DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment2. In an amendment dated, March 03, 2026, claims 1-12 and 14 are amended. Currently claims 1-15 are pending.
In response to an amendment to claim 6; the rejection of claim 6 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph is withdrawn.
In view of current amendment to the claim’s rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 03, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 7-9 of the remarks filed on March 03, 2026 applicant argues prior art(s) of record files to discloses claimed limitation of independent claims. Applicant argues a Person Having Ordinary Skill in the Art (PHOSITA) would have no motivation to make such a combination. The office respectfully disagrees. As noted in the previous rejection, Prior art Ham discloses mechanical physical guide (i.e. alignment adapter 100) that is used to align a first controller of an immersive reality system (i.e. (First) VR hand controller) with a second controller of an immersive reality system (i.e. (second) VR hand controller). Thus an alignment adapter is used to align two VR hand controllers. Prior art Cahill et al is relayed upon to show/teach plurality of controllers of a multiple immersive reality system used to create a single coordinate system from two controllers having different coordinate systems. Therefore given prior art Ham alignment adapter (i.e. mechanical physical guide) used to align two controllers with the teaching of Cahill et al wherein shared coordinate space is created between two controllers of (VR) augmented reality such that said VR controllers can be used as a single controller and enable a shared AR experience. Thus it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art to use alignment adapter (i.e. mechanical physical guide) to physically align said controllers (Ham) with the teaching of Cahill et al wherein reference frame (i.e. shared coordinate space) can be created between two controllers of VR space using alignment adapter (i.e. mechanical physical guide). Therefore the combination of prior art of record discloses claimed limitation as filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ham (PG Pub NO 2020/0122026) in view of Cahill et al (PG Pub NO 2020/0261799).
As in claim 1, Ham discloses a mechanical physical guide (Fig 4) comprising: at least one alignment (Fig 1-5 item 100) feature which is configured to align a first controller of a first immersive reality system (Fig 6, controller on the left), with a second controller of a second immersive reality system (Fig 6, controller on the right),
But fails to disclose each controller is part of different system and to define a reference frame common to a virtual space of the first system and a virtual space of the second system.
However, Cahill et al (Fig 1-7 and Par 0019-0023 ) discloses the creation of a single coordinate system starting from two controllers having different coordinate systems; the use of spatial alignment image wherein During an AR session, a first device displays a spatial alignment image, and optionally an AR session identifier of the AR session, which are viewable to a second device. While displaying the spatial alignment image, the first device tracks its location (e.g., six degrees of position) and at various time intervals using timestamps. The second device recognizes the spatial alignment image and records its location (e.g., six degrees of position) and timestamp of when the spatial alignment image is recognized (e.g., timestamp coinciding with location when the spatial alignment is recognized). “Six degrees of position” (also referred to as “six degrees of freedom”) refers to freedom of movement of an object in three-dimensional space along three orthogonal spatial axes (e.g., x, y, and z) and a change in object orientation about three orthogonal rotation axes (e.g., yaw, pitch, and roll). [0022] Using the received location and spatial origin of the first device, the second device can calculate an offset between the second device and the first device, establishing a shared coordinate space between the first device and the second device. The second device can then display virtual image(s) of the AR session being displayed by the first device in the shared coordinate space. In some embodiments, the shared coordinate space can be correct to within millimeter accuracy, that is, the second device can align its coordinate space with the coordinate space of the first device within accuracy of about a millimeter. [0023] Referring to FIG. 1, a system for creating a shared coordinate space in an augmented reality session between at least two devices (with disjoint relative coordinate spaces) 100 is illustrated. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to modify the teaching of Ham with the teaching of Cahill et al such that to align user gaming devices to enable a shared AR experience resulting in consistent positioning of the computer-generated imagery relative to the real-word imagery.
As in claim 2, Ham in view of Cahill et al discloses the mechanical physical guide (Ham, Fig 4) according to claim 1, configured to: - be affixed to one of the first and second controllers (Fig 1-4); and - be in a preset position relative to another mechanical physical guide which is affixed to the other of the first and second controllers, for aligning the first and second controllers. (Fig 6 and Par 0016, 0026) discloses The VR hand controllers can be slipped into controller recesses in corresponding adapters, which hold the controllers in the adapters. The adapters are designed to allow the VR controllers to be locked into axial alignment. [0026] The images of FIGS. 6A, 6B and 6D illustrate how a user can grip the VR hand controllers 200 while they are held in a fixed temporal axial alignment by the adapters 100 coupled in the different configurations.
