DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 1, filed May 8, 2026, with respect to the specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the specification has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed May 8, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that the pushbutton (22) of Cahill does not directly abut against the mass lobes (100), which means there is no abutting surface formed therebetween and Cahill does not teach the abutting surface recessed in a direction away from the corresponding transmission portion.
However, the claim language states:
“…the button is provided with two abutting surfaces respectively toward the two transmission portions, …” This is taught by Cahill because the pushbutton (22) contains abutting surfaces (116, inclined upper surfaces) on either side.
“…one of the abutting surfaces is configured to be abutted against one of the transmission portions, …” This is taught by Cahill because the abutting surfaces (116, inclined upper surfaces) directly engage with the inclined lower surfaces (114) of the buckle portion (64, latch member) in order to transition the buckle between the first and second states. Aligned with MPEP 2111 the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language was used. Although the abutting surfaces (116, inclined upper surfaces) do not directly abut against the transmission portions (100, mass lobes), the abutting surfaces (116, inclined upper surfaces) indirectly transition the transmission portions (100, mass lobes) between their first and second state positions via abutment against the inclined lower surfaces (114). The claim language does not specify that direct abutment between the abutting surfaces and the transmission portions is necessary.
Noting the above points, Cahill does teach “the abutting surface is recessed in a direction away from the corresponding transmission portion”. This is shown in Cahill’s figures 5 and 6. The abutting surface (116, inclined upper surface) is recessed away from both mass lobes (100) and inclined lower surfaces (114). Therefore, Cahill is sufficient prior art to reject the original claims 1 and 2, and the amended claim 1.
For Lee, Applicant similarly argues that the release button (1) and inertia lever (7) do not have direct mechanical contact with each other, which means there is no abutting surface therebetween and Lee does not teach the abutting surface recessed in a direction away from the corresponding transmission portion.
Aligned with MPEP 2111 the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language was used. Although the abutting surfaces (1a, 1b, slopes) do not make direct contact with the transmission member (7, inertia lever), the claim language does not require them to make direct mechanical contact. Lee shows in figures 4A and 4B that the button (1) is still the driving force that transitions the buckle between the first and second states. Therefore, Lee is sufficient prior art to reject the original claims 1 and 2, and the amended claim 1.
Applicant argues that Loomba does not include a manual release pushbutton thus cannot disclose the abutting surface of a pushbutton being recessed in a direction away from the corresponding transmission portion. According to MPEP 2141, examiners may combine or substitute prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. The burden of proving that the abutting surfaces of a pushbutton are recessed in a direction away from a corresponding transmission portion lies upon the rejection for claim 2/amended claim 1. The reference Cahill was used to defend this rejection and Loomba was used in combination with Cahill to reject claims 11 and 12, as allowed in MPEP 2141 and 2144.
Since Cahill is sufficient prior art for amended claim 1 which claim 11 depends upon, the only burden was providing prior art against the limitations of claim 11. In the rejection, the circuit of the buckle of Loomba was used within the casing of the buckle of Cahill. Loomba does not need to have its own pushbutton, because the one of Cahill is being used along with Loomba’s invention. Applicant failed to provide a rejection for the novelty of claim 11 so the rejection stands.
Applicant similarly argues that Ikesue does not provide a reference for the abutting surfaces of the pushbutton being recessed in a direction away from the corresponding transmission portion. The burden of proving that the abutting surfaces of a pushbutton are recessed in a direction away from a corresponding transmission portion lies upon the rejection for claim 2/amended claim 1. The reference Cahill was used to defend this rejection and Ikesue was used in combination with Cahill to reject claims 13-17, as allowed in MPEP 2141 and 2144.
Since Cahill is sufficient prior art for amended claim 1 which claim 13 depends upon, the only burden was providing prior art against the limitations of claim 13. In the rejection, the light-transmitting features of the button of Ikesue including a front opening (151), a logo layer (151b), and a transparent shell (151a) were used in place of the face of Cahill’s pushbutton (22). Ikesue’s pushbutton does not need to have the inclined surfaces of amended claims 1, because these features are in Cahill. Applicant failed to provide a rejection for the novelty of claim 13 so the rejection stands.
