DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This is in response to the amendment filed on 5/6/26. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-4, 7, 9, 11-13, 15-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larcher, in view of Bai (US 10252721 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Larcher discloses a system (Abstract) comprising:
an aircraft including one or more lighting devices ([0042] projection device 1 comprises a laser beam emitter 3; Fig 4); and
a control unit ([0046] computer 11 designed to compute the dimensions of the hazard area to be marked out; Fig 4) in communication with the one or more lighting devices, wherein the control unit is configured to operate the one or more lighting devices to provide illuminated messages regarding traffic in relation to one or more ground paths at an airport ([0052] computer 11 is, according to the example, designed to control projection device 1 so as to draw patterns on the ground in the projection area, the pattern being, according to the example of FIG. 4, an inscription repeating the word "danger" but the pattern could be any message or design chosen by means of a control system 18 linked to computer 11; Claim 1 the protection device is linked to a computer, the calculator comprising means of computing the dimensions of at least one hazard area according to parameters such as engine speed and/or aircraft loading and means of transmitting data (S) describing the beam's path to the device that comprises means of altering the projection area of the beam according to said data), but doesn’t specify the message is regarding traffic of other aircraft.
In the same field of endeavor, Bai discloses a system for controlling vehicles in a vehicle convoy by receiving vehicle convoy data about an environment surrounding the vehicle convoy, and detecting an intention of a remote vehicle to execute a cut-in maneuver into a path of the following vehicle. The system projects a status indication to a ground surface between the following vehicle and the preceding vehicle. Bai teaches that the vehicles may be aircraft (Col 5 Lines 1-5)
Bai discloses the notification is regarding the traffic of other vehicles (Fig 1B, Col 7 Lines 56-Col 8 Line 2 the projection system 116 can project a status indication 118 on a ground surface 120 of the road 102, where the ground surface 120 is an area between the following vehicle 106a and the preceding vehicle 106b…the status indication 118 is provided to notify the remote vehicle 110 about the coordinated control of the vehicle convoy 106 and whether a predicted cut-in maneuver is permissible; Col 13 Lines 28-41 the processor 208 can generate a control signal executed by the projection system 116 causing the projection system 116 to emit visible light (e.g., lines, images, graphics) to the ground surface 120 between the following vehicle 160a and the preceding vehicle 160b…the status indication 118 can provide a warning and/or notification to the remote vehicle 110 discourage the cut-in maneuver by the remote vehicle 110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Larcher with Bai in order to promote efficient traffic flow minimizing disruptions, as suggested by Bai (Col 1 Lines 20-40).
Regarding Claim 2, Larcher doesn’t teach that the aircraft comprises the control unit, however, it would likely be included on the aircraft to form an integrated system.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the control unit on the aircraft to efficiently process gathered information to determine the area to form the projected light beam.
Regarding Claim 3, Larcher discloses the one or more lighting devices comprise one or more exterior lighting devices, and wherein the one or more surfaces comprise a portion of the one or more ground paths ahead of the aircraft ([0018] the projection device is located on an element of the aircraft with a view on an area in front of the aircraft engines and projects the beam onto the ground in front of the engines), but doesn’t specify the surface in front of the entirety of the aircraft.
Bai teaches surface in front of the entirety of the vehicle (118 of Fig 1B).
3>Regarding Claim 4, Larcher discloses the one or more exterior lighting devices include one or more landing lights secured to one or more wings or a fuselage of the aircraft (Fig 3).
Regarding Claims 7 and 15, Larcher discloses the control unit is configured to operate the one or more lighting devices responsive to one or more of tracking information received from a tracking sub-system (Claim 1 the protection device is linked to a computer, the calculator comprising means of computing the dimensions of at least one hazard area according to parameters such as engine speed and/or aircraft loading and means of transmitting data (S) describing the beam's path to the device that comprises means of altering the projection area of the beam according to said data), map information received from an airport database, or clearance information received from air traffic control.
Regarding Claim 9, Larcher discloses the illuminated messages comprise one or more of symbols, shapes, colors, text, or graphics (Figs 1B, 1C).
Regarding Claim 11, Larcher discloses 1 the illuminated messages comprise readily discernable text and a readily discernable shape for a hot spot (Fig 1B).
Regarding Claim 12, Larcher discloses a method for a system (Abstract) comprising:
an aircraft including one or more lighting devices ([0042] projection device 1 comprises a laser beam emitter 3; Fig 4); and
a control unit ([0046] computer 11 designed to compute the dimensions of the hazard area to be marked out; Fig 4) in communication with the one or more lighting devices, wherein the control unit is configured to operate the one or more lighting devices to provide illuminated messages regarding traffic in relation to one or more ground paths at an airport on one or more surfaces ([0052] computer 11 is, according to the example, designed to control projection device 1 so as to draw patterns on the ground in the projection area, the pattern being, according to the example of FIG. 4, an inscription repeating the word "danger" but the pattern could be any message or design chosen by means of a control system 18 linked to computer 11; Claim 1 the protection device is linked to a computer, the calculator comprising means of computing the dimensions of at least one hazard area according to parameters such as engine speed and/or aircraft loading and means of transmitting data (S) describing the beam's path to the device that comprises means of altering the projection area of the beam according to said data), the method comprising:
operating, by the control unit, the one or more lighting devices to provide the illuminated messages regarding the traffic in relation to the one or more ground paths at the airport on the one or more surfaces ([0052]), but doesn’t specify the message is regarding traffic of other aircraft.
