DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2,3,5,6,27-29,35 and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (EP 3742823 A1) (IDS).
The claimed invention reads on Sun et al. as follows:
Regarding claim 1, Sun et al. discloses a method for wireless communication (fig. 1 and P:0023-P:0029), comprising: performing, by a user equipment (UE) (terminal and/or mobile phone)(P:0023 and 0070 ), transmission power control for uplink (UL) transmission (P:0023-P:0029) by: receiving, by the UE, a message corresponding to the transmission power control (target transmit power); determining, by the UE, a power control parameter (i.e. power control parameter set) according to the message (P:0024-P:0028); and transmitting, by the UE, the UL transmission with a transmission power (i.e. target power) according to the power control parameter (P:0029, i.e. also taught in P:0093 and fig. 4 number 42).
Regarding claim 2, Sun et al. discloses configuring, by a base station (network device), transmission power control for uplink (UL) transmission by (P:0024-P:0028 and P:0090-P:0091): transmitting, by the network device to a user equipment (UE) (terminal/mobile phone) (P:0024-P:0028 and P:0090-P:0091), a message corresponding to the transmission power control (P:0023-P:0029), so that the user equipment (UE) (terminal/mobile phone) is configured to determine a power control parameter (target power) according to the message (P:0023-P:0029); and receiving, by the base station (network device) from the (UE) (terminal/mobile phone), the UL transmission with a transmission power (target transmit power) according to the power control parameter (P:0029, i.e. also taught in P:0093 and fig. 4 number 42).
Regarding claims 3 and 27, Sun et al. discloses the power control parameter comprises a power control parameter set (P:0024), and an open-loop power control parameter set (i.e. the terminal adjust it power based upon the power control parameter set sent by the network device) (fig. 1 and P:0024-P:0029).
Regarding claims 5 and 28, Sun et al. discloses the message corresponding to the transmission power control comprises a downlink control information (DCI) message (P:0036).
Regarding claims 6 and 29, Sun et al. discloses the message comprises a DL transmission power (target receive power) (P:0025).
Regarding claim 35, Sun et al. discloses an apparatus (terminal) (fig. 3 number 30 and P:0070) comprising: a memory storing instructions (fig. 3 number 39); and at least one processor (fig. 3 number 310) in communication with the memory (fig. 3), wherein, when the at least one processor executes the instructions (P:0070), the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to perform transmission power control for uplink (UL) transmission (P:0023-P:0029) by: receiving, by the UE, a message corresponding to the transmission power control (target transmit power); determining, by the UE, a power control parameter (i.e. power control parameter set) according to the message (P:0024-P:0028); and transmitting, by the UE, the UL transmission with a transmission power (i.e. target power) according to the power control parameter P:0029, i.e. also taught in P:0093 and fig. 4 number 42).
Regarding claim 36, Sun et al. discloses an apparatus (network device) (fig. 6 number 600 and P:0111) comprising: a memory storing instructions (fig. 6 number 65); and at least one processor (fig. 6 number 64) in communication with the memory (fig. 6), wherein, when the at least one processor executes the instructions (P:0111), the at least one processor is configured to cause the apparatus to configure transmission power control for uplink (UL) transmission by: transmitting, by the network device to a user equipment (UE) (P:0024-P:0028 and P:0090-P:0091), a message corresponding to the transmission power control (P:0023-P:0029), so that the UE is configured to determine a power control parameter according to the message (P:0023-P:0029); and receiving, by the network device from the UE, the UL transmission with a transmission power (target transmit power) according to the power control parameter (P:0029, i.e. also taught in P:0093 and fig. 4 number 42).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (EP 3742823 A1) (IDS) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2023/0086946).
Regarding claims 14 and 32, Sun et al. discloses a method as discussed supra in claims 1 and 2 above. Sun et al. differs from claims 14 and 32 of the present invention in that it does not explicit disclose a mapping between a plurality of resource set and a plurality of power control parameter; and the mapping is a one-to-one mapping. Zhang et al. teaches At 310, the base station 105-b may transmit information (for example, via DCI, a MAC-CE, or RRC signaling) to the UE 115-c that is indicative of a first set of resources associated with the first set of uplink power control parameters and a second set of resources associated with the second set of uplink power control parameters. In some implementations, the information may include a mapping (for example, a bitmap) that maps that first set of resources to the first set of uplink power control parameters and the second set of resources to the second set of uplink power control parameters (i.e. one-to-one mapping)(P:0087). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Sun et al. with a mapping between a plurality of resource set and a plurality of power control parameter; and the mapping is a one-to-one mapping in order for the mobile phone to use the first set of uplink power control parameters to determine a transmission power of an uplink message transmitted over the resource or to use the second set of uplink power control parameters to determine a transmission power of an uplink message transmitted over the resource when determining it power for reliable full du-plex communication with the network node, as taught by Zhang et al..