Applicant failed to argue against the rejection of claims 3-10, 12, and 14-18 so the rejection of those claims stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9, 10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cahill (US 5704099 A).
Annotated Figure 5 of Cahill
In regards to claim 1, Cahill discloses a lock catch (16, buckle), comprising:
a base seat (annotated figure 5 of Cahill) provided with an inserting groove (65, passage) extending in a first direction (figure 2), wherein the inserting groove (65, passage) is configured for a locking tongue (14, tongue) to be inserted in the first direction (figure 2), and the locking tongue (14, tongue) is provided with a buckle hole (74, aperture);
a buckle (52, inertia locking mechanism) corresponding to the inserting groove (65, passage), wherein the buckle (52, inertia locking mechanism) is rotatably connected to the base seat (annotated figure 5 of Cahill) to have a first state and a second state (column 3, lines 63-67), the buckle (52, inertia locking mechanism) is provided with a buckle portion (64, latch member) configured to be buckled with the buckle hole (column 3, lines 39-42), and the buckle portion (64, latch member) is further configured to be abutted against the locking tongue (14, tongue); in the first state, the buckle portion is configured to extend into the inserting groove (figure 6); and in the second state, the buckle portion is outside the inserting groove (figure 5), and the locking tongue (14, tongue) is abutted against the buckle (52, inertia locking mechanism) to switch the buckle (52, inertia locking mechanism) from the first state to the second state (figure 4);
a buckle return spring (70, latch spring) provided between the buckle (52, inertia locking mechanism) and the base seat (annotated figure 5 of Cahill), wherein the buckle return spring (70, latch spring) is configured to drive the buckle (52, inertia locking mechanism) to switch from the second state to the first state (column 3, lines 16-18);
a transmission member (84, inertia mass structure) connected to the buckle (52, inertia locking mechanism), wherein the transmission member (84, inertia mass structure) comprises two transmission portions (100, mass lobes) provided on both sides of the buckle (figure 7) along a rotation direction of the buckle (85, axis); and
a button (22, pushbutton) movably provided on the base seat (annotated figure 5 of Cahill), wherein the button (22, pushbutton) is provided with two abutting surfaces (lower edge of inclined upper surface 116) respectively towards the two transmission portions (100, mass lobes), one of the abutting surfaces (lower edge of inclined upper surface 116) is configured to be abutted against one of the transmission portions (100, mass lobes), and the button (22, pushbutton) is configured to drive the buckle (52, inertia locking mechanism) from the first state to the second state along the first direction through the transmission member.
In regards to claim 2, Cahill discloses the abutting surface being recessed in a direction away (116, inclined upper surface) from the corresponding transmission portion (100, mass lobe), and a normal direction where the abutting surface (lower edge of inclined upper surface 116) is abutted against the corresponding transmission portion (100, mass lobe) during the process of the abutting surface (lower edge of inclined upper surface 116) abutting against the corresponding transmission portion (100, mass lobe) is a tangent direction of a rotation of the transmission member (84, inertia mass structure) around a rotating shaft (annotated figure 5 of Cahill).
In regards to claim 3, Cahill discloses a transmission spring (102, torsion spring) provided between the buckle (52, inertia locking mechanism) and the button (22, pushbutton), wherein the button (22, pushbutton) is also indirectly abutted against the buckle (52, inertia locking mechanism) by pressing the transmission spring (102, torsion spring) along the first direction.
Annotated Figure 7 of Cahill
In regards to claim 4, Cahill discloses a rotating shaft (80, shaft) corresponding to the inserting groove (65, passage), wherein the buckle (52, inertia locking mechanism) is rotatably connected to the base seat (annotated figure 5 of Cahill) through the rotating shaft (80, shaft), the transmission spring (102, torsion spring) comprises a first torsion spring (annotated figure 7 of Cahill), the first torsion spring comprises a first spring body sleeved on the rotating shaft (annotated figure 7 of Cahill), and a first torsion arm and a second torsion arm respectively connected to both ends of the first spring body (annotated figure 7 of Cahill), the first torsion arm is connected to the base seat [via shaft 80], the second torsion arm is abutted against one side of the buckle (52, inertia locking mechanism) close to the button (column 4, lines 30-36), the second torsion arm is bent from the buckle towards the button (figure 6 of Cahill), and the button is configured to press the second torsion arm along the first direction (figure 6, the button indirectly presses on the torsion arm by moving the inertia mass structure 84).
