting a user in the vehicle (e.g. facial recognition), a unique user profile associated with the user can be retrieved.) and
the custom signal catalog further defines one or more of: a vehicle signal relating to an age of a passenger in the vehicle, a vehicle signal relating to a mood of the passenger, or a vehicle signal relating to a reminder that an article was left behind in the vehicle by the passenger. (see at least Fig. 3, 8 [0047-0062, 0098-0103]: the user profile module maintains a profile for any regular driver of a car and may additionally maintain a profile for a passenger in the car.)
Regarding claim 5, Sobhany teaches The method of claim 1,
Sobhany further teaches wherein the custom signal catalog further defines a pedestrian vehicle signal that relates to a presence of a pedestrian proximate the vehicle. (see at least [0031, 0212]: To control the driving functions, the vehicle 110 can receive real-time feedback from external sensors associated with the vehicle 110 , such as sensors capturing image data of an environment around the vehicle 110 , or sources outside the vehicle 110 , such as another vehicle or the remote server 120 .The vehicle 110 can process the sensor data to, for example, identify positions and/or speeds of other vehicles proximate to the vehicle 110 , track lane markers, identify non-vehicular entities on the road such as pedestrians or road obstructions, or interpret street signs or lights.)
Regarding claim 7, Sobhany teaches The method of claim 1,
Sobhany further teaches wherein the custom signal catalog further defines a vehicle signal relating to a massage features of a seat of the vehicle, and wherein the updating of the preference setting comprises updating a preference setting relating to the massage feature. (see at least Fig. 9 [0153]: seat massaging 910h; any of a number of output actions can be performed based on the user profile and a detected emotional state of the user. Example components that can be modified by an output action can include interior lighting, audio, video, display settings, seat settings (e.g., heated seats, seat massaging), seat positioning, etc.)
Regarding claim 12, Sobhany teaches The method of claim 1,
Sobhany further teaches wherein the custom signal catalog further defines a vehicle signal relating to a media application program and a vehicle signal relating to a media playlist, and wherein the updating the preference setting comprises updating a preference setting relating to the media application program and the media playlist.(see at least Fig. 13 [0102, 0126, 0190-0198]: The user characteristics information can include media settings, such as video/audio playback settings, and an output action can include playing a specific form of media (e.g. audio/video) in the vehicle.)
Regarding claim 13 (similarly claim 19), Sobhany teaches The method of claim 1 (similarly claim 17),
Sobhany further teaches wherein the custom signal catalog further defines an air quality vehicle signal relating to an air quality associated with the vehicle, and the method comprises: activating a heat ventilation and cooling (HVAC) system or an air filtering system based on the air quality vehicle signal. (see at least [0046, 0163]: The comfort system can include one or more components with adjustable parameters that facilitate comfort of passengers in the vehicle such as air temperature control components (e.g. air conditioning or heating system), air quality control components (e.g. humidity or air purification system). Applying the passenger state and vehicle context information to a comfort personalization model configured to select at least one comfort parameter for the passenger. The at least one comfort parameter can include an output action that modifies a comfort-related component in the vehicle, such as a fan or air conditioner, for example.)
Regarding claim 14, Sobhany teaches The method of claim 13,
Sobhany further teaches wherein the air quality vehicle signal relates to the air quality inside the vehicle or the air quality outside the vehicle. (see at least [0046, 0163]: the output action can include playing back music with a corresponding dynamic light show in the vehicle or rerouting the destination to a route with lower air quality levels)
Regarding claim 15, Sobhany teaches The method of claim 1,
Sobhany further teaches wherein the custom signal catalog further defines a vehicle signal relating to an HVAC system of the vehicle, and wherein the updating of the preference setting comprises updating a preference setting relating to the HVAC system of the vehicle. (see at least [0106, 0176-0177, 0214-0217]: each user in a vehicle generally has a unique set of desired settings for an internal environment of the vehicle. For example, a first user may have a desired internal climate temperature of a first temperature, while a second user has a different desired internal climate temperature that includes a much cooler temperature.)
Regarding claim 18, Sobhany teaches The vehicle of claim 17,
Sobhany further teaches wherein the custom signal catalog further defines one or more vehicle signals selected from among: a vehicle central lock system of the vehicle, a vehicle signal relating to a massage features of a seat of the vehicle, (see at least Fig. 9 [0153]: seat massaging 910h; any of a number of output actions can be performed based on the user profile and a detected emotional state of the user. Example components that can be modified by an output action can include interior lighting, audio, video, display settings, seat settings (e.g., heated seats, seat massaging), seat positioning, etc.) a vehicle signal relating to a backlight intensity of a human machine interface (HMI) of the vehicle, a vehicle signal relating to an auto flip feature of a rearview mirror of the vehicle, a vehicle signal relating to a translucency of a sunroof of the vehicle, a vehicle signal relating to a color of an ambient light in a cabin of the vehicle, a vehicle signal relating a media application program, a vehicle signal relating to a media playlist, and a vehicle signal relating to a fragrance system of the vehicle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sobhany in view of Ki et al. (US 2022/0121774 A1 hereinafter Ki).
