DETAILED ACTION
Comments
The response to the restriction requirement has been acknowledged. Applicant elected species I (Claims 1-6, and 15-20) without traverse. Applicant is reminded to cancel the non-elected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aggarwal et al. (US 2022/0343561 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Aggarwal teaches:
A method for image processing, comprising:
obtaining an input image depicting a scene and an input prompt indicating an intrinsic modality of the input image, (FIG. 2, provide an image 200. Provide a source color input text 205. [0039], “The user may say a color to segment the portions and then use a color text (i.e., basic, complex or specific colors) to replace the segmented regions.”)
encoding, using a conditional image encoder, the input image to obtain a condition embedding representing the intrinsic modality of the input image; ([0037], “At operation 210, the system segments the colors in the image. The color segmentation is performed by extracting color embeddings for the unique pixels in an image using the color pixel encoder.”) and
generating, using an image generation model, a synthetic output based on the input prompt and the condition embedding, wherein the synthetic output comprises a visual representation of the intrinsic modality of the input image.(FIG. 2, [0039], “At operation 220, the system replaces the source color with the target color to create an adjusted image. Different lighting and shadows in the images are preserved when the hue part of a pixel's hue, saturation, and lightness (HSL) value is replaced. Some embodiments of the present disclosure are used for style editing for real-world images where distinct colors are present. The user may say a color to segment the portions and then use a color text (i.e., basic, complex or specific colors) to replace the segmented regions.”)
On the different embodiment/example, Aggarwal teaches:
wherein the intrinsic modality determines how the scene interacts with light; ([0040], “In some embodiments, when replacing a color, the hue dimension may be replaced, while retaining variations in shades and lightness of a color in the masked portion of the image. For example, a user may be provided with controls to adjust portions of the image based on color dominance and control the saturation (shade) and lightness of the replacing colors.”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the different embodiments/examples of Aggarwal to allow the method to be used to replace a variety of information of an image.
Regarding claim 2, Aggarwal teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: encoding the input prompt to obtain a text embedding, wherein the synthetic output is generated based on the text embedding. ([0036], “At operation 205, the user provides a speech or text input with a source color. The speech input is provided to a multi-lingual text encoder to convert text into a color embedding.”)
Regarding claim 3, Aggarwal teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein encoding the input image comprises: encoding the input image to obtain a plurality of condition embeddings corresponding to a plurality of intrinsic modalities; and selecting the condition embedding from the plurality of condition embeddings based on the input prompt. ([0037], “At operation 210, the system segments the colors in the image. The color segmentation is performed by extracting color embeddings for the unique pixels in an image using the color pixel encoder.” [0044], “Segmented image 305 is an intermediate image produced by a color replacement system of the present disclosure. In the example scenario of FIG. 3, the segmented image 305 is segmented into two regions; light and dark regions. The light regions have been determined to not be a target color. The dark regions have been determined to be a target color. Therefore, the dark region will be replaced with a source color. In some examples, an image segmentation mask may be presented to a user to make it more clear which portions of the image will be replaced with another color.”)
Regarding claim 4, Aggarwal teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein generating the synthetic output comprises: generating control guidance based on the condition embedding; and providing the control guidance to the image generation model.([0038], “At operation 215, the user provides a speech or text input with a target color. The speech input is provided to a multi-lingual text encoder to convert text into a color embedding.” [0039], “The user may say a color to segment the portions and then use a color text (i.e., basic, complex or specific colors) to replace the segmented regions. Some embodiments of the present disclosure are used to do palette mapping (i.e., map multiple painting colors to a different set of colors and transfer the original image according to color texts provided by a user). A user may adjust the saturation and lightness of the replaced color regions as the hue part of a color is replaced.”)
Regarding claim 6, Aggarwal teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein: the intrinsic modality is selected from a set comprising at least one of a shading modality, an albedo modality, and a normal modality. ([0040], “In some embodiments, when replacing a color, the hue dimension may be replaced, while retaining variations in shades and lightness of a color in the masked portion of the image. For example, a user may be provided with controls to adjust portions of the image based on color dominance and control the saturation (shade) and lightness of the replacing colors.”)
