DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claim 1 is pending for examination in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schroter (Schroter; US 2011/0102137) in view of Errico et al. (Errico; US 2019/0111255).
As per claim 1, Schroter teaches an access control unit comprising:
a first layer comprising an electrostimulation contact interface (delivering an electric shock, see e.g. para. [0083], which requires a user touching [with a first layer] or in close proximity of a contact surface);
a second layer comprising a biometric sensor (a biometric sensing layer in the disclosed biometric sensor 2; see e.g. para. [0096]); and
a third layer comprising a microprocessor unit (a comparison module including a computer unit 12; see e.g. para. [0094], [0100] and FIG. 1) in communication unit with the electrostimulation contact interface (communication link between sensor unit 2, authentication device and locking device [which houses the shock element], see e.g. para. [0061] and FIG., wherein it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art that the disclosed computer unit 12 can control the shock element because Schoter suggests that all the processes are run by evaluation module [0051]. Alternatively, a second dedicated processor to control the shock can be envisioned without departing from the gist of the invention as suggested by Errico in the proceeding paragraphs), wherein
the electrostimulation contact interface comprises one or more anode/cathode arrays (the disclosed electric shock[s], see e.g. para. [0083], wherein the electric shock production needs to be delivered using one more anode/cathode [or positive/negative terminal] arrays), and
the one or more anode/cathode arrays are configured to deliver neurostimulative excitations to the electrostimulation contact interface (the electric shock, see e.g. para. [0083], would at least deliver neurostimulative excitations to the contact surface using one or more cathode/anode arrays).
Even though of Schroter does not explicitly teach that the second layer is sandwiched between the first layer and the third layer of the said access control system, a person of ordinary skill in the art, upon reading the reference, would also have recognized the desirability of improved methods - of combining the first, second and third layers such that the second layer is sandwiched between the first layer and the third layer (i.e. combining the layers as a single unit instead of separate components). Schroter teaches that having a first layer, a second layer and a third layers separate from each other is one of a finite number of configurations known to be useful for designing a biometric system generating electric shock[s] as discussed earlier. In addition, Schroter also teaches electric shock producing element/unit connected to one of the layers as discussed earlier. Furthermore, the reference teaches methods of designing the system with the first, second and third layer covering or integrating into a single unit would reasonably have been expected. The reference also inherently discloses to one of ordinary skill in the art that combining a known method and/or system to make a system with integrated unit or device does not affect the properties of the system. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try the disclosed methods of Schroter in an attempt to provide an improved system of integrated biometric authentication and shock production unit [where the shock producing or neurostimulation component is connected to any of the layers as long as the shock is received by an unauthorized person], as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. In turn, because system/method as claimed has the properties predicted by the prior art, it would have been obvious to make the system, method or product.
Schroter does not explicitly teach that the second layer is coupled to the electrostimulation contact interface.
Errico, however, teaches a layer is coupled to the electrostimulation contact interface (a stimulator head that contacts a person’s skin and generate electrical nerve stimulations, see e.g. para. [0130]), wherein a processor 104 can control the neurostimulator (see e.g. para. [0282] and FIG. 12B). Similarly, it would have been obvious to a deliver neurostimulations using one of the disclosed layers/surfaces of the disclosed system Schroter, i.e. sensing surface, locking device or any other suitable surface as long as the intended purpose of outputting neurostimulations for an intended user is fulfilled.
Schroter and Errico are in a same or similar field of endeavor, therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine their teachings for the purpose of outputting notification without causing loud noise or annoyance for others.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,100,737, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,642,522, and claim 1 of US Patent No. 12,161,867.