Regarding claim 3, Sobhany teaches The method of claim 1,
It may be alleged that Sobhany does not explicitly teach wherein the custom signal catalog further defines a face identifier deletion vehicle signal relating to a further identifier based on a face recognition of a further vehicle occupant that is to be deleted from the vehicle, the method comprising:
deleting, from the memory, the further identifier based on the face identifier deletion vehicle signal.
Ki is directed to vehicle passenger detection system and metho, Ki teaches the custom signal catalog further defines a face identifier deletion vehicle signal relating to a further identifier based on a face recognition of a further vehicle occupant that is to be deleted from the vehicle, the method comprising: deleting, from the memory, the further identifier based on the face identifier deletion vehicle signal. (see at least Fig. 2-5 [0005-00060056-0070]: sensors such as camera may be configured to recognize the passenger (via face recognition) by detecting who board/exit the vehicle. The electronic device may recognize exiting of a passenger and automatically delete data related to personal information related to the passenger, stored in a data storage unit.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sobhany’s vehicle system that automatically modifies features of a vehicle based on detected characteristics of the environment surrounding the vehicle to incorporate the technique of deleting passenger information from the memory based on the face recognition of a passenger who exit the vehicle as taught by Ki with reasonable expectation of success and doing so would protect usage’s privacy and reduce unnecessary power consumption (Ki [0006]).
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sobhany in view of Nagata et al. (US 10850709 B1 hereinafter Nagata).
Regarding claim 6, Sobhany teaches The method of claim 1,
It may be alleged that Sobhany does not explicitly teach wherein the custom signal catalog further defines a vehicle signal relating to a central lock system of the vehicle, and wherein the updating of the preference setting comprises updating a preference setting relating to the central lock system.
Nagata is directed to system and method for enhanced vehicle access, Nagata teaches wherein the custom signal catalog further defines a vehicle signal relating to a central lock system of the vehicle, and wherein the updating of the preference setting comprises updating a preference setting relating to the central lock system. (see at least Col. 4 Lines 6-67: User habits can be collected and remembered over time so that the vehicle can learn and respond to operator and passenger preferences automatically. These preferences can be stored on the vehicle or at a storage location external to the vehicle. The vehicle can evaluate the authenticated individuals and unlock/open doors automatically as a recognized user approaches the vehicle.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sobhany’s vehicle system that automatically modifies features of a vehicle based on detected characteristics of the environment surrounding the vehicle to incorporate the technique of automatically unlocking vehicle door system based on learned user preferences upon detection of authenticated user as taught by Nagata with reasonable expectation of success to improve vehicle functionality and design to provide a more satisfying or enjoyable user experience to make access to the vehicle less of a hassle for the user (Nagata Col. 1 Lines 29-38)
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sobhany in view of Vu et al. (US 2014/0096003 A1 hereinafter Vu).
Regarding claim 8, Sobhany teaches The method of claim 1,
Examiner notes that Sobhany further teaches that ([0213]) central display or infotainment system can be modified in the output action that includes display settings (e.g. brightness setting of a display device displaying video)
It may be alleged that Sobhany does not explicitly teach wherein the custom signal catalog further defines a vehicle signal relating to a backlight intensity of a human machine interface (HMI) of the vehicle, and wherein the updating of the preference setting comprises updating a preference setting relating to the backlight intensity of the HMI.
Vu is directed to vehicle audio system interfaces’ control system, Vu teaches wherein the custom signal catalog further defines a vehicle signal relating to a backlight intensity of a human machine interface (HMI) of the vehicle, and wherein the updating of the preference setting comprises updating a preference setting relating to the backlight intensity of the HMI. (see at least [0022-0025]: when a particular user personalizes his/her own interface preferences (e.g. light intensity or brightness of the touch screens), the setting are saved in the memory and selection of pre-recorded set of interface preferences may be automatic by utilizing means that identifies a particular user such as image recognition systems).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sobhany’s vehicle system that automatically modifies features of a vehicle based on detected characteristics of the environment surrounding the vehicle to incorporate the technique of personalizing user interface settings to be recalled automatically upon identification of a user as taught by Vu with reasonable expectation of success to improve user experience making a vehicle ride more enjoyable.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sobhany in view of Brown et al. (US 2020/0247337 A1 hereinafter Brown).
Regarding claim 9, Sobhany teaches The method of claim 1,
It may be alleged that Sobhany does not explicitly teach wherein the custom signal catalog further defines a vehicle signal relating to an auto flip feature of a rearview mirror of the vehicle, and wherein the updating of the preference setting comprises updating a preference setting relating to the auto flip feature of the rearview mirror.