Regarding claim 15, Aggarwal teaches:
A system comprising: a memory component; and a processing device coupled to the memory component, the processing device configured to perform operations comprising: (fig. 4) The rest of claim 15 recites similar limitations of claim 1, thus is rejected accordingly.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aggarwal in view of Smock et al. (US 2024/0331235 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Aggarwal teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein generating the synthetic output comprises: However, Aggarwal does not, but Smock teaches:
obtaining a noise map; and denoising the noise map based on the condition embedding to generate the synthetic output. ([0022], “Stable Diffusion consists of three parts: a variational autoencoder (VAE), U-Net, and an optional text encoder. The VAE encoder compresses the image from pixel space to a smaller dimensional latent space, capturing a more fundamental semantic meaning of the image. Gaussian noise is iteratively applied to the compressed latent representation during forward diffusion. The U-Net block, composed of a ResNet backbone, denoises the output from forward diffusion backwards to obtain a latent representation. Finally, the VAE decoder generates the final image by converting the representation back into pixel space. The denoising step can be flexibly conditioned on a string of text, an image, or another modality. The encoded conditioning data is exposed to denoising U-Nets via a cross-attention mechanism.”)
Aggarwal and Smock both teach a method of generating an output image based on the input image and text prompt. Smock teaches more specifically using a machine learning model in the process, where noise and denoise process are used in the machine learning model.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Aggarwal with the specific teachings of Smock to accurately generate the output image based on input prompt.
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aggarwal in view of Zhang et al. (“Adding Conditional Control to Text-to-Image Diffusion Models” from IDS).
Regarding claim 16, Aggarwal teaches:
The system of claim 15, wherein:
However, Aggarwal does not, but Zhang teaches:
the conditional image encoder comprises a plurality of output blocks corresponding to a plurality of intrinsic modalities, respectively. (FIG. 3 shows the image encoder has encoder block A, B, C.”)
Aggarwal and Zhang both teach a method of generating an output image based on the input image and text prompt and encoding input images. Zhang teaches a specific encoding model using a diffusion model, where encoding image into several blocks.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Aggarwal with the specific teachings of Zhang to use a specific diffusion model to accurately generate an output image based on input prompt.
Regarding claim 17, Aggarwal in view of Zhang teaches:
The system of claim 16, wherein: the conditional image encoder comprises a preliminary encoder trained to provide a preliminary condition embedding to each of the plurality of output blocks. (Zhang, FIG. 3, page 5, top left: “
”
The combination rationale of claim 16 is incorporated here.)
Regarding claim 18, Aggarwal in view of Zhang teaches:
The system of claim 16, wherein: each of the plurality of output blocks comprises a transformer network. (Zhang, FIG. 3 shows the image encoder has encoder block A, B, C.”, each encoder corresponds to a transformer network. The combination rationale of claim 16 is incorporated here.)
Regarding claim 19, Aggarwal teaches:
The system of claim 15, wherein:
However, Aggarwal does not, but Zhang teaches:
the image generation model comprises a diffusion network. (FIG. 3, stable diffusion network.)
Aggarwal and Zhang both teach a method of generating an output image based on the input image and text prompt. Zhang teaches more specifically using a diffusion model in the process.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Aggarwal with the specific teachings of Zhang to accurately generate the output image based on input prompt.
Regarding claim 20, Aggarwal teaches:
The system of claim 15,
However, Aggarwal does not, but Zhang teaches:
wherein: the image generation model includes a control network. (FIG. 3, b controlNet)
Aggarwal and Zhang both teach a method of generating an output image based on the input image and text prompt. Zhang teaches more specifically using a control network in the process.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have combined the teachings of Aggarwal with the specific teachings of Zhang to accurately generate the output image based on input prompt.
Conclusion
/YANNA WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615