In regards to claim 5, Cahill discloses two first torsion springs provided on both sides of the buckle (annotated figure 7 of Cahill) in an extending direction of the rotating shaft (80, shaft), and two second torsion arms are connected to each other as a whole [via shaft 80] (annotated figure 7 of Cahill).
In regards to claim 9, Cahill discloses a locking tongue return spring (66, ejector spring) configured for the locking tongue (14, tongue) to press along the first direction (figure 3), wherein the locking tongue return spring (66, ejector spring) is provided in the inserting groove (65, passage).
In regards to claim 10, Cahill discloses the locking tongue return spring (66, ejector spring) is configured as a spring sheet, the locking tongue return spring (66, ejector spring) is configured to protrude in a direction opposite to the first direction (figure 4), and both ends of the locking tongue return spring (66, ejector spring) are connected to the base seat (annotated figure 5 of Cahill). Since no critical elements of the spring sheet were mentioned in the disclosure it is assumed that the spring sheet can be tightly compressed into a coil configuration and used as ejector spring 66 or shaped as latch spring 70 and used in replacement to ejector spring 66.
In regards to claim 18, Cahill discloses a vehicle, comprising the lock catch (10, buckle) according to claim 1 (10, vehicle occupant restraint apparatus).
Claims 1-3, 6-10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US 8375531 B2).
Annotated Figure of Inertia Lever
In regards to claim 1, Lee discloses a lock catch (seatbelt buckle), comprising:
a base seat (9, base) provided with an inserting groove (insertion path) extending in a first direction, wherein the inserting groove (insertion path) is configured for a locking tongue (tongue plate) to be inserted in the first direction, and the locking tongue (tongue plate) is provided with a buckle hole (coupling hole) (column 6, lines 21-24);
a buckle (6, lock plate) corresponding to the inserting groove (insertion path), wherein the buckle (6, lock plate) is rotatably connected to the base seat (9, base) to have a first state and a second state, the buckle is provided with a buckle portion (6a, latch) configured to be buckled with the buckle hole (coupling hole), and the buckle portion (6a, latch) is further configured to be abutted against the locking tongue (tongue plate); in the first state, the buckle portion (6a, latch) is configured to extend into the inserting groove (insertion path); and in the second state, the buckle portion (6a, latch) is outside the inserting groove (insertion path), and the locking tongue (tongue plate) is abutted against the buckle (6, lock plate) to switch the buckle from the first state to the second state (column 1, lines 27-36);
a buckle return spring (8, torsion spring) provided between the buckle (6, lock plate) and the base seat (9, base), wherein the buckle return spring (8, torsion spring) is configured to drive the buckle (6, lock plate) to switch from the second state to the first state;
a transmission member (7, inertia lever) connected to the buckle (6, lock plate), wherein the transmission member (7, inertia lever) comprises two transmission portions (annotated figure of inertia lever) provided on both sides of the buckle (6, lock plate) along a rotation direction of the buckle; and
a button (1, release button) movably provided on the base seat (9, base), wherein the button (1, release button) is provided with two abutting surfaces (1a, 1b, slopes) respectively towards the two transmission portions (annotated figure of inertia lever), one of the abutting surfaces (1a, 1b, slopes) is configured to be abutted against one of the transmission portions (annotated figure of inertia lever), and the button is configured to drive the buckle from the first state to the second state along the first direction through the transmission member (7, inertia lever) (column 5, lines 47-49, 58-62).
In regards to claim 2, Lee discloses the abutting surfaces (1a, 1b, slopes) being recessed in a direction away from the corresponding transmission portion, and a normal direction where the abutting surface (1a, 1b, slopes) is abutted against the corresponding transmission portion during the process of the abutting surface (1a, 1b, slopes) abutting against the corresponding transmission portion is a tangent direction of a rotation of the transmission member (7, inertia lever) around a rotating shaft (4, lock pin) (figures 3-4B).
