Claim Interpretation
expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of
structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the
corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents
thereof.
a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and
such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts
described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be
understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of
a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35
U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
(A)
the claim limitation uses the term "means" or "step" or a term used as a substitute
for "means" that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-
structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed
function;
(B)
the term "means" or "step" or the generic placeholder is modified by functional
language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word "for" (e.g.,
"means for") or another linking word or phrase, such as "configured to" or "so
that"; and
(C)
the term "means" or "step" or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient
structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35
U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim
limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth
paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or
acts to entirely perform the recited function.
presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim
limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth
paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting
sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph,
except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this
application that do not use the word "means" (or "step") are not being interpreted under
35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise
indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word
"means," but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35
U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder
that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform
the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the "arbiter” and the “management component” in claim 1.
112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to
cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the
claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the
claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the
claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s)
sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being
interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3,4,9,11,12,14,15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2022/096886 A1, Kerry, 12-May-2022.
1. A data processing system comprising:
at least one processor, wherein each processor is operable to execute one or more virtual machines;
Page 8, Paragraph 6: The controller may execute on the same processor as an arbiter and a group of virtual machines (e.g. where the arbiter and virtual machines are correspondingly privileged and executing on a privileged processor).
at least one graphics processing unit operable to perform one or more graphics processing time-slices;
Page 30, Paragraph 7: As well as the CPU clusters, the system also comprises a “graphics processing” cluster 10, comprising a set 11 of graphics processing units (“slices”), that are able, as will be discussed further below, to provide processing functions to virtual machines executing on the QM cluster 2 and the ASIL cluster 4.
and at least one arbiter, wherein each arbiter is operable to assign a graphics processing time-slice to the one or more virtual machines;
Page 5, Paragraph 4: A first embodiment of the technology described herein comprises a data processing system comprising: a plurality of processing units; a controller operable to allocate processing units of the plurality of processing units into respective groups of the processing units, wherein each group of processing units comprises a set of one or more of the processing units of the plurality of processing units; the data processing system further comprising: a plurality of arbiters, each arbiter being operable to control access by virtual machines that require processing operations to the processing units of a group of processing units that the arbiter has been allocated; wherein the arbiter for a group of the processing units is only able to allow a virtual machine to access processing units from within the group of processing units that it has been allocated.
wherein each graphics processing unit comprises: a graphics processing unit instance, wherein the graphics processing unit instance is operable to perform graphics processing for the assigned virtual machine during the assigned graphics processing time-slice;
Page 30, Paragraph 4: As well as the CPU clusters, the system also comprises a “graphics processing” cluster 10, comprising a set 11 of graphics processing units (“slices”), that are able, as will be discussed further below, to provide processing functions to virtual machines executing on the QM cluster 2 and the ASIL cluster 4.
and a management component operable to facilitate one or more signals between the one or more virtual machines, the arbiter and/or the graphics processing unit;
Page 32, Paragraph 2: Figure 2 also shows the corresponding communications links between the controller 30 and arbiters 31 , 32, and from the controller 30 and arbiters 31, 32 and virtual machines 33, 34 (via the drivers 35) to the management circuit (partition manager) 12 of the graphics processing unit cluster 10.
Page 31, Paragraph 3: The management circuit (partition manager) 12 also provides a set of “access windows” in the form of communications interfaces whereby a virtual machine may access and control a given partition of the graphics processing units. Each such access window comprises, in the present embodiments, a set of (communication) registers having a corresponding set of physical addresses that can be used to address those registers.
These access windows also provide the mechanism whereby a virtual machine may communicate with an arbiter (with the arbiter for the group of graphics processing units that the virtual machine is to used),
and wherein the graphics processing unit instance is further operable to suspend the graphics processing time-slice for the assigned virtual machine in response to a suspend trigger generated by the management component in response to a signal from the arbiter.
Page 19, Paragraph 8: Correspondingly, where a virtual machine’s access to a partition of a group of processing units is to be disabled, then the arbiter in an embodiment performs an appropriate “handshaking” procedure with the virtual machine before disabling the access to the partition of processing units, e.g., and in an embodiment, so as to allow the virtual machine and the partition of the processing units to appropriately stop and/or suspend the processing tasks for the virtual machine prior to disabling the access of the virtual machine in question.
3. The data processing system of claim 1,
in which the management component is further operable to: receive an interrupt signal from the arbiter; and forward the interrupt signal to the graphics processing unit instance;
Page 35, Paragraph 5: In this example of graphics processing unit being transferred between groups, it may be assumed, for example, that the arbiter 32 for the ASIL cluster 4 makes a request for a further graphics processing unit (step 800). In response to this, the controller 30 will instruct the arbiter
31 for the QM cluster 2 (which is where the graphics processing unit is to be transferred from) to stop the partition from which the graphics processing unit is to be transferred (step 801). In response to this instruction, the arbiter 31 for the QM cluster (in this example) will stop the relevant partition and signal that to the controller 30 (steps 802 and 803).
wherein the graphics processing unit instance is further operable to, on receipt of the interrupt signal, perform the suspension of the graphics processing time-slice for the assigned virtual machine.
