DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 09/25/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-18 are currently under examination and the subject of the present Office Action. Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from consideration without traverse.
As such, the restriction is made final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on 11/22/2024 has been considered here.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the cystine-sequestering material" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of search and consideration, the claim is understood to read “the gold nanoparticles are…” instead of “the cystine-sequestering material is”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10, 13-15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US PGPUB 20130235335 A1 (Forrest, 2013; as submitted on IDS of 11/22/2024).
In regard to claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 13, and 15 Forrest teaches a contact lens comprised of silicone hydrogel lenses (see Forrest, paragraph 0010) and gold nanoparticles (i.e. a cystine-sequestering material) (see Forrest, paragraph 0012). The gold nanoparticles are incorporated into the contact lens (i.e., trapped) (see Forrest, paragraph 0013) by having the lenses or the lens material exposed to a nanoparticle solution via soaking (see Forrest, paragraph 0053-54).
In regard to claims 1, 4, and 14 Forrest teaches that the lenses were soaked in at least two solutions, one at 1% and another at 10% of gold nanoparticle solution (see Forrest, paragraph 0080). This overlaps with the amount of gold nanoparticles used in the instant specification (see instant specification as filed, page 14, paragraph 1) and as such would be an amount effective to uptake cystine from the eye of a patient in the amounts as claimed.
In regard to claims 5-6, the gold nanoparticles are taught to have a diameter of 20 nm in an example (see Forrest, paragraphs 0046-0049).
Further, in regard to claim 13, as the teachings of Forrest would yield an identical contact lens as instantly claimed, the properties, such as the sequestering of cystine within the lens would be present since physical properties are not separable from the products themselves.
In regards to claim 18, the claim limitation is a future intended use, however the future intended use of a product is not considered to contribute to the overall patentability of the instant invention, particularly when the product itself is claimed and that same product is taught in the prior art.
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10, 13, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US PGPUB 20150190279 A1 (Acharya, 2015; as submitted on IDS of 11/22/2026).
In regard to claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10, 13, and 15, Acharya teaches an intra-ocular device (see Acharya, paragraph 0039) such as contact lenses (see Acharya, paragraph 0118), comprising gold nanoparticles (60 nm diameter) (see paragraph 0096). Further, the device is used to treat cystinosis (see Acharya, paragraph 0045). The device was used to remove 90% of cystine in 27 days in the eyes of a patient with cystinosis (see Acharya, paragraph 0189). One with ordinary skill in the art would understand that the removal of 90% of cystine from the eyes of the patient means that the amount of gold nanoparticles used are in an amount effective to uptake cystine from the eye of a patient.
Further, in regard to claim 13, as the teachings of Acharya would yield an identical contact lens as instantly claimed, the properties, such as the sequestering of cystine within the lens would be present since physical properties are not separable from the products themselves.
In regards to claim 18, the claim limitation is a future intended use, however the future intended use of a product is not considered to contribute to the overall patentability of the instant invention, particularly when the product itself is claimed and that same product is taught in the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10, 13, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PGPUB 20150190279 A1 (Acharya, 2015; as submitted on IDS of 11/22/2026).
The teachings of Acharya have been described supra.
Further in regard to claim 3, Acharya teaches an intra-ocular device, such as contact lenses (see Acharya, paragraph 0118) or fornix inserts (see Acharya, paragraph 0045), comprising gold nanoparticles (see paragraph 0096).
Further in regard to claims 10 and 15, the contact lens is taught to have a hydrogel matrix (see Acharya, paragraphs 0119-0120) comprising polyHEMA (i.e. a combination of HEMA as claimed) (see Acharya, paragraph 0121 and 0154) with gold nanospheres incorporated into the lens (see Acharya, paragraph 0096).
In regard to claims 16-17, the contact lens is taught to comprise cysteamine (see Acharya, paragraph 0045; Example 15). Further, in regards to claim 17, as the teachings of Acharya would yield an identical contact lens as instantly claimed, the properties, such as the diffusion of the cysteamine would be present since physical properties are not separable from the products themselves. Claim 17 further claims a future intended use, however the future intended use of a product is not considered to contribute to the overall patentability of the instant invention, particularly when the product itself is claimed and that same product is taught in the prior art.
Acharya does not teach with sufficient specificity to anticipate and so the claims are obvious. It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to rearrange the teachings of Acharya with a reasonable expectation of success to obtain the intra-ocular device of the instant claims.
A reference is analyzed using its broadest teachings. MPEP 2123 [R-5]. “[W]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious”. KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S,Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007)(quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976). “[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious”, the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007). The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742. A person of ordinary skill in the art who is not an automaton is capable of producing the intra-ocular device of the instant claims with predictable results.
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PGPUB 20130235335 A1 (Forrest, 2013; as submitted on IDS of 11/25/2026).
The teachings of Forrest have been described supra.
In regard to claims 11-12, Forrest teaches that the method of making the contact lens may or may not change the color or tint of the lens (i.e., the lens can be colorless), saying specifically that altering the optical density may include tinting the contact lenses, although the optical density can be altered without changing the color (see Forrest, paragraphs 0041, 0044, 0051-0052).
Forrest does not teach with sufficient specificity to anticipate and so the claims are obvious. It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to rearrange the teachings of Forrest with a reasonable expectation of success to obtain the method of the instant claims.
A reference is analyzed using its broadest teachings. MPEP 2123 [R-5]. “[W]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious”. KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S,Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007)(quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976). “[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious”, the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007). The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742. A person of ordinary skill in the art who is not an automaton is capable of producing the method of the instant claims with predictable results.
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, and 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PGPUB 20130235335 A1 (Forrest, 2013; as submitted on IDS of 11/25/2026) in view of US PGPUB 20150190279 A1 (Acharya, 2015; as submitted on IDS of 11/22/2026).
The teachings of Forrest have been described supra.
The teachings of Forrest are silent on the use of cysteamine.
The teachings of Acharya have been described supra.
In regard to claims 1, 3-6, 8, and 10-18, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Forrest and Acharya to formulate the composition as claimed as both references teach the use of gold nanoparticles in contact lenses for the same use. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Forrest with the teachings of Acharya according to the known method of making a contact lens for the use of drug treatment using gold nanoparticles (see Forrest, claims 14-20) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claims 2, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PGPUB 20130235335 A1 (Forrest, 2013; as submitted on IDS of 11/25/2026) in view of US PGPUB 20150190279 A1 (Acharya, 2015; as submitted on IDS of 11/22/2026) as applied to claims 1, 3-6, 8, and 10-18 above, and further in view of JP 2001011109 A (Takuma, 2001; machine translation provided by PE2E via FIT).
The teachings of Forrest and Acharya have been described supra.
The teachings of Forrest and Acharya are silent on the use of thiolated acrylates.
Takuma teaches an optical lens (see abstract) comprising known polymerizable compounds such as polythiourethane acrylates (i.e., thiolated acrylates) (see Takuma, page 6, paragraph 3-4 and page 7, paragraph 2).
In regard to claims 2, 7, and 9, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Forrest and Acharya with Takuma to formulate the composition as claimed as all three references are drawn to using polymerizable compounds in optical lenses. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Forrest and Acharya with the teachings of Takuma according to the known method of making a contact lens for the use of drug treatment using gold nanoparticles (see Forrest, claims 14-20) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Further, as the combination of teachings of Forrest, Acharya, and Takuma would yield an identical composition as instantly claimed, the properties, such as the thiolated acrylate sequestering the cysteine, of the composition would be the same. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658. As the prior art teaches an identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/ISIS A GHALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611
/A.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1611