Bai discloses the notification is regarding the traffic of other vehicles (Fig 1B, Col 7 Lines 56-Col 8 Line 2 the projection system 116 can project a status indication 118 on a ground surface 120 of the road 102, where the ground surface 120 is an area between the following vehicle 106a and the preceding vehicle 106b…the status indication 118 is provided to notify the remote vehicle 110 about the coordinated control of the vehicle convoy 106 and whether a predicted cut-in maneuver is permissible; Col 13 Lines 28-41 the processor 208 can generate a control signal executed by the projection system 116 causing the projection system 116 to emit visible light (e.g., lines, images, graphics) to the ground surface 120 between the following vehicle 160a and the preceding vehicle 160b…the status indication 118 can provide a warning and/or notification to the remote vehicle 110 discourage the cut-in maneuver by the remote vehicle 110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Larcher with Bai in order to promote efficient traffic flow minimizing disruptions, as suggested by Bai (Col 1 Lines 20-40).
Regarding Claim 13, Larcher discloses the one or more lighting devices comprise one or more exterior lighting devices, and wherein the one or more surfaces comprise a portion of the one or more ground paths ahead of the aircraft (7 of Fig 2), but doesn’t specify the surface in front of the entirety of the aircraft.
Bai teaches surface in front of the entirety of the vehicle (118 of Fig 1B).
Regarding Claim 16, Larcher discloses the illuminated messages comprise one or more of symbols, shapes, colors, text, or graphics (Figs 1B, 1C).
Regarding Claim 18, Larcher discloses the illuminated messages comprise readily discernable text and a readily discernable shape for a hot spot (Fig 1B).
Claims 5-6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larcher and Bai, in view of Chartier et al. (Chartier; US 20180357911 A1) .
Regarding Claims 5 and 14, Larcher doesn’t disclose the one or more lighting devices comprise one or more interior lighting devices, and wherein the one or more surfaces comprise an interior portion of a window within a flight deck or cockpit of the aircraft.
In the same field of endeavor, Chartier discloses an advisor system to determine a current state of a first aircraft operating on a movement area of an airport including determining a path vector for the first aircraft, and determines a movement vector of a second aircraft, and compares the path vector and the movement vector to identify possible interference, and provide an advisory at the first aircraft based on the compared path vector and the movement vector.
Chartier discloses one or more lighting devices comprise one or more interior lighting devices, and wherein the one or more surfaces comprise an interior portion of a window within a flight deck or cockpit of the aircraft ([0045] Display system 35 provides display features that may include a display screen, lights, speakers, and a heads-up display).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Larcher with Chartier using interior lighting in order to provide an electronic information management device that helps flight crews perform flight management tasks more easily and efficiently, as suggested by Chartier ([0006]).
Regarding Claim 6, Larcher discloses the one or more lighting devices comprise: one or more exterior lighting devices, and wherein the one or more surfaces comprise a portion of the one or more ground paths ahead of the aircraft (Fig 3);
Chartier teaches one or more interior lighting devices, and wherein the one or more surfaces further comprise an interior portion of a window within a flight deck or cockpit of the aircraft ([0045]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larcher and Bai, in view of Gannon et al. (Gannon; US 20160140855 A1).
7>Regarding Claim 8, Larcher discloses the control unit is configured to operate the one or more lighting devices responsive to the tracking information received from the tracking sub-system (Claim 1), but does not mention map information received from the airport database, and the clearance information received from the air traffic control.
In the same field of endeavor, Gannon teaches methods for displaying a taxi clearance for an aircraft at an airport. One exemplary method involves receiving user input indicative of a constraining taxi path of a plurality of taxi paths at the airport, determining a first taxi portion between an initial location for the taxi clearance and the constraining taxi path, determining a second taxi portion between the constraining taxi path and a destination location for the taxi clearance, and displaying, on a display device associated with the aircraft, a taxi route comprising the first taxi portion, the second taxi portion, and the constraining taxi path between the first taxi portion and the second taxi portion.
Gannon teaches map information received from the airport database ([0050] airport map display on the display device 102 is dynamically updated automatically in response to each incremental manual input; Figs 3-5) , and the clearance information received from the air traffic control ([0016] user inputs indicative of additional constraining paths may be received and the displayed taxi clearance dynamically updated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Larcher with Gannon using map and clearance information in order to avoid confusion and runway incursions and maintain safe and organized ground traffic flow, as suggested by Gannon ([0002]).
