DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This is the first Office Action on the merits of Application 18/956,154 filed on 11/22/24. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/22/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8
Line 2: “formed a material” should be amended as -- formed from a material --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 9, 14 & 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent 8,075,229 to Mok et al.
Claim 1
Mok discloses in Fig 13,
A gearbox assembly for an actuator comprising: a housing (e.g. 310); a gear assembly (e.g. 312) arranged within the housing; and a torque limiting sleeve (e.g. 402, Column 7 Lines 8-15, torque limit is adjusted) arranged on an exterior of the housing, wherein the torque limiting sleeve is axially positioned radially outward from the gear assembly (see Fig 13).
Claim 2
The gearbox assembly of claim 1, wherein the torque limiting sleeve is integrally formed with the housing, and the torque limiting sleeve comprises a radial thickness of the housing at a position axially outward from the gear assembly that is greater than a radial thickness of the housing not axially aligned with the gear assembly (e.g. 102 is thicker than 310).
Claim 3
The gearbox assembly of claim 1, wherein the torque limiting sleeve comprises at least two sleeve sections (e.g. sleeve is of varying thicknesses which represents two sections) that are secured together about the housing.
Claim 4
The gearbox assembly of claim 1, wherein torque limiting sleeve comprises an inner diameter surface that is arranged in contact with an outer diameter surface of the housing (see Fig 13).
Claim 6
The gearbox assembly of claim 1, wherein the torque limiting sleeve is removably attached to the housing (e.g. sleeve is removable, 402, see Fig 13a).
Claim 9
The gearbox assembly of claim 1, wherein the torque limiting sleeve has an axial length that is equal to an axial length (e.g. gear assembly portion with 390, 332, & 330) of the gear assembly within the housing.
Claim 14
The gearbox assembly of claim 1, further comprising an axial stop installed on an exterior (see Fig 13 for axial stop adjacent 402) of the housing and configured to secure an axial position of the torque limiting sleeve on the housing.
Claim 16
An aircraft actuator system comprising: a component to be actuated (e.g. 372); an actuator (e.g. 300); and a gearbox assembly operably arranged between the actuator and the component to be actuated, wherein the gearbox assembly comprises: a housing (e.g. 310); a gear assembly (e.g. 312) arranged within the housing, wherein the gear assembly is configured to couple an input shaft (e.g. 304) connected to the actuator with an output shaft (e.g. 330) connected to the component to be actuated; and a torque limiting sleeve (e.g. 102) arranged on an exterior of the housing, wherein the torque limiting sleeve is axially positioned radially outward from the gear assembly (Fig. 13).
Claim 17
The aircraft actuator system of claim 16, wherein the torque limiting sleeve is removably attached to the housing (e.g. sleeve is removable, 402, see Fig 13a).
Claim 18
The aircraft actuator system of claim 16, wherein the torque limiting sleeve has an axial length that is equal to an axial length (e.g. gear assembly portion with 390, 332, & 330) of the gear assembly within the housing .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 8, 10 & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by U.S. Patent 8,075,229 to Mok et al.
Claim 7
Mok discloses a gearbox assembly for an actuator with a housing, gear assembly and torque limiting sleeve. Where the torque limiting sleeve is arranged on the exterior of the housing radially outward of the gear assembly. Mok however does not explicitly disclose that the torque limiting sleeve and the housing are formed from the same material. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the claims were effectively filed to have the torque limiting sleeve and the housing are formed from the same material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 8
Mok however does not explicitly disclose that the torque limiting sleeve and the housing are formed from different materials. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the claims were effectively filed to have the torque limiting sleeve and the housing are formed from a different material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim 10
Mok however does not explicitly disclose that wherein the torque limiting sleeve has an axial length that is greater than an axial length of the gear assembly within the housing. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the claims were effectively filed to select axial length that is greater than an axial length of the gear assembly within the housing, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim 11
Mok however does not explicitly disclose that wherein the torque limiting sleeve has an axial length that is less than an axial length of the gear assembly within the housing. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the claims were effectively filed to select axial length that is less than an axial length of the gear assembly within the housing, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch 617 F. 2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 12, 13, 19 & 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HUAN LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655