In regards to claim 3, Lee discloses a transmission spring (5, lock spring) provided between the buckle (6, lock plate) and the button (1, release button), wherein the button (1, release button) is also indirectly abutted against the buckle (column 5, lines 63-65) by pressing the transmission spring (5, lock spring) along the first direction.
Annotated Figure 3
In regards to claim 6, Lee discloses a rotating shaft (4, lock pin) corresponding to the inserting groove (insertion path), wherein the buckle (6, lock plate) is rotatably connected to the base seat (9, base) through the rotating shaft (4, lock pin), the buckle return spring (8, torsion spring) comprises a second torsion spring (annotated figure 3), the second torsion spring comprises a second spring body (8d, 8e coils) sleeved on the rotating shaft (4, lock pin), and a third torsion arm (8a, 8b, holding portions) and a fourth torsion arm (8c, rod) respectively connected to both ends of the second spring body (8d, 8e, coils), the third torsion arm (8a, 8b, holding portions) is connected to the base seat (9, base), and the fourth torsion arm (8c, rod) is abutted against one side of the buckle (6, lock place) away from the button (1, release button).
In regards to claim 7, Lee discloses two second torsion springs (annotated figure 3) that are respectively provided on both sides of the buckle (6, lock plate) in an extending direction of the rotating shaft (4, lock pin), and two fourth torsion arms (8c, rod) are connected to each other as a whole.
In regards to claim 8, Lee discloses, a limiting groove (7l, 7m, holding recesses) configured to be engaged with the fourth torsion arm (8c, rod) is provided on the side of the buckle (6, lock plate) away from the button (1, release button).
In regards to claim 9, Lee discloses a locking tongue return spring (3, ejector spring) configured for the locking tongue (tongue plate) to press along the first direction (figure 4A), wherein the locking tongue return spring (3, ejector spring) is provided in the inserting groove (insertion path).
In regards to claim 10, Lee discloses the locking tongue return spring (3, ejector spring) is configured as a spring sheet, the locking tongue return spring is configured to protrude in a direction opposite to the first direction, and both ends of the locking tongue return spring are connected to the base seat (figure 4A). Since no critical elements of the spring sheet were mentioned in the disclosure it is assumed that the spring sheet can be tightly compressed into a coil configuration and used as ejector spring 3 of Lee.
In regards to claim 18, Lee discloses a vehicle, comprising the lock catch (seatbelt buckle) according to claim 1 (column 10, lines 12-13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cahill (US 5704099 A) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Loomba (US 4012612 A).
In regards to claim 11, Cahill discloses the lock catch (16, buckle) according to claim 1, further comprising a circuit (42). Cahill does not explicitly disclose the circuit being electrically connected to an indicator light or directly abutted by the locking tongue.
In regards to claim 11, Loomba teaches a lock catch (safety belt buckle), further comprising: a circuit box (26, electric switch), wherein the circuit box (26, electric switch) comprises a box body (24, switch cavity) configured to be electrically connected to an indicator light (column 5, lines 27-30), and a triggering member (34, lever) elastically connected to the box body (24, switch cavity); the triggering member (34, lever) is configured to be abutted against the locking tongue (20, tongue) (column 3, lines 62-68), and the circuit box (26, electric switch) has a conductive state (closed position) and an off state (open position) (column 2, line 64 – column 3, line 5); in the conductive state (closed position), the triggering member (34, lever) is configured to extend into the inserting groove (22, tongue cavity) (column 3, lines 59-60), and the box body (24, switch cavity) and the indicator light are conductive (column 2, lines 63-67); in the off state (open position), the triggering member (34, lever) is outside the inserting groove (22, tongue cavity) (column 3, lines 63-65), the box body (24, switch cavity) is disconnected from the indicator light (column 2, line 68 – column 3, line 3), the locking tongue (20, tongue) is abutted against the circuit box (26, electric switch) to switch from the conductive state (closed position) to the off state (open position), and in response to that the circuit box (26, electric switch) is in the off state (open position), the buckle (2) is in the first state (column 3, lines 63-65).
Examiner interpreted the tongue (20) abutting against the lever (34) as the tongue (20) abutting against the electrical switch (26) as a whole.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the circuit of the buckle of Cahill to be within a casing of the buckle as taught by Loomba in order to protect the circuit within the buckle.