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larcher and Bai, in view of Tsao (US 20190032879 A1) .
9>Regarding Claims 10 and 17, Larcher discloses the illuminated messages comprise shapes
In the same field of endeavor, Tsao discloses a lighting system for an aircraft, comprising at least one optical acquisition device, at least one long-range headlight each comprising at least one light source closed-loop control means, and a means for controlling the light sources as a function of the data received from the optical acquisition device and from a data network of the aircraft in such a manner that the lighting system produces at least one beam for adaptive illumination with respect to the flight and taxi phases of the aircraft so as to illuminate at least one predefined region of the space around the aircraft.
Tsao discloses an aircraft illumination system using colors ([0059] light source 3a,3b is obtained by combination of three monochromatic light sources of the laser type, red, green and blue. The light source thus obtained provides the benefit of the characteristics of laser sources while at the same time generating a color).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Larcher with Tsao using colors in order to provide an effective integrated illumination system capable of handling the different flight phases of “taxi”, “runway turn-off”, “take-off” and “landing”, as suggested by Tsao ([0001], [0016]).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larcher, Tsao, and Gannon, further in view of Bai.
Regarding Claim 19, Larcher discloses an aircraft (Abstract) comprising:
one or more lighting devices ([0042] projection device 1 comprises a laser beam emitter 3; Fig 4); and
a control unit ([0046] computer 11 designed to compute the dimensions of the hazard area to be marked out; Fig 4) in communication with the one or more lighting devices, wherein the control unit is configured to operate the one or more lighting devices to provide illuminated messages regarding traffic in relation to one or more ground paths at an airport on one or more surfaces ([0052] computer 11 is, according to the example, designed to control projection device 1 so as to draw patterns on the ground in the projection area, the pattern being, according to the example of FIG. 4, an inscription repeating the word "danger" but the pattern could be any message or design chosen by means of a control system 18 linked to computer 11; Claim 1), wherein the illuminated messages comprise shapes the protection device is linked to a computer, the calculator comprising means of computing the dimensions of at least one hazard area according to parameters such as engine speed and/or aircraft loading and means of transmitting data (S) describing the beam's path to the device that comprises means of altering the projection area of the beam according to said data), but does NOT teach colors, map information received from an airport database, and clearance information received from air traffic control.
Tsao discloses an aircraft illumination system using colors ([0059] light source 3a,3b is obtained by combination of three monochromatic light sources of the laser type, red, green and blue. The light source thus obtained provides the benefit of the characteristics of laser sources while at the same time generating a color).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Larcher with Tsao using colors in order to provide an effective integrated illumination system capable of handling the different flight phases of “taxi”, “runway turn-off”, “take-off” and “landing”, as suggested by Tsao ([0001], [0016]).
Gannon teaches map information received from the airport database ([0050] airport map display on the display device 102 is dynamically updated automatically in response to each incremental manual input; Figs 3-5) , and the clearance information received from the air traffic control ([0016] user inputs indicative of additional constraining paths may be received and the displayed taxi clearance dynamically updated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Larcher with Gannon using map and clearance information in order to avoid confusion and runway incursions or to otherwise maintain safe and organized ground traffic flow, as suggested by Gannon ([0002]).
The combination doesn’t specify the message is regarding traffic of other aircraft.
Bai discloses the notification is regarding the traffic of other vehicles ((Fig 1B, Col 7 Lines 56-Col 8 Line 2 the projection system 116 can project a status indication 118 on a ground surface 120 of the road 102, where the ground surface 120 is an area between the following vehicle 106a and the preceding vehicle 106b…the status indication 118 is provided to notify the remote vehicle 110 about the coordinated control of the vehicle convoy 106 and whether a predicted cut-in maneuver is permissible; Col 13 Lines 28-41 the processor 208 can generate a control signal executed by the projection system 116 causing the projection system 116 to emit visible light (e.g., lines, images, graphics) to the ground surface 120 between the following vehicle 160a and the preceding vehicle 160b…the status indication 118 can provide a warning and/or notification to the remote vehicle 110 discourage the cut-in maneuver by the remote vehicle 110).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Larcher with Bai in order to promote efficient traffic flow minimizing disruptions, as suggested by Bai (Col 1 Lines 20-40).
Regarding Claim 20, Larcher discloses the one or more lighting devices comprise one or both of: one or more exterior lighting devices, and wherein the one or more surfaces comprise a portion of the one or more ground paths ahead of the aircraft (7 of Fig 2); or one or more interior lighting devices, and wherein the one or more surfaces further comprise an interior portion of a window within a flight deck or cockpit of the aircraft, but doesn’t specify the surface in front of the entirety of the aircraft.
Bai teaches surface in front of the entirety of the vehicle (118 of Fig 1B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to Claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARK S RUSHING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689