DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it has more than 150 words. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 10118473, claims 1-8 of US Pat No 10889169 and claims 1-20 of US Pat No 12151546. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The current claims are drawn to a pick-up truck bed cover that comprises a release assembly that includes a first electronic actuator; a pull rod; a mechanical override rod; a and first latch that has a first latch arm.
These and other elements are presented in the ‘473, ‘169 and ‘546 claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 15 and 20 require the following:
At the instant, the limitation is indefinite since it is unclear from the claim language how the override rod will manually operate the latch arm without an actuator (handle or key cylinder). Correction is required.
Claims 6 and 7 require that the release assembly further includes a rod that extends from the mechanical override rod of the first electronic actuator, wherein the rod is configured to be manually moved.
At the instant, the limitation is indefinite since there is no support for a rod that extends from the mechanical override rod. As shown in the drawings, fig 5, the override rod 42 is coupled to a rod 20, not that the rod 20 “extends from” the override rod 42. That is totally different.
Therefore, cancellation is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat No 8,029,029 to Terhaar et al (Terhaar 029) in view of US Pat No 5,076,622 to Detweller and US Pat No 3,584,905 to Emanaker.
Regarding claims 1, 15-17, and 20, Terhaar 029 discloses a pick-up truck bed cover (55) that comprises a release assembly attached to the pick-up truck bed cover. The release assembly includes a first electronic actuator (115) that a pull rod (135) that extends exterior of the first electronic actuator.
The release assembly further comprises a first latch (200) located at one side of the pick-up truck bed cover; that comprises a first latch arm (130).
The pull rod is attached to the first latch arm and is configured to selectively move the first latch arm.
Terhaar 029 fails to disclose that the pull rod is part of a mechanical override rod that has an axially opposed end extending exterior of the first electronic actuator, wherein the mechanical override rod of the first electronic actuator is manually operable to move the first latch arm if the first electronic actuator does not move the first latch arm.
Terhaar 029 discloses that the latch arm can be manually operated by a handle assembly (not shown, through a cable connected to the latch arm).
Detweller teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a mechanical override rod comprises a pull rod (58) at one side of an actuator (32) and an override cable (84) at the other side of the actuator, so that the latch arm (40) can be operated by means of the actuator moving the pull rod, or if the actuator does not works, then it can be manually moved by means of the override rod (84).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the actuator described by Terhaar 029 with a mechanical override rod, as taught by Detweller, in order to be able to unlatch the cover manually in the event the actuator does not function.
Emanaker teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a connecting element that can be either a cable or a rod (38, col 5 lines 4-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the connecting element as a rod, as taught by Emanaker, in order to provide a more rigid member to connect the elements.
As to claims 2 and 18, Terhaar 029 discloses that the pick-up truck bed cover can comprises a 2nd electronic actuator with the respective elements to interact with a 2nd latch (col 6 line 30 discloses more than one). Terhaar 029, as modified by Detweller, will teach the use of a manual override feature.
As to claims 14 and 19, Terhaar 029 discloses that the pick-up truck bed cover is selected from the group consisting of a tonneau cover and a truck cap.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3-5, 8 and 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10-13 would also be allowed, since the claims depend from claims 3 and 5.
Conclusion
/Carlos Lugo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3675
March 22, 2026