While restraint apparatus (10) of Cahill is best for restraining passengers in the event of a vehicle collision, the buckle (2) of Loomba is for indicating whether or not a passenger’s safety belt is buckled. Loomba teaches an electric switch for the previous purpose that is small enough to fit in a limited space, such as the casing of a safety belt buckle (column 1, lines 40-44).
In regards to claim 12, Cahill in view of Loomba discloses the triggering member (34, lever of Loomba) comprising a contact point (30, second contact member of Loomba) elastically retracted on the box body (24, switch cavity of Loomba) and an elastic sheet (34, second contact member of Loomba) connected to the box body (24, switch cavity of Loomba), the elastic sheet (34, second contact member of Loomba) is provided obliquely along the first direction (column 2, lines 59-61 of Loomba) in a direction of the box body (24, switch cavity of Loomba) close to the inserting groove (22, tongue cavity of Loomba), the contact point (30, second contact member of Loomba) is provided between the box body (24, switch cavity of Loomba) and the elastic sheet (34, second contact member of Loomba) (figure 1 of Loomba), the elastic sheet is configured to press the contact point (column 3, lines 50-52 of Loomba), and the elastic sheet is configured to be pressed by the locking tongue (column 3, lines 62-65 of Loomba); in the conductive state (closed position of Loomba), the elastic sheet (34, second contact member of Loomba) is configured to extend into the inserting groove (22, tongue cavity of Loomba), and the elastic sheet (34, second contact member of Loomba) is abutted against the contact point (30, second contact member of Loomba) (column 2, lines 64-67 and column 3, lines 59-60); and in the off state (open position of Loomba), the elastic sheet (34, second contact member of Loomba) is outside the inserting groove (22, tongue cavity of Loomba), the elastic sheet (34, second contact member of Loomba) is abutted against the contact point (30, second contact member of Loomba), and the locking tongue is abutted against the elastic sheet to switch the circuit box from the conductive state to the off state (column 3, lines 62-68 and column 3, lines 56-58 with figure 1 of Loomba).
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cahill (US 5704099 A) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Ikesue (US 4339854 A).
In regards to claim 13, Cahill discloses a lock catch (16, buckle) according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose the lock catch (16, buckle) having button configured as a light-transmitting member.
In regards to claim 13, Ikesue teaches a lock catch (buckle assembly), wherein the button (150, push button) is configured as a light-transmitting member (column 6, lines 59-61), the lock catch (buckle assembly) further comprises a light source (165, lamp), and the button (150, push button) and the light source (165, lamp) are provided in sequence in a pressing direction of the button (figure 7).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the button of Cahill to be a light transmitting member as taught by the embodiment of figure 7 of Ikesue so that the push button is easily seen by a user even in the dark because it is illuminated. Ikesue specifically teaches an illumination means that is easily mounted onto the buckle assembly and can be used in different buckle assembly designs, because it is configured to be one small unit simply snapped into place (column 6, line 59 – column 7, line 2).
In regards to claim 14, the previously made combination of Cahill/Ikesue discloses the lock catch (16, buckle of Cahill) wherein a logo layer (151b, letter marked plate of Ikesue) is provided on one side of the button (150, push button of Ikesue) away from the light source (light source (165, lamp of Ikesue) (figure 7 of Ikesue).
In regards to claim 15, the previously made combination of Cahill/Ikesue discloses a light-transmitting (column 6, lines 40-47) protective shell (151a, transparent plate of Ikesue) covered on the logo layer (151b, letter marked plate of Ikesue).
In regards to claim 16, the previously made combination of Cahill/Ikesue discloses the light source (165, lamp of Ikesue) is fixed to the button (150, push button of Ikesue) (column 6, lines 61-65of Ikesue).
In regards to claim 17, the previously made combination of Cahill/Ikesue discloses a light guiding member (101, upper cover member of Ikesue), wherein the light source (165, lamp of Ikesue) is fixed to the button (150, push button of Ikesue) through the light guiding member (101, upper cover member of Ikesue).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.J.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/ SPE, Art Unit 3677