CTNF 18/956,679 CTNF 101415 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure sheet filed November 22, 2024 lists a US Patent Application Publication with Publication Number 2002 10 09768. That number is not a valid Publication Number, therefore that reference has not been considered. The examiner notes a US Patent Application Publication with Publication Number 2002 01 09768 matches the details otherwise listed (publication date and patentee/applicant). Drawings The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference symbol “ 1 ” has been used to designate both a transport direction in figures 1a and 1b and a numbering for a hole in figures 1d, 2b, 3b, and 4b. 06-22-03 The drawings are objected to because figures 1-7 each contain hardly legible reference symbols obscured by black highlights. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Specification 07-29 AIA The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Throughout the entire specification, there are numerous inconsistencies in designations of reference symbols (e.g. “130” for both “transport belt” and “conveyor belt”, “152” for “negative pressure unit” and “vacuum unit”, “332” for “second layer” and “cover”). While the designations are understood as synonyms or otherwise comparable in the art, they should be consistent with a singular designation per reference symbol for the entire specification. In paragraph 0041 , figure 6 is recited as having “cover 332”. Reference symbol “332” is not depicted in the figure. As understood by the examiner, “cover 332” is supposed to be “[fixed] aperture 632”. This further applies to paragraphs 0050 and 0058-0062 . This understanding originates from viewing a machine translation of related patent document, EP 4559690 A1, paragraphs 0029, 0038, and 0046-0051. In paragraph 0046 , “pout” in the fourth line and “pin” in the seventh line should have subscripts for “out” and “in” as done in other instances of the specification . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 2-3 of the claim, “ the shape of a cone” should be “ a shape of a cone”, and “the front to the rear of the conveyor belt” should be “the front side to the rear side of the conveyor belt” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-01 AIA The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a): (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention. The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112: The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor of carrying out his invention. 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites the limitation "the transport belt" in line 10 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Because both are synonymous in the art and they share a reference symbol in the disclosure, as understood by the examiner, “the transport belt” will be interpreted as “the conveyor belt”. Claims 2-10 are rejected on based on their dependency on claim 1. 07-31-02 AIA Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. Claim 9 recites the limitation “is drilled through the aperture of the aperture ” in line 4 of the claim. Any recitation of “drilled” in the specification is not associated with the embodiment disclosed by claim 9. Further, “the aperture of the aperture” is unclear. The specification recites “drilled” in paragraph 0036 as the method for forming holes of a second layer of a conveyor belt that is bonded to a first layer of a conveyor belt such that the holes of each layer are corresponding. The recitation including “drilled” may therefore be more related to any of claims 2-5. The prelude to the limitation of “at any time” in line 3 of the claim is recited in the specification in paragraph 0061, however the “drilled” limitation is not recited in relation to the prelude; the last two limitations recited in claim 9 are recited in the specification with relation to the prelude . 07-34-01 Claims 9 is further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention . Claim 9 recites the limitation “the cover " in the last line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. No instance of “a cover” is recited in claims of which claim 9 is dependent on. Claim 7, line 9, recites that the aperture may cover holes of the conveyor belt. Therefore, as understood by the examiner, “the cover ” will be interpreted as “the aperture ”. This interpretation of is also previously noted in the specification objections based on a machine translation of related patent document, EP 4559690 A1. In view of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 112(b) and the examiners understanding of the claim based on the specification and figures, claim 9 will be examined such that it recites: “The transport device according to claim 7, wherein the plurality of holes of the aperture are arranged in such a way that, during a relative movement between the transport belt and the aperture, at any time, each hole of the plurality of holes of the transport belt is drilled through the aperture of the aperture, overlaps with at least one hole of the aperture, and is partially covered by the cover aperture .” Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Veis et al. (US 20180305157 A1, from IDS) , hereinafter referred to as Veis . Regarding claim 1 , Veis teaches a transport device (media support system 12; at para. 0016; Fig. 1-4) for transporting a recording medium (media sheet 52; at para. 0020; Fig. 2-4) through a printing unit (print unit 26; at para. 0016; Fig. 1, 3) of a printing device (printer 10; at para. 0016; Fig. 1, 3) the transport device comprising: a conveyor belt (media support 14; at para. 0016; Fig. 1-4); a movement unit configured to move the conveyor belt through the printing unit (belt drive mechanism 24; at para. 0016; Fig. 1, 3), wherein the conveyor belt includes a plurality of holes (suction cups 18 with ports 54, and/or holes 56; at para. 0020; Fig. 2, 4), wherein the conveyor belt is configured to transport the recording medium on a front side of the conveyor belt (media sheet 52 is on upper/external side of suction cups 18; Fig. 4), and wherein the plurality of holes on the front side of the conveyor belt has a first cross-sectional area (portion of Fig. 4 annotated below); a negative pressure unit configured to generate a negative pressure in the plurality of holes of the conveyor belt by pumping out a fluid (air), so that a holding force is caused on the recording medium at the first cross-sectional area of the plurality of holes (vacuum control system 22 may include a vacuum source 20, such as a pump, to supply a vacuum to suction cups 18 to generate hold down forces; at para. 0013, 0016, 0022; Fig. 4, 5), and the fluid for building up the negative pressure is pumped out through a second cross-sectional area that is smaller than the first cross-sectional area (air in suction cups 18 is evacuated from ports 54; at para. 0020; portion of Fig. 4 annotated below). PNG media_image1.png 308 606 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 2 , Veis teaches the transport device according to claim 1 , wherein at least one hole of the plurality of holes on the front side of the conveyor belt has an inlet cross-sectional area (first-cross sectional area; portion of Fig. 4 annotated above for claim 1), the at least one hole has an outlet cross-sectional area at least one point between the front side and an opposite rear side of the conveyor belt (second-cross sectional area; portion of Fig. 4 annotated above for claim 1), and the inlet cross-sectional area is larger than the outlet cross-sectional area (first cross-sectional area is larger than the second cross sectional area, as applied to claim 1; portion of Fig. 4 annotated above for claim 1). Regarding claim 3 , Veis teaches the transport device according to claim 2 , wherein the at least one hole extends in a shape of a cone at least along a section from the front to the rear of the conveyor belt (suction cup 18 has a conical shape; portion of Fig. 4 annotated above for claim 1), or a cross-sectional area of the at least one hole is reduced along an axis from the front side to the rear side of the conveyor belt in one or more steps or continuously from the inlet cross-sectional area to the outlet cross-sectional area (the cross-sectional area of the suction cup 18 is continuously decreasing from the inlet/first cross-sectional area to the outlet/second cross-sectional area in order to create the conical shape). Regarding claim 4 , Veis teaches the transport device according to claim 1 , wherein the conveyor belt has a first layer arranged relatively close to the front side (suction cups 18 form a first layer on a front side of the media support 14; Fig. 1-4) and a second layer arranged relatively close to an opposite rear side (continuous loop belts 16 form a second layer on a rear side of the media support 14; Fig. 1-4), which are firmly bonded to one another (suction cups 18 are fixed to the belts 16; at para. 0020); the first layer and the second layer each have corresponding holes (ports 54 of suction cups 18 are aligned with holes 56 of belts 16; at para. 0020; Fig. 4); and a hole of the first layer has an inlet cross-sectional area that is larger than an outlet cross-sectional area of a corresponding hole of the second layer (inlet/first cross-sectional area is larger than the outlet/second cross-sectional area; portion of Fig. 4 annotated above for claim 1) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veis as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Kawashima (US 20180224793 A1) . Regarding claim 5 , Veis teaches the transport device according to claim 4 , wherein the hole of the first layer has a center surrounded by an edge of the hole of the first layer (outer edge of suction cup 18 with hash marks with open and center blank part in the middle; portion of Fig. 4 annotated above for claim 1). However, Veis does not teach that the corresponding hole of the second layer extends between the edge and the center of the hole of the first layer, and/or the corresponding hole of the second layer does not enclose an axis extending vertically on the conveyor belt through the center of the hole of the first layer. Kawashima teaches a configuration of holes used to hold down a recording medium with negative pressure wherein a first hole in an upper section (36) has a has an edge and center, and a second hole in a lower section (37) extends in a section between the edge and the center of the first hole and does not enclose an axis extending vertically through the center of the first hole (Fig. 4 annotated below). PNG media_image2.png 265 418 media_image2.png Greyscale Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the configuration of holes in an upper section and holes in a lower section as taught by Veis such that a hole in the lower section does not enclose a center of a hole in the upper section and extends between and an edge and center of the hole