DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 27, 2024, July 17, 2025 and March 06, 206 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 2025/0140026).
As per claim 1, Liu et al. disclose a method comprising:
storing, in a memory (122, 132), a signal catalog defining one or more vehicle signals selected from among a vehicle signal relating to a speed limit (see abstract and paragraphs 0057);
receiving the one or more vehicle signals from a sensor data (110) defined by the signal catalog (paragraphs 044 and 0055); and
processing, by a processing resource comprising a hardware processor in the
vehicle, the received one or more vehicle signals to generate an indication relating to
an operation of the vehicle (paragraphs 0003, 0049, 0055, 0057-0058).
As per claim 2, Liu et al. disclose the processing of the received one or more
vehicle signals being performed using a machine learning model (direct learning model and indirect learning model, figure 1A).
As per claim 3, Liu et al. disclose the machine learning model being executed in the vehicle (see abstract and paragraphs 0044, 0050-0052).
As per claim 4, Liu et al. disclose the indication being generated by the machine
learning model and the indication comprises a predicted range by a range estimator (140) of the vehicle (paragraphs 0057-0058).
As per claim 5, Liu et al. disclose the indication being generated by the machine
learning model and the indication comprises a speed recommendation regarding a
speed of the vehicle (paragraphs 0057-0058 and 0066).
As per claim 6, Liu et al. disclose controlling, by the vehicle, the speed of the vehicle according to the speed recommendation (paragraph 0067).
As per claim 7, Liu et al. disclose the vehicle signal relating to the speed limit being based on an output of a driver assistance system of the vehicle (paragraph 0076).
As per claim 8, Liu et al. disclose the vehicle signal relating to the speed limit
based on the output of the driver assistance system being further based on a current
roadway on which the vehicle is traveling (paragraphs 0055-0057, 0062, 0065 and 0078).
As per claim 9, Liu et al. disclose the vehicle signal relating to the speed limit is
represented by a node in a driver assistance system branch of the signal catalog (figure 1).
As per claim 10, Liu et al. disclose the vehicle signal relating to the speed limit being based on an output of a navigation system of the vehicle (paragraphs 0046, 0053 0117 and 0119).
As per claim 11, Liu et al. disclose the vehicle signal relating to the speed limit being represented by a node in a navigation system branch of the signal catalog (paragraphs 0046 and 0053).
As per claim 12, Liu et al. disclose the vehicle signal relating to the trip time
provides an indication of a trip time elapsed since a start of a current trip (paragraphs 0053 and 0059 0064).
As per claim 13, Liu et al. disclose the vehicle signal relating to the regenerative
braking comprises an indication of whether the regenerative braking is active in the
vehicle (paragraph 0044).
As per claim 14, Liu et al. disclose the vehicle signal relating to the regenerative
braking comprises an indication of a regenerative braking level to apply (paragraph 0044).
As per claim 15, Liu et al. disclosethe vehicle signal relating to the regenerative
braking is represented by a node in an electric motor branch of the signal catalog (paragraphs 0044).
As per claims 16-17, Liu et al. disclose the signal catalog being based on an initial signal catalog and an update structure that adds the one or more vehicle signals that are not present in the initial signal catalog, wherein the initial signal catalog comprises a Vehicle Signal Specification (VSS) catalog, and the update structure comprises an overlay file (paragraph 0117).
As per claims 18-20, refer to claims 1-17 above.
Conclusion
/TAI T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685 April 3, 2026