Brown is directed to system and method for automatically learning and recalling driver preferences, Brown teaches wherein the custom signal catalog further defines a vehicle signal relating to an auto flip feature of a rearview mirror of the vehicle, and wherein the updating of the preference setting comprises updating a preference setting relating to the auto flip feature of the rearview mirror. (see at least [0002, 0012-0016]: Vehicles include features for saving and loading user preferences of vehicle settings, such as seat positions, side mirror angles, steering wheel tilt, HUD position, AC speeds, etc. The user preferences are associated with a user profile such that the vehicle settings are automatically adjusted based on the user preferences when the user profiles are loaded.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sobhany’s vehicle system that automatically modifies features of a vehicle based on detected characteristics of the environment surrounding the vehicle to incorporate the technique of automatically learn and load driver’s preference including automatically adjusting side mirror angles based on the user preferences as taught by Brown with reasonable expectation of success to provide quicker start-up and reduce driving errors in the case that drivers forget or misadjust mirrors especially after someone else has used the vehicle.
Claim(s) 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sobhany in view of Wellborn et al. (US 2019/0126934 A1 hereinafter Wellborn).
Regarding claim 10, Sobhany teaches The method of claim 1,
It may be alleged that Sobhany does not explicitly teach wherein the custom signal catalog further defines a vehicle signal relating to a translucency of a sunroof of the vehicle, and wherein the updating of the preference setting comprises updating a preference setting relating to the translucency of the sunroof.
Wellborn is directed to system and setting for controlling comfort setting within a vehicle, Wellborn teaches wherein the custom signal catalog further defines a vehicle signal relating to a translucency of a sunroof of the vehicle, and wherein the updating of the preference setting comprises updating a preference setting relating to the translucency of the sunroof. (see at least Fig. 4A [0064-0073]: the one or more vehicle controllers will automatically adjust systems within the vehicle according to the settings specified by the user’s comfort setting profiles. The comfort setting can include an open/closed status of the windows or a sunroof, the tinting of the windows or sunroof in vehicles that have self-tinting windows, etc.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sobhany’s vehicle system that automatically modifies features of a vehicle based on detected characteristics of the environment surrounding the vehicle to incorporate the technique of automatically adjusting a vehicle’s sunroof tinting based on a user specific comfort setting profile as taught by Wellborn with reasonable expectation of success to provide a vehicle system that can control one or more comfort settings within a cabin of a vehicle and doing so would improve user’s riding experience and comfort level (Wellborn [0005]).
Regarding claim 11, Sobhany teaches The method of claim 1,
It may be alleged that Sobhany does not explicitly teach wherein the custom signal catalog further defines a vehicle signal relating to a color of an ambient light in a cabin of the vehicle, and wherein the updating of the preference setting comprises updating a preference setting relating to the color of the ambient light.
Wellborn is directed to system and setting for controlling comfort setting within a vehicle, Wellborn teaches wherein the custom signal catalog further defines a vehicle signal relating to a color of an ambient light in a cabin of the vehicle, and wherein the updating of the preference setting comprises updating a preference setting relating to the color of the ambient light. (see at least Fig. 4A [0014, 0047, 0064-0073]: the one or more vehicle controllers will automatically adjust systems within the vehicle according to the settings specified by the user’s comfort setting profiles. The comfort setting can include a lighting-level setting within at least a portion of the vehicle
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sobhany’s vehicle system that automatically modifies features of a vehicle based on detected characteristics of the environment surrounding the vehicle to incorporate the technique of automatically adjusting a vehicle’s ambient lighting color/level based on a user specific comfort setting profile as taught by Wellborn with reasonable expectation of success to provide a vehicle system that can control one or more comfort settings within a cabin of a vehicle and doing so would improve user’s riding experience and comfort level (Wellborn [0005]).
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sobhany in view of Lin et al. (US 2018/0225551 A1 hereinafter Lin).
Regarding claim 16, Sobhany teaches The method of claim 1,
It may be alleged that Sobhany does not explicitly teach wherein the custom signal catalog further defines a vehicle signal relating to a fragrance system of the vehicle, and wherein the updating of the preference setting comprises updating a preference setting relating to a fragrance provided in the vehicle by the fragrance system.
Lin is directed to system and method for altering the mood of a vehicle occupant, Lin teaches wherein the custom signal catalog further defines a vehicle signal relating to a fragrance system of the vehicle, and wherein the updating of the preference setting comprises updating a preference setting relating to a fragrance provided in the vehicle by the fragrance system. (see at least Fig. 2-3 [0015, 0023-0041]: machine learning is used to determine scents that can change a particular unsafe mood into a safer one and recognized moods after scents are dispersed can be used to refine the expected impacts of scent. The system uses facial recognition to identify an occupant and loads a personalized occupant profile for the recognized occupant from data store wherein an occupant profile may include mood classification information and mood actuation information that indicates how particular scents or combination of scents can change an occupant’s mood and dispersing the selected sent based on the information.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sobhany’s vehicle system that automatically modifies features of a vehicle based on detected characteristics of the environment surrounding the vehicle to incorporate the technique of incorporating a user’s mood information and how dispersing a specific scent could improve a particular user’s mood as taught by Lin with reasonable expectation of success and doing so would reduce unsafe emotional states in vehicle operators through the user of scent to alter an unsafe driving state to a safer one (Lin [0001]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANA F ARTIMEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/FARIS S ALMATRAHI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3667