in the upper section for the purpose of suctioning recording media toward the holes to force the media into contact with an upper surface of a conveyance belt or plate while it is conveyed as taught by Kawashima (at para. 0032, 0061) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veis as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mieney et al. (US 20200171853 A1) , hereinafter referred to as Mieney . Regarding claim 6 , Veis teaches the transport device according to claim 1 , wherein the conveyor belt has a first layer arranged relatively close to the front side and a second layer arranged relatively close to an opposite rear side, which are firmly bonded to one another; the first layer has the plurality of holes (suction cups 18 with ports 54, and/or holes 56 as the first layer; at para. 0020; Fig. 2, 4). However, Veis does not teach wherein the second layer includes a fluid-permeable material, in particular of a braid and/or a porous material, and the fluid-permeable material is configured such that a fluid flow through a hole of the plurality of holes of the first layer is throttled by the second layer. Mieney teaches a conveyor belt (transport belt 120; at para. 0029; Fig. 2A) has a layer with a plurality of holes (middle layer 124 with perforations 128; at para. 0029-0031; Fig. 2A, 2B) bonded (by adhesive 130; at para. 0030; Fig. 2A) to an inner layer made of a porous non-perforated entangled fiber (inner layer 126; at para. 0029-0031; Fig. 2A). While not explicit that fluid flow through a hole of the plurality of holes of the first layer is throttled by the second layer, Mieney further teaches that the inner layer easily allows fluid flow (at para. 0029) and that the negative pressure is still created through the inner layer (at para. 0031). This is supported by an embodiment in which Mieney uses a woven material in place of the perforated material for a middle layer (at para. 0029, 0032; Fig. 3A) such that fluid still flows through each layer (at para. 0032). Therefore, it may be understood that the fluid flow may be throttled by the inner layer as a porous material similar to as done for instances wherein the inner layer includes holes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conveyor belt as taught by Veis to further comprise an inner layer made of a porous material bonded to the layer with a plurality of holes for the purpose of reducing bending forces on the outer side of the layer with a plurality of holes and increasing the useful life of the layer with a plurality of holes as taught by Mieney (at para. 0033, 0034, 0036) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veis as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Miyagi (US 20100231676 A1, from IDS) . Regarding claim 7 , Veis teaches the transport device according to claim 1 , wherein the plurality of holes of the conveyor belt each extend from the front side to the rear side of the conveyor belt (inlet of suction cups 18 extend to ports 54 that extend to holes 56 which open below; at para. 0020; Fig. 2, 4). However, Veis does not teach wherein the transport device has a fixed aperture arranged on a rear side of the conveyor belt, the movement unit moves the conveyor belt along the aperture, the aperture has a plurality of holes, the negative pressure unit pumps fluid through the plurality of holes of the aperture to create the negative pressure in the plurality of holes of the conveyor belt, and the aperture is configured such that the aperture at least partially covers the plurality of holes of the conveyor belt to provide the reduced second cross-sectional area through which fluid is pumped to create the vacuum. Miyagi teaches an image forming apparatus (100; Fig. 4), wherein the transport device has a fixed aperture arranged on a rear side of the conveyor belt (flexure prevention member 13 is on the back side of conveyor belt 8; at para. 0055; Fig. 1; flexure prevention member 13 is hereinafter referred to as member 13), the movement unit moves the conveyor belt along the aperture (belt rollers 7 and 7 move conveyor belt 8 in the paper conveyance direction along path 8X (over member 13); at para. 0052; Fig. 1, 4), the aperture has a plurality of holes (suction holes 13a; at para. 0008; Fig. 1), the negative pressure unit pumps fluid through the plurality of holes of the aperture to create the negative pressure in the plurality of holes of the conveyor belt (suction fan 23 makes suction through suction holes 8a and suction holes 13a to hold/carry paper; at para. 0008; Fig. 1), and the aperture is configured such that the aperture at least partially covers the plurality of holes of the conveyor belt to provide the reduced second cross-sectional area through which fluid is pumped to create the vacuum (portion of Fig. 1 annotated below; total of second cross-sectional area parts is smaller than first cross-sectional area). PNG media_image3.png 241 638 media_image3.png Greyscale Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transport device taught by Veis to further include an aperture as described for claim 7 for the purpose of preventing sagging of the conveyor belt during paper sheet conveyance as taught by Miyagi (at para. 0055). Regarding claim 8 , Veis as modified by Miyagi teaches the transport device according to claim 7 , and Miyagi further teaches wherein the plurality of holes of the aperture and the plurality of holes of the transport belt are formed in such a way that the second cross-sectional area remains substantially constant during a relative movement between the transport belt and the aperture (portion of Fig. 1 annotated above for claim 7; both holes 8a of conveyor belt 8 and holes 13a of member 13 are constant in size and interval, therefore the amount of overlap to form a second cross-sectional area is constant as the conveyor belt 8 moves). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transport device taught by Veis to include an aperture as further described for claim 8 for the purpose of preventing sagging of the conveyor belt during paper sheet conveyance as taught by Miyagi (at para. 0055). Regarding claim 9 , Veis as modified by Miyagi teaches the transport device according to claim 7 , and Miyagi further teaches wherein the plurality of holes of the aperture are arranged in such a way that, during a relative movement between the transport belt and the aperture, at any time, each hole of the plurality of holes of the transport belt overlaps with at least one hole of the aperture, and is partially covered by the aperture (portion of Fig. 1 annotated below). PNG media_image4.png 252 638 media_image4.png Greyscale Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transport device taught by Veis to include an aperture as further described for claim 9 for the purpose of preventing sagging of the conveyor belt during paper sheet conveyance as taught by Miyagi (at para. 0055) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Veis in view of Miyagi as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Tanchak et al. (US 20200276847 A1) , hereinafter referred to as Tanchak . Regarding claim 10 , Veis as modified by Miyagi teaches the transport device according to claim 7 , however neither Veis or Miyagi teach wherein a hole of the aperture has a larger cross-sectional area on a side facing the rear side of the conveyor belt than on a side facing away from the rear side of the conveyor belt. Tanchak teaches an aperture (marker platen 10; at para. 0057-0059; Fig. 7) wherein holes of the aperture have larger cross-sectional area on a side facing the rear side of a conveyor belt (vacuum channels 14 and 16 face transport belt 39; at para. 0058, 0059; Fig. 6, 7) than on a side facing away from the rear side of the conveyor belt (vacuum ports 30 and 32; at para. 0057; Fig. 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the aperture as taught by Veis as modified by Miyagi such that the hole of the aperture has a larger cross-sectional area on a side facing the rear side of the conveyor belt than on a side facing away from the rear side of the conveyor belt for the purpose of providing smaller “ports” to feed the larger “channels” for the vacuum as taught by Tanchak (at para. 0057) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wotton et al. (US 6394596 B1, from IDS) demonstrates a transport device (Fig. 7) wherein a conveyor belt (120) has holes with a first cross-sectional area on a front side (151) and a smaller second-cross-sectional area on a rear side (152). Barberan Latorre (US 20210155431 A1, from IDS) demonstrates a transport device (Fig. 1) wherein a conveyor belt (1) has holes with a first cross-sectional area on a front side (10) and an aperture (2) with a smaller second-cross-sectional area (20). De Roeck (US 20190240997 A1, from IDS) demonstrates a transport device (Fig. 3) wherein a conveyor belt (400) has various configurations for holes, such as one with conical shaping and varied cross-sectional area (428, 482). Barberan Latorre (EP 3825136 A1, from IDS) demonstrates a transport device (Fig. 1) wherein a conveyor belt (2) has holes with a first cross-sectional area on a front side (5) and an aperture (6) with a smaller second-cross-sectional area (7). Xiaoping et al. (CN 201405572 Y, from IDS) demonstrates a transport device (Fig. 1, 4, 5) wherein a conveyor belt (5) has holes with a first cross-sectional area on a front side and a smaller second-cross-sectional area on a rear side using a T-shape (51). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KYRA M VAN KREUNINGEN whose telephone number is (571)272-9423. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thur 9:00am-6:00pm and Fri 9:00am-1:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, DOUGLAS X RODRIGUEZ can be reached at (571) 431-0716. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. 13 May 2026 /KYRA MELOR VAN KREUNINGEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2853 /DOUGLAS X RODRIGUEZ/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/956,679 Page 2 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/956,679 Page 3 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/956,679 Page 4 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/956,679 Page 5 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/956,679 Page 6 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/956,679 Page 7 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/956,679 Page 8 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/956,679 Page 9 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/956,679 Page 10 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/956,679 Page 11 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/956,679 Page 12 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/956,679 Page 13 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/956,679 Page 14 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/956,679 Page 15 Art Unit: 2853