Page 19, Paragraph 8: Correspondingly, where a virtual machine’s access to a partition of a group of processing units is to be disabled, then the arbiter in an embodiment performs an appropriate “handshaking” procedure with the virtual machine before disabling the access to the partition of processing units, e.g., and in an embodiment, so as to allow the virtual machine and the partition of the processing units to appropriately stop and/or suspend the processing tasks for the virtual machine prior to disabling the access of the virtual machine in question.
4. The data processing system of claim 1, in which the graphics processing unit instance is further operable to:
signal the arbiter, via the management component, on completion of the suspension of the graphics processing time-slice for the assigned virtual machine; and wherein the management component, on receipt of the signal, is further operable to: trigger an unassignment of the graphics processing unit instance from the assigned virtual machine; and clear a state of the graphics processing unit instance, such that the graphics processing unit instance can be assigned to a further virtual machine of the one or more virtual machines.
Page 35, Paragraph 6: The controller 30 will then operate via the partition manager 12 to remove the graphics processing unit (slice) in question from the group assigned to the QM cluster (step 804) and inform the arbiter 31 for the QM cluster accordingly (step 805).
The arbiter 31 for the QM cluster may then restart its partition accordingly (step 806).
6. The data processing system of claim 1, in which the management component is further operable to: store a state of one or more of the virtual machines; and initialise, based on the stored state of the assigned virtual machine, the graphics processing unit instance.
Page 31, Paragraph 9: In the present embodiments, and in accordance with the technology described herein, the configuration of these graphics processing resources into the respective groups is done by the management circuit (partition manager) 12 under the control of a (privileged) controller executing on the safety island 6, and respective arbiters executing on the QM cluster 2 and the ASIL cluster 4.
To support this operation, the management circuit (partition manager) 12 further comprises appropriate configuration interfaces, e.g., and in an embodiment, in the form of appropriate sets of configuration registers, that can be respectively accessed and set by the controller on the safety island 6 and the arbiters on the CPU clusters. The controller and arbiters can correspondingly set their configuration registers accordingly, to thereby control the management circuit (partition manager) 12 to configure the graphics processing resources (and in particular the configurable communications network that configures the graphics processing resources) accordingly. The management circuit (partition manager) 12 may also include one or more state machines for this purpose.
Here, state machines would maintain the system's configuration states. In the context of this design, this would correspond to the VM states.
The following claim corresponds to claim 1 and therefore inherits its rejection.
9. A method of operating a data processing system according to claim 1; the method comprising: assigning, by the arbiter, the graphics processing unit instance to a virtual machine of the one or more virtual machines for a graphics processing time-slice; performing, by the graphics processing unit instance, graphics processing for the assigned virtual machine during the graphics processing time-slice; and suspending, by the graphics processor unit instance, the graphics processing time-slice for the assigned virtual machine in response to a suspend trigger generated by the management component in response to a signal from the arbiter.
The following claim corresponds to claim 3 and therefore inherits its rejection.
11. The method of claim 9, further comprising: receiving, by the management component, an interrupt signal from the arbiter; and forwarding, by the management component, the interrupt signal to the graphics processing unit instance; wherein, on detection of the interrupt signal, the graphics processing unit instance performs the suspension of the graphics processing time-slice for the assigned virtual machine.
The following claim corresponds to claim 4 and therefore inherits its rejection.
12. The method of claim 9, further comprising: signalling, by the graphics processing unit instance, the completion of the suspension of the graphics processing time-slice for the assigned virtual machine to the management component; and on receipt of the signal by the management component, the method further comprises: triggering an unassignment of the graphics processing unit instance from the assigned virtual machine; and clearing a state of the graphics processing unit instance, such that the graphics processing unit instance can be assigned to a further virtual machine of the one or more virtual machines.
The following claim corresponds to claim 6 and therefore inherits its rejection.
14. The method of claim 9, further comprising: storing, by the management component, a state of one or more virtual machines; initialising the graphics processing unit instance based on the stored state of the assigned virtual machine.
The following claim corresponds to claim 1 and therefore inherits its rejection.