8. Claim(s) 21 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (EP 3742823 A1) (IDS) in view of Khoshnevisan et al. (US 2022/0330165).
Regarding claims 21 and 34, Sun et al. discloses a method as discussed supra in claims 1 and 2 above. Sun et al. differs from claims 21 and 34 of the present invention in that it does not explicit disclose at least one indication field, wherein each indication field of the at least one indication field indicates that a group of resource corresponding to the indication field is mapped with a transmission power adjustment. Khoshnevisan et al. teaches a plurality of triggered SRS resource sets in the uplink component carrier (e.g., all triggered SRS resource sets that map to an indicated codepoint of the SRS request field) are configured with l=0, the TPC command may be applied to a first SRS power control adjustment state with index l=0. In some aspects, when a plurality of triggered SRS resource sets in the uplink component carrier (e.g., all triggered SRS resource sets that map to an indicated codepoint of the SRS request field) are configured with l=1, the TPC command may be applied to a first SRS power control adjustment state with index l=1. (abstract and P:0092). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Sun et al. with at least one indication field, wherein each indication field of the at least one indication field indicates that a group of resource corresponding to the indication field is mapped with a transmission power adjustment in order for an uplink signal transmitted by mobile phone to allow the base station to estimate uplink channel conditions based upon on the uplink power adjustment, as taught by Khoshnevisan et al..
9. Claim(s) 18 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (EP 3742823 A1) (IDS) in view of Muruganathan et al. (US 2021/0289445).
Regarding claims 18 and 33, Sun et al. discloses a method as discussed supra in claims 1 and 2 above. Sun et al. differs from claims 18 and 33 of the present invention in that it does not explicit disclose a field indicating whether the UE adjusts the transmission power of the UL transmission; the message comprises a DCI format or a random access response (RAR) UL grant; and the field comprises a 1-bit field. Muruganathan et al. teaches a method of signaling for fast uplink power control in a wireless network, the method comprising at least one of: determining, by a network node, a first and a second mapping table for mapping a transmit power control command bit field in at least one Downlink Control Information (DCI) format to a set of power adjustment values; signaling, by the network node to a UE, one of the two mapping tables to use; sending, by the network node to the UE, a DCI containing at least a Transmit Power Control (TPC) command; and adjusting, by the UE, its transmit power by an amount according to the TPC command and the signaled mapping table (P:0277), and a TPC command presented as a 1-bit field (P:0045). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Sun et al. with a field indicating whether the UE adjusts the transmission power of the UL transmission; the message comprises a DCI format or a random access response (RAR) UL grant; and the field comprises a 1-bit field in order for the mobile phone to provide fast uplink power control using a 1-bit field in a LTE network which would control/ mitigate interference with other mobile devices, as taught by Muruganathan et al..
10. Claim(s) 8,9,30 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (EP 3742823 A1) (IDS) in view of Sun et al. (US 2012/0213092).
Regarding claims 8,9,30 and 31, Sun et al. discloses a method as discussed supra in claims 1,2,5,6,28 and 29 above. Sun et al. differs from claims 8,9,30 and 31 of the present invention in that it does not explicit disclose an interference quantity for the UL transmission based on the at least one configuration parameter in the message; and the UE determines the power control parameter according to the interference quantity for the UL transmission and the UE derives the interference quantity for the UL transmission based on at least one interference quantity at least one reference point. Sun et al. teaches in the uplink, the transmission power of the UEs determines the amount (i.e. quantity) of interference to the adjacent cells, and the received power determines the amount of interference to other UEs in the same cell. In a UMTS network utilizing W-CDMA, an inner loop power control and an outer loop power control work together to manage uplink transmission power. Inner loop power control, also frequently referred to as fast power control, includes the determination of a signal-to-interference ratio (SIR) at the Node B (i.e. reference point), and if the interference is above a target SIR, the Node B may transmit a power control command to the UEs that have that Node B in their Active Set, requesting those UEs to lower their transmission power (P:0081). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Sun et al. (EP 3742823 A1) with an interference quantity for the UL transmission based on the at least one configuration parameter in the message; and the UE determines the power control parameter according to the interference quantity for the UL transmission and the UE derives the interference quantity for the UL transmission based on at least one interference quantity at least one reference point in order for the mobile phone to control its power when connecting to a base station where the power would not cause interference to other UEs or neighboring cells, as taught by Sun et al..
Conclusion
/KEITH FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648