DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-6, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Ono et al (USPN 2023/0311258).
Regarding claim 1, Ono discloses an electrostatic chuck device (an electrostatic chuck 10, shown in figure 2A) which clamps a target object (a wafer W) via an electrostatic force (via electrodes 200), comprising:
a clamping plate (a ceramic plate 100) having a clamping surface that clamps the target object (the wafer W) to its front surface side; and
a cooling plate (a coolant base 300) which is provided on a back surface side of the clamping plate (100)(see figure 2A) and which has an internal flow channel (an internal flow channel 301, see figure 2A, 12) through which a coolant flows, wherein the internal flow channel forms a flow channel geometry (a flow channel geometry shown in figures 12) in which flow channel elements of an identical pattern (identical patterns 31, 32 shown in figure 4) in a plan view are systematically connected.
Regarding claim 2, Ono discloses wherein the internal flow channel (the internal flow channel 301) communicates with a coolant introducing port (an inlet 301c) and a coolant discharging port (an outlet 301d) of the cooling plate (300), and repeats a change in which a distance from a central portion (CR) of the cooling plate (300) in a radial direction increases (such as a distance increases when a coolant gas flows from the inlet 301c to the outlet 301d) and a change in which the distance from the central portion in the radial direction decreases from the coolant introducing port (301c) toward the coolant discharging port (301d) (distances repeatedly increase and decrease from the inlet 301c to the outlet 301d along the convex and concave portions of the flow channel 301, see figure 12).
Regarding claim 3, Ono discloses wherein the flow channel elements (31-34) have a curved flow channel portion, a bent flow channel portion, or a folded flow channel portion therebetween (see figure 12).
Regarding claim 4, Ono discloses wherein the internal flow channel (301) has a meandering flow channel geometry by systematically connecting (311, 312) the flow channel elements (31-34).
Regarding claim 5, Ono discloses wherein the internal flow channel (301) has a geometry that can be expressed by a periodic function (a periodic function is formed by convex and concave potions of the channel 301, see figure 12).
Regarding claim 6, Ono discloses wherein the internal flow channel has a geometry that can be expressed by a Fourier series (a Fourier series formed by the coolant channel (301) which meanders on a radially inner side (CR) and the radially outer side of the cooling plate (300) (see figure 12).
Regarding claim 9, One discloses a cooling plate (a cooling base 300) used in an electrostatic chuck device (100) which clamps a target object (a wafer W) via an electrostatic force (by apply a voltage to electrodes 200), comprising an internal flow channel (a flow channel 301) through which a coolant flows, wherein the internal flow channel forms a flow channel geometry (311, 312) in which flow channel elements (31-34) of an identical pattern in a plan view are systematically connected (see figures 2A, 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono et al (USPN 2023/0311258) in view of Hamed et al (USPN 2021/0180837).
Regarding claims 7-8, One discloses all limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, but does not explicitly disclose the flow channel as claimed.
Hamed discloses a cooling structure comprises a cooling channel (4)
has a fractal geometry and wherein the internal flow channel (4) has a geometry that can be expressed by a Gosper curve (see par. 0033) or a Minkowski curve.
It whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the flow channel of Ono to incorporate a fractal or Gosper curve flow channel as disclosed by Hamed in order to enhance a heat transfer therefore improving thermal stability in an electrostatic chuck device.
Conclusion
/DANNY NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838