15. A graphics processor operable to perform one or more graphics processing time-slices, the graphics processor comprising: a graphics processing unit instance, wherein the graphics processing unit instance is operable to perform graphics processing for the assigned virtual machine during the assigned graphics processing time-slice; and a management component operable to facilitate one or more signals between the one or more virtual machines, an arbiter and/or the graphics processing unit; and wherein the graphics processing unit instance is further operable to suspend the graphics processing time-slice for the assigned virtual machine in response to a suspend trigger generated by the management component in response to a signal from the arbiter, wherein the arbiter is operable to assign a graphics processing time-slice to the one or more virtual machines.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5,13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022/096886 A1, Kerry, 12-May-2022.
5. The data processing system of claim 1,
Kerry teaches the following.
in which the arbiter is further operable to: signal the management component to switch from the assigned virtual machine to a further virtual machine of the one or more virtual machines
Page 19, Paragraph 6: Correspondingly, where a virtual machine’s access to a partition of a group of processing units is to be (newly) enabled, the arbiter in an embodiment performs an appropriate “hand shaking” procedure with the virtual machine before enabling the access to the partition of processing units, e.g., and in an embodiment, so as to allow the virtual machine and the partition of the processing unit to appropriately start and/or resume the processing tasks for the virtual machine after enabling the access of the virtual machine in question.
(…) the graphics processing unit instance completing the suspension of the graphics processing time-slice for the assigned virtual machine.
Page 19, Paragraph 8: Correspondingly, where a virtual machine’s access to a partition of a group of processing units is to be disabled, then the arbiter in an embodiment performs an appropriate “handshaking” procedure with the virtual machine before disabling the access to the partition of processing units, e.g., and in an embodiment, so as to allow the virtual machine and the partition of the processing units to appropriately stop and/or suspend the processing tasks for the virtual machine prior to disabling the access of the virtual machine in question.
Kerry does not teach the following.
prior to
Kerry describes an arbiter performing a handshake procedure (signaling) to allow VM access to a partition so that processing can be resumed (it is implicit from processing being resumed that a switch must have taken place). It’s noted that this is not explicitly said to happen prior to suspension. However, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the present application’s filing to reorganize the design of Kerry such that this signal would take place in advance of suspension as performing this processing concurrently would enable faster switching.
The following claim corresponds to claim 5 and therefore inherits its rejection.
13. The method of claim 9, further comprising: transmitting, by the arbiter, a signal to the management component to switch from the assigned virtual machine to a further virtual machine of the one or more virtual machines prior to the graphics processing unit instance completing the suspension of the graphics processing time-slice for the assigned virtual machine.
Claim(s) 2,10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022/096886 A1, Kerry, 12-May-2022 in view of US20070057957, Wooten, 2005-09-09.
2. The data processing system of claim 1, further comprising:
Kerry teaches the following.
a memory;
Page 36, Paragraph 8: Each graphics processing unit also includes a level 2 cache 504 (L2) that inputs data to be used in the data processing tasks and outputs the resultant output data via a cache interface 506. The cache interface 506 is connected to external system memory 116 via a suitable memory interconnect. The graphics processing units may also include a memory management unit (MMU) 508, but this may also or instead be located externally to the graphics processing units.
and wherein the graphics processing unit instance is further operable to: suspend each process executing on the graphics processing unit relating to the graphics processing for the assigned virtual machine;
Page 19, Paragraph 8: Correspondingly, where a virtual machine’s access to a partition of a group of processing units is to be disabled, then the arbiter in an embodiment performs an appropriate “handshaking” procedure with the virtual machine before disabling the access to the partition of processing units, e.g., and in an embodiment, so as to allow the virtual machine and the partition of the processing units to appropriately stop and/or suspend the processing tasks for the virtual machine prior to disabling the access of the virtual machine in question.
Kerry does not teach the following. Wooten does however.
and write a current execution state of the graphics processing unit instance relating to the graphics processing for the assigned virtual machine to the memory.
[0015] Microsoft® Corporation of Redmond Washington has developed a graphics standard called Advanced Scheduler™ that allows each application, in a virtual machine or stand alone computer application, to have its own graphics “context” (A “context” is an isolated execution environment). A kernel-mode driver is responsible for creating the graphics contexts in which the graphics processor (GPU) will execute a set of graphics commands produced by a user-level program. Because the contexts are isolated, the user-mode applications cannot see or change the graphics information produced by another user-mode application in a different graphics context.
[0016] The isolation of graphics contexts can be applied to a partitioned (virtual machine) system in which multiple, and possibly diverse, operating systems are running on virtualized computers. A master control program called a Virtual Machine Monitor or a Hypervisor insures that each of the partitions is isolated from the others in much the same way that a kernel enforces isolation between user-mode applications.
[0017] In one embodiment, some of the functions of the kernel are moved into a special partition (a GFx partition) that provides the graphics services to the other partitions though a special software interface. The GFx partition creates and manages the graphics contexts that are used by the other partitions. The GFx partition also manages the graphics hardware.