As in claim 3, Ham in view of Cahill et al discloses the mechanical physical guide according to claim 2, wherein the alignment feature comprises a mechanical engagement to secure to said one of the first and second controllers . (Fig 4-6) discloses a mechanical engagement (i.e. magnet) to secure to said one of the first and second controllers
As in claim 4, Ham in view of Cahill et al discloses the mechanical physical guide according to claim 3, wherein the guide is integrated with a protective case housing in a fixed position to said one of the first and second controllers. (Fig 4-6 and Par 0022-024)
As in claim 5, Ham in view of Cahill et al discloses the mechanical guide according to claim 2, the alignment feature comprising at least one alignment contact configured to engage with an alignment contact of the other mechanical physical guide. (Fig 4-6 and Par 0026) By appropriate selection of the magnet components 124, adapters 100 can be magnetically coupled together with the longitudinal axes aligned with each other. The first end 103 of one adapter 100 can be coupled to the first end 103 of another adapter 100, as shown in the image of FIG. 6A.
As in claim 6, Ham in view of Cahill et al discloses the mechanical physical guide according to claim 5, wherein the at least one alignment contact comprises a device for temporary attachment of to the other mechanical physical guide with fool proofing of relative positions of the mechanical physical guides. (Fig 4-6 and par 0023) discloses a magnetic components 124 used for temporary attachment
As in claim 7, Ham in view of Cahill et al discloses the mechanical physical guide according to claim 5, wherein the alignment feature comprises first and second alignment contacts configured to engage with respective first and second alignment contacts of the other mechanical physical guide, and wherein the first and second alignment contacts of the mechanical physical guide comprise first and second magnets, respectively, with reversed respective polarities. (Fig 4-6 item 127, and Par 0023, 0026) [0023] In the example of FIG. 4, the coupling assembly includes magnetic components 124 (e.g., permanent magnets) that can be inserted into the alignment recesses 118 and 121, and secured in position using an end cap 127 surrounding the magnet components 124. As shown in FIG. 4, the magnet components 124 can be removably inserted into the end caps 127 or can be molded into the end caps 127. [0026] By appropriate selection of the magnet components 124, adapters 100 can be magnetically coupled together with the longitudinal axes aligned with each other. The first end 103 of one adapter 100 can be coupled to the first end 103 of another adapter 100, as shown in the image of FIG. 6A. The ability to quickly disconnect the adapters 100, and reconfigure the end caps 127 with the magnet components 124 (or other coupling assemblies) allows the adapters 100 to be used in a wide range of applications.
As in claim 11, Ham discloses a controller for an immersive reality system (Fig 5, VR hand controller 200), comprising: a mechanical physical guide comprising an alignment feature (Fig 1-5 item 100) which is configured to align the controller with another controller of another immersive reality system,(Fig 4-6 and Par 0026) [0026] By appropriate selection of the magnet components 124, adapters 100 can be magnetically coupled together with the longitudinal axes aligned with each other. The first end 103 of one adapter 100 can be coupled to the first end 103 of another adapter 100, as shown in the image of FIG. 6A
But fails to disclose each controller is part of different system and determining a common reference frame between respective virtual spaces of said immersive reality systems.
However, Cahill et al (Fig 1-7 and Par 0020-0023 ) discloses the creation of a single coordinate system starting from two controllers having different coordinate systems; the use of spatial alignment image wherein During an AR session, a first device displays a spatial alignment image, and optionally an AR session identifier of the AR session, which are viewable to a second device. While displaying the spatial alignment image, the first device tracks its location (e.g., six degrees of position) and at various time intervals using timestamps. The second device recognizes the spatial alignment image and records its location (e.g., six degrees of position) and timestamp of when the spatial alignment image is recognized (e.g., timestamp coinciding with location when the spatial alignment is recognized). “Six degrees of position” (also referred to as “six degrees of freedom”) refers to freedom of movement of an object in three-dimensional space along three orthogonal spatial axes (e.g., x, y, and z) and a change in object orientation about three orthogonal rotation axes (e.g., yaw, pitch, and roll). [0022] Using the received location and spatial origin of the first device, the second device can calculate an offset between the second device and the first device, establishing a shared coordinate space between the first device and the second device. The second device can then display virtual image(s) of the AR session being displayed by the first device in the shared coordinate space. In some embodiments, the shared coordinate space can be correct to within millimeter accuracy, that is, the second device can align its coordinate space with the coordinate space of the first device within accuracy of about a millimeter. [0023] Referring to FIG. 1, a system for creating a shared coordinate space in an augmented reality session between at least two devices (with disjoint relative coordinate spaces) 100 is illustrated. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to modify the teaching of Ham with the teaching of Cahill et al such that to align user gaming devices to enable a shared AR experience resulting in consistent positioning of the computer-generated imagery relative to the real-word imagery.
As in claim 12, Ham in view of Cahill et al discloses the controller (Ham; Fig 5, VR hand controller 200) according to claim 11, wherein, the alignment feature enables the mechanical physical guide to be placed in a preset position relative to another mechanical physical guide of the other controller. (Fig 6 and Par 0016, 0026) discloses The VR hand controllers can be slipped into controller recesses in corresponding adapters, which hold the controllers in the adapters. The adapters are designed to allow the VR controllers to be locked into axial alignment. [0026] The images of FIGS. 6A, 6B and 6D illustrate how a user can grip the VR hand controllers 200 while they are held in a fixed temporal axial alignment by the adapters 100 coupled in the different configurations.