Instant Application
US Patent No. 11,100,737
1. An access control unit comprising:
1. An access control unit comprising:
a first layer comprising an electrostimulation contact interface;
a first layer comprising an electrostimulation contact interface;
a second layer comprising a biometric sensor coupled to the electrostimulation contact interface;
a second layer comprising a biometric sensor coupled to the electrostimulation contact interface;
and a third layer comprising a microprocessor unit in communication with the electrostimulation contact interface,
and a third layer comprising a microprocessor unit in communication with the electrostimulation contact interface,
wherein the second layer is sandwiched between the first layer and the third layer of said access control unit,
wherein the second layer is sandwiched between the first layer and the third layer of said access control unit,
the electrostimulation contact interface comprises one or more anode/cathode arrays,
the electrostimulation contact interface comprises one or more anode/cathode arrays,
and the one or more anode/cathode arrays are configured to deliver neurostimulative excitations to the electrostimulation contact interface.
and the one or more anode/cathode arrays are configured to deliver neurostimulative excitations to the electrostimulation contact interface when a received biometric data by the biometric sensor does not match with a prestored biometric data, wherein level and type of the neurostimulative excitations are based on a dynamic changing environmental factor.
Instant Application
US Patent No. 11,642,522
1. An access control unit comprising:
1. (limitations not in the same chronological order) An access control unit comprising:
a first layer comprising an electrostimulation contact interface;
a first layer comprising an electrostimulation contact interface,
a second layer comprising a biometric sensor coupled to the electrostimulation contact interface;
a second layer comprising a biometric sensor coupled to the electrostimulation contact interface, wherein the biometric sensor is activated when a user is in close proximity to said access control unit;
and a third layer comprising a microprocessor unit in communication with the electrostimulation contact interface,
and a third layer comprising a microprocessor unit in communication with the electrostimulation contact interface,
wherein the second layer is sandwiched between the first layer and the third layer of said access control unit,
wherein the second layer is sandwiched between the first layer and the third layer of said access control unit,
the electrostimulation contact interface comprises one or more anode/cathode arrays,
the electrostimulation contact interface comprising one or more anode-cathode arrays;
and the one or more anode/cathode arrays are configured to deliver neurostimulative excitations to the electrostimulation contact interface.
the one or more anode-cathode arrays are configured to deliver neurostimulative excitations to the electrostimulation contact interface depending on a result of a comparison of a received biometric data by the biometric sensor with prestored biometric data, said access control unit is integrated with a target object, the one or more anode-cathode arrays are configured to deliver variable neurostimulative excitations when the user remains in close proximity to the access control unit, and a magnitude of the variable neurostimulative excitations delivered increases based on an increased interaction with the target object.
Instant Application
US Patent No. 12,161,867
1. An access control unit comprising:
1. A self-contained fully intergraded access control unit comprising:
a first layer comprising an electrostimulation contact interface;
a first layer comprising an electrostimulation contact interface;
a second layer comprising a biometric sensor coupled to the electrostimulation contact interface;
a second layer comprising a biometric sensor coupled to the electrostimulation contact interface;
and a third layer comprising a microprocessor unit in communication with the electrostimulation contact interface,
and a third layer comprising a microprocessor unit in communication with the electrostimulation contact interface,
wherein the second layer is sandwiched between the first layer and the third layer of said access control unit,
wherein the second layer is sandwiched between the first layer and the third layer of said access control unit,
the electrostimulation contact interface comprises one or more anode/cathode arrays,
the electrostimulation contact interface comprises one or more anode-cathode arrays,
and the one or more anode/cathode arrays are configured to deliver neurostimulative excitations to the electrostimulation contact interface.
and the one or more anode-cathode arrays are configured to deliver neurostimulative excitations to the electrostimulation contact interface when a received biometric data by the biometric sensor does not match with a prestored biometric data.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed inventions in the disclosed patents clearly anticipate claim 1 of the instant application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (Lee; US 2019/0095683); Lee teaches a biometric authentication device, wherein a layer 22 of the disclosed authentication device [or access control unit] is sandwiched between a first layer and a second layer (see e.g. para. [0044]).
/MUHAMMAD ADNAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688