[0018] Normally, the GFx partition will describe a context with context-specific translation tables. These tables translate accesses by the GPU from the virtual address space of the graphics context into a system memory address. On a system without DMA remapping, the translation is from graphics virtual address into system physical address (actual addresses used to access system memory). On a system with DMA remapping, the graphics device is treated like any other I/O device and the addresses that are presented to memory are translated by tables created and managed by the Hypervisor. On a system with a separate graphics card, a significant portion of the memory used by the GPU is located on the graphics card itself and most memory accesses related to address translation are to that GPU-dedicated memory. In this latter type of system, the overhead of going through the DMA remapping translation required for a system memory access may be relatively insignificant.
Wooten describes graphics contexts (execution states) applicable to virtual machines being translated (written) to system memory. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the present application’s filing to introduce this element into the design of Kerry as this could provide an advantage in reducing downtime for future GPU executions by negating the need for the booting process.
The following claim corresponds to claim 2 and therefore inherits its rejection.
10. The method of claim 9, in which suspending the graphics processing time-slice further comprises: suspending, by the graphics processing unit, each process executing on the graphics processing unit instance relating to the graphics processing for the assigned virtual machine; and writing, by the graphics processing unit instance, a current execution state of the graphics processing unit instance relating to the graphics processing for the assigned virtual machine to a memory.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022/096886 A1, Kerry, 12-May-2022 in view of US 20150178883 A1, McKenzie, 2015-02-26.
7. The data processing system of claim 1,
Kerry does not teach the following. McKenzie does however.
in which the processor is operable to execute a controller virtual machine and wherein the arbiter is at least part of the controller virtual machine.
[0004] Described herein are methods and systems for maintaining state in a virtual machine when disconnected from graphics hardware. The present systems and methods recognize that host resources, such as graphics hardware, may be limited, and provides the ability for such resources to be managed across one or more virtual machines while avoiding significant degradation in user experience. For example, a user may want to redirect focus from a first virtual machine to a new virtual machine, the first virtual machine allocated with the host machine's graphics hardware. In re-assigning the graphics hardware from the first virtual machine to the other virtual machine, a control virtual machine may pause execution of the first virtual machine and save state information related to graphics processing. The control virtual machine may seamlessly replace the graphics hardware with an emulator for handling memory accesses and interrupts with respect to the first virtual machine. The emulator may maintain interactions with the first virtual machine and may further output or maintain a graphical image for the first virtual machine while second virtual machine utilizes the graphic hardware. When the first virtual machine receives focus, the graphics hardware may be re-allocated back to the virtual machine, and may resume graphical processing in place of the emulator.
[0129] In certain embodiments, the control virtual machine may determine to re-allocate or directly assign the GPU from the first virtual machine to the second virtual machine.
Mckenzie describes a control VM capable of performing gpu allocation to a VM i.e. the described function of an arbiter. It is therefore implicit that this control VM comprises the component. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the present application’s filing to introduce this element into the design of Kerry as relegating control functions to a control VM could ensure a dedicated capacity of resources are available specifically for these functions at all times, providing insolation from usage spikes elsewhere in the system.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022/096886 A1, Kerry, 12-May-2022 in view of US 20210263857 A1, Roberts, 2021-04-27.
8. The data processing system of claim 1,
Kerry does not teach the following. Roberts does however.
in which the arbiter is at least part of the graphics processing unit, preferably wherein the arbiter is at least part of the management component.
[0006] A method of GPU virtualization comprises allocating each virtual machine (or operating system running on a VM) an identifier by the hypervisor and then this identifier is used to tag every transaction deriving from a GPU workload operating within a given VM context (i.e. every GPU transaction on the system bus which interconnects the CPU, GPU and other peripherals). Additionally, dedicated portions of a memory resource (which may be GPU registers or RAM) are provided for each VM and whilst each VM can only see their allocated portion of the memory, a microprocessor within the GPU can see all of the memory. Access control is achieved using root memory management units which are configured by the hypervisor and which map guest physical addresses to actual memory addresses based on the identifier associated with the transaction. Software running in the microprocessor within the GPU is involved in managing the workloads for the different VMs (e.g. instead of relying upon hypervisor software running in the CPU to control and manage the workloads).
Roberts describes gpu software managing workloads (resource allocation) for VMs i.e. the described function of an arbiter. It is therefore implicit that this gpu comprises the component. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the present application’s filing to introduce this element into the design of Kerry as this could serve as a means of offloading work that would regularly be relegated to the CPU, balancing system resources.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Luke Absher whose telephone number is (571) 270-1057. The examiner can normally be reached M-F: 8:00 am - 4:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the US PTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http:/ /www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Kevin Young can be reached at 571-270-3180. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https:/ /patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https:/ /www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786 9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LUCAS DONALD ABSHER/
Examiner, Art Unit 2194
/KEVIN L YOUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2194