As in claim 13, Ham in view of Cahill et al discloses the controller (Ham; Fig 5, VR hand controller 200) controller according to claim 11, further comprising an input interface activatable by a user for triggering [(Fig 6 and Par 0002) discloses Hand controllers provide means for input in response to the VR stimulation received through the interfaces.], when the controller and the other controller are aligned (Fig 6) discloses aligning the two controller using physical guide (i.e. adapters 100),
But fails to disclose a calibration of the virtual spaces of the first and second immersive reality systems and determining said common reference frame. However Cahill et al (Fig 1-7 and Par 0019-0023 ) discloses the use of spatial alignment image wherein During an AR session, the second device can calculate an offset between the second device and the first device, establishing a shared coordinate space between the first device and the second device. The second device can then display virtual image(s) of the AR session being displayed by the first device in the shared coordinate space. In some embodiments, the shared coordinate space can be correct to within millimeter accuracy, that is, the second device can align its coordinate space with the coordinate space of the first device within accuracy of about a millimeter. [0023] Referring to FIG. 1, a system for creating a shared coordinate space in an augmented reality session between at least two devices (with disjoint relative coordinate spaces) 100 is illustrated. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to modify Ham device with the teaching Cahill et al
As in claim 14, Ham discloses a method comprising: calibrating a first immersive reality system with a second immersive reality system, the first system comprising a first controller and a mechanical physical guide for aligning the first controller with a second controller of second immersive reality system, (Fig 1-6 item 100) discloses VR hand controller 200 having alignment adapter 100; and adapters 100 (i.e. controller 200 (see fig 6) can be magnetically coupled together with the longitudinal axes aligned with each other. The first end 103 of one adapter 100 can be coupled to the first end 103 of another adapter 100, as shown in the image of FIG. 6A
but fails to disclose each controller is part of different system and calibrating a first immersive reality system with a second immersive reality system, the calibrating comprising: upon detection by the first controller of an alignment signal with the second controller, determining a common reference frame between a virtual space of the first immersive reality system and a virtual space of the second immersive reality system; and obtaining at least one coordinate transformation matrix from the first virtual space into said common reference frame.
However, Cahill et al (Fig 1-7 and Par 0019-0023 ) discloses the creation of a single coordinate system starting from two controllers having different coordinate systems. The use of spatial alignment image wherein During an AR session, a first device displays a spatial alignment image, and optionally an AR session identifier of the AR session, which are viewable to a second device. While displaying the spatial alignment image, the first device tracks its location (e.g., six degrees of position) and at various time intervals using timestamps. The second device recognizes the spatial alignment image and records its location (e.g., six degrees of position) and timestamp of when the spatial alignment image is recognized (e.g., timestamp coinciding with location when the spatial alignment is recognized). “Six degrees of position” (also referred to as “six degrees of freedom”) refers to freedom of movement of an object in three-dimensional space along three orthogonal spatial axes (e.g., x, y, and z) and a change in object orientation about three orthogonal rotation axes (e.g., yaw, pitch, and roll). [0022] Using the received location and spatial origin of the first device, the second device can calculate an offset between the second device and the first device, establishing a shared coordinate space between the first device and the second device. The second device can then display virtual image(s) of the AR session being displayed by the first device in the shared coordinate space. In some embodiments, the shared coordinate space can be correct to within millimeter accuracy, that is, the second device can align its coordinate space with the coordinate space of the first device within accuracy of about a millimeter. [0023] Referring to FIG. 1, a system for creating a shared coordinate space in an augmented reality session between at least two devices (with disjoint relative coordinate spaces) 100 is illustrated. Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinary skill person in the art at the time of the filing to modify the teaching of Ham with the teaching of Cahill et al such that to align user gaming devices to enable a shared AR experience resulting in consistent positioning of the computer-generated imagery relative to the real-word imagery.
As in claim 15, Ham in view of Cahill et al discloses A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions of a computer program which when executed by a processor implement the method according to claim 14. (Fig 4-8 and par 0019-0023 and 0070) discloses the computer 802 can include one or more processors 820 coupled to memory 830 that execute various computer executable actions, instructions, and or components stored in memory 830. The instructions may be, for instance, instructions for implementing functionality described as being carried out by one or more components discussed above or instructions for implementing one or more of the methods described above[0070].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior art of record singularly or in combination thereon fails to disclose the physical guide further comprising: a transmitter of a signal for aligning the first and second controllers, where said transmitter comprises: an active state when the first and second controllers are aligned for triggering a calibration of the virtual spaces of the first and second immersive reality systems, and determining said common reference frame; and an otherwise inactive state.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